Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2008 Yamaha reviews

5.0
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.8

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

108 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Rich D.

Brandenburg, Kentucky

Reviewed on 2008-05-21

Motorcycle reviewed2008 Yamaha V Star 250

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I used to ride motocross when I was a teen. 18ish or so years later I decided to buy a street bike. Everything I looked at in the 250 class seemed plain and, well... blah. I kept coming back to the V-Star (Virago) 250. The lines are nice, the V-Twin looks great and it just felt better while sitting on it. Every sales rep at the dealerships kept telling me to get a 650+. However, I have had 2 full hip replacements and the extra weight of the 650 class is just too much for my hips. I would like to state for the record that a large guy can fit comfortably on this bike. Nowhere was I able to find a review where a large guy such as me (6'2275lbs.) liked or disliked the bike. I am here to say that this bike will haul me around at 55-60 with ease and it's very comfortable for your typical work commute. Three hour hauls on the other hand, you do begin to feel it. I will agree that the bike does not have a lot of power when pulling hills, but you have to remember it is a 250, and it is a starter bike. It does exactly what it was engineered to do. I do have to give it kudos though. I have a hill in my area that has a 4-6% grade. As long as I hit it at 55, with the throttle open, it handles it just fine. No need to downshift. The hill is about 1/4 - 1/2 mile long. Even with my fat... um... self' I'm seeing slightly above 75 MPG. So if you're looking for a great starter bike that's easy to handle, gets great gas mileage, looks good and is still comfortable for a big guy, treat yourself to the V-Star 250.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (12)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Shane Curtis

Illinois

Reviewed on 2022-03-23

Motorcycle reviewed2008 Yamaha Vstar 1300

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
These are excellent bikes, I have had no issues with mine at all, starts every time and is extremely comfortable going down the road. I would definitely recommend one to anybody looking for a bike. All around good quality and style. Only recommendation I have is to have the ecu flashed to get rid of fuel cut on deceleration.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

OZZIE

North Carolina

Reviewed on 2020-12-09

Motorcycle reviewed2008 Yamaha Raider

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have a 2008 Raider I purchased from a golf pro 2 years ago. This is an incredible bike that stole my interest. I was shopping for a muscle cruiser, I had just test drove a Harley Breakout and was going to suzuki dealer for M109 when I saw this red bike that look similar to breakout. I ended up test driving it. When I got back, grin on my face would not go away. Why haven't I seen or heard about this bike before.Amount of tourque this bike has nearly scared me at first. then as I drove it, I knew I had to have it. never made it to suzuki test drive. I ride this bike whenever temps are over 50 degrees. I am not a speed demon but, I love the way this bike gets me up to speed in a blink of an eye.I wish they had designed a tachometer on this bike. even though this is a cruiser and you don't really need a tach, i would have loved seeing that needle buried so fast in every gear. I have read a few reviews and some have said this bike is therapuetic. I agree 100 percent. When I have stress, a 15 minute ride does the trick for me. My riding group is around 8 bikes, (harleys, indians and triumphs) every time people come around to check out our bikes, they always end up asking me questions about the bike. some even ask if they could test drive. i have owned many bikes in my 56 years and 40 years of riding, this bike will always have special place in my heart.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

DAVID EARLE

tennessee

Reviewed on 2018-04-02

Motorcycle reviewed2008 Yamaha v star 650 custom

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I had a great experience at Honda-Suzuki of Sanford nc the bike and the service there were more than I expected in quality I would recommend them to anyone
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Anonymous

Indy

Reviewed on 2016-03-06

Motorcycle reviewed2008 Yamaha FJR 1300

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The FJR 1300 is a very good all around bike and handles most every command well. I found the handling very good until pushed to sport bike speeds. The weight and lack of lean angle clearance becomes an issue only if you're chasing a pack of sport bikes. The power delivery is a bit snappy/jerky off of idle. I'm told a power commander or progressive grip tames this issue. The bike makes a lot of torque everywhere which makes it easy to ride without searching for an ideal RPM. Top speed is 150 MPH give or take 5 MPH. The FJR is horribly uncomfortable due to the seat. I could only ride 150-200 miles until my can was on fire. I almost immediately replaced it with a Seth Laam seat. I can now put down 600 miles a day. I have ridden 10+ hours for 3 days in a row with a passenger through the Smokies. The 08 did not have a cruise control option. I do find my hands falling asleep after 3-4 hour. Throttle body synchronization is recommended to help with vibrations. Wind protection is great.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Anonymous

Barberton, OH

Reviewed on 2016-03-04

Motorcycle reviewed2008 Yamaha Stratoliner

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The most powerful and smoothest bike I have ever ridden by far. Not many other bikes could keep up with it. I recommend getting 1.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Anonymous

Lewisville, TX

Reviewed on 2016-02-27

Motorcycle reviewed2008 Yamaha FJR

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just tripped over 53,000 miles and only problem ever had was a rear master brake cylinder fail-Bullett proof motorcycle-JE
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

HCB

C.C., Texas

Reviewed on 2015-01-07

Motorcycle reviewed2008 Yamaha Stratoliner S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought this bike used. I am still getting to know it and I really like it. The power is outstanding, the handling is great (not what you'd expect from a bike this size). All in all, it's a very easy bike to ride. However, its small gas tank gives it short range between fuel stops. This could be good if you need a break to stretch your legs but it makes planning for fuel a must on long trips. The only other thing would be the addition of a sixth gear to help out with the mpg.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (9)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

ahilis

Lexington, Kentucky

Reviewed on 2013-11-13

Motorcycle reviewed2008 Yamaha XT250

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
If you read a few reviews about this bike on the web, you'll keep reading the word "underrated." What does this mean? It means that no one who owns and rides this bike underrates it, only those who have not experienced the bike are underrating it. Furthermore, most of those people are unable to look much further than a bike's displacement when they "rate" one. I've been riding for 19 years, many of them off-road, but when I wanted a primarily-commuter bike for the big city, I did not want to be confined to the pavement. The turn angle caught my attention, the weight, the aluminum wheels, at the time the large disc brakes (front and rear), which now can be found on all the bikes in this bracket, a lightened crank...all of these point to a nimble bike that requires less power rather than providing more. The seat height is friendly to most riders (perfect for difficult, rocky trails and traffic lights)...and the riding position couldn't be more comfortable since it's really a "standard made to look like a dual-sport." A motorized mountain bike. The XT's air-cooled simplicity is another plus, since it doesn't require the extra power that you can get from a heavier water-cooled design. I've ridden the KLX250S alongside the XT and it's tall and clunky in comparison. The KLX provides more power, but it requires more as well so it doesn't have the spirited acceleration that the XT has. The grab handles on the back allow me to easily pick up the back end and swing it around to park it in a tight spot or spin it around on a trail. I should just write an entire article about this bike in order to give it a "proper" rating.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (10)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ryun

Gilbert, Arizona

Reviewed on 2012-06-14

Motorcycle reviewed2008 Yamaha YZ450F

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I read the previous review on the bike and felt the need to comment. I'm the original owner of an '08 YZ450F and would buy 20 more if I could. The bike has had very little issues outside of normal maintenance. In Arizona we ride year round with winter temps averaging in the 60's to the summer blazing heat of 110. With the extreme conditions the bike has held together great. The only issue that Yamaha could change on their bikes is the plastic sleeve for the compression valves in the forks. Over time they crack and affect the performance. You cannot buy just the sleeve, you have to buy the whole assembly at $250+ per side! I also have several friends that ride the same bike and they have very few issues with theirs as well.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 11
  • 1 - 10 of 108 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: