Ducati Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (9)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Ducati Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Ducati Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2011-06-27 2009 Ducati Monster 696 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Monster 696 is a very good bike, very forgiving, light and great to handle. There is plenty of power when riding on the highway alone or with a passenger and tame for in-city riding. It attracts great attention and positive comments from passersby or other drivers out there. The only issue I had with it was the factory seat. I got that replaced and it's day and night.
- Pascal, New York, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-06-20 2009 Ducati Monster 696 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike ever and so far I love it. The salesman told me it would be a good beginner bike if I would respect it and so far he has been right. I can tell the bike has a lot more power to give, but I am keeping the throttle hand at bay while I learn to ride better. This bike is so easy to handle for a beginner. When I say beginner I mean it. I rode a buddy's bike about three weeks before buying the 696 for the first time. I spent maybe 15 minutes in a parking lot and had to get one. The second time I rode a motorcycle was the day I rode my 696 home from the dealership. Love it. First thing for me will be a re-gear and then going to look at the racing exhaust stystem with AF and ECU.
- DJ, Augusta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-07-07 2009 Ducati Monster 1100 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I toyed with the idea of getting a Ducati for the better part of a year. I know that I would be getting a bike for commuting, but went back and forth on paying for a Ducati. I test rode a score of different bikes before I hopped on the Monster 1100. One test ride and I was hooked. The smooth power and torque delivery are spot on. Being 6 feet tall and a little on the heavier side, I needed a bike that would have the power to move me and not need to be so high strung making that power that it would kill any gain in mpg that I would get on a bike. Overall this bike can't be beat in the combination of performance, quality, design and reliability. Can't wait to take it to Moto GP.....
- Erik, Capo Beach, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-06-29 2009 Ducati Monster 1100 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I LOVE this bike and everything it does. I am a pretty big guy and I had some trouble comfortably riding this fine machine. A couple of minor tweaks and all is PERFECT now. The torque on this thing is absolutely amazing. It is so light and flickable that carving twisties requires little effort other than holding the throttle steady. No problems at all in my 1200 miles. Pros: Light weight Crazy bottom end and mid range power Beautiful design Comfortable ergos (get an aftermarket seat though) Cons: Slightly cramped for tall riders (remedied easily aftermarket) You go too FAST too FAST
- Pittsburgh Clint, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-04-23 2009 Ducati Monster 1100 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After 5000 miles, I've come to a realization that the Monster 1100 is pure joy. It's spunky, easy, and wholesome. Coming from other naked bikes, the Monster is not the best bang for your money. But I do like Ducati's mantra: keep it light, keep it simple, keep it fun. It's easy to flick around town and in the canyons; you're guaranteed an enthusiastic ride. It isn't overly complex; no crazy bells and whistles. Reliability has been good since I've had it. No problems with electronics nor mechanics. The simplicity of an air cooled, dry clutch motorcycle appeals to me. The Monster 1100 is not super-powerful, but the near 100hp is quite enough to ride dirty. I'm a city rider, and the relatively soft suspension is excellent for everyday riding (I heard that the "S" version's Ohlins suspension can be a bit too firm and jarring, and is more appropriate if you regularly take it to the track or canyons). Brakes are superb; I've handled emergency stops with much confidence. Comfort is good. The riding position is not sadistic. Seat firmness is actually tolerable, but angled to the front, causing discomfort with hard braking. I rode the bike from L.A. to Phoenix during a weekend (a little under 1000 miles total in three days), and she did cause butt fatigue after 5 hours of riding. Quality is good. The bike is quite plastic, but built well. Everything has been solid since purchase, and I'm very happy. Quirks: stock mirrors provide good visibility, but are quite large. Mileage range is about 150 miles in one tank (light goes on after 120 miles I wish for more. Seat angle can be more neutral for comfort. And I wish there were more available accessories for touring, such as bag options and GPS.
- Philip C., Long Beach, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-04-03 2009 Ducati Monster 1100 S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Third Ducati, and best by far. Great handling and super performance. Outstanding dealer. Rides like it is on a rail, first time I have not had to adjust suspension when I got home. Owner of dealer did great job setting up.
- Mike, Virginia Beach, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-03-03 2009 Ducati Monster 696 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After years of riding motorcycles, I decided to do something that I had never done before, actually buy a new one. I had recently sold my beloved BMW R1100R for something more sporty. I sat on an Aprilia Shiver, which I thought sounded and looked awesome, but it was way too wide between my legs and a bit tall for an average man. Next the Speed Triple, it was ok, but it was a bit heavy with a high center of gravity, then I sat on the 696, I was pretty impressed. After owning it for almost a year now, I can not say anything but good about it. A small oil leak that was promptly repaired and a nail in the rear tire...but otherwise seamless. I feel like the 696 is a bit understated in the performance reviews. It is head and shoulders above any 600 class four cylinder I've ridden and torque is availible much much earlier than the typical four banger. There are faster bikes for the money in a straight line, however, on the track and in style, I would be surprised if any could keep pace. If you are looking for a new bike that inspires you, just do me a favor and test ride one, it won't take long for the infectious Ducati to prove what performance and Italian style are all about.
- Nate, Charlotte, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-09-11 2009 Ducati Superbike 1198 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding for many years and always admired Ducatis from afar. In 2006, I finally got one- an ST3s. I could go on and on about how wonderful that bike is, but I had always wanted a flat-out, no-compromises superbike. Not to replace the ST3s, but as an alternate for the street and track. I took the plunge in August 2009 with an 1198. All the glowing reviews are right: it is simply awesome! Let me explain the difference in more human terms: All the bikes before my first Ducati were nice girlfriends. Some better than others, all satisfying in their own way, but no feeling worth a long-term commitment. The ST3s, on the other hand, is that once-in-a-lifetime, love-at-first-ride soulmate. Think beautiful Italian woman in a perfect, low-cut, evening gown. Sexy, classy, and strong. Gina Lollobrigida or Claudia Cardinale at her very best. The 1198? Angelina Jolie in tight black leather. Got the idea?
- Dave L, Lock Haven, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-30 2009 Ducati Superbike 1198 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First I want to say this bike is awesome, I love nearly everything about it after my mods other than the fuel tank size. Most of my riding is longer 200-300 mile rides that are not in the city so my bike opinions and mods all reflect that. As a stock bike four issues I had were: 1 Suspension was rock hard and needed to be re-sprung or completely reworked for my weight and riding style. 2 Seat was not good for anything over an hour. I was ok up until that point but wasn't comfortable afterward. 3 I can't believe how bad the mirrors are! Horrible stock mirrors even with the extenders on which allow you to see past your elbows. 4 Gas tank size! I mean what the heck, after your low fuel light comes on it takes 2.5 gallons and if you run it dry it will maybe take 3.6 gallons. If ridden the way it was meant to that means you're empty at 100 miles which may be fine 90% of the time but can cause issues. I'd like a bit more but haven't done anything yet. Probably will go with a 5.62 gallon ETI fuel cell but I don't know yet. Suspension was easily remedied and gave me a chance to tear it down and see how well this bike is engineered (better than I would have guessed). The rear wheel removal is shockingly easy with the single sided swing arm. One clip with bolt and it is off. Remove the rear & mid sections of exhaust and the rearsets and you can drop a new shock in without issue. Forks were equally as easy to remove/replace once you get the many fairing bolts pulled to remove the fairings. One issue is the number of fasteners, in short there are LOTS. The seat took some time as I first bought a Sargent which have always been good in the past. I really didn't care for it as the side edges are not comfortable for aggressive riding although long term comfort was good. The Ducati Performance neoprene race seat is better. No edges and comfort is better than stock and you don't slide into the tank with this one. I can do 4 hours on it and my butt feels fine. A few of the mods I did improved the overall fit and function. The adjustable clipons added a bit of comfort and the progressive throttle tube with roller bearing movement makes off/on throttle transitions much smoother. The taller windscreen makes a big difference in fatigue level for longer periods at highway+ speeds. The CRG mirrors allow you to actually see behind you, Great! The Termi exhaust is uncorked and sounds awesome and may help with throttle response although I never rode the bike with stock ECU and cans as I had them pulled before I took it home. The carbon stuff is mostly just because I like it. Overall, This bike is light and I mean really light. With a full tank of fuel this bike is under 430 pounds. That is around 45 pounds lighter than the new R1 WOW! You can tell it's light when you ride it, really good stuff. It's also a narrow bike which I LOVE. Compared to my 07 CBR1000rr it's a dream and I think it may even have more seat to rearset room. The bikes flickability is a bit heavy stock but is better with the suspension changes and gets through twisties just fine with faster transitions. Brakes are outstanding and I wouldn't change a thing. Brembo Monoblocks, good job. Braided steel lines, good job. Brembo master cylinders, good job. The engine is awesome with torque galore and good top end punch. It power wheelies effortlessly and is super easy to control. Add the beautiful sound of the Italian L-twin and HOHA, it's a dream. Revlimiter is hard On a side note, women love this bike. When stopped for one of your many fuel stops during a ride don't be surprised when the most attractive young women around flock to your bike and ask you all kinds of leading question. It's true, so be ready. What else to say? I love it and plan on keeping it for a long time to come.
- Pete, United States

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: