Yamaha Cruiser Reviews on Cycle Insider (57)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha Cruiser Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Rich D. from Brandenburg, Kentucky says:

I used to ride motocross when I was a teen. 18ish or so years later I decided to buy a street bike. Everything I looked at in the 250 class seemed pl

Read More (57 reviews)

Have you owned a Yamaha Cruiser? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

Voted Most Helpful Review 2008 Yamaha V Star 250 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I used to ride motocross when I was a teen. 18ish or so years later I decided to buy a street bike. Everything I looked at in the 250 class seemed plain and, well... blah. I kept coming back to the V-Star (Virago) 250. The lines are nice, the V-Twin looks great and it just felt better while sitting on it. Every sales rep at the dealerships kept telling me to get a 650+. However, I have had 2 full hip replacements and the extra weight of the 650 class is just too much for my hips. I would like to state for the record that a large guy can fit comfortably on this bike. Nowhere was I able to find a review where a large guy such as me (6'2275lbs.) liked or disliked the bike. I am here to say that this bike will haul me around at 55-60 with ease and it's very comfortable for your typical work commute. Three hour hauls on the other hand, you do begin to feel it. I will agree that the bike does not have a lot of power when pulling hills, but you have to remember it is a 250, and it is a starter bike. It does exactly what it was engineered to do. I do have to give it kudos though. I have a hill in my area that has a 4-6% grade. As long as I hit it at 55, with the throttle open, it handles it just fine. No need to downshift. The hill is about 1/4 - 1/2 mile long. Even with my fat... um... self' I'm seeing slightly above 75 MPG. So if you're looking for a great starter bike that's easy to handle, gets great gas mileage, looks good and is still comfortable for a big guy, treat yourself to the V-Star 250.
- Rich D., Brandenburg, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-12-09 2008 Yamaha Raider Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 2008 Raider I purchased from a golf pro 2 years ago. This is an incredible bike that stole my interest. I was shopping for a muscle cruiser, I had just test drove a Harley Breakout and was going to suzuki dealer for M109 when I saw this red bike that look similar to breakout. I ended up test driving it. When I got back, grin on my face would not go away. Why haven't I seen or heard about this bike before.Amount of tourque this bike has nearly scared me at first. then as I drove it, I knew I had to have it. never made it to suzuki test drive. I ride this bike whenever temps are over 50 degrees. I am not a speed demon but, I love the way this bike gets me up to speed in a blink of an eye.I wish they had designed a tachometer on this bike. even though this is a cruiser and you don't really need a tach, i would have loved seeing that needle buried so fast in every gear. I have read a few reviews and some have said this bike is therapuetic. I agree 100 percent. When I have stress, a 15 minute ride does the trick for me. My riding group is around 8 bikes, (harleys, indians and triumphs) every time people come around to check out our bikes, they always end up asking me questions about the bike. some even ask if they could test drive. i have owned many bikes in my 56 years and 40 years of riding, this bike will always have special place in my heart.
- OZZIE, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2018-04-02 2008 Yamaha v star 650 custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had a great experience at Honda-Suzuki of Sanford nc the bike and the service there were more than I expected in quality I would recommend them to anyone
- DAVID EARLE, tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2016-03-04 2008 Yamaha Stratoliner Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The most powerful and smoothest bike I have ever ridden by far. Not many other bikes could keep up with it. I recommend getting 1.
- Anonymous, Barberton, OH

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2015-01-07 2008 Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike used. I am still getting to know it and I really like it. The power is outstanding, the handling is great (not what you'd expect from a bike this size). All in all, it's a very easy bike to ride. However, its small gas tank gives it short range between fuel stops. This could be good if you need a break to stretch your legs but it makes planning for fuel a must on long trips. The only other thing would be the addition of a sixth gear to help out with the mpg.
- HCB, C.C., Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-04-29 2008 Yamaha Raider S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I rented a Raider a few years ago and rode six hours straight from the Finger Lakes Region of New York to my home in Delaware. The only stops I made were for fuel. I have to say I was surprised how comfortable it was. The first thing you'll notice is the torque. If you have a passenger you'd better have a back rest for them or they'll fly off once you hit second gear. On Route 15 in PA I got 50 mpg. with straight highway driving at 75 mph. I found a great deal on an '08 Raider a few weeks ago. It had 12K miles with Cobra pipes, passenger back rest and luggage rack. I'm looking forward to many years of great rides with good friends. Ride safe/Semper Fi.
- Ron Iocono, Middletown, Delaware

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-12-01 2008 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I put 100k on a Suzuki Intruder 1500LC and then got this bike and love it. It has plenty of power and is a very smooth, balanced ride. And yes, this bike excels on the freeway. The only drawback is the stock seat and the low, awkward handle bars. the seat feels like I'm sitting on my tail bone. If I did not see other comments about the seat I would think it was because I'm a tall guy, but many others are having the same issue. I will be replacing the seat A$AP. I love the sound of the Cobra pipes.
- SoCalWyatt, San Diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-09-25 2008 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my '08 in August of 2011 new, it was still in the crate. My local dealer had bought it at auction from a dealer that was going out of business. It is a good deal for me, I saved over $4,000 on the bike. I had never ridden anything this big before, but after 30 minutes in the school parking lot and a afternoon getting the feel of the bike around town, I was amazed how easy this bike was to ride. Mind you my previous bike was a KLR 650, so it's a real difference. I just rode 1,200 miles in three days and love everything about the bike, but the seat. It's too soft. Power, gas mileage, storage, easy learning curve, it's all great. I'm not sure why Yamaha just does not reduce the entire line up to just this one model. It's a great looking bike. It pulls hard in the middle gears. I love the easy to remove wind screen and back rest. With an aftermarket seat, I'll ride her until one of us drops.
- s. talley, Reno, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-08-18 2008 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just purchaced a new 2009 1300T and it's exceeded all my expectations. There is plenty of power for the mountains and looks that would stop a crazed deer. Tight U-turns are difficult and I have to stretch a little more than I like for the handlebars. That can be corrected. Overall, she is a looker with features that make her best in class for the dollar.
- Dan.L, Blairsville, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-05-29 2008 Yamaha Warrior Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I owned a 2008 Warrior, owned because it was recently totaled due to an accident (still upset to this day). This is an awesome bike, amazing power, amazing control, amazing stability. I have ridden three different Harleys and none of them come close to the feel and comfort of the Yamaha Warrior. Due to my personal feelings about the Yami, I am sticking with them for my next bike - either the Stryker or the Raider. There is a vast difference in power, I know, but price is the issue. But I'll never forget the Warrior.
- the omen, houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-02-17 2008 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is far and away the best mid size cruiser for the money. I still haven't figured out how they can call it mid size. It looks and runs like a heavy-weight. I get thumbs-up on the looks by the cagers all the time. It handles like a dream, even at lower, parking lot speeds. I would definitely ditch the stock Dunlops for Metzeler Marathons (much better ride and tread life). I bought this bike new in March, 2008 (last one in Houston) and have put about 15,000 trouble-free miles on it, to date. The stock seat was the first thing to go, after about an hour in the saddle, kinda got the numb bum ya know? I got a Mustang 3 piece with rider back rest and Voila! no more numb bum! V&H 2 into 1 Cobra FI2000 K&N Air filter Cobra Fatty Hiway Bars Kuryakyn pegs Star passenger floorboards and Star luggage rack round out the accessories (so far!) Fuel economy on road trips is knockin on 51 mpg. around town it's about 44 mpg. I'm not kidding quit thinking about it and head down to the dealership with your checkbook you will not be disappointed!
- sur5er03, Hockley, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-10-27 2008 Yamaha Warrior Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It doesn't get much better than this - 12-13 second 1/4 mile + handling + good lucks + low seat height and comfortable riding position. You need to get a windshield and a backrest for any freeway or distance driving with a passenger.
- TMM, Waukesha, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-09-25 2008 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
One of the best balanced bikes out there! The handling is great and handle bars are perfectly placed to promote rider comfort. You need to wake the bike up with performance mods! A six speed would freshen the bike up and make it more enjoyable. All in all I rate it 8 out of 10. Buy and you will enjoy the ride!
- Lee Gills, Frisco, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-08-16 2008 Yamaha Raider S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Raider S is by far, the best bike I have ever ridden. It has great power and comfort!
- kd armstrong, keller, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-07-02 2008 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is everything I have been wanting in a motorcycle! It came with a shield, bags, and a passenger backrest -- my wife loves riding on the back of it - and because it's so well balanced, I can hardly tell she's there! The only issue I've had is that the handlebars are a little too far forward for my comfort, so... I ordered some Royal Star touring handlebars to give me an additional 3" of pullback, and bam -- much better. All in all - I can't complain, and I get a ton of compliments on how sharp the bike looks. Would DEFINITELY recommend this bike to anyone!!!!
- Firetom, Muskegon, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-06-25 2008 Yamaha Raider S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I loved the look of the '08 Raider S (Candy Red) and just had to have one. I was a bit concerned about the handling of the raked bike, but it handles very well. Engine has plenty of power (even riding two-up). I have taken the bike on 5 trips of more than 1300 miles and have had a great time. Just got back from a 2400 mile trip to Utah. The only problem I have had with the bike is some valvetrain noise (planning to take to to the dealership next week for a look/see). Star really hit a homerun with this machine!
- Kent Kechter, St. Francis, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-03-31 2008 Yamaha Raider Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned a Honda Aero, a Kawasaki Nomad, a Harley V-Rod and a Yamaha Raider. I like them all but the Raider stays on top. It's very fast just like my V-Rod and comfortable. I like it very much. I upgraded the rear tire to 240/40-18, it fits like a glove. I like it...it's way better than the stock 210. No issues at all in the corners. Easy to maintain. I thought it's hard to change oil on this bike but with proper tools, it's not that hard at all. There are 3 drain bolts on this bike. The same thing with Transfer case, Filling bolt, oil level bolt, and drain bolt. I would recommend it to all who are looking and dreamin' for a bigger bike like this Raider. 113 cubic inches of raw attitude. GO GET YOURS...
- Gershon, Plainfield, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-03-11 2008 Yamaha Roadliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Purchased my Roady S new in Aug 09. I really wanted the Raider but could not get comfortable on it and thought the Roady was a little old fashioned. First impressions are not always the best ones, this bike is all that and then some. I love this big boy, what a joy to ride.
- Curtis Kincaid, Jacksonville , Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-02-12 2008 Yamaha Royal Star Venture Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This has to be one of the smoothest most comfortable riding bikes ever. It is built for the road and boy can it gobble up the highway. The V4 engine is ultra smooth with loads of torque and HP to back it up. It likes to rev and so do I. I can't say enough good things about this bike and I got an awesome deal.
- Mike, SeaTac, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-11-11 2008 Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I absolutely love my Yamaha Stratoliner. This baby handles like a dream. I have worn out 3 sets of tires and 3 sets of grind pins on the floorboards. This baby handles! I haven't found a Harley yet that will run with it. (see you on Floyd hill) I did call the service manager, complaining about the clock adjustment(daylight savings time). It took him 30 seconds over the phone to fix while he laughed at me for not reading my manual. I will definitely buy another from the dealerhship, but this one stays. I rode the crap out of this bike and I have never had one single problem. I'd like to say that I put the bike together, but except for the seat, it's exactly the way I found it on the showroom. This baby pulls like a locomotive and I'm a big guy who rides year round. When you own a biker bar and you ride Yamaha, it better be a good one. The echos of their HD laughter go away after the first stop light and since then, I sure see a lot more Road Liners and a ton of Raiders. One ride and you'll be just like me.
- Rooster, Highlands Ranch, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-10-29 2008 Yamaha Raider Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Now that I have put 6000 miles on it, I thought I'd share some more. This is my sixth bike and it would be hard to beat this one. The motorcycle is very well balanced, fun to ride and looks great. I have not had any trouble with the motorcycle so far. Two oil changes (600 mi, 4000 mi, with tune ups) and a rear tire replacement is all I have done so far.
- Anonymous, Plano, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-10-23 2008 Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 2008 Stratoliner S as a leftover in May 2009. As of October 2009 I have 14,000 miles on it including an 8000 mile cross country trip. This is the best bike of the 30 I have owned over the years. It handles superb, rides smooth and has plenty of power. This one is a keeper for a long time to come. 500 mile days are a breeze....actually very enjoyable. I ride it every chance I get. Now my HD sets in the garage although I did put 100 miles on it in the last 6 months.
- Lloyd Wenger, Myerstown, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-09-28 2008 Yamaha Roadliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the first Yamaha I have owned in my 30+ years of riding and I must say it has proven to be the best I have ever owned.
- Chuck Overton, Moyock, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-09-06 2008 Yamaha Warrior Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just picked up this new '08 Warrior yesterday. Is this the best cruiser-sports bike hybrid out there? I don't know, some people think so. I traded in a Kawasaki Ninja 650 on the bike specifically to find out, so I guess I'll be in a position to decide on a personal basis. After 84 miles (freeway, busy 2 lane and moderate rural twisties), the thing handles great, amazingly light and quick for its size. These Yamaha aluminum frames really make a difference, tested a Raider in the spring (also aluminum) and the handling for both bikes this size is almost shocking. But I'm not powering it through turns yet due to break in (2500 rpm/500 miles, 3500 rpm/500-1000 miles), so can't really compare it to a sport power delivery (quarter mile specs are very similar to the Ninja 650). But for its size, this bike is very easy to ride, and comfortable so far, seating feels wide when sitting, but when you're feet address the forward controls, the seat feels pretty good. The seat to grip distance is just a little long for me, but I've noticed that the bike is comfortably controllable with just your fingertips wrapped around the grip, which increases my reach about 2in, the perfect distance! The other thing that really stands out so far is the low end wide power band. Riding 55-60, I'm often in 3rd gear (really the do everything notch at moderate speeds), 4th feels like an overdrive at that speed without throttling up, 5th is an afterthought. But if you goose it, 4th/5th yield immediate power. Very responsive! At the same time, 5th is usable at 1000-1500 rpm. It's on the edge of lugging, which I don't even want to bump up against during break-in. I don't think I'm going to miss a 6th gear on this bike, it'd probably just add unnecessary weight! Can't wait to get that 1000 miles so I can feel right about winding it out and also play with high gears at low speeds. There seems a real wide power band in every gear, with immediate torque response anywhere in each gears band. One downside, there's so much 1st gear torque, very low speeds can be a little jerky cos throttle is very responsive, but I'm sure familiarity with the ride will fix that. I've not experienced a bike with such low frequency rumble, not volume, the bike is quiet, but rumble you can feel more than hear (in classical times, the sensation of feeling the engine in your bowels might have been an apt description). IIIII like it! And cosmetically, that big can of a muffler really is growing on me, outside of the showroom floor. My wife's been riding behind me, reminiscing about Mad Max, and says there's something a little frightening about the big shiny can. Bottom line, I like this bike a lot. Great 1st impressions, and seemingly huge potential for exciting discovery in the days ahead. This ride is smooth as silk. Looking forward to writing again later on more impressions.
- AEF, Sterling, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-08-11 2008 Yamaha Road Star S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought my new 08 blue Road Star after several years of searching, comparing and debating different bikes and maufacturers. Bought it as a left over 08 and saved a lot of money. Had ridden almost everything else from everyone else except the Road Star but one ride told me that this was what I was looking for. Ride is very close to the Roadliner which is still the best handling big bike I have ever been on. The only thing missing from this bike compared to the Roadliner is the extra stong motor of the Roadliner but still mine has plenty of smooth torquey power that is easy to use. If the rest of my time is as good as the first 600 miles I know I have a keeper. Would reccomend anyone looking for a big crusier to give a Road Star a test ride.
- Eddie Kite, Mohawk, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: