Harley-Davidson Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (69)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Harley-Davidson Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Harley-Davidson Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2012-08-20 2008 Harley-Davidson Sportster 1200 Nightster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I used to ride sport bikes when I was in my teens and twenties. Then when I hit 30 I saw the light and went into some Honda cruisers, and almost bought a Honda VTX 1300 before I bought this Nightster. I have to say it's an awesome bike. It does vibrate and it's not annoying on the vibration. It's just part of the rumble of the 1200 cc motor's tone. The ride is very quick of the line, plenty of low end torque. I have a stage 1 and remapping of the EFI and it runs far away from the Honda VTX 1300 which a buddy of mine owns. Now he wants a Harley. It's very low to the ground so it's not for riders over 5'10" tall. I used to believe a lot of what all these people say about Harleys and now I know it's all in the eye of the individual rider. But if you look at the top ten list of what we Americans do compared to the rest of tbe world, Harley motorcycles are mentioned in the list as some of the best built and best riding motorcycles in the world. I mean why do you think there are such things as Shadows, Vulcans, Boulevards, and others trying to do it like Harley but just not quite doing it. Well enough I say, but that's my experience. Try one for yourself.
- Perry Burrow, Deer Park, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-11-10 2008 Harley-Davidson Sportster 883 Low Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my 4th season on my Sportster, and it has been a very good ride. I road a 1200 Gold Wing for 17 years, so this was quite a change for me. To make the Sportster a better road machine, I replaced the seat with one from Mustage with a rider backrest. The rear shocks are progressive. I now have 47,000 mile on it with one small oil leak which was corrected. I am 76 years old, and I still love to hit the open road on my little piglet.
- harold fortune, kokomo, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-07-24 2008 Harley-Davidson Dyna Street Bob Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I choose the Street Bob for its bobber/vintage look. The 96cu in motor has plenty of power especially combined with the fuel pak and V&H shortshot staggered pipes I had. Ergoes were perfect for my 5'9" frame. The brakes sucked to me but coming off a sportbike I could understand. This is great for cruising the town or taking 45 min.-1 hour distance rides but I had to get off and stretch after that with the stock seat and mid controls. I'm sure forward controls and an aftermarket seat would help a lot but I just didn't have the money to try it. It has an excellent fit and finish and no leaks or noises for the 3,300 miles I owned it. Flat black is SICK looking and my favorite color. The Street bob is an excellent choice for a Harley Cruiser. I would definitely buy it again but I would like to take longer trips with some cargo capabilities and some sounds so I can ride longer and farther before stops. It's a great bike though!
- rebel1, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-04-29 2008 Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've now owned this bike for 3.5 years and have put over 25k on her. I've been on three long road trips, each in excess of 2k miles (two trips to Deals Gap, North Carolina and one trip to Cape Hatteras, starting in Central Florida) and numerous weekend trips around Central Florida. The bike has performed flawlessly. Most trips were 2up with a lot of highway miles. She has a little vibration at idle, which I like, but smooths out as soon as you start rolling. I've never had a problem with my radio and my wife says she can hear it well even at 75 mph. on the highway. By the way, my wife has actually fallen asleep on the back a couple of times. She has performed flawlessly for me thru cold, heat, rain and hard riding. The Brembo brakes are not ABS but perform well for me and, as a bonus, changing the pads is surprisingly easy. Speaking of maintenance, my brother has a 2008 Goldwing. My bike is much easier to work on than his. I bought a service manual and follow the recommended intervals and have never had a problem. She has never been into a shop for service as I do it all myself. The fit and finish is outstanding and has held up well over time. As with all twin cam scoots, she does run hot (thanks EPA) and I spent a considerable amount of time trying to cool her down. I finally installed a Stage 1 kit that seems to cool her off some. I will put on an Ultra Cool Oil Cooler this year though as she is still hot when stuck in traffic.
- Mark, Bartow, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-04-16 2008 Harley-Davidson Dyna Wide Glide 105th Anniversary Edition Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This 105th Anniversary Wide Glide is my first Harley. I was raised on Ducati's, Moto Guzzi's, BMW's, and various metric sportbikes. I love all bikes as they all offer something different. I pulled the trigger on the '08 Wide Glide because I fell in love with the looks, but I was pleasantly surprised by the performance and comfort. I love the rubber mounted engine and the way it shakes at idle but is super smooth at speed. The handling is great for a cruiser and very light but sure. Make no mistake, this is not a sportbike and it does not pretend to be. The engine has gobs of torque though, and it feels well made and solid. In fact, the attention to detail and function on the Wide Glide are first class. The Wide Glide has been 100% reliable and trouble free on every ride. The riding position for me at least is way more comfortable the the Fat Boy. The Fat Boy felt cramped and it was a bit of a reach for the bars. The ride on the WG is not too bad either except over the worst bumps. The brakes are okay but given the parameters of the bike more than up to the task. Clutch feel is light but progressive, and pulling away from the lights is a snap. I now have a Ducati, Moto Guzzi and a Harley in my stable - one for every mood I'm in! The Wide Glide is great for those lazy rides where you're not in the mood for corner carving, just for having fun and chilling out. I plan to get some bags for it in the near future, I already have the quick detatch backrest and screen. I'll have this one for a long time.
- Frank, Toronto, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-04-12 2008 Harley-Davidson Sportster 883 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a new 883 in 2008 and have not had the first regret. I rode a 1986 Honda Gold Wing 1200 for 17 years. I was at the age that I felt that I needed something a little lighter and more nimble. Besides, I wore the wing out and sold it for salvage. In three seasons, I have put 34,000 miles on it, and it is still a joy to ride. I really enjoy jumping on it and riding on three or four day trips. I am 75 years old and this should be my last motorcycle unless I wear it out too soon.
- harold fortune, kokomo, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-04-08 2008 Harley-Davidson Sportster 883 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike and love it! When I bought it, it had 3,231 miles on it. In just a few days that I've had it, it's already at 3,396. I'm glad I got this one before someone else did.
- Brenda, Honolulu, Hawaii

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-03-21 2008 Harley-Davidson Dyna Street Bob Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am a proud new owner of a 3,700 mile used Street Bob I bought in Collierville, Indiana. I am riding the bike 50 miles a day to work and back plus pleasure riding. I am impressed that in over 700 miles of Memphis street riding over some of the worst roads in the civilized world, in temperatures from 36*f to 85*f, I have not found one leak, loose bolt or questionable item on the whole bike. I am averaging 44-47 mpg. on the street and 46-49 on the highway. The bike can lug around in 6th gear down to 35 mph. and cleanly accelerates with no bogging. The bike rides pretty well. The suspension is a little soft but only an issue on bad potholes and poorly built road seams. The handling is great for a 650 lb. bike and quality is as good as any Asian bikes. I got a great price and excellent support from the dealership and will be visiting often.
- Brice Dyal, Southaven, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-10-10 2008 Harley-Davidson Sportster 1200 Roadster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have ridden a Road King for seven years and wanted a lighter sportier bike without traditional sportster issues. The rubber mount helps with the vibes. It has 3 disc brakes, tach and midmount controls, not to mention the bigger tank. I had to switch out the seat for a Mustang. Also, I added a Supertrapp 2 into 1 to open up the top end. Now I ride it much more than the Roadking, that I use for 2 up and long rides. People comment it's not the traditional sports look but I think its one of the best looking sporties I have seen. Also, it will be a rare classic only made 1 year.
- RJP, Winchester, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-10-06 2008 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my fourth Harley. My wife and I bought this bike to 'tide me over' until I hit 50, when I intend to buy either a Limited or possible a CVO. We bought this '08 with 4100 miles and immediately rode it to Street Vibrations in Reno. What a great ride! This Ultra may not be the most powerful or modern touring motorcycle on the road, but with its mildly tuned 96 cu. in. V Twin and 6 spd. transmission, it is an absolute pleasure to ride at a relaxed pace. Yes, 5th gear whines and the engine shakes the entire machine at idle. But on the highway or any open road, 6th gear brings smooth as silk and quiet rumbling performance from 55 mph. on up to 85 mph. (as fast as I wanted to go!) This bike has ABS, cruise, a great audio system with AM/FM/CD/XM/CB, full instrumentation, six gallon tank, security and keyless ignition. The fit and finish are superb. The fuel injection handled sea level to 9000 feet seamlessly. We have only put on 1000 miles, but I love this bike. I am changing the stock windscreen to a 9" Wind Vest as I hate looking through the windscreen. Even at my height, the stocker splits my vision when I slump down in the seat. I totally agree that the rear exhaust can tend to cook the rider's inner thighs in slow, hot riding, which is why I am adding the heat deflectors that are standard equipment on the new dressers. Other than that, this is one classy and comfortable machine! Oh, and by the way, the wife is very comfortable on the back.
- R. Geertson, Dixon, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-10-06 2008 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's my first Harley and I'm happy!! I purchased it through the military in Iraq and had it delivered to the Harley dealership. The service department and everyone at the dealership were terrific!! They delivered the bike to the house (after a 45 minute operator's class). The service department has gone above and beyond throughout the life of the bike. I'm looking to get my wife a Heritage and will go the same route. It may be not the military sales, but with the dealership. It's a great bike, smooth ride, very dependable and looking forward to riding at every given chance!
- Mr. Louis Cass, Newport News, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-07-18 2008 Harley-Davidson Softail Night Train Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike used with less than 800 miles on it. I've been riding a rigid chopper for the last three years and added this bike for a daily rider. The bike is beautiful, reliable and very smooth. It's a pleasure to ride. I'm very happy with it.
- John, 'Tampa Bay, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-04-29 2008 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just got it and put about 500 miles on it. So far we find it extremely comfortable and enjoy the ride and creature comforts compared to the 06 Road Star we just had. Love the cruise, stereo and seats. Hate the kickstand and top gear is too high. Just have to accept 5th is what to use under 60MPH. Suspect we will complain about the heat over time like most others.
- Bill Plancke, Burlington, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-04-03 2008 Harley-Davidson Road Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is the most fun I've had on a motorcycle, and I've had a lot of them. It's super comfortable, handles great, has adequate (although certainly not overwhelming) power, and looks fantastic. The quality of the paint and chrome on a Harley is in a class by itself. I've done lots of 500 mile days and even a 750 mile day and the bike runs smooth and comfortable the whole way. I traded in a Goldwing to get this bike. The Goldwing is an awesome motorcycle, and I would also give it five stars. However, it has no soul like the Harley. It's more like a Civic on two wheels. The RG looks better, sounds better, feels better, and is just overall a more enjoyable ride.
- caymen8, Aurora, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-03-20 2008 Harley-Davidson Sportster 883 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my bike the last week of June in 08. I have ridden this bike many miles in the little time I have actually had it out. It is great for an hour or 2 ride but after that, it's not the best. I put many miles on it last year riding from Kentucky to Ohio all the time. It has always started right up every time. I did have to have the rocker box gaskets replaced but Harley warrantied the parts and labor of course because of the awesome 2 year unlimited mileage warranty.
- JeffDynes, Ansonia, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-01-23 2008 Harley-Davidson Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Traded in an older Sportster in 2008 for my FXD Superglide. Nearly 2 years later and 24,000 miles without any problems. NO problems what-so-ever. Love the bike. Surprisingly powerful for a Harley but could use better springs up front. Stock seat is good for about 2 hours so you'll want to swap it out for a Sundowner. Recently completed 2 iron butt saddle sore 1000 runs back to back and did not feel any pain in the rear. As Harley's go this is the best bang for the buck.
- yorgo, miami, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-01-02 2008 Harley-Davidson Softail Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've ridden my bike as much as possible since purchasing it in Jan of 08. This is hands down the best bike I've ever owned. I've ridden since 1962 and have owned a number of bikes. Flat track racing TT Scrambles and street riding. This bike has never let me down starts first time every time. Oil, filters, and gas is about all I've done to her. I kick the tires and light the fires and we ride. I have added a number of accessories and a full stage one. This is one fine scooter....
- DD, San Antonio, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-11-30 2008 Harley-Davidson Road King Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own this and a gl1800 Goldwing, I enjoy this more because it feels more like a motorcycle. I use the the Wing on 1000 mile days and trips because it eats up miles. I ride the FLHR on day or weekend trips because it is more fun. You can make it a one of a kind. No problems with either bike.
- wolfislands, elk river, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-11-16 2008 Harley-Davidson Sportster 1200 Roadster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have put 6400 miles on my Roadster and I still love it. Most people trade their Sportsters in on a big bike but not me. I ride every day to work and am proud to be on it. I don't consider it a girl bike but a sleek, fast, good looking Harley Sport Bike. I have riden the HD XR1200 and its a nice HD Sport Bike too, but I like my higher torque Sportster, which is quicker out of the hole, in my opinion, and more comfortable to ride. I'll be back with another updated picture when I add my Christmas presents to my Sporty.
- Bill, Citrus Heights, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-11-11 2008 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After many miles I still love this bike. I have done numerous 500+ mile days with no problem. Others have complained of vibration thru the floorboards and bars, but I get none above an idle. Lots of shake at idle, but I can deal with that. Biggest problem is heat at low (in town) speeds, but realize, this is NOT a crusier, but a touring bike meant for the open road. I have had 2 warranty issues. The big one is the bushing on the main shaft went bad at 30K, replacing everything in the primary except the compensator sproket. It's now noisy again at near 50K, so back in the shop it goes. Glad I got the extended warranty. Other problem is the heated grips (covered under warranty as I had the shop put them on when new). I'm considering trading for the new Ultra Limited.
- Roger, Petersburg, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-10-10 2008 Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Still Lovin It. Spent a lot of time riding in the hot desert southwest this summer. A lot of hard riding in 100+ degrees. Other than an intermittent problem with the Harmon Kardon radio the bike ran flawlessly. Harley needs to fix their radio! I'll probably stick in an aftermarket unit this winter rather than deal with a rebuilt radio(under warranty)that will probably fail again. Planning on a coast to coast trip next summer and have to have my tunes.
- mikekc7sdm, Western Wyoming, Wyoming

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-09-04 2008 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my second bike, let me say I was skeptical at first, but Harley Davidson makes an exceptional product. I have owned my Ultra Classic for a little over a year and have over 8ooo miles and that's just weekend riding. The only complaint and it really isn't a problem that is not correctable is the heat from the engine. I took care of it by installing a dual exhaust and it made all the difference. Other than that it is a great ride and I am proud to be a HOG member.
- Simon Miranda, Miramar, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-09-03 2008 Harley-Davidson Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Had the first service done and am very happy, bike runs well and handles great. Very good gas mileage. With everything adjusted, the bike performs like it should. If you buy a Harley, you need to ride it and break it in right then have everything adj and the fluids changed. YOU WILL BE HAPPY WITH THE WAY IT PERFORMS if you break it in right.
- tom, canton, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-09-02 2008 Harley-Davidson Dyna Fat Bob Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
10 k and still going strong. Very reliable and starts every time. Very few adjustments needed outside of routine maintenance that I attribute more to Milwaukee roads than HD design flaw. Looking forward to the next 10k.
- Emil Bart, Mukwonago, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-08-10 2008 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike has been rode every month since we've had it. Almost 18 months. Even with two up (wife isn't small (either). Bike handles excellent. Has real good torque though out power range. Has been very comfortable for both of us on long trips. Been to Daytona and back, Been to north east Ohio and back. Did 648.7 miles in one day on that trip and both were comfortable. Gets excellent fuel mileage unless you start laying on it, on the Ohio trip, we did almost 1700 miles and it averaged 44 mpg. Love this bike! Have had one gauge replaced that took water.
- Harold Cox III, Benson, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: