Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (13)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2010-10-06 2008 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my fourth Harley. My wife and I bought this bike to 'tide me over' until I hit 50, when I intend to buy either a Limited or possible a CVO. We bought this '08 with 4100 miles and immediately rode it to Street Vibrations in Reno. What a great ride! This Ultra may not be the most powerful or modern touring motorcycle on the road, but with its mildly tuned 96 cu. in. V Twin and 6 spd. transmission, it is an absolute pleasure to ride at a relaxed pace. Yes, 5th gear whines and the engine shakes the entire machine at idle. But on the highway or any open road, 6th gear brings smooth as silk and quiet rumbling performance from 55 mph. on up to 85 mph. (as fast as I wanted to go!) This bike has ABS, cruise, a great audio system with AM/FM/CD/XM/CB, full instrumentation, six gallon tank, security and keyless ignition. The fit and finish are superb. The fuel injection handled sea level to 9000 feet seamlessly. We have only put on 1000 miles, but I love this bike. I am changing the stock windscreen to a 9" Wind Vest as I hate looking through the windscreen. Even at my height, the stocker splits my vision when I slump down in the seat. I totally agree that the rear exhaust can tend to cook the rider's inner thighs in slow, hot riding, which is why I am adding the heat deflectors that are standard equipment on the new dressers. Other than that, this is one classy and comfortable machine! Oh, and by the way, the wife is very comfortable on the back.
- R. Geertson, Dixon, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-10-06 2008 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's my first Harley and I'm happy!! I purchased it through the military in Iraq and had it delivered to the Harley dealership. The service department and everyone at the dealership were terrific!! They delivered the bike to the house (after a 45 minute operator's class). The service department has gone above and beyond throughout the life of the bike. I'm looking to get my wife a Heritage and will go the same route. It may be not the military sales, but with the dealership. It's a great bike, smooth ride, very dependable and looking forward to riding at every given chance!
- Mr. Louis Cass, Newport News, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-04-29 2008 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just got it and put about 500 miles on it. So far we find it extremely comfortable and enjoy the ride and creature comforts compared to the 06 Road Star we just had. Love the cruise, stereo and seats. Hate the kickstand and top gear is too high. Just have to accept 5th is what to use under 60MPH. Suspect we will complain about the heat over time like most others.
- Bill Plancke, Burlington, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-11-11 2008 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After many miles I still love this bike. I have done numerous 500+ mile days with no problem. Others have complained of vibration thru the floorboards and bars, but I get none above an idle. Lots of shake at idle, but I can deal with that. Biggest problem is heat at low (in town) speeds, but realize, this is NOT a crusier, but a touring bike meant for the open road. I have had 2 warranty issues. The big one is the bushing on the main shaft went bad at 30K, replacing everything in the primary except the compensator sproket. It's now noisy again at near 50K, so back in the shop it goes. Glad I got the extended warranty. Other problem is the heated grips (covered under warranty as I had the shop put them on when new). I'm considering trading for the new Ultra Limited.
- Roger, Petersburg, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-09-04 2008 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my second bike, let me say I was skeptical at first, but Harley Davidson makes an exceptional product. I have owned my Ultra Classic for a little over a year and have over 8ooo miles and that's just weekend riding. The only complaint and it really isn't a problem that is not correctable is the heat from the engine. I took care of it by installing a dual exhaust and it made all the difference. Other than that it is a great ride and I am proud to be a HOG member.
- Simon Miranda, Miramar, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-11 2008 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Nicest riding bike I have ever owned. Been to Rocky Mountains, Tennessee, and did Deals Cap Dragon Trail twice - loved it. My wife likes it also.
- MIKE, STURGEON FALLS, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-23 2008 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
What a wonderful touring bike. A 400 mile day and still ready to go dancing. No fifth gear noise and yes, all Harleys vibrate and are hot. My 05 roadking was just as hot. I do not have any regrets with my 08. I think that the people that are new to Harley need to realize that these bikes are true motorcycles and not a lot of plastic. I do not knock other brands, if you don't like it, sell it. don't buy a bike because of the mystique, the reaction of others or the sound, buy it because these is the type of person you are. Have been riding Harley's now for 30 Years and hope to continue for many years to come.
- jteast, lake charles, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-11 2008 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I agree with Ray from Tennessee. I just don't believe the bad reviews. (Oh, and Ray, here is my pic although a few months old). For the people who have issues: How come you haven't called Harley National Customer Service! My dealer bends over backwards with the slightest issue I have with the bike. Aside from my wife with her own sportster, both my sons now have Harleys and we ride together. They are all terrific. What little issues I have had are taken care of timely and efficiently. I now have over 3400 miles (since October) and love this bike more and more. Yes, even with the mid frame deflectors, the engine is hot, but now quite bearable (and we rode in 90 degree heat two weeks ago). The comfort of this bike enables me to ride for hours without any pain (which my metric gave me). My bike not only looks like a Harley (people used to say about my Kawasaki), it IS a Harley.
- Dave, Flushing, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-04-20 2008 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought my 08' Ultra Memorial Day weekend last year. Love the bike!! Being a creature of comfort, this bike exceeds any other I've owned. The wife finds the comfort exceptional as well. Ran it stock last year, but installed some aftermarket stuff this spring. Got a couple hundred miles on so far this season. The sound was ok stock, but upgrading the pipes made it sound the way a Harley should sound!! Very pleased---If you're travelling a long way, there really is nothing better IMO!!
- Dempsey Colasacco, Weston, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-04-20 2008 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just came off another great ride on this great bike. I don't understand the problems that some are having with the 08 Ultra. Either they don't like to ride or they don't really own this bike(I won't believe a review without pics). This is a great bike.
- Ray, dayton, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-10-08 2008 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was in the market for a new dresser to replace my 16 year old Yamaha touring bike. I looked at the Gold Wing (nice bike but looks like a car cut in half and sounds like an Accord), a Yamaha Stratoliner (new state of the art bike with an awesome motor but uncomfortable as all get out), and a Yamaha Venture (beautiful, comfortable bike but essentially the same bike I was replacing, plus they don't make many and it only came in two colors, black and purple). After renting a 2007 Ultra Classic to see if a Harley touring bike was for us, I came home and sold every bike in the garage (which I had to do to afford the darn thing!). I was hooked after about 30 minutes! The new TC96 with six-speed tranny was smooth and strong, and the bike rode like it was on rails, solid and comfortable, nothing like my '91 Yamaha Venture, which was a fine bike in its own right. I decided to wait for a '08 which has the Brembo brakes, new isolated drive system, 6 gallon fuel tank and fly-by-wire throttle system. I passed on the ABS. We drove to various dealers to check out the different paint jobs (10+) and finally decided on the pearl black. don't rely on the sales brochure; you have to see them in person. We couldn't be happier, having already taken one 500 mile trip over the Cascades. The bike is extremely comfortable after several hours in the saddle, something I've never been able to say about any other bike. The wife loves it! Yeah, it shakes at idle but once you get going there is absolutely no vibration whatsoever. It's a little hot in 85+ degree weather, but what do expect? you're straddling a 100 cubic inch air cooled motor for crying out loud! And, it could use a little more grunt with two on board, but I'll take care of that with a stage one. Plus it looks and sounds like a motorcycle should. What a machine!
- Todd Whatley, Tri-Cities, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-10 2008 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first Harley after 3 Goldwings and numerous other street bikes and I'm impressed. The dealership is great to deal with and I was smiling even before leaving the shop. The motor is strong, very smooth once off idle and fuel efficient. I've felt no excessive heat (you're sitting over the exhaust crossover, yes there's some heat) and I've been able to keep my full leathers on even at 80+ degree days. The adjustable fairing vents dump tons of air on your body and keep out the rain very well. The transmission is completely quiet in all gears and the gear ratios keep you in the power band at any speed. 6th is quite long-legged and is nice to have over 70 MPH. The exhaust rumble is always present but doesn't drown out the stereo and the lack of wind noise behind the fairing is remarkable - no buffeting like the Wings. I put some highway pegs on right away and am totally surprised how comfortable the ride is. 2 hours between stops on the Ultra is a dream and there's still 60 miles of fuel left in the huge tank. My wife loves the seat and can't wait for our 1st long trip. My first Harley won't be my last one - I'm hooked.
- Duane, Calgary, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-10 2008 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my 2008 ultra a few weeks ago and I could not be more pleased with the bike. Great power when needed and easy to handle while in slow traffic. I have not had any of the noise or heat issues that I have read about on the 07's. I am glad I waited for the 08's to come out.
- Darin Allen, Prairieville, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: