Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers Reviews (39)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2010-08-18 2007 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is heavy enough to cruise well on the open road yet, light enough to handle extremely well. I wished it had a 6th gear. The seats were a little hard, but I love my bike. After adding a set of Vance Hines pipes, and a Mustang seat with the driver backrest (which was worth the $$$) riding now is more enjoyable than ever.
- Rod, Summertown, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-03-14 2007 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
As a newbie, I wanted to make sure that I had a bike that would be easy to learn a manual shift and balance on. This motorcycle is very comfortable and is very forgiving when I dump it.
- Heidi Arvin, Powell, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-01-21 2007 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have ridden my bike all over the Northern Ohio area and around Western PA. I ride it to work almost every day spring thru fall. The only upgrade I would suggest the factory do, is to put a 6th gear in it so I don't overrev at 75 and 80 mph. If you ride long distances, you'll want a better seat and a sixth gear.
- RICH, North Olmsted, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-10-12 2007 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
If you're looking for an inexpensive, yet dependable cruiser, this is it. It is a good bike. I ride it daily on the highway and routinely cruise at 70 mph. It carries my 300 pound frame just fine. This bike will top out at about 90 mph, but it's not intended to be a sport bike. It will get you where you want to go, it looks good and is a comfortable ride.
- Keith, Omaha, Nebraska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-15 2007 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a wonderful bike. I got my V Star 650 a month ago and love it already (previously was riding a GZ-250). I do not have any problems with the seat. I ride 50 miles a day to and from work at 65-70mph and my butt is just fine. Do have to say it does take a bit to heat up in morning but after that - hold on! I have turned a lot of heads with this bike (they all think it is an 1100). I would highly recommend this bike to anyone looking for a good commuting bike. The bike/engine does sound a little loud on the highway at 70+ but it does just fine (I have never felt at risk from being underpowered). I am going to add a little chrome but the pipes and seat are just fine. There are enough overbearingly loud bikes out there.
- David Spangler, San Antonio, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-13 2007 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my V Star 650 at the beginning of '07. I love the look; the paint is great - black with ghost flames. I haven't rode in years, but this bike is great to get that feeling back. It's easy to control and the ride is comfortable for the most part. A gas gauge would have been nice, but I have gotten used to not having one. A sixth gear would be great, but it is what it is - a speed limit bike. I ride 75 mph with no problems. I love my bike and get compliments all the time. People even think it is an 1100 - that's my little secret. Overall, it is a great bike. I plan on keeping and customizing it.
- David, Camdenton, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-16 2007 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have just purchased my first bike and it is a 2007 VStar 650. I love the bike. It is comfortable and has plenty of power. I just wish it had a 6th gear. You crap in 5th gear at 40 and by 75 the bike is screaming for another gear. I have just ordered new exhaust to give it a deep rumble like a Harley and ordered passing lights and a jet pack. I will give more info after the upgrades are installed.
- Adam, Honey Brook, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-02 2007 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I say great little bike, because it leaves me wanting a little more (power, perhaps another gear). It's a bit hard to keep up with the big boys, but I guess I'll get a big boy bike next. Great first bike, great comfort, can't wait to give it to my wife, and step up to the Warrior.
- Will, Houma, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-30 2007 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I wish I would have bought one of these bikes a long time ago. It rides smooth and the balance is great (compared to my old 250). This is just a wonderful bike whether you're a beginner or intermediate, etc. I would highly recommend this bike to anyone.
- Michelle Murphy, St Michael, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-27 2007 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love this bike. LOVE it. So much so, my wife is jealous. I agree with the one person who said that the seat is not meant for long rides. Very true. I can go about 30 - 40 miles before I have to get off and massage my butt. That can be embarassing when you're on a busy street. I also agree that it could use another gear on the top end. My only complaint is that it is a little under-powered and light for Interstate highway travel. I'm looking at the Roadliner but I will definitely keep this one.
- Grant, Prairie Village, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-20 2007 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my second bike (up grade from a 250cc). It has the power one needs when out on the interstate. Most people think it's an 1100 or a Silverado. If and when I upgrade to a larger bike, this one I will keep. I LOVE THIS BIKE!
- WAYNE, ABERDEEN , Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-19 2007 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
For my first bike, I love it. I loved the feel of it as soon as I sat on it. I would recommend this bike to any first time owners.
- ROb Nordenstrom, New Caney, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-14 2007 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 650 Classic Oct/2006. I have enjoyed it thoroughly. I used to own a 1979 Triumph 750 Bonneville, that I put 22,000 miles on. I had to know how to work on that bike. It is nice to have one that is as reliable as this 650 Classic. I have no problem with power, even when my wife is on the back. It does feel like it could use another gear, but I knew that when I bought it. My brother has the Silverado model with over 10,000 miles, and he has no complaints. When I twist the throttle at 50 mph, I have no problem passing, that's with two people. Comfort wise, my seat is okay, but the passenger seat is not the best for long hauls.
- B Buchanan, Panama City, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-14 2007 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my 2007 Yamaha V-Star Classic at the end of May. It was love at first sight when I saw the candy red model sitting on the showroom floor. The cruiser height was exactly what I was looking for and the seat was very comfortable. I am a relative newcomer to motorcycles and, being female, wanted something that I could handle. The V-Star fits the bill. Both feet are firmly on the ground and the slightly over 500lb weight is manageable, yet provides stability on the highway. The feel of the clutch takes a little getting used to as its release point is WAY out there, but nothing that can't be overcome after a ride or so. I've only owned the bike about 6 weeks, but have already logged in over 1400 miles. It's a fun, comfortable ride and I have gotten numerous comments on its looks. The only downside I can mention are the two retro non-features: there is no shift indicator and NO gas gauge(keep your eye on your trip odometer after 130-135 miles). Other than that, NO complaints. Without a doubt, it's a beautiful bike at a reasonable price!
- vlbcw, bangor , Maine

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-12 2007 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First bike, and did I pick a great one for the money. The V-Star Classic has superb comfort, ride smoothness and extremely forgiving to a beginner like me. Only thing I would like is more gears to shift up. Can't wait to get home and ride some more!!!
- Barry Sharpe, Altus, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-10 2007 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
All things considered, this bike offers more overall value than its competition. The Yamaha designers hit a home run with the retro fat boy styling. I've read mixed reviews regarding comfort...I think the riding position is quite smooth and comfortable. The compliant most are referring to is the vibration felt from the motor when traveling at a higher speed...you find yourself wanting to shift beyond fifth gear. It's very simple...if you desire more bike, spend more money!
- Lance, Newburgh, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-09 2007 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I PUT ALMOST 1400 MI ON MY BIKE AND HAVE A FEW NEW THINGS TO SAY. THE SEAT IS NOT DESIGNED FOR LONG RIDES, I WILL HAVE TO UPGRADE THAT. AND I WOULD LOVE TO HAVE A FUEL GAUGE. I RIDE MY BIKE ABOUT 65 MILES PER DAY AND REALLY ENJOY IT. GLAD I BOUGHT IT. WISH I WOULD HAVE GOT A 1100 NOW. BUT FOR THE MONEY, IT'S A GREAT BIKE. BUY YOURSELF ONE. I'M STILL A NOVICE SO I haven't RIDDEN THE DRAGON WHICH IS JUST ABOUT 10 MILES DOWN THE ROAD BUT ONE DAY ME AND THIS V STAR CLASSIC WILL SLAY THAT DRAGON. IF YOU don't KNOW WHAT THE DRAGON IS, GOOGLE IT. HAPPY TRAILS.
- jeffrey, maryville, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-09 2007 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just got my bike yesterday. I have only been able to ride it about 45 miles this far as I have been on shift for work... but every time a 15-minute break comes up I am out the door! This bike looks great and sounds great too. I have already discovered that the bike should have a 6th gear. As many others have mentioned, I find myself searching for the missing gear when at speed. Will post a picure once the upgrades have been added at the shop.
- Ted Pennington, Reynoldsburg, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-29 2007 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My air-cooled V Star Classic has done exceptionally well in the Arizona 113 degree heat. Been riding it everyday to and from work, and it gets 58 mpg. Can't beat that with the gas prices the way they are. The bike is comfortable, balanced, and very appropriate for somebody as small framed as myself. I just love all the features, including the windshield and especially the saddlebags. The bike is very smooth upto about 62-68 mph, so if you want something that has high-end performance, this is not the bike for you as it is hard on the engine to push the RPMs to pass somebody much faster than that. At 70 mph, you will begin to get a lot of vibration, which doesn't bother me so much because I don't like to travel that fast anyway. For the money, you can beat the features, the chrome, or the look of the bike. P.S. Parts for this bike are cheaper than for a Kawasaki or Honda!!! I have experienced no breakdowns or problems, other than the oil plug losing on this bike.
- MS, Phoenix, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-28 2007 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have looked at all the cruiser models from other manufacturers and I chose this bike from extensive research. I have had 13 or 14 bikes over the past thirty years. In the short time that I have owned this bike I have fallen in love with motorcycling all over again. Whoever said that you had to have a bigger bike than a 650 to go on the open interstates has not driven this bike. I would recommend this high quality, low cost and highly enjoyable bike to anyone. The Yamaha V-Star Classic is by far the best motorcycle that I have owned to date. And for picking a 2007 model I have absolutely no problem getting accessories for it. Yamaha, my hat is off to you.
- Todd J. Pineau, Rock Hill, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-21 2007 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
V-Star 650 Classic was the best purchase I ever made. Great starter bike for new riders. The Yamaha V-Star 650 is in overall perfect. It has a smooth ride, easy to handle, and not too heavy. I was a little hesitant at first, but once I got the gears down it was smooth riding. I must agree a sixth gear would be great, but five is just fine with me.
- Ms. B, St. Stephens, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-25 2007 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The best birthday gift I got from my lovely wife and daughters. This is my first bike and I could not get my eyes off it. It gives the perfect ride to a beginner like me. Easy to handle and always an eye-catcher for it's very stylish look. Great Job to Yamaha for producing a great ride that's easy on the pocket!
- Jimmy Buniao, Beach Park, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-19 2007 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Very nice riding, classy looking bike. I wish it had one more gear though. Very easy to handle and always turns heads.
- Joe Cummings, West Jordan, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-16 2007 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love her. Couldn't ask for a better looking or running bike. Was a bit heavy at first but have learned how to handle her and am doing fine...
- marcia weed, chicopee, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-02 2007 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just recently got into riding and I am very pleased with my purchase. It rides great and looks big. Nothing but compliments on the bike. My only concern in the seat that makes your pants ride. Also the clutch is a little awkward at first because of the friction zone. All in all, I wouldn't change it for any other bike in its class.
- Bigcat, Mesa, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: