Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer Cruiser Reviews on Cycle Insider (26)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer Cruiser Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer Cruiser? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2009-12-01 2007 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Had not ridden in 30+ years. Couldn't sleep knowing I had to get back into riding. Wanted a cruiser, looked at them all and selected the v star 1300 Tourer. Took it easy and learned to ride again. I love this bike. Have owned Kaw., Honda, Harley, Moto Guzzi. I believe I made a very good decision to buy this V Star and would do it again.
- Jim Heberlein, Annandale, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-09-12 2007 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Purchased this bike and can only say good things about this dealer. I've been riding since 1967 and have owned a lot of bikes over the years. This one tops them all. Being a short guy, this bike is ideal for me. Handles great on the highway as well as around town riding either two up or single. It's a keeper.
- Hubert Letendre, Lowell, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-09-09 2007 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
To date I have logged nearly 20,000 in about 10 months of riding. I have ridden The Dragon at Deals Gap, The Badlands, Sturgis, Yellowstone, Bear Tooth Canyon, Devils Tower, Mount Rushmore, Blue Ridge Parkway, and more and I have never been disappointed. I have ridden in rain, hail, sleet, snow, 80 mph wind gusts, mud, 100 degree days with high humidity, and 25 degree days at 11,000 feet. The bike handled it all with grace and poise. The handling is much lighter feeling than the size would imply and carving out switchbacks riding 2 up is effortless. Braking could be better but it is not bad for a tourer. I love my Star.
- Fastlane, Wilmington, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-09-23 2007 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my 1300 Tourer since April and have only put on 3100 miles, but this has been a great bike. This is my wife's and my first bike and it works just great for us. It is extremely smooth and has plenty of power and speed. We have NO regrets with our decision to purchase this V-Star 1300 Tourer.
- M.A.D., Aitkin, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-02-06 2007 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I took the bike from the dealer and rode home (over 100 miles) and I knew then I had made the right choice! About 40 miles into the ride it felt like I was floating; the baby is smooth. If you are looking for a bike to do most everything (work commute, weekend cruise, night ride, or long distance haul) this is your bike. It is comfortable on highway with lots of power and very easy to handle in parking lots at slow speeds. don't sleep on this one!
- TMJ, San Angelo, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-12-14 2007 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Even as a big guy I can easily support every good thing that has been said about this bike, including the praise about the power. At no time do I ever want for more power and, while no speed-demon, I'm not a "putterereither. As for comfort, no complaints there. On my one trip so far I rode from fill-up to fill-up with no stopping (I did have some extra luggage on the bike, arranged in such a way that it formed a backrest). This is a really nice bike at a great price and I think it's beautiful. If it weren't for riding it all the time I'd probably pull up a chair, with a good drink, and just stare at it.
- David Gifford, fate, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-11-29 2007 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm a 46 year old new rider from Canada. I finally got my 1st bike, with my wife's blessing, and can tell you that this is a great choice for a first timer like me. The bike is light enough and handles great at low speeds and heavy enough for a great ride at cruising speeds. It's especially happy at cruising speeds on winding roads. If you are looking for a fuel injected water cooled cruiser, then this is the bike for you! Sadly, I just parked the bike in the garage for the winter. Snow has arrived in my part of Canada and probably won't go away until late March. At least the bike is at home so I can keep an eye on it.
- VstarDan, Gatineau, Quebec

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-10-26 2007 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a great bike. Plenty of power. The seat on this bike is a lot better than my old bike. My wife can tell you about this also. The lockable saddle bags make securing items no problem. Speaking of problems, I haven't had any. It comes at a good price also.
- R. Lowe, Erin, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-10-26 2007 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I decided to get back to riding after a 20 years layoff and after much consideration, decided on the V-Star 1300 Tourer. I have to say, I couldn't have made a better choice. The bike is very comfortable, even for a guy my size. The controls are easily accessible. I have large hands, yet everything is sufficiently spaced so I'm not accidentally hitting the wrong buttons. The seat is comfortable; I had no problem getting comfortable in the saddle, even during my hour commute to work. The sleek look is a head turner and I've drawn many rave reviews already. I was a bit worried about the size, since my last bike was a 1982 Honda CB650. However, my fears were unfounded as this bike is very responsive and not the least bit cumbersome. I am extremely pleased with my purchase.
- Terence Huffman, Indian Head, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-10-08 2007 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had not ridden in 15+ years, so I wanted a smaller cruiser to get the feel back. From day 1, this bike has performed great. No problems, even when riding 2-up. Investing the extra money to get the tourer, with windshield & saddlebags, was a wise decision. I would recommend this bike to anyone. I drive about 50 miles round trip to work and consistently get 46-48 mpg, including a mixture of highway speeds and stop & go in town. I get 50+ when out riding for fun, even 2-up. Truly a great bike.
- Kent, Mayflower, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-09 2007 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
One of the smoothest bikes I have ridden. Good power, comfort and handling and good styling. I would definitely recommend this bike to anyone looking.
- Jim Doherty, Canal Winchester, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-01 2007 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had this bike about 4 weeks now and have put almost 1100 miles on it. I'm almost 61 and my wife 62 and this is a great bike for the both of us. Easy to ride, smooth, comfortable, good gas mileage. Great touring ride. I'm looking forward to many happy miles.
- relliot499, Mentor, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-31 2007 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm almost 63 years old, and have my share of aches and pains, and have been on bikes longer than I care to remember. This Yamaha is a road eating machine. It's smooth, easy to handle, and has what it takes to get you anywhere you want to go. What else could a fellow ask for?
- James Wicker, Omaha, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-29 2007 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is one very nice motorcycle. One of the sweetest machines I have ever ridden. Anyone looking for a great handling and riding bike then I would highly recommend the 1300 Tourer. I have had this bike for about 3 months and just absolutely love it. Handling is superb and it has all the power you would ever need at any speed. Best of all I have ran off and left many Harleys with this bike.
- William , Paducah, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-18 2007 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I went from a V-Star 650 to the 1300 and love it. The ride is smooth and comfortable especially on the highway, it's got all the power I need when I need it. I love the look of the bike; I got the two-tone liquid silver and charcoal silver and so far haven't seen another like it, which is fine by me.
- Booboo, Burton, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-15 2007 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my V-Star at the end of May. I've already cruised for over 1000 miles and love my bike!!! At first, it seemed really large to me after riding a Kaw. Vulcan 800 Classic for a couple of years -- but I wanted more power and comfort for long road trips. Trucks don't blow me off the road anymore and I can keep up with my biker buds on Chapter trips! My V-Star provides great in city handling as well as power for the open highway. The only draw back was the horn. It sounds like something that would be on a Honda Rebel as opposed to a touring bike like the 1300! I've added engine guards & highway pegs. From a woman's point of view -- this is a great bike and I plan on riding it for years to come!!!
- Bernie, Detroit, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-14 2007 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After many years of contemplation I finally took the plunge and bought the 1300 Tourer a week ago. It's an awesome bike. It has all the power you need and is a very smooth ride. I got 33.8 mpg the first week just riding around town. I can't wait to get it out on the highway for an extended ride.
- Steve, Durant,, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-13 2007 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I hate to be the first one with a complaint here. I just bought the bike today. It rides good, handles good and the engine is smooth but I have a noise coming from the front wheel(it sings to me). I think it's a bad wheel bearing. I rode down hill with the engine off and applied the brake and the noise remained the same. Hummmm. Must be a bad bearing. When the bike slows almost to a stop it makes a grinding noise. Hummmmm. I heard the noise when I drove off from the dealer and thought it was the brake pads. Now I don't think so. It's 52 miles back to the dealer.
- dude, Dayton, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-08 2007 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the first motorcycle I've owned in over 20 years. I've owned motorcycles since I was 7 years old until adulthood but this thing is awesome! My first V-Twin and it is a real thruster! It not only looks great but pulls down the road nicely. I'm not very tall and this bike handles great at low speed--nice low seat height. I hadn't ridden in many years and I got my sea legs back in a hurry with this. The ride is comfortable for over an hour at a time without stopping--you can stay in the saddle long enough to log some miles. I'll be Nationwide with this baby. :)
- Bryan, Ames, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-07 2007 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just bought the bike after selling my Gold Wing. I've had it 3 weeks. I was impressed with the smoothness and handling of the ride. It is noisy though. A lot of gear wind noise,(whining) and turning off it makes a clunk depending on position of piston. It shifts well, corners well. I have the touring model, and with the windshield there is some, (not much) wind buffeting. Right now I'm getting 46 MPG. Just had engine guards installed. Only disappointment is minimal line of accessories, but the dealer told me by Christnmas the market will be flooded.
- John, Chehalis, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-04 2007 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I researched this bike and compared it to a lot of models and brands. I am very satisfied with my choice and I have gotten a lot of good compliments even from die hard Harley riders. My wife who does not like to ride got on, after a lot of coaxing and begging, and was very impressed on how smooth and comfortable this motorcycle is in comparison with my previous motorcycles. I can't say enough of this motorcycle, grteat gas mileage, great comfort, great power, and most important great looks.
- Victor S., Hemet, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-04 2007 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my V Star 1300 tourer for just about a week. I previously had an 85 Maxim and was a bit concerned with handling a bigger bike around town, but wanted something I could use for my 85 miles to work on the highway. The 1300 is exactly what I wanted! I can not get over how well it handles aroudn town and how smoothly it cruises along the highway. If I had the power to change anything with the bike it would be to tilt the speedometer for better daytime viewing and perhaps a better passenger seat, other than that this is one great machine for the price.
- Mikie D, Horseheads, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-29 2007 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first cruiser and all I can say is wow! I am very impressed with the bike, its power, handling and looks!! The bike is much better than advertised and anyone looking for a great middle weight cruiser needs to look at this baby!
- Timmy T, Beach Park,, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-11 2007 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned many bikes and ridden more than I can count and the newest V-Star 1300 is comfort and freedom with a smooth center. Powerful rear wheel acceleration and great handling through the mountain curves as well as in town maneuver-ability. The all around bike for the traveler, the V-Star 1300 is good looking and designed smartly. I love this bike!
- 1PamE, Eugene, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-13 2007 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is only my second bike. I've only been riding a little over a year, my first bike was a Kawasaki 800 Classic, a nice bike, and great for around town, but I wanted something bigger, that had the ability to go some distance comfortably yet still make a good commuter bike. The V-Star 1300 Tourer has been great up to this point. It has sufficient room for all my stuff I carry back and forth to work, with locking hard bags. Rides well, very smooth and quiet. The break in period was a little annoying. Most of that was probably due to my relative inexperience with motorcycles. The different noises belt drive vs chain drive on my Kawasaki, that type of thing. The looks and styling on the Yamaha are well done(love the matte black motor), balance and handling are equally well done. I've been very impressed with the stability of this bike, it handles very well in slow speed maneuvers and handles 70 mph like my old bike handled 50 mph. Initial concerns were the height of the wind screen, it's pretty high, looked weird. I have got to admit for someone who doesn't like wind in my face, the full wind screen has been great. Also the air filter cover and the opposite side are plastic.
- Bruce, West Palm Beach, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: