Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2008 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer Cruiser reviews

5.0
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.5

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Cruisers

Reviews

8 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

SoCalWyatt

San Diego, California

Reviewed on 2011-12-01

Motorcycle reviewed2008 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I put 100k on a Suzuki Intruder 1500LC and then got this bike and love it. It has plenty of power and is a very smooth, balanced ride. And yes, this bike excels on the freeway. The only drawback is the stock seat and the low, awkward handle bars. the seat feels like I'm sitting on my tail bone. If I did not see other comments about the seat I would think it was because I'm a tall guy, but many others are having the same issue. I will be replacing the seat A$AP. I love the sound of the Cobra pipes.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dan.L

Blairsville, Georgia

Reviewed on 2011-08-18

Motorcycle reviewed2008 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just purchaced a new 2009 1300T and it's exceeded all my expectations. There is plenty of power for the mountains and looks that would stop a crazed deer. Tight U-turns are difficult and I have to stretch a little more than I like for the handlebars. That can be corrected. Overall, she is a looker with features that make her best in class for the dollar.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

sur5er03

Hockley, Texas

Reviewed on 2011-02-17

Motorcycle reviewed2008 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike is far and away the best mid size cruiser for the money. I still haven't figured out how they can call it mid size. It looks and runs like a heavy-weight. I get thumbs-up on the looks by the cagers all the time. It handles like a dream, even at lower, parking lot speeds. I would definitely ditch the stock Dunlops for Metzeler Marathons (much better ride and tread life). I bought this bike new in March, 2008 (last one in Houston) and have put about 15,000 trouble-free miles on it, to date. The stock seat was the first thing to go, after about an hour in the saddle, kinda got the numb bum ya know? I got a Mustang 3 piece with rider back rest and Voila! no more numb bum! V&H 2 into 1 Cobra FI2000 K&N Air filter Cobra Fatty Hiway Bars Kuryakyn pegs Star passenger floorboards and Star luggage rack round out the accessories (so far!) Fuel economy on road trips is knockin on 51 mpg. around town it's about 44 mpg. I'm not kidding quit thinking about it and head down to the dealership with your checkbook you will not be disappointed!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Firetom

Muskegon, Michigan

Reviewed on 2010-07-02

Motorcycle reviewed2008 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike is everything I have been wanting in a motorcycle! It came with a shield, bags, and a passenger backrest -- my wife loves riding on the back of it - and because it's so well balanced, I can hardly tell she's there! The only issue I've had is that the handlebars are a little too far forward for my comfort, so... I ordered some Royal Star touring handlebars to give me an additional 3" of pullback, and bam -- much better. All in all - I can't complain, and I get a ton of compliments on how sharp the bike looks. Would DEFINITELY recommend this bike to anyone!!!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tom

Castle Pines North, Colorado

Reviewed on 2009-08-04

Motorcycle reviewed2008 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Just returned from a 3-day/2-up Colorado mountain trip to Black Hawk/Central City, Keystone and Vail. My 1300T continued to perform perfectly, especially through a lot of rain and hail. (Thank goodness for our Nelson-Rigg rainsuits and HJC helmets!) The OEM saddle bags didn't leak at all, and haven't ever leaked through previous downpours. The gas mileage, using 87 octane, was an impressive 54.58 mpgs. This is my fourth motorcycle and by far the best, especially for touring. After the trip, it took several hours to detail the bike. But it was worth it. We're now ready for another venture.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Stan Scott

Pueblo, Colorado

Reviewed on 2008-10-20

Motorcycle reviewed2008 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I upgraded from a 2005 V-Star 1100 to the 2008 V-Star 1300. I love just about everything about this bike. The only reason I gave it a 4-star on performance is the lack of power acceleration at very low speed. I have to gear down to 1st when making a slow turn, like at a stop light, or else it will clunk. However, once the rpm is up it accelerates very quickly. It cruises with ease at highway speeds and the stock seat is exceptionally comfortable. The cornering and handling are also exceptional. It is averaging between 45-50 mpg riding 2-up! It actually got 54 mpg on one tank riding solo. This bike is a great value for the price and is fun to ride.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Robert

Lorton, Virginia

Reviewed on 2008-10-01

Motorcycle reviewed2008 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike is everything and more than I could ever have expected. The 1300 V Star has great power and acceleration. It's a very smooth and easy to drive bike. This bike is a very balanced bike. I usually get about 45 mpg but have gotten as much as 56 mpg. I love riding this bike and have over 1,200 miles in less than three weeks of driving. This bike has a great sound from the stock pipes while not too loud while cruising down the highway. The Tourer comes well equipped for the price. I only have one complaint - when cruising between 60 and 80 mph the needle on the speedometer is in the way of the digital display. I suggest getting a Breakaway cruise control for any highway driving more than half an hour as you will love riding this bike so much it will be hard to drive less than a half an hour. Yamaha sure got this one right!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Splatman

Aurora, Nebraska

Reviewed on 2008-08-29

Motorcycle reviewed2008 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike is smooth and comfortable at any speed or condition; you'd think you were riding your favorite lazy boy. It is powerful yet quiet, strong at any speed and virtually no top end. This bike is made for the open road and goes where you point it, whether you're riding solo or with your favorite passenger. It has excellent performance and great comfort on either short or long rides. It has great gas mileage (~45MPG), easy to handle and hard to keep at the speed limit. It's a perfect mix of performance, price and style in an easy and fun to ride bike. Get yourself one and find out!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 1 - 8 of 8 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: