Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bike Reviews on Cycle Insider (25)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bike Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bike? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2011-04-10 2007 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It was my first bike that I owned and paid off. It's also been four years just about since I first picked it up. There hasn't been any time that it has caused me to complain about it in any way. I still ride in the canyons on the weekends, track days every other month, and use it to get me to and from school during the week. After several thousand miles into the bike, it still runs great. I've put on quite a few bolt ons and upgrades over the past years to make it unique and even more powerful. My previous review still stands from the 2k mark on this bike. The only difference being is that I was a little naive when suggesting anyone lower the bike. It changes the handling characteristics if you use it for track or canyon riding. If it is used just around town, lowering it isn't too bad. My bike is stock height and I can almost touch the ground flat with my feet. I know a few girls that are shorter than I am, who own this bike, and feel comfortable tip toeing on it. One in particular is too short and could only put one foot down. She managed for a while but eventually lowered it a little. She had to shorten the kickstand after that, but feels more confident when riding. She doesn't do any serious riding to notice any difference from lowering it. I'd say this would probably be one of the only situations you might want to lower it. And for Pete's sake, don't stretch this bike. It is beautiful as it is. If you happen to come by one of these used, I would definitely say to grab it. It is a very track worthy bike. It will lay down for you in just a flick in the corners. Get some new rear-sets though. You will end up grinding your toe slider down or peg eventually. The tank is awesome for knee placement and your upper body while in a corner. You definitely feel solid on the bike. My only complaint (if anything) would still be the seat. I've ridden over 800 miles or more in one day. Let me tell you, my butt was definitely sore. Other than that, this bike is glory all around.
- Mike S., El Centro, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-02-22 2007 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike and I love it. I would recommend it to anyone.
- Chandler, Fulton, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-01-22 2007 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just got me a '07 metallic black R6 and love it. I saved money over the '08 which I don't mind putting into upgrades on the '07. As you can tell I rode about 100 miles so far on it and it's still way within its break in period before I open her up. You will never get as many compliments with any other bike like you do with this one. By far the best looking 600 out there. Plus it handles like no other. A must to own no matter the year '06, '07 or '08.
- Kris, Miami, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-14 2007 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is awesome. I have done a few mods to my bike looks and motor-wise. It is super fast and handles like a dream. The R6 is for sure the best 600 on the road.
- KENNY PETERS, MANTECA, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-10 2007 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike about two months ago. I had never rode a bike until about a week before I got this one. The first day I bought my R6 I was too scared to take it above 47mph. After about 200 miles of riding, I was ready to take it sooo much faster! I didn't because of the break in period, but it is such a good bike to learn on, it begged to go faster! I'm 5'10" and have somewhat short legs. The bike does sit up a lot higher than most. I cannot get both feet flat on the ground at the same time, however, I'm pretty close. If you are short this may not be the best for you. 4 days after I got mine, my buddy bought an 07 gixer 600. I rode his, and afterwards, I was actually much happier with mine! The gixer was more comfortable, but mine rode soooo much smoother, it didn't vibrate like the gixer either. We switched bikes for a quick ride, and he even admits that mine is AMAZING at high speed cornering! It is a track bike, it is meant to handle corners well!! I have 3300 miles on it now, and I have had it up to 154mph in 5th gear, I started to run out of road then. I would imagine that it might hit 160-165. If you're trying to make a decision between the gixer and the R6, I would get the R6 for high speed performance handeling, and cornering, if you just wana cruise, then get the gixer. I'm trading my R6 for an R1 next summer!
- R6 Rider, Springfield, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-05 2007 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Plain and simple this bike is sick. I got it in the Candy Red color and it looks ridiculous in the sun. Even guys that have been riding for years are jelaous of the bike. Yea it's a 600 but the it's lighter and mid-range torque is sick.
- Bojan Rajkovic, Munster, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-06 2007 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the first motorcycle I had ever ridden and it was easy to learn. I love this bike and recommend it to anyone who loves to go fast and look good. I tried out the GSXR 600 and I like this a lot more. Great bike!
- Adriel, Greenville, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-31 2007 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got my 07 R6 charcoal black. It's been nothing but a riot to ride. Fun in the turns. In the low end, it is a slug but the top end, that's a different story. I know she does a lot more than 170mph...
- Jared, salt kake, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-15 2007 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The R6 is my first bike. I bought the red color and I had to go to 3 stores before I found it. It's very fast, and handles great, but there's always room for more power, like exhaust and air filter upgrades and sproket. I'm still in the break in period and I can't wait till I can get it close to red line. I would suggest this bike even for a beginner like me, but I know how to ride a dirt bike, or pedal bike, so I figured this would be easy and it is.
- Josh , pottstown, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-14 2007 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is by far my Favorite bike yet. I have ridden both the GSXR, the CBR, and previously owned the 2002 Yamaha R6. This was a upgrade from the 2002 after an accident, and let me tell you, this bike is amazing. It rides soooo smooth compared to the 2002, and screams once you hit the higher RPMs. If you're thinking about a new bike, and can't decide what you would enjoy, go with the R6, you won't be disappointed.
- Phil T, South Bend, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-18 2007 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I went out with a group of riders...all pushing 1000's, and this bike holds it's own! I couldn't believe the power this things has. Great light weight bike. Screams at 120! Love it!!!
- Steve P., Suitland, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-18 2007 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've rode GSXR 6's, Kawis, etc but nothing can touch my new ride, the 07 R6V. Once the tach hits around 11k, hold on cause it's nuts! I've put a full pipe and PC on there and I am running with 1000s all day. Awesome bike on the track, unsurpassed handling. You can bang down four gears in seconds and drop and scrape into tight corners like no 1000 nor other 6 can. Highly recommended.
- steve T, banning, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-30 2007 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike, I love it. I was debating on the R1 for more power, but this one has enough power. The only thing I did not like about the bike was the side turn signals and rear fender so I put different ones on. Aside from that, the bike is great.
- MikeL, Lakewood, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-16 2007 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my second bike. This bike is awesome. Great going into turns and coming out of them. This bike is very quick. I love my new baby - it's better than the last bike I owned. I would recommend this bike to any new comers or long time riders. Great bike all around. Thank you Yamaha! For all other riders - keep it safe, and god bless us riders.
- rider, mount vernon, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-08 2007 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned many bikes - two ZX6s, 97 and 99, a 01 ZX7, a 95 ZX9 and an 02 GSXR600 and 1000. I can say this is the best by far other than a 1000. This bike does not top out at 150, I've hit over 161. Also, this bike is very light and quick 2 the touch. It will stand up with no help, just a turn of the wrist. Also, she will walk on any 06 or 07 600 the other guys make. If you want a middleweight monster that can and will out run 750s, don't waste money else where, get the R6 and be happy and seen.
- chris stclair, lynchburg, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-04 2007 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I owned a Yamaha YZF 600 before and I did a little step up to the R6. I like it a lot more. The ability to turn on this bike is much better than what I had before. The acceleration is phenomenal too. I would definitely recommend this bike to any rider whether you are beginning to ride or have been riding for years.
- Jeremy, Marion, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-28 2007 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first sport bike. I have been riding for years. This bike is a very easy bike to handle. I'm still breaking it in. But the bike feels great and is what I was hoping for. It's very light and can turn and corner great. Seems like an all around great bike.
- Phat, Baton Rouge, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-05 2007 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I BOUGHT MY R6 IN FEB. 2007. I TEST ROAD ALL THE NEW BIKES OUT THIS YEAR AND THE R6 IS BY FAR THE BEST 600 I HAVE EVER RIDDEN. VERY RESPONSIVE, ALTHOUGH DOWN LOW (RPM) IT'S A BIT OF A SLUG, BUT OPEN HER AND.... WELL HOLD ON!!! HANDLES LIKE NO OTHER. I CAN'T WAIT TO TAKE IT TO A TRACK DAY AND GIVE IT ALL SHE'S GOT!! LOVE THE 2 STAGE SHIFT LIGHT, GREAT IDEA. COMFORT... WELL THIS IS WHAT YOU SACRIFICE TO GO FAST & LOOK GOOD!!!WELL DONE YAMAHA. AWESOME RIDE!
- RIXTA, GOLD COAST, QLD, Quebec, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-26 2007 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After riding a few in the supersports category nothing came close to the 2007 Yamaha R6 (third geneartion). Power for a 600 is great! Have to admit under 6000 rpm it is not mind blowing but adequate for street riding. Above 8,000 rpm it comes alive and above 10,000rpm until the 14,500 rpm maximum power output it is second to none in its class. Peformance is not everything and what I love about this bike is its handling and rideability. Cornering on this bike is effortless. Most of us would not have the ability to test the R6 around corners. All around fantastic bike!
- John, Melbourne, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-22 2007 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is the best I have seen and owned. Looks very slick and rides like a dream. I recommend this bike to everybody.
- Eduardo Marroquin, Lansing, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-22 2007 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
You would love this bike. I have ridden the 06 cbr600rr and many other bikes but nothing compares. If you want something that you can rev the crap out of and gain high speeds fast, then this is the bike for you. And the best part about it is the cornering. If you like the mountains and the winding roads then you will love this more the anything!!! Have and buy the new R6 if you don't own one!!!
- joshua , moreno valley, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-10 2007 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first sport bike, and I must say this decision was on pure looks. Out of the 4 Japanese bikes for 07, I really think this is the hottest one by far, even though Honda CBR 600 won't unveil until April 07, but the pictures didn't really wow me. The R6 is so ergonomically designed, and sleek looking to the visual sense. It was love at first sight for me! What's even more impressive to me is the the throttle response...for such a fast bike, it's so smooth and crisp with each turn. If there's anything complaints, I wish the brakes were a little more sensitive. I feel it's a little too smooth for such a fast bike. I highly recommend this bike to anyone getting into sport bikes, or even experienced riders.
- Bill Sun, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-03 2007 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love the bike. It is one of the smoothest and quickest bikes I have rode. The bike handles like a dream. It will beat a CBR 900 RR till you get to about 150 mph. The bike tops out at 158 mph stock out of the box. But for a 600, you can't ask for a better bike.
- Brian Alluvot, Utica, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-18 2007 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
One could argue if it's the best looking, but come on, it is the best looking. It rides well. If you are on the highway no aches or sores. But in city traffic, well, it's a sportsbike. Best 600 bike out right now. Some say low end is not enough. Maybe you need that and if you do just rev up the rpms and pop the clutch. If this bike had the R1 front end with the cat eyes it would be the best looking bike in all of motorcycle land. Good bike - can't go wrong with this one. Oh and it's the same as last years. The blue is cool and the red is hot but the charcoal color has to go. What happenend to the all black? That was a good looker too. But no more black bikes for me. Too hot during the summer. Why are the aftermarket lights illegal to have on the road? Bikes should get any advantage they can to be more visible. No flashing lights but just additional neons or something to help with visibility. That would not only look good but it would also be a safety measure.
- MOJO, Vegas, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-04 2007 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got my R6-2007 on Dec. 02, 2006 in Candy Red/Black(Hot!! & Sexy). This is my second sportbike, my first one was a ZZR600. It's been six months since I last rode (had an accident with my first bike, needless to say I totalled the Kawi). I was a little nervous when I drove out from the dealership, but after shifting to 2nd gear it was on! The bike was confident; It feels so light, is easy to shift, and making turns was a breeze (sometimes too easy). You don't have to put a lot of effort on making turns. I don't have to watch my rpm's because the break-in rpm is 8000. I have to give the R6 a 4 on confort for the simple fact that it's a crotch rocket. I love the color selection for 2007, last year's color selection was not serious. R6-2007 in candy red & black is the hottest looking bike on the planet!!
- Keidashii, Orlando, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: