Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (16)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2012-08-05 2009 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased mine used (20k miles). After extensive research, I decided that I wanted an Ultra no later than 2009 in order to get the benefits of an improved ride by the larger front and rear tires; ABS brakes; electronic throttle and modular frame. I have the 96 engine and very happy with its performance. I particularly wanted the 96 since it has been around for a long time and the 103 is realitively new. I rode one bike with 103 and didn't notice any performance differences. I have ridden this bike from Maryland to South Carolina (1,300 miles round trip). The bike is extremely comfortable and although weighs over 800 lbs. it easy to ride, especially at speed. This bike does not have the torque of a VRod (my previous bike), however, I find that acceleration up to 90 is relatively effortless (How fast do you need to go?) but not racey. My only negative comment about this bike is the sixth gear. The manual states that you should engage the sixth gear at 50 mph., however, the bike "chugs" at this speed. I recommend keeping the bike in fifth gear and change to sixth only if you are going to remain above 60-65 mph. for an extended period. If you engage the six speed below 60-65 mph. in normal, non-speedway traffic, you'll be down-shifting a lot. Secondly, the fuel gauge is not accurate, however the estimated miles remaining gauge is best to measure your distance. don't expect to get high mileage around town (25-30 mpg. highway (35-40 mpg.). I love this bike and expect to have it for a long time.
- ggask, Bowie, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-07-19 2009 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned my 2009 for three years. I purchased the stage 1 kit with Screaming Eagle street pipes. It really turned the 96 motor loose. The only issues I have had with the bike is like other people. The 5th gear is noisy and at 5,000 miles my dealer changed the front tire. It sounded like a snow tire I now have over 11,000 miles on the bike and 6,000 miles on the front tire and it is starting to make noise around corners or any time you lean it. I never was a fan of Dunlop tires and now I dislike them even more. I'm looking at changing my tires to Avon Cobra. My 89FLH never failed me in my 20 years of riding it with Avons on it.
- hdsurfer, eaton rapids, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-03-12 2009 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
So far all is great for the break-in. I changed to syn oil @ 1,000 miles. The bike performs great and rides even better. My wife loves the comfort when riding along. No mechanical break downs or other problems to report about. If I had to complain about anything it would be the price of everything...base cost, upgrades, accessories, etc. But then again, all hobbies of mine are expensive.
- Joe, Gladys, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-01-23 2009 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the bike all men want. Who the heck grows up wishing that one day they will drive a Kawisaki? No one. A Harley is the top dog of bikes and the Ultra is the top of the top. Tricked out tourer, leather jacket, open road. It's no coincidence that Harley and Heaven both start with H.
- Rat, Canada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-12-23 2009 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my 2009 Ultra on Christmas eve last year as a present to myself. We have ridden it across country this summer and have found it to be outstanding. First bike that my wife and I have actually kept the stock seat. Usually we throw it out within a week. We traded a Yamaha Venture in on this Ultra. Compared to the Yamaha, it doesn't have as much power, but we found it to be sufficient. Gear noise, there is a slight whine in 5th gear but we found it to be hardly noticeable. You want to hear a whine, ride a Venture. They have horrible clutch basket whines. We love the ABS. I will never have another bike without it. We blew a rear tire, I put the front tire brake into a death hold, the ABS worked as advertised and brought us to a safe stop just as the rear tire came completely off the rim. Highly recommend ABS. As far as slow parking lot riding, the Ultra is wonderful. Not the least bit top heavy, it feels like a much lighter motorcycle. Once again I am comparing it to the Yamaha that I had.
- Tom Hewitt, North Randolph, Vermont

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-11-12 2009 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Traded my 03 FLHTC that had been dressed to the Ultra level, had the big bore kit screamin eagle pipes and programming. Loved it and never thought I would get rid of it BUT, the 09 Ultra is the cat's meow. Average fuel mileage = 39.5 mpg with a ride that is outstanding and handling manners of a sport bike. Would like a little more torque though. Will change that over the next year. If you ride a Honda Gold Wing, you owe it to yourself to try one of these on.
- Ken Switzer, Vicksburg, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-09-15 2009 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased a 2009 FLTCU, after ridding a 2007 FLHTCU. The seating position is much different, you sit on the 09 and sat in the 2007. The valve stems on the wheels are located in a very difficult location to check tire pressure. The new throttle is different than the 2007 and has taken some time to get used to, as well. The fit and finsih are Harley all the way. It is the little things that make the bike less than prefect. Tire wear is greater, 13000 mile for the front and rear tire to be replaced. I was able to get 16000 on my front and 15000 on the rear on the 07 consistently as a sole rider.
- Richard Wilbert, Brighton, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-20 2009 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Until April '09 I rode a Honda VTX 1800. My wife convinced me to buy the Harley Ultra Classic as an early retirment gift to myself. What a difference. This bike is so comfortable and much easier to ride. The balance is just right and more than enough power. No regrets from changing over to the HD. The ride is smooth and I can ride long distances without stopping. The larger fuel tank anf six speed transmission is a plus. Thanks for building such a nice machine.
- Ken Mohler, Orlando, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-06 2009 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I actually rented one first. I was so impressed by the 09's that when I went to turn it in the next day, I ended up taking the two tone rootbeer color that was sitting on the floor an hour later. Undoubtably this is the best purchase I have ever made. Besides, I have been wanting to get one for the last year and a half. It was well worth the wait. Smooth, comfortable, looks, no problems. This bike has almost everything stock. I could not be more pleased.
- 2003fxd, hanford, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-04-22 2009 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
In September I traded a 2004 ABS Wing in on this bike. The thing I like about HD with this model is that they don't nickle/dime you. They throw in a headset, interior luggage bags, chrome railings around the bags etc. I also like the electronics. The intercom has separate front and rear volume levels and controls. The CD player will play MP3 CD's (which I make) and I can get 16 or so albums on a 700 Mb CD-r. Comparitively speaking the prices are comparable to the new Goldwings. The HD rides smoother (If you can believe that)! It seems to be as nimble but I haven't done a skills course with it yet. It doesn't have any near the power as the 6 cyl mill on the GW but it has plenty of go power and quite frankly it's much more comfortable for me. It lacks a reverse but for $1500 one can get an aftermarket one put on. The best accessory for the cold part of the nation is the heated grips well worth the money. But apparently they are a major pain to put on so IF you decide to put them on as part of the sale agreement. Would I buy HD again? All I know is that I smile more on this bike than any other I have owned, ANd I have owned a LOT of metric tourers. So the answer is in a heart beat. As far as 5th gear whine goes I had the dealer put a synthetic xmission oil in and that seems to have reduced the whine enough.
- TattooZ, Raymond, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-03-17 2009 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding for 54 years. I just traded my old bike for an Ultra. It is the best move I could have made. There have been times when I've traded in bikes and knew I had traded up. Within the first mile on this bike I knew I had made the right choice and again traded up. Harley has finally gotten it right! This bike does it all.
- Bob Edelstein, Boca Raton, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-01-16 2009 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
From the moment I rode out of the Harley dealer parking lot I knew it was love. I traded my 07 Ultra and never looked back. The 09 corners better, rides smoother, looks awesome and the updates are fantastic! If you like cross country riding or weekend getaways you need to get one of these machines. This is one sexy ride people.
- Hawg Cruzer, Traverse City, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-12-19 2009 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have V-Strom 650, a 03 Wide Glide and a Ninja 250. I traded in the my 07 Nomad. The Ultra is my 20th bike. I have been riding since 1963. Baby boomers and anyone else do not hesitate on the 09. It is cruiser heaven. It is smooth on the road and on twisties, comfortable, no heat problems, music and CB you do not want to stop riding the machine. DO NOT HESITATE!
- JS, Venus, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-11-16 2009 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I traded my 2001 Gold Wing on a new 09 Ultra Classic in September. I love this machine! The new frame, fat rear tire, 17 inch front tire and new swingarm all work together to make the Ultra one sweet handling motorcycle. The more I ride it, the more I love it. This is my first Harley having ridden nothing but metric bikes (including 4 Gold Wings) in the past 34 years. I'm glad I waited until now to make the move to a Harley because the upgrades to the touring models made by the Motor Company for 09 make the Ultra one of the best touring rigs ever. The handling is superb... just think about a turn and you're there; and the ride is definitely on the cushy side. In 6th gear the bike is just loafing along with that distinctive Harley rumble letting you know that you're on a real motorcycle. The creature comforts on the Harley take a backseat to no one with a full featured 80 watt stereo with integrated CD player and MP3 port, a CB radio, intercom, air ride suspension and a cruise control that rivals anything in the automotive world for accuracy and ease of operation. This is a motorcycle that will definitely give years of pleasure and hold it's value; and the best part is... it's mine!
- Barry Bennett, Victoria

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-09-30 2009 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Harley did it right in 09. It seems they have listened hard to riders as all those negative things you read about with this previous model seem corrected in 09. 1. Mine runs cooler and more comfortable than my 07 Ultra did. <br /> 2. The brakes work twice as well. <br /> 3. There is more rider and passenger room. <br /> 4. The handling has improved and the bike turns and takes corners with at least 20% less effort than 07 Ultra. <br /> 5. The rear of the bike takes bumps so smooth and feels really planted and stable. <br /> 6. 200 miles plus range with the 6 gallon tank. <br /> 7. Great bolder looks with the huge rear tire and wider rear fender. <br /> 8. Larger diameter front wheel but more narrow front tire for better handling. <br /> 8. Larger bags and more carry capacity. <br /> 9. Great looking and stronger wheels. <br /> And on and on. This is my first Harley that I don't think I even need to change out the air cleaner and exhaust. Stock it seems to have as much beens as my 07 did with the 3 mods. Go demo one and see for yourself. This is a serious touring machine!
- Dirty Dave, Lewistown, Montana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-08-24 2009 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I traded in my 2004 Ultra Classic on this 2009 Ultra. The 2004 was a good bike, no problems but heat (not like the newer motors are) was an issue at times more so for the passenger, and small frame for two up touring. The 2009 is not even close, it is a complete improvement over anything up to 2008 from Harley. Do not get taken by the appearances of the 2008 and older Harleys. This feels like a totally different bike and it is. It is more powerful, better handling, better brakes, vast improvement on the heat issue (largely due to new exhaust routing and heat shields keep back cylinder cooler), much more two up riding space, more capacity and you can feel the stronger frame in the corners. Two slight negatives - harder to find neutral so far, and the side stand lets the bike lean over more than the previous models. So be careful where you stop and put the side stand down. I wish the dealers luck with the previous 2008 and older bikes.
- Bill , Hamilton, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: