Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers Reviews (26)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2010-04-26 2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The only problem is the seat. It can get uncomfortable after some long hours (about 3-4 straight) of riding. Suggestion for improvement would be an added 6th gear, however, the bike does not necessarily need one, it has the power to use it and would make high speed cruising more efficient. Other suggestion would be the oil filter placement, just a bugger to get to during oil changes (manual recommends filter change every other 3K miles). For performance, there are no complaints. This bike has all that is needed and at a great price. Enough stature and maneuverability for tight spaces and city rides, plenty of power for highway. Sometimes the bike will seem angry at you around 70-75 mph, but it will smooth out after 75. With upgrades, the bike sounds great, runs better. I can squeeze out 54 mpg (staying under 70 on highway). 750 mies per week, 4 total maintenance (600, 2000, 6000, 18000) the rest was oil changes done my me. Maintenance, easier than some. As mentioned the oil filter is behind the front exhaust pipe on the side of the bike. The pipe needs to be removed to get to it. The first time took me about 2 hours to finish. Now I have I down to about 45 minutes. Not because it is hard, but because it takes time. The only times I have taken it to the shop have been to get the valve clearance checked/adjusted and to replace a carburetor bowl gasket (for 2007 v star owners, ethanol fuel will eat the gaskets over time. run all the fuel out of the carbs before putting away and use stabil marine formula - blue stuff, not red - or use sea foam brands ethanol fuel treatment. this will keep the fuel from drying through the gaskets and giving you a fuel leak.) Other than those points, every 6K miles oil and filter change, every 1500 is a drain and fill of oil. (yes Rotella T 15W40 will work in the bike - save you some money too). 21000 miles in less than 3 years. Show me a different bike that can do that, and I'll show you another well built machine.
- UG, Virginia Beach, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-21 2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just clicked 5000 miles last week. Best things about it? Comfortable and stable, stingy on gas (45-50 mpg), loads of aftermarket parts available. Things not so great? OEM saddle WAAAAY too wide, brakes kinda spongy,(accessory luggage rack) a joke...10 lb limit? Come on, now...and rear wheel air valve needs a contortionist to reach/fill/check. Would like to see passing lamps installed as standard because the headlight's not too good at night in the country. Otherwise, it's the best bargain around.
- Geoff Powers, Shaker Heights, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-09-29 2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I now have 2550 miles on my 1100 Silverado. This is the best choice that I made for a bike. It handles great and has plenty of power for two riders. I think the seat is just fine for riding about 2 hours. I get 50 miles per gallon and a lot of compliments on the looks. The saddlebags have come in very handy many times. They are very well made and the plastic liners keep them in shape. I am looking forward to many rides with this bike. I recommend this bike to anyone. If you're looking for looks, good mileage, easy handling and a fun to ride bike, this is the one.
- CASEY HUNT, HUBER HEIGHTS, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-11 2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I traded up from a Kawasaki Vulcan for the 1100 Silverado. The first thing I noticed is that this bike has much greater balance. The ride is very smooth with plenty of power. When I first purchased it, I remembered reading some reviews about the horrific location of the oil filter for DIY oil changes. It might take me 1 1/2 hours to do this, but it's not difficult at all. Besides this engineering blunder, this is a first class bike. I added some nice upgrades to make it one-of-a-kind!
- William Joel, West Wyoming, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-21 2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had ridden a Honda Super 90 nearly 40 years ago, and decided that it was time to get back on a motorcycle. I am very respectful (maybe even fearful?) of the power that this bike has; however, it is so perfectly balanced and so responsive and maneuverable that it is easy to drive. I can manage very well in city traffic and on country roads without opening the throttle very much at all. I'm averaging about 30 mpg during break-in, and expect that figure to go up after the 600 mile service is performed. I am very glad I chose the V Star Silverado 1100.
- Geoff Powers, Shaker Heights, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-13 2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was going to buy a Vulcan 900 LT, but the dealership couldn't locate one. After riding this bike, I was glad that I didn't buy the Kaw. Very easy to ride and lots of extras available. Looks and sounds great. I recommend this to anyone looking for a good performing bike and don't want to pay an arm and a leg. You will love this cruiser.
- Mark McIntyre, Pataskala, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-10 2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Purchasing my V Star Silverado, has been the best investment I have made. This bike has brought so much fun to my life. The bike rides smooth and is the best bike I have ever ridden.
- G. Quintana, Ro Rancho, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-27 2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The bike rides as nice as it looks. Easy to handle, good balance, comfortable, and power when you need it. I know that I don't have a lot of miles on it yet, but the miles that I have ridden so far have been a pleasure and I look forward to all the miles ahead.
- Tony Tripolone, Mohawk, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-18 2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I OWN A 2004 SILVERADO SILVER/GRAY AND I HAVE TO SAY THIS IS THE NICEST I HAVE EVER RODE OR EVEN SEEN. I HAVE BEEN RIDING BIKES SINCE I WAS SEVEN (I AM NOW FORTY ONE). THE DAY MY DIVORCE WAS FINAL I WENT TO THE LOCAL HARLEY DEALER TO PICK OUT A BIKE. I WANTED STOCK SADDLE BAGS, WINDSHIELD, FLOORBOARDS, ETC. BY THE TIME I WAS DONE LOADING UP THE BIKE I WAS WELL OVER $20,000. I TOLD THEM I HAD TO THINK ABOUT IT AND HEADED DOWN TO MY LOCAL YAMAHA DEALER. WHEN I GOT THERE MY BIKE WAS SITTING ON THE SHOWROOM FLOOR NOT EVEN FULLY ASSEMBLED YET. THEY HAD NOT INSTALLED THE WINDSHIELD. IT WAS LOVE AT FIRST SIGHT. IT WAS WAY SHARPER THAN THE FAT BOY I WAS JUST LOOKING AT AND IT WAS ABOUT HALF THE PRICE ALREADY LOADED WITH ACCESSORIES. THE ONLY THING I WISH YAMAHA WOULD CHANGE IS PUTTING A SIXTH GEAR OR OVERDRIVE ON THE BIKE. IT WINDS KIND OF HIGH ON THE EXPRESSWAY. NOT REAL BAD BUT TO ME EVERYTHING ELSE IS JUST PERFECT. I AM SHORT AND THIS BIKE SITS VERY LOW TO THE GROUND STOCK WHICH GIVES IT A VERY LOW CENTER OF GRAVITY. I WOULDN'T SAY THIS IS A GOOD FIRST TIME BIKE BUT MAYBE A SECOND. IT TAKES A LITTLE GETTING USED TO THE HEAL TOE SHIFTER. IT IS ALSO PERFECT FOR WOMEN THAT ARE SHORTER. BE PREPARED TO SPEND A LOT OF MONEY ON EXTRA CHROME PARTS THAT ARE AVAILABLE FOR ALMOST EVERYTHING. I WENT AS FAR AS I COULD ON YAMAHA ACCESSORIES AND THEN STARTED SURFING THE INTERNET FOR MORE. THIS BIKE GETS A LOT OF LOOKS AND I NEVER REGRETTED MY DECISION ON BUYING IT.
- JOE PHILLIPS, CLARKSTON, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-07 2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike almost 2 years ago after getting rid of my starter bike ('86 Honda 700). I love this bike, low center of gravity, good speed, a larger bike (like a HD FatBoy), with all the add-on's she turns many heads. I would like to upgrade to a Road Star soon.
- John LeDoux, Bristow, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-05 2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought my 2007 after not riding for 25 years. This is one hell of a bike, easy to control in town and all the power you want on the freeway.
- Ed, San Jose, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-05 2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I traded in my 99 1400 Intruder for my 07 1100 Silverado and just love this bike. This machine is so nice to ride and look at. I would suggest this bike to anyone looking for a new machine.
- dennis paterson, blaine, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-23 2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've managed to put a little over 400 miles on this bike in the month that I've owned it and I'm literally head over heels about it. I've ridden bikes since I was 8 yrs. old but had been out of the scene for about 24 yrs. when I bought the V Star 1100. I have to say I was a little intimidated by the bike at first but within an hour in the saddle I was grinning from ear to ear. This is a bike your Grandmother could put through its paces. It handles like a dream, all the weight is low and centered and cornering is a breeze. It has the big V-Twin Pulse but is smooth and stable over the road. Quality is excellent with fit and finish second to none. It starts easily with just a tap on the starter button even on the coldest days and averages about 50 miles to the gallon (with windshield, bags, lightbars, etc.), and has plenty of power even when two up with the wife. She says the passenger pad is very comfortable and loves the backrest position. I would not hesitate to recommend this bike to anyone looking for a cruiser/touring mount, even to a newbie.
- Robert Price, Springfield, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-26 2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
haven't ridden a bike before and got my learners permit on Friday and bought new V-Star 1100 Silverado on Saturday a week ago. Wow what a beautiful powerful machine. Still learning how to ride but falling in love with it. I bought the bike on Saturday afternoon and rode it home 135 miles with no experience and would like to have froze doing it. Temps were down in the mid 20's by the time I got home. With gas prices on the moon surface and rising, it was time to look at a bike to try and get ahead of the expensive gas. I wish I hadn't waited so long.
- Rick VanGeest, Crosby, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-19 2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Silverado in 2003. It has taken me from Chicago through IN, IA, MIN, WIS, TENN, AR, and MO without any problems. It is fun to ride with enough power to get me out of any situation that has arose. It is by far the best bike I have own and average maintence costs are under 100.00 a year.
- Phil, Roselle, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-13 2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am in love. The good thing is that my wife doesn't mind. Bought the bike in Oct 06. Swore I would not ride it to work...liar. I ride everytime I can figure out an excuse to do it. Love the power, the feel and the comfort. Looks good too! Just like the picture on the website.
- Robert, Indianapolis, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-11 2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My wife and sons gave this to me as a 40th birthday/fathers day present. I had ordered an HD, but when I saw this one, I cancelled the order. I love this bike. My wife and I put 500 miles on it the first weekend we had it. It's very reliable, looks great and we get tons of compliments and lookers where ever we go.
- Zane, Cobb Island, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-02 2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought it new in 2001, and love it. I ride all that I can, and I don't mind saying I am happy I saved 12K by not purchasing a HD. I would love to be able to buy a HD at that price, but why bother? The HD may have prestige and membership esteem, but it takes all your money to own. Nothing wimpy about this Yamaha, and now that it is paid for, I am even happier. I have been in several situations where the weight of the machine was favorable. In pouring rain, it holds its own, and as long as the tires are good, it can be trusted to get you there safe. Has been an excellent choice for me. Keep it serviced, and it will be there when you need it.
- ArrGee, Garner, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-17 2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Started riding again in July 05 after a 28 yr. lay off. Bought a 650 Classic, wife and I put over 15,000 miles on it in a little over a year, thought it was time to move on up. After riding the 650 I knew what my next bike would be. In Sept. 06 I found a good deal on a 1100 Silverado so it was the time to upgrade. The 1100 is a great bike for anything from a coffee run to that long haul.
- Kenny B, Underwood, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-04 2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Have to agree with all of the other reviews, comfortable, powerful and resonably priced. It was either going to be the Kawasaki Vulcan LT 900 or this bike. The extra cc's, comfort and after market products made this the best choice. Wish I had more time to ride before the weather changes. This is my first bike, first impressions are the ones that last, I think I will still have this when I hit 60.
- Doug Curtis, South Windsor, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-31 2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Been reading these reviews forever! Finally bit the bullet last weekend and got the 07 1100 Silverado. It's been twenty years since I rode. White knuckles all the way home!! So far I love the bike. Rode over the weekend with five of my Harley buddies. No trouble keeping up. Took my wife on a couple of rides. Plenty of power, so don't worry about that. Can't wait till spring! I'll update after I get some real miles on her.
- Chip L., Prairie Grove, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-30 2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Silverado last week and rode it this weekend. I couldn't be any happier. It is very responsive at slow speeds as well as the higher ones. I only wish they would have kept the studded seats and bags for 2007. Personally, I like that look. But still extremely happy with the bike. Highly recommend this bike.
- Michael K, Cibolo, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-25 2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After a very long wait, I finally got my first bike and I'm sure I made the right choice in the Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado. Before buying, I researched online approximately four hours a day for about six weeks. This site and Motorcycle Cruiser Magazine online were very valuable resources. I also picked up a copy of The Complete Idiot's Guide to Motorcycles which was very helpful too. I learned enough about motorcycles from these resources that some sales people I talked with couldn't answer some of the more technical questions I had. I found that quite amusing and one dealership lost a sale because of it. In my opinion, sales people should know their product. My final short list before buying the Yamaha included the Suzuki C50 and the Kawasaki 900 Vulcan. I scratched the Kawasaki due to the lack of after market accessories and articles I read which opined that the Kaw 900 did not unseat the C50 as king of the middle weights. So that left me with a choice between the C50 and the Silverado. I was a little bit concerned that the Yamaha might be too big for a new rider. But, in the end, I knew that if I got the C50 I'd wish that I bought the Yamaha. Also, to me, plastic equals cheap and, in my opinion, a classic cruiser should be made of steel. There is extensive use of plastic on the C50. Also, the fuel injection and liquid cooling of the C50 doesn't make up for the 9 extra horsepower or the 12 more ft lbs. of torque out of the box that the Yamaha 1063 mill provides. Peak horsepower and torque arrives at lower rpm's too. 62hp at 5750 rpm's and 63 ft lbs. of torque at 2500 rpm's for the Yamaha 1063 Vs 53hp at 6000 rpm's and 51 ft lbs. of torque at 3500 rpm's for the Suzuki 805. Further, due to the availability of after market accessories, the potential to soup-up the Yamaha has many possibilities. Because there is no fuel injection, re-jetting the carbs is all that is required Vs purchasing and installing a new computer and then tuning it in on a fuel injected machine. I also like not having to worry about blowing a hose or taking a rock in the radiator since the 1063 is air-cooled. Keep it simple! Anyway, about the bike. I'm lovin' it! Any concerns I had about it being too big for a new rider dissipated the first time I rode it. To me, it seems an easier machine to handle than the Honda Rebel I rode in the MSF course. There's an ample friction zone in the clutch, the tranny shifts very smoothly and the balance is superb. It seems to stand up on it's own as soon as it gets moving and tight slow speed maneuvers are no problem at all. As for power, it has all I need and is easy to control whether I want to make a nice gentle take off or blast off between stoplights. The triple discs provide plenty of stopping power. The suspension is well sprung. It takes potholes with no bottoming out and also provides great stability on curves and when cornering. Smooth is the word! Now I know why experienced riders who could handle a bigger machine choose to ride the Yamaha 1100 V Star. It's a great machine and definitely a keeper!
- krzy wolf, Lees Summit, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-14 2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am a new rider. I was going to start out small and work my way up. The 650 Silverado was going to be my choice, but some of my co-workers who are more experienced said if I did I would be sorry. They said the 650 is a nice bike, but it's under powered for a person my size. I asked the salesman and he agreed with my co-workers consensus. I am completely satisfied except for the seat, it's just not real comfortable. But overall it hauls my big fat butt up the road.
- T.J. Rover, Seffner, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-06 2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Have ridden my 2003 V Star 1100 Slverado 3 seasons and I just love it to death. Wonderfully versatile bike, handling winding country roads with great agility and steady as a rock on freeways. My only problem has been with the starter - had to replace it at 10,000 miles. Also, the seat is uncomfortable after a couple hours -get a Mustang or Corbin. But this is a great bike.
- Brent Rosenthal, Westerville , Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: