Kawasaki KLR650 Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (16)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki KLR650 Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Kawasaki KLR650 Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2012-04-24 2009 Kawasaki KLR650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Now at 11,500 miles and love my KLR. Bar end weights are the best biggest improvement on the old model. At ~7k miles it left me stranded. The fix for no spark was to tighten the sparkplug cap onto the lead wire a 1/4 turn. Earlier at 500 miles the vacuum on the fuel cock came off and I learned that lesson. It uses more oil when I am consistently running 75-80 on the freeway. It's a great bike for the money. Never off road, but I know it will do great on fire roads.
- Steven Pierce, San Diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-08-23 2009 Kawasaki KLR650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned the KLR for about a month now, and so far it's been a positive experience. Being tall and well built I've had trouble finding a motorcycle to fit me; sport bikes I cannot sit on, and cruisers do not appeal to me. I want a simple machine that is not big and cumbersome nor one that is over-powered. To me the KLR feels like sitting tall on a mountain bike, albeit a heavy one. The riding position is very natural and well suited for the longer-legged (32" inseam here). Any negatives are, I'm sure, mostly due to my inexperience. The suspension is quite soft and the nose will dive when braking. Also at higher speeds (80 kph.+) a stiff crosswind will make it dance about nervously. For me there is more than enough power. First gear gets you off the line. If you are in a hurry you can roll on plenty of throttle in second and jump right up into fourth and be at 60 kph. Throttle response is predictable and in no way twitchy or sensitive. Brakes are good, plus I do a lot of engine braking. I do not notice a whole lot of vibration - the mirrors remain useable at all speeds. It's a thumper, though, so there is always some. All in all if you're tall and want a bike that will serve you as a trainer and beyond, depending on your desires, the KLR is hard to beat. Go and test ride one
- Trouble, Winnipeg, Manitoba

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-09-04 2009 Kawasaki KLR650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I always loved the KLR since it was introduced about 25 years ago. When the '08 model came out (which is the same as '09) I'll order one. However when I went into the store, I saw the previous model, a leftover '06. No fancy plastic and the ride height was much better suited for off-roading (mostly what I used the bike for!) so I decided to buy that instead of the new one. I did not regret it! This bike does everything well and I also got a nice discount! The only thing is it needs better brakes which I will fix when the time cones for replacement rotors and pads.
- Motoman, Atlanta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-09-02 2009 Kawasaki KLR650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got this in May, after not being on a bike in 25 years. I have in four months put almost 5000 miles on it. It handles interstate, backroads, gravel without a hitch. I rode 1500 miles in one weekend from Missouri to NW Wisconsin and back, no trouble at all. I really loved the trip and the bike.
- Jeff, Paris, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-07-29 2009 Kawasaki KLR650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's fully broken in and running really well after meticulously following the break-in rpms. 46 mpg is typical for my riding style. I did extra oil changes at 250, 600 (service) and 1150. I will follow the schedule now. The rear tire is wearing fast. I'm now running 30+ pounds of pressure to help on road wear - also it helps the front end feel better when braking. So far 98% road riding and will air down off road - with nerf bars now ready to try more. I adjusted the shock to 4th position as I am heavy and occasionally take on a rider. I will back down to 3, but like the adjust-ability. I'm looking into a bigger wind screen for 55+mph riding and long term a more contoured seat, though the seat to me is cushioned well...just a shape thing.
- Steven Pierce, San Diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-07-13 2009 Kawasaki KLR650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am already looking into upgrading the seat and adding after market accessories. It was great dealing with the dealer here.
- Butch Bogdin, Craig, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-06-27 2009 Kawasaki KLR650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was torn between getting a street bike and a dual sport. I purchased a new 2009 KLR and am glad I did. We have a lot of logging roads in Southern Arkansas that you wouldn't dare take a street bike on. This bike gives me the freedom to hit the dirt when I want to. I use it as a commuter and the gas mileage is excellent. I am looking at upgrading to a higher windshield because the stock one hits me right in the kisser. Love my KLR.
- Keith Reisma, Bryant, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-01-23 2009 Kawasaki KLR650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The KLR is great, I really don't have any problems with the bike at all. It seems just as much at home plugging down logging roads as it does going down the highway at 65 mph while getting 55 mpg. I love my bike and look forward to many more years with it.
- Bobby, Centennial, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-10-04 2009 Kawasaki KLR650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Have had my KLR for about one month now. Have nothing bad to say about it. Low cost and low maintanence cost compared to by previous bike. (BMW) Sit up high, see the world- be seen by the world. Slide back on the seat when the butt starts to hurt. Forget about switching to reserve, 6 gallon tank and 50+ mpg means you will give up before it does. Not a lot of wind protection, but if you want to stayout of the wind..buy a car. A GREAT bike for the money. Heck, buy two of em- they're cheap.
- s talley, reno, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-08-08 2009 Kawasaki KLR650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
2nd motorcycle I have ever owned. This machine is an excellent ride, you get a sore butt after 600 KM, but nothing a more longer journey seat can fix. I have the KLR 2009 in black, and I can tell you, you really appreciate this cycle. I was tossing between this cycle and a cruser type, but because I enjoy the Ontario North, I came to know that I needed a bike that can handle the off road. This is an allrounded bike, it does what most other cycles cannot do and the cost of this bike makes it # 1. I am very proud to own this machine.
- John C KELLY, Toronto, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-08-07 2009 Kawasaki KLR650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I owned the past generation KLR which was a good bike but the brakes were spongy and the cam chain tensioner was subject to failure. Kawasaki has made many improvements to this stable performing workhorse. Better lower end torque and great fuel economy. I have averaged 55 to 60 MPG. The only complaint I have is that the tires that come with the stock bike wear out in less than 5,000 miles. The engine is bullet proof and the build quality and durability far surpasses comparable bikes costing more. The bike is a great value and a blast to ride in the twisties.
- Rusty Fishel, Bloomington, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-08-05 2009 Kawasaki KLR650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'll get to the point. Great looking bike, with the new body style. Soft suspension and comfort while riding. At 36 horsepower, it's a little under powered for what it is. I'm not asking for huge horsepower, but I think there should be a little more to offer with todays technology. I would sacrifice some of the fuel mileage for maybe 5-10 more horsepower. Fatten up the carb and put on a better pipe. Friends of mine want one but the seat height is too tall for them.
- todd crispino, monroe, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-03 2009 Kawasaki KLR650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the Blue 2008 and put 300 miles on it in just a few days. The next 300 miles was a combination of dirt, water, and rocks during the Shenandoah 500 put on my the Northern Virginia Trail Riders. I did not modify the bike in any way for the ride. There was plenty of front and rear suspension and the braking was awesome. Due to the steep terrain, I would recommend a sprocket upgrade, because first gear is too high and there was a constant need to change between second and third. The stock tires did well, but heavier knobbies would be a benefit when off-road. This bike spends a lot of time in traffic and is used as a commuter bike daily.
- Joe J., Virginia Beach, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-02 2009 Kawasaki KLR650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought 3 2009 KLR's, one for myself and two for my sons. We ride every weekend on highways to get to dirt roads, so we get a wide range of riding. The bikes do great on the highway and exceptional on dirt/gravel roads. We have taken the bikes down some dry creek beds and they seem to be a little heavy on the front end for loose sand and geared a bit high for slow maneuvering. But this is typical of all good dual sport bikes. You have to consider I was able to purchase 3 bikes for the price of 1 BMW. The KLR performs very well. However, the seat definitely needs to be upgraded. These bikes are virtually bullet proof and for the money by far the best bike out there.
- Barry, Round Rock, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-28 2009 Kawasaki KLR650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The KLR is my first street bike and so far has exceeded all of my expectations. It is really fun to ride on the twisty roads. It has tremendous low end tourque, you can really accelerate exiting a corner. The bike handles very predicably wich is good for a new rider. Comfort is really good. But for riding on the highway I think I will get a taller wind shield to keep the wind off of me because of my height. You can't beat the price. The most bang for the buck of any motorcycle sold today!
- New rider, Canton, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-03-13 2009 Kawasaki KLR650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just had the first service done. The cost was not too bad compared to other bikes I've owned. The bike is tall, the stand makes it even more vertical and the climb up can be an adventure on uneven ground. Once up, the experience is like no other bike. Mirrors are huge, visible and vibration free and the upright riding position coupled with the flat (gel) seat is nearly perfect. I think the power is adequate for most purposes and the handling surpasses bikes costing thousands more. In short, this is definitely one of those bikes that delivers more bang for the buck than most. It doesn't look bad at all and won't bankrupt you with maintenance or payments. It's also a blast to ride on or off road. It is definitely a long term keeper. I forgot to mention the 6.1 gallon fuel tank and 55 mpg.
- clyde3789, green cove springs, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: