Yamaha YZ450F Motocross Bike Reviews on Cycle Insider (7)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha YZ450F Motocross Bike Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Yamaha YZ450F Motocross Bike? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2008-01-20 2007 Yamaha YZ450F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I raced this bike all year with out one break down. I just changed the oil & air filters and put a good chain on. I just did the valve adjustment after a whole season of racing and only 3 valves were out of spec and not by much at all. My old bike would never have held up as well as this Yamaha. By the way my old bike was a 2004 CRF-450.
- Chris Lane, Livonia, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-25 2007 Yamaha YZ450F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
At first, the bike didn't seem to have much bite. After a fuel screw adjustment to 21/2 turns out, the power came to life! You have to ride the bike differently than earlier Yamaha 450 models. Not as much bite and raw power down low like older Yamahas, but the mid and top really pull! The biggest difference is the cornering... the bike really responds in cornering and riding ruts in turns. I can come in to turns much faster, still in control and be able to drop the bike into the turn without popping up out of the rut. The dealership sales staff were helpful and courteous during the complete transaction and contacted me afterwards to make sure I was a completely satisfied customer! Thanks!
- Phil Smith, Somerset, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-05 2007 Yamaha YZ450F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first Yamaha, and my first racing 4-stroke. The power is ultra-smooth from off-idle till shut-down, with more than enough power to smoke the tire or loft the front end on command. The balance of the aluminum frame is awesome. Switchback corners and chicanes are a breeze. It is one of the easiest wheelie machines ever! The suspension is better than my Pro-Circuit modified suspension. Just set the sag and hammer down! I raised the forks in the clamps up to the first line (5mm) and it helped the cornering considerably. I disassembled my bike before riding it, and recommend greasing the linkage before riding, as there is no grease on the bolts and pins. The bearings were greased from the factory though. Quality of manufacturing is top-notch. Extreme engineering thought has obviously been given to every part, no matter how small or large. I would recommend an adjustable fuel screw when you buy this bike. It makes all the difference in the way it runs, as five degrees temperature throws off your throttle response, and adjusting it with a screwdriver is frustrating. The power will also sack the stock chain in just a few rides. I have trail-rode, hillclimbed, and moto-ed this bike hard. I am truly Blown Away by it's prowess. I love my YZ450F!!!
- Timber Pesterfield, Cloverdale, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-05 2007 Yamaha YZ450F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The bike really suprised me, the power is great through every gear, very easily handled and easy on the eyes. And cheap to keep up with verse's a 2 stroke. What else could a guy ask for?!
- Rocky Brandes, huffman, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-01 2007 Yamaha YZ450F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well, once I decided I wanted the Yamaha YZ450F 2 years ago, I knew I had to have one. Took 2 years to get the money but I finally picked one up about a month ago. It's the fastest and most powerful bike I've ever ridden. They've toned the bite down on it a little bit but I heard it needed it, but don't get me wrong, it's not a slow bike whatsoever. I weigh 165 lbs and I have a problem keeping the front down under heavy acceleration around the track. I had a hard time in the beginning because the suspension was fairly stiff for me, so I loosened the rebound, preload, and compression a little. I didn't touch anything out back except preload though. Overall, it's a very fast bike that feels light and you'll fall in love with it if you ride it.
- Cameron, Marysville, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-23 2007 Yamaha YZ450F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the best bike I have ever ridden. The power on this puts any other bike to the dust. I have the white/silver. When I got on it, I thought it would be like the other 4 strokes - when hot hard to start - but it fired up 1st kick everytime.
- matthew gallaher, fullerton, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-26 2007 Yamaha YZ450F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I rode my 2001 YZ426F for 4 yrs, and loved it, so I expected a lot from the 07. I knew the power was going to be more like a CRF from the reviews, and thankfully it is! It is much easier to control the power, throttle respone is amazing from anywhere in the rpm's. It feels like I have a bit more torque then the 426 down low, and yet it still rips in true YZF style up top! I love the tank/seat/shroud combo. It handles great, feels very light, and wave rotors look sweet! It starts very very easy! I got the White/Silver, I love that color combo, so does everyone else that has seen it!!!
- Paul R Coon, Benge, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: