KTM Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (17)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with KTM Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a KTM Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2011-08-14 2008 KTM 990 Super Duke Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a comfortable sportbike. There can be a problem with fuel injection surging on some bikes. Mine had it very badly and it required a $300 Power Commander to clear it up. After you get past that issue, the bike is very reliable, has quality WP suspension and a strong torquey engine. I've owned almost 30 bikes and this has been one of my favorites. It's replaced my Triumph Daytona as my track bike and I'm quite happy with it (except for lack of wind protection on the high speed straights). I highly recommend, it will keep up with anybody for street sport riding, it's competitive for track days and it's quite comfortable.
- Fess, Long Island, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-04-20 2008 KTM 990 Super Duke Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The SD is comfortable, stops and turns quickly, sounds amazing and looks striking. They are also relatively uncommon, and when you consider that new ones can be found for $10k and less, they are a ridiculously good value. I have the R model Superduke. There isn't another bike available within $5,000 that I'd consider to replace the SDR. The R seat isn't for everyone, but it lets you move around a lot on the bike. The regular SD seat looks much more forgiving.
- Aaron Hudacky, Fallon, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-12-24 2008 KTM 450 XC-F Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first KTM and I'm hooked. Previously I was a Honda guy, and I still like Honda's, however my XC-F blows them away. My first impression of the bike was wow. Loads of power let you handle any obstacle with ease. It comes on strong in the midrange, yet the power is refined to allow for easy throttle roll-on. The thing is plenty fast, handles well, although some compression settings will need to be adjusted after it is broken in. If the power is still too abrupt for some, KTM made a handy "switch" which changes the ignition curve, making the curve more like a 250 but with the power of a 450 (great for conditions with low traction). On the MX track it performs just as well as the other bikes, even with the 18" rear tire. In the desert/woods it outshines all the other bikes. Big long whoop sections are where it truly shines, grab another gear and it only gets easier. Being an XC-F model means 5-speeds (which is a gotta have) and a larger gas tank, with reserve (yay!). This means that the XC-F feels a little bulky around the knees (I'm short so it's around my knees). Nonetheless, it is still very comfortable to ride. The seat has great cushion, and allows for easy movement forward on the tank. Quality is, bar none, the best in the biz. I don't know why there is so much hype about linkage because this bike tracks very well and I have no complaints thus far. Overall this is the best bike I have owned, and anyone looking for a fantastic all-around bike should buy one of these! Lets not forget, electric start!!! Yeeawwww!
- RenoMxJunky, Reno, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-08-25 2008 KTM 450 XC-F Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is scary fast. My buddy has the 530 and this feels like it has more power and speed when you are on it. The 530 has more grunt so you can run a bit taller gear, but that hardly matters because the motor revs forever. Be careful with the brakes, you only need one finger to stop. Use more and you may go over the front end. I ride with my kids and friends and it handles all speeds well. In hot weather, I would spit a bit of fluid, but I changed to Engine Ice coolant and it is noticably cooler without any spitting, even in the tight steep stuff in 100 degree heat. It's a very nice bike.
- Burke, Draper, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-08-07 2008 KTM 450 XC-F Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a update to my first review. I would rate it higher but I only have five stars to work with. After putting 30 hours on it I am still very pleased with this bike. It is a blast to ride. It goes well if you short shift it and if you rev it out, hold on becouse it moves. The chassis handles the Maine trails very well with all the roots and rocks. The only thig about the bike I don't like is that in stock form the crank vent will suck water into the engine. It is an easy fix - you just need to run the vent up the frame. In my case I made a vent cap and now the crank vent's under the fuel tank next to the coil. No more water. You do need to drain the vent after a few rides becouse condensation will build up in the tube. KTM is all I will own now!
- Seth, gorham, Maine

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-03-22 2008 KTM 250 XC-W (E) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great all around bike. Like all Ktm's, performance, quality, and detail second to none. Decent suspension for lighter or slower riders, but faster or heavier riders could go for stiffer springs. Really a quick bike, but because of its wide ratio gearing, 1st, 2nd, and 3rd gear pull good but 4th and especially 5th gear need a good straight to pull. If you're a racer look into the xc version. It's faster revving because of its closer ratio gearing, and the suspension is stiffer for the racer in mind. Switching to a softer red power valve spring allows the bike to hit harder sooner. Overall really good bike.
- Tommy, Hiawassee, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-02-15 2008 KTM 300 XC-W (E) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
On single track, this bike feels like a feather-weight compared to my 450 exc. This bike is a blast to ride. I was twice as fast through the woods on it. My riding buddies commented on how much faster I was...it was the bike! This thing makes you a better rider. I rode it in two enduros so far and greatly improved my finish positions. My only problem with it is that I had to replace the piston after only 70 hours. Maybe going under water twice had something to do with it. Best woods bike yet. KTM knows what the're doing. Try a trails tire on the back and ride some rocky trails sometime. They don't last long but you will be impressed.
- jerry gotovich, Colorado Springs, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-11-24 2008 KTM 300 XC-W (E) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was always turned off by the price of the KTM line. I knew the 300 XCW had great reviews, but thought I could make an MXer a good wood bike. I tried CRF450R, KZ250, and CRF250. All of which I poured hundreds into making them woods racers. My CRF250R was fairly successful, but those top ends where eating my wallet up (and I do most of my own mechanic work). I finally took the plunge into the KTM world. All I can say is WOW!! What the heck was I waiting for. My first ride on this thing had my going faster than my super nimble and torqy CRF250R. You can brake slide / power slide this bike just like 4 stokers. Great bike! Spend the money and get one. You won't regret it.
- anson garcia, missouri city, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-10-30 2008 KTM 300 XC-W (E) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I call it a 3-stroke because it's the best of both worlds. Light, crisp and responsive like a 2-stroke should be, yet it can lug down low and just cruise around if you want, too... like a 4-stroke. This is the best all around bike made. It handles the gnarliest single track there is, and the biggest hills in the Mojave.
- Dave Kunzelman, Fremont, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-04-11 2008 KTM 990 Adventure Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I previously owned a Suzuki 1000 VStrom but was looking 4 something allowing me more off road as Costa Rica is a nice place to enjoy both off and on road bikes. I bought my 990 adv a couple years ago. The difference was amazing in terms of handling and true off road capacity. The bike is very good on every dirt road, sand and rivers. Recently we went north to Guanacaste region and had a chance to see both my KTM and a 1200GS from bBMW. Sorry BMW bikers but if you are really adventurous, the KTM is no match on dirt, beach and sandy roads. I improved the comfort by adding a gel seat which made a lot of difference for my bottom. I just recommend to lift the handle bars if you are serious on off road. Otherwise, nothing to say, my Adventure is a winner.
- jj, san jose, Costa Rica

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-12-14 2008 KTM 450 XC-W (R) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is amazing. It's not the kind of bike that has a monstrous hit like a motocross 450, but has just the right power for the open and tight woods. I just got done riding with this bike. It has 120 miles on it and I hit 85 mph. The suspension on this is pretty good. Set the sag and dial in the clickers and it's even better. Depending on your weight you may need different springs or even a revalve. For stock it's the best woods 450 money can buy. Go KTM.
- tommy d, hiawassee, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-12-12 2008 KTM 300 XC-W (E) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This ride is second to none in the woods. Unstoppable torque, excellent handling and very well balanced. The exhaust valve can be adjusted from mild to wild with little effort. The optional ignition mapping switch allows you to tame it in the tight and wet stuff. The rear single link swingarm tracks wickedly well with no surprises. I am a 34 year vet with tons of war wounds and could not be happier with this ride. I can't wait for the 09 season to start.
- Dan Swainson, Calgary, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-08-25 2008 KTM 300 XC-W (E) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought my 300XC-W (E) this past weekend. I can't really say I'm upgrading, so I'll just say I am switching directions from a SX525 so that I can play more in the woods, trails, and short hare-scrambles. So far I'm very impressed, it's typical KTM quality. The clutch is excellent and it doesn't wear out your forearm. Both the kick and the electric start work great. Throttle response is great with tons of power. I might experiment with one of the three different power valve springs. Red is definitely the 'hotter' spring making the bike behave like a SX. It has very light steering which makes the 300 feel 20+ lbs lighter than the 525. The bike is taller than the 525, but once you're moving you don't really notice it. More updates to come later. I'm very happy with the bike.
- qrance, San Antonio, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-03-08 2008 KTM 250 XC-W (E) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is everything the magazines say and more. It will climb a tree if you let it. Feels a lot lighter than my SX 250 and the power comes on much smoother. Lots of single track were I ride and the bike handles it perfectly. Out in the open it just rips! I love this bike! And the electric start just seals the deal.
- Jimmy, West Leechburg, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-02-04 2008 KTM 530 EXC-R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It has more personalities than Britney Spears. I can't say enough about the smiles this bike brings. It turns and jumps like an MX bike (Ocitillo). With such smooth power it's a true woods weapon (Hesperia to Big Bear loop). It loves to really open up and rev to the moon (California cities). I have put 25 hours in the dirt in 2 months. I can't stay off of it. The best part is I can ride it every day because it's a true dual-sport especially since the CHP is pulling plates from converted dirt bikes. I love leading the pack of heavily modified 450 MX bikes flat out in the desert and using my turn signal to tell them where we are going next!
- Jesse King, Costa mesa, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-01-30 2008 KTM 530 EXC-R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I cannot say enough about this incredible bike. I absolutely love it. For what it is designed for, mostly trail and some street, it exceeds my every expectation. This is a hardcore trail bike with a license plate. It has shredded every trail I have ridden with ease. The seat is a bit firm, but who sits down on the trail? The suspension works so well I find myself looking for the nastiest thing on the trail to stick it in and it will say, "Is that all you got?I have owned 6 other bikes from motocross to dual sport including a KTM 640 LC4-E. I still own it and love it. But on no other machine do I catch myself giggling in my helmet like on my 530. It is by far the easiest and most fun machine on the trail I have ever owned. With a rejet and mods to the silencer, the power is even more intense. Big power from off idle all the way to the moon! Note: Consider your options wisely. This is a great bike but use it for what it was made for. KTM makes more specialized models than others for a reason. Each is built to do a specific job. Chose the one that will do what you want. My 530 does everything I want and then some! It is a great machine!
- steve stark, molalla, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-02 2008 KTM 300 XC-W (E) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike has an excellent attention to detail, construction, and stock parts are ready to race. This bike requires only adjustment and not really any aftermarket equipment to perform. You can add protection, but right out of the box is a winner. The newer 300 engine is as mellow and agressive as any rider wants to make it. The e-start is a hit and is not a factor for an already light and flickable bike. This engine is a 250 on steroids requiring rider energy. Motor is very tunable thanks to a dual map ignition, tunable power valve spring and other regular things like jetting and gearing. Best KTM I have ever ridden.
- Freddie, Gahanna, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: