Harley-Davidson Road Glide Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (7)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Harley-Davidson Road Glide Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Harley-Davidson Road Glide Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2010-10-28 2009 Harley-Davidson Road Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had the RG a little over a year now, and I've had a chance for a couple of long trips. When the weather got hot I decided to take off the lower fairings, which brought the buffeting back. I found some new wind deflectors that Harley just released this year, that mount in between the gas tank and forks. I also went from the Klockwerks shield to a Clearview (large). WOW! What a difference! This bike is 100% more comfortable than the stock version. With or without helmet - no buffeting! My glasses don't get ripped off my face anymore either. Well done Harley. I also added a Power Commander from FuelMoto. Right now the bike is dialed in just like I want, and I'm really looking forward to some major trips next year.
- Rob, Mukwonago, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-12-12 2009 Harley-Davidson Road Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well I am now about 10,300mi and the snow has arrived. Overall this bike has performed better than I thought. I changed the oil 4x and won't be due till 15k. The only thing I do not like is the bolts that hold the windshield on, I switched to a shorty windshield when it got real warm, the plastic bolts never seem tight so you end up overtightening them and I had one fall into the fairing. I have yet to find a permanent fix for this and have written to HD but I guess they have had this set up for years and do not intend on creating a permanent fix. Other than that this bike rides like a champ, I have not experienced any wind buffeting even with the shorty on. MPG is app. 45 normally and about 52 with cruise control. The rear tire is in great shape after 10k and I bet I can easily get another 5k out of it. I may do the stage 1 this spring but I really don't see a need for it. The radio is a great addition but is kinda tough to hear above 75mph, although the CD player is much louder. Definetly getting the J&M speakers this spring. Have looked at the 2010's and the lowered rear end does not look right to me and I imagine will not corner nearly as well, although the rear fascia looks beautiful, also the 2-1 pipe looks ridiculous from the rear of the bike IMO. If you can find an 09 go for it, they are truly one offs. Feel free to write me if you have any questions.
- Me, Rochester, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-09-08 2009 Harley-Davidson Road Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
O.K. I sold my 2003 Roadglide and when I learned H.D was discontinuing the FLTR, I went down to my dealer and came away with a superior bike in every way. Abs brembos, 6 speed cruise drive, 96 cu in., 6 gal.tank, big 180 rear tire, much stiffer and better handling frame, less heat as muffler is now under bike and not next to the passengers left leg, better cd, radio, better speakers, more watts, I can easily hear at 80 m.p.h., better looking tank console, seat is more confortable, all in all this 2009 will run circles around my 2003. The old frame is what realy is bad about pre-2009s, as it wants to flex and wobble in corners, and the way too small rear tire (130) does not put enough rubber on the road. The new 2010 Roadglide does not come with cruise control, has too short a windshield and has lowered suspension, so the ride is harsher. If you want the best, buy an 09. I am surprised it took Harley soo long to finally upgrade the frame after 28 years. An 800-plus lb. bike does not need to be rolling on a skinny rear tire! Thank you H.D. - you hit this one out the park!
- jason, san diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-16 2009 Harley-Davidson Road Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had a hard time choosing my first Harley 3 years ago. The RKC won out over the Heritage softail classic and the Road Glide. Well...I rocked 37,000+ on my Blue Moose RKC. Rode it like a sports bike a good part of the time. Rubbed her boards on mountain roads on the right coast from Maine to Georgia. Even rode the highways (only when real life interfered). Loved it, but it did have its limitations. Well...the 2009 RG does not have such limitations. It is one totally fantastic machine. Rides steady and predictably, has good power, and comfortable. The new frame is SOLID, the new brakes are REAL BRAKES, the ABS works real well. So far heat is not an issue, but the re-routed exhaust can't hurt. The new wheels are HOT. The radio is way cool. No more earphones, it sounds great and even has an input for my Zumo to play mp3s. The only negative is the windshield is a couple of inches too low. (Sing along with me: A shopping I will go, a shopping I will go, hi ho my derriere, a shopping I will go). Anyway, to wrap it up, this is absolutely the funnest thing I've ever made payments on in my life. Still need a name: maybe simply Orange Crush, or Creamsicle (mines in Mirage Orange Pearl and I'm the old vanilla boy in the middle, hee hee). Ride on and ride safe.
- Marko, New City, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-30 2009 Harley-Davidson Road Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding for a few years but this is my first Harley. I almost bought a Star, but then I test drove the Road Glide. Thank God. It's an awesome ride. I've ridden in wind, pouring rain, even caught hail once. This bike handles it all extremely well. Took a four day camping trip on the bike and it was a blast. Great value, no matter what people may say about HDs. My buddy got a 09 Classic about the same time I picked up my FLTR, and I gotta say you can't go wrong with either bike. For a bike this large, she handles amazingly. Turns great at slow and fast speeds. Once you start riding you hardly feel the weight. It's very well balanced and a smooth ride.
- Charlie, Jacksonville, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-04-10 2009 Harley-Davidson Road Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I agree with Richs' review. I came from a 2007 Ultra and this is a definite improvement over what is a good bike. My first day out was windy and the bike tracked so much better than the Ultra. I know some people don't like the looks of the fairing but it sure seems to work better than the handlebar mounted ones.
- John, San Luis Obispo, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-12-17 2009 Harley-Davidson Road Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Having come from the 08 Street Glide, my take on this new platform is that it's just so much nicer with the new frame, shocks, swing arm, larger rear tire and taller front. This bike handles very well and at any speed. The stretched out gears are even an improvement over the '08; much smoother. I highly recommend this ride. The redesigned exhaust is not next to your legs anymore. I think HD finally got it right.
- Rich, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: