Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2008 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycle reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
4.9
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
4.8
Comfort
4.8

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Motorcycles

Reviews

13 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

R. Geertson

Dixon, California

Reviewed on 2010-10-06

Motorcycle reviewed2008 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is my fourth Harley. My wife and I bought this bike to 'tide me over' until I hit 50, when I intend to buy either a Limited or possible a CVO. We bought this '08 with 4100 miles and immediately rode it to Street Vibrations in Reno. What a great ride! This Ultra may not be the most powerful or modern touring motorcycle on the road, but with its mildly tuned 96 cu. in. V Twin and 6 spd. transmission, it is an absolute pleasure to ride at a relaxed pace. Yes, 5th gear whines and the engine shakes the entire machine at idle. But on the highway or any open road, 6th gear brings smooth as silk and quiet rumbling performance from 55 mph. on up to 85 mph. (as fast as I wanted to go!) This bike has ABS, cruise, a great audio system with AM/FM/CD/XM/CB, full instrumentation, six gallon tank, security and keyless ignition. The fit and finish are superb. The fuel injection handled sea level to 9000 feet seamlessly. We have only put on 1000 miles, but I love this bike. I am changing the stock windscreen to a 9" Wind Vest as I hate looking through the windscreen. Even at my height, the stocker splits my vision when I slump down in the seat. I totally agree that the rear exhaust can tend to cook the rider's inner thighs in slow, hot riding, which is why I am adding the heat deflectors that are standard equipment on the new dressers. Other than that, this is one classy and comfortable machine! Oh, and by the way, the wife is very comfortable on the back.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mr. Louis Cass

Newport News, Virginia

Reviewed on 2010-10-06

Motorcycle reviewed2008 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
It's my first Harley and I'm happy!! I purchased it through the military in Iraq and had it delivered to the Harley dealership. The service department and everyone at the dealership were terrific!! They delivered the bike to the house (after a 45 minute operator's class). The service department has gone above and beyond throughout the life of the bike. I'm looking to get my wife a Heritage and will go the same route. It may be not the military sales, but with the dealership. It's a great bike, smooth ride, very dependable and looking forward to riding at every given chance!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bill Plancke

Burlington, Ontario

Reviewed on 2010-04-29

Motorcycle reviewed2008 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
Just got it and put about 500 miles on it. So far we find it extremely comfortable and enjoy the ride and creature comforts compared to the 06 Road Star we just had. Love the cruise, stereo and seats. Hate the kickstand and top gear is too high. Just have to accept 5th is what to use under 60MPH. Suspect we will complain about the heat over time like most others.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Roger

Petersburg, Virginia

Reviewed on 2009-11-11

Motorcycle reviewed2008 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
After many miles I still love this bike. I have done numerous 500+ mile days with no problem. Others have complained of vibration thru the floorboards and bars, but I get none above an idle. Lots of shake at idle, but I can deal with that. Biggest problem is heat at low (in town) speeds, but realize, this is NOT a crusier, but a touring bike meant for the open road. I have had 2 warranty issues. The big one is the bushing on the main shaft went bad at 30K, replacing everything in the primary except the compensator sproket. It's now noisy again at near 50K, so back in the shop it goes. Glad I got the extended warranty. Other problem is the heated grips (covered under warranty as I had the shop put them on when new). I'm considering trading for the new Ultra Limited.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Simon Miranda

Miramar, Florida

Reviewed on 2009-09-04

Motorcycle reviewed2008 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is my second bike, let me say I was skeptical at first, but Harley Davidson makes an exceptional product. I have owned my Ultra Classic for a little over a year and have over 8ooo miles and that's just weekend riding. The only complaint and it really isn't a problem that is not correctable is the heat from the engine. I took care of it by installing a dual exhaust and it made all the difference. Other than that it is a great ride and I am proud to be a HOG member.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

MIKE

STURGEON FALLS, Ontario

Reviewed on 2009-07-11

Motorcycle reviewed2008 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Nicest riding bike I have ever owned. Been to Rocky Mountains, Tennessee, and did Deals Cap Dragon Trail twice - loved it. My wife likes it also.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

jteast

lake charles, Louisiana

Reviewed on 2009-06-23

Motorcycle reviewed2008 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
What a wonderful touring bike. A 400 mile day and still ready to go dancing. No fifth gear noise and yes, all Harleys vibrate and are hot. My 05 roadking was just as hot. I do not have any regrets with my 08. I think that the people that are new to Harley need to realize that these bikes are true motorcycles and not a lot of plastic. I do not knock other brands, if you don't like it, sell it. don't buy a bike because of the mystique, the reaction of others or the sound, buy it because these is the type of person you are. Have been riding Harley's now for 30 Years and hope to continue for many years to come.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dave

Flushing, New York

Reviewed on 2009-05-11

Motorcycle reviewed2008 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I agree with Ray from Tennessee. I just don't believe the bad reviews. (Oh, and Ray, here is my pic although a few months old). For the people who have issues: How come you haven't called Harley National Customer Service! My dealer bends over backwards with the slightest issue I have with the bike. Aside from my wife with her own sportster, both my sons now have Harleys and we ride together. They are all terrific. What little issues I have had are taken care of timely and efficiently. I now have over 3400 miles (since October) and love this bike more and more. Yes, even with the mid frame deflectors, the engine is hot, but now quite bearable (and we rode in 90 degree heat two weeks ago). The comfort of this bike enables me to ride for hours without any pain (which my metric gave me). My bike not only looks like a Harley (people used to say about my Kawasaki), it IS a Harley.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dempsey Colasacco

Weston, Wisconsin

Reviewed on 2009-04-20

Motorcycle reviewed2008 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Bought my 08' Ultra Memorial Day weekend last year. Love the bike!! Being a creature of comfort, this bike exceeds any other I've owned. The wife finds the comfort exceptional as well. Ran it stock last year, but installed some aftermarket stuff this spring. Got a couple hundred miles on so far this season. The sound was ok stock, but upgrading the pipes made it sound the way a Harley should sound!! Very pleased---If you're travelling a long way, there really is nothing better IMO!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ray

dayton, Tennessee

Reviewed on 2009-04-20

Motorcycle reviewed2008 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Just came off another great ride on this great bike. I don't understand the problems that some are having with the 08 Ultra. Either they don't like to ride or they don't really own this bike(I won't believe a review without pics). This is a great bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 13 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: