Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer Cruiser Reviews on Cycle Insider (8)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer Cruiser Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer Cruiser? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2011-12-01 2008 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I put 100k on a Suzuki Intruder 1500LC and then got this bike and love it. It has plenty of power and is a very smooth, balanced ride. And yes, this bike excels on the freeway. The only drawback is the stock seat and the low, awkward handle bars. the seat feels like I'm sitting on my tail bone. If I did not see other comments about the seat I would think it was because I'm a tall guy, but many others are having the same issue. I will be replacing the seat A$AP. I love the sound of the Cobra pipes.
- SoCalWyatt, San Diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-08-18 2008 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just purchaced a new 2009 1300T and it's exceeded all my expectations. There is plenty of power for the mountains and looks that would stop a crazed deer. Tight U-turns are difficult and I have to stretch a little more than I like for the handlebars. That can be corrected. Overall, she is a looker with features that make her best in class for the dollar.
- Dan.L, Blairsville, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-02-17 2008 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is far and away the best mid size cruiser for the money. I still haven't figured out how they can call it mid size. It looks and runs like a heavy-weight. I get thumbs-up on the looks by the cagers all the time. It handles like a dream, even at lower, parking lot speeds. I would definitely ditch the stock Dunlops for Metzeler Marathons (much better ride and tread life). I bought this bike new in March, 2008 (last one in Houston) and have put about 15,000 trouble-free miles on it, to date. The stock seat was the first thing to go, after about an hour in the saddle, kinda got the numb bum ya know? I got a Mustang 3 piece with rider back rest and Voila! no more numb bum! V&H 2 into 1 Cobra FI2000 K&N Air filter Cobra Fatty Hiway Bars Kuryakyn pegs Star passenger floorboards and Star luggage rack round out the accessories (so far!) Fuel economy on road trips is knockin on 51 mpg. around town it's about 44 mpg. I'm not kidding quit thinking about it and head down to the dealership with your checkbook you will not be disappointed!
- sur5er03, Hockley, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-07-02 2008 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is everything I have been wanting in a motorcycle! It came with a shield, bags, and a passenger backrest -- my wife loves riding on the back of it - and because it's so well balanced, I can hardly tell she's there! The only issue I've had is that the handlebars are a little too far forward for my comfort, so... I ordered some Royal Star touring handlebars to give me an additional 3" of pullback, and bam -- much better. All in all - I can't complain, and I get a ton of compliments on how sharp the bike looks. Would DEFINITELY recommend this bike to anyone!!!!
- Firetom, Muskegon, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-08-04 2008 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just returned from a 3-day/2-up Colorado mountain trip to Black Hawk/Central City, Keystone and Vail. My 1300T continued to perform perfectly, especially through a lot of rain and hail. (Thank goodness for our Nelson-Rigg rainsuits and HJC helmets!) The OEM saddle bags didn't leak at all, and haven't ever leaked through previous downpours. The gas mileage, using 87 octane, was an impressive 54.58 mpgs. This is my fourth motorcycle and by far the best, especially for touring. After the trip, it took several hours to detail the bike. But it was worth it. We're now ready for another venture.
- Tom, Castle Pines North, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-10-20 2008 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I upgraded from a 2005 V-Star 1100 to the 2008 V-Star 1300. I love just about everything about this bike. The only reason I gave it a 4-star on performance is the lack of power acceleration at very low speed. I have to gear down to 1st when making a slow turn, like at a stop light, or else it will clunk. However, once the rpm is up it accelerates very quickly. It cruises with ease at highway speeds and the stock seat is exceptionally comfortable. The cornering and handling are also exceptional. It is averaging between 45-50 mpg riding 2-up! It actually got 54 mpg on one tank riding solo. This bike is a great value for the price and is fun to ride.
- Stan Scott, Pueblo, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-10-01 2008 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is everything and more than I could ever have expected. The 1300 V Star has great power and acceleration. It's a very smooth and easy to drive bike. This bike is a very balanced bike. I usually get about 45 mpg but have gotten as much as 56 mpg. I love riding this bike and have over 1,200 miles in less than three weeks of driving. This bike has a great sound from the stock pipes while not too loud while cruising down the highway. The Tourer comes well equipped for the price. I only have one complaint - when cruising between 60 and 80 mph the needle on the speedometer is in the way of the digital display. I suggest getting a Breakaway cruise control for any highway driving more than half an hour as you will love riding this bike so much it will be hard to drive less than a half an hour. Yamaha sure got this one right!
- Robert, Lorton, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-08-29 2008 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is smooth and comfortable at any speed or condition; you'd think you were riding your favorite lazy boy. It is powerful yet quiet, strong at any speed and virtually no top end. This bike is made for the open road and goes where you point it, whether you're riding solo or with your favorite passenger. It has excellent performance and great comfort on either short or long rides. It has great gas mileage (~45MPG), easy to handle and hard to keep at the speed limit. It's a perfect mix of performance, price and style in an easy and fun to ride bike. Get yourself one and find out!
- Splatman, Aurora, Nebraska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: