Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers Reviews (21)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2011-10-15 2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Things to pay attention to on this bike - the drive train. 10% or so of the V Stars have midshaft failure or final drive issues (in the hub) around the 30k mile mark. No lie, I have had the bike for four years, I was mile one on it. It served well with very little mechanical issues. The biggest problem is right now I am living the final drive failure at 36,968 miles. Highway performance is great. Keep it at 65 and you can get almost 230 miles to a tank. Get over 75 and you'll lose a lot of miles per gallon, but you will still have power. Citywise, there are no issues other than the mirror height is the same as most cars on the highway so be careful splitting traffic.
- Ug, Oceanside, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-03-12 2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is great! Power and handling is well balanced. The stock seat needs improvement and the bike needs a sixth gear or overdrive at 70 mph. Other than that, the bike is perfect!
- Buzzie, walworth, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-09 2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 2007 VStar 1100, this bike has all I can ask for. I get looks and great reviews every where I go in town or out on the road.
- Luis M, Greeley, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-04-07 2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the first time I've been on a bike in almost 35 years. This is one great bike. I looked at a few other bikes this size but none of the STOCK models had what this one does. Number 1 on the list would be the ride and seat. These can't be beat. I wish I had got it earlier last year. From September until December I put on 3000 miles in western NY (snow and all).
- A. Peters, Grand Island, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-03-10 2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my V-Star 1100 in June of 2006 and really have fallen in love with riding. It's my first bike and I absolutely love it. I really can't wait for summer to get here so I can ride every day. My wife likes to ride behind me and that makes it fun also. Plenty of power and lots of fun.
- Michael, Nampa, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-02-28 2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I moved up from a 550 and was a little intimidated at first, but it was easier to ride than the 550. I like the fact that both of my feet hit the ground comfortably and it can really get up and go. You get a lot of looks. I'm slowly starting to chrome it out. I just love the bike and you can't beat the price. This one I even got the wife on. I would do it again in a heartbeat!
- James Curthoys, rochester, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-12-22 2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased this bike new in 2001 and still love it. Having short legs, it is still the lowest bike I have sat on and I have tried them all. This is my 12th motorcycle and is by far my favorite. The long wheelbase makes it a dream to handle. It has plenty of power and doesn't lose anything on steep hills. The stock seat is very comfortable even on long trips. For the money, I believe it is truly a bargain and the prices are almost the same now as they were in 2001. You won't be disappointed in this bike.
- Glen Strong, Red Deer

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-06 2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have not rode/owned a bike in 26 years. I looked at many different cruisers and I am very happy with my decision to purchase the VStar 1100. This bike is a pleasure to ride, looks great, and has all the power and acceleration I need. My wife, who was not a motorcycle person loves to go for rides with me, which is great. I hope to spend many hours on my bike and look forward to taking day trips with my wife on the back. I wish I had purchased this bike years ago. I would highly recommend this bike to anyone. Do it, you will be very happy you did.
- JHoff, Glen Mills, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-23 2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought my V-Star 1100 Classic a week ago and took it on its very first road trip this past weekend. It is now ready for its 600 mile break-in check. I can't begin to tell you how nice of a ride this bike has. The balance is great at any speed I have found. I am a short guy which hinders my ability to touch the ground on most bikes over 800cc, but not on this one! The suspension makes for a very smooth ride for both the driver, and the passenger. The bike runs very well, but does whine a little at higher speeds. During my road trip I averaged about 75 miles per hour and was still getting about 44 miles to the gallon. The stock seat must go as soon as possible because the passenger seat is not comfortable at all. It took my wife a whole 100 miles on the stock seat to come home and order a Mustang. I couldn't be happier with the bike. It is the best bike I have owned, and for the price it can't be beat!!
- Travis, Minneapolis, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-26 2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After several months of comparing motorcycles I finally made my purchase. What a deal! I was a little nervous at first due to the size but on my first ride, I fell in love. I had no experience riding except for dirt bikes and what little time spent on the 125 cc bikes during my MSF course. The bike handles like a dream. Very smooth shifting, and you better hang on while accelerating! The first thing I did out on my ride is take it to the nearest empty parking lot to practice all the manuevers taught in my MSF course. I was really surprised how easily it handled, even during the very slow and tight figure eights. There are only a few down falls I have noticed. The seat gets a little uncomfortable after a long ride but for short trips, it's great. The floor boards scrape around turns pretty easy but once you get familiar with the bike, you can judge how far to lean. Also when the motor gets hot, there seems to be an annoying ticking sound comming from somewhere around the top of the motor. This seems to be very common with other rider reviews and doesn't prevent a problem with performance. I'm sure with some after market pipes, you would't even notice it anymore. Overall I am very satisfied with my purchase. My friends are all Harley riders and they are very impressed with the looks and power of the 1100. Best of riding!!
- Brian, Vacaville, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-12 2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought a 2000 Classic in 2002. Still riding it and liking it. Have added a Mustang seat, Pro-1 risers for the handlebars and a Phat Performance oil filter relocation kit. The bike looks good, rides well, is quite nimble and adequately powerful...although I plan on modifying it to squeeze a few more horsepower out of it. Still probably the best value in a cruiser out there. Just wish it had hydraulic lifters and a touch more low end torque. But I still smile when I look back at the bike.
- William B. Peel, Gainesville, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-30 2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my VStar 1100 Classic on NEW e-bay for a great price. I had the dealer add a tall back rest and engine guard. Since then I've added a switch blade 2up windshield. I also added saddle bags from Tsukayu. The bags were a little tricky to install, but all went as planned and they are useful and beautiful. The Switch blade shield is the best. On and off in an instant. And when it's on you can rest assured it won't come off during riding time. The seat on the Classic has taken some getting used to as well as some break in time. There were a few hot spots in the beginning and an hour commute could mean a little shifting around in the seat. The seat is getting better or my back side is getting used to it. Either way, I love my bike. At every fill up I am getting 47 mpgs on average. The oil change I did my self with no manual just common sense and the on line manual available from Yamaha. Too bad you can't print from the web site. The original dealer forgot to give me my manual when I picked up the bike, and in my excitement, I forgot to ask. I also almost cut off my finger in the process of the pick up. But that is another story. Ride On...
- Cid, Homewood, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-26 2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love this bike, for half the price of some other cruisers it has all you need in a bike. Go wild, not broke.
- Stewey, Rochester, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-23 2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I do enjoy my Vstar very much. I bought the 2005 Black and Galaxy Blue Classic model, as I really liked the color combination. The bike does everything I have asked of it. The bike handles twisties as well as any bike I've ridden, and has ample power on the highways. If you're looking for long-distance 2-up riding, this is NOT the bike, but for anything else, the VStar is more than able. My biggest complaints are the uncomfortable stock seat (replaced with a Mustang rider and passenger seat) and the sound of the exhaust (replaced with Roadhouse 65 Specials). I would have added the oil relocation kit, but I don't feel moving my engine oil thru a 5/8 inch opening is conducive to long engine life (IMHO). I would highly recommend this bike to anyone looking for a medium sized cruiser.
- Buddy H., Cottleville, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-14 2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Love this bike. I just moved up from a Honda Shadow Aero and this bike has the power and weight I need plus a VERY comfortable seat! No more T.B.! The only negative is trying to find some exhaust as we all know the stock exhaust wouldn't scare a deer on any bike! Very pleased and would recommend to a new rider or experienced.
- Michael Hurbrough, Katy, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-01 2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my 1100 in march of '06, this is my third V-Star. As far as stock performance, the bike is average, but if you are inclined to take on small projects, I would suggest the performance enhancements of the Predator Pro kit form Max Air engineering. Jetting the carbs and installing an intake is not difficult. Changing the stock oil filter is a much more difficult and time consuming task. We have all heard the gripes of the oil filter placement, so if you own one of these bikes or plan on purchasing one, buy the filter relocation kit, the savings are huge compared to allowing the dealership to change your oil for three hundred bucks a pop. Overall, the bike rides great, corners very nice, looks are awesome, and is very easy to maintain. Ride Safe...
- Terry Leftwich, Knoxville, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-23 2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This feels like a real bike and looks like one too. The smaller brother 650 is ok for a beginner but this is the one up from that one. Bigger, more powerful and easy to ride. For an 1100 cruiser, this is a nice ride. Comfortable up to about 2 hours then the seat gets a little sore but what are you gonna do. The handlebars could have been wider and the pipes could be a little louder. What's missing is a fuel guage. Other than that it's a pretty good bike. If you want above beginner, and yet not top end, then this is the middle of the way price point bike for you.
- Hells Angel 989, The big apple, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-16 2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I did a great deal of research before buying this bike so am a little disappointed that I don't love it more than I do. On paper it supplies everything I need: adequate power, decent range, comfortable riding position, and great looks. However, as this is my first bike after a 10-year hiatus, I'm quickly wishing I had a bike with more power and more effortless speed as it really winds up when I take it into the higher end freeway speeds. When I take it out onto a twisty portion of the road, it is very easy to drag a floorboard and while that is cool on some level, it would be nicer just to come through corners with the amount of lean I want, cleanly and quietly. My most significant complaint, although it could possibly be addressed with aftermarket handlebars or grips or something else that I don't want to bother with, is that I'm simply too tall at 6'2" to maneuver this machine at slow speeds. My height is in my legs and they really get in the way during slow speed tight turns and I have to twist my knee way out to get the handlebars to clear my leg. This is not a reflection on the bike, but on my not spending enough time taking the bike through a full range of riding conditions before purchase. I still believe this is the best bike available at this size and represents a tremendous value. Even if I buy another bike to address the issue of greater performance, I would consider keeping the V-Star for what it is for me: a fun, country-road cruiser that does many things well.
- Scott, Burlington, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-14 2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Purchased 06 w/Flames in April and could not be happier. I ride it as much as I can and get many compliments, after numerous aftermarket items I have even had V-Star owners ask me what it is before they realize it started out like theirs. Put the highway gear on and enjoy the ride, buy a Mustang seat or you will regret it. I can remove those items and have a stripped down cruiser. Use the imagination, you will love the result.
- Mickel Coble, Pasadena, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-25 2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my 1100 Classic at the end of January 2006, having had both knees replaced 2 years earlier, there were 2 factors I was looking at in a road bike: 1) overall weight and balance. 2) overall height. The 1100 Star weight fit with in my range and the height for size is the lowest, without modifying the bike. From March 2006 until end of August 2006 I have put 10,000 miles on my bike, with several long rides in. The overall bike is stock, I have yet to be uncomfortable on it and can usually outride most. I could not ask for a better bike, the only fault I feel is the oil filter design. This should be changed or the aftermarket adaptor should be part of the included accessories. I am currently looking at purchasing a second cruiser (I will always keep this Star 1100 as I really enjoy riding it), my new bike will probably be in the 1800cc range mainly for long distance cruising.
- Ghostrider, Meridian, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-24 2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just purchased a 2007 V-Star 1100 and have no regrets. This bike rides smooth, has plenty of power, and looks great. The seat can become uncomfortable after 50 miles or so, but I've sat on worse. Accelerates well but the shift ratio is lower than I am used to and I find myself shifting into 5th at about 35MPH. All in all this is a great bike!
- Wes Wirick, Temple, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: