Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2009 Kawasaki KLR650 Motorcycle reviews

4.7
Write a review
Reliability
4.9
Overall quality
4.8
Performance
4.5
Comfort
4.1

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Motorcycles

Reviews

16 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Steven Pierce

San Diego, California

Reviewed on 2012-04-24

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Kawasaki KLR650

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Now at 11,500 miles and love my KLR. Bar end weights are the best biggest improvement on the old model. At ~7k miles it left me stranded. The fix for no spark was to tighten the sparkplug cap onto the lead wire a 1/4 turn. Earlier at 500 miles the vacuum on the fuel cock came off and I learned that lesson. It uses more oil when I am consistently running 75-80 on the freeway. It's a great bike for the money. Never off road, but I know it will do great on fire roads.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Trouble

Winnipeg, Manitoba

Reviewed on 2011-08-23

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Kawasaki KLR650

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I've owned the KLR for about a month now, and so far it's been a positive experience. Being tall and well built I've had trouble finding a motorcycle to fit me; sport bikes I cannot sit on, and cruisers do not appeal to me. I want a simple machine that is not big and cumbersome nor one that is over-powered. To me the KLR feels like sitting tall on a mountain bike, albeit a heavy one. The riding position is very natural and well suited for the longer-legged (32" inseam here). Any negatives are, I'm sure, mostly due to my inexperience. The suspension is quite soft and the nose will dive when braking. Also at higher speeds (80 kph.+) a stiff crosswind will make it dance about nervously. For me there is more than enough power. First gear gets you off the line. If you are in a hurry you can roll on plenty of throttle in second and jump right up into fourth and be at 60 kph. Throttle response is predictable and in no way twitchy or sensitive. Brakes are good, plus I do a lot of engine braking. I do not notice a whole lot of vibration - the mirrors remain useable at all speeds. It's a thumper, though, so there is always some. All in all if you're tall and want a bike that will serve you as a trainer and beyond, depending on your desires, the KLR is hard to beat. Go and test ride one
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Motoman

Atlanta, Georgia

Reviewed on 2010-09-04

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Kawasaki KLR650

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I always loved the KLR since it was introduced about 25 years ago. When the '08 model came out (which is the same as '09) I'll order one. However when I went into the store, I saw the previous model, a leftover '06. No fancy plastic and the ride height was much better suited for off-roading (mostly what I used the bike for!) so I decided to buy that instead of the new one. I did not regret it! This bike does everything well and I also got a nice discount! The only thing is it needs better brakes which I will fix when the time cones for replacement rotors and pads.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
3.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jeff

Paris, Missouri

Reviewed on 2010-09-02

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Kawasaki KLR650

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I got this in May, after not being on a bike in 25 years. I have in four months put almost 5000 miles on it. It handles interstate, backroads, gravel without a hitch. I rode 1500 miles in one weekend from Missouri to NW Wisconsin and back, no trouble at all. I really loved the trip and the bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Steven Pierce

San Diego, California

Reviewed on 2010-07-29

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Kawasaki KLR650

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
It's fully broken in and running really well after meticulously following the break-in rpms. 46 mpg is typical for my riding style. I did extra oil changes at 250, 600 (service) and 1150. I will follow the schedule now. The rear tire is wearing fast. I'm now running 30+ pounds of pressure to help on road wear - also it helps the front end feel better when braking. So far 98% road riding and will air down off road - with nerf bars now ready to try more. I adjusted the shock to 4th position as I am heavy and occasionally take on a rider. I will back down to 3, but like the adjust-ability. I'm looking into a bigger wind screen for 55+mph riding and long term a more contoured seat, though the seat to me is cushioned well...just a shape thing.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Butch Bogdin

Craig, Colorado

Reviewed on 2010-07-13

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Kawasaki KLR650

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I am already looking into upgrading the seat and adding after market accessories. It was great dealing with the dealer here.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
2.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Keith Reisma

Bryant, Arkansas

Reviewed on 2010-06-27

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Kawasaki KLR650

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I was torn between getting a street bike and a dual sport. I purchased a new 2009 KLR and am glad I did. We have a lot of logging roads in Southern Arkansas that you wouldn't dare take a street bike on. This bike gives me the freedom to hit the dirt when I want to. I use it as a commuter and the gas mileage is excellent. I am looking at upgrading to a higher windshield because the stock one hits me right in the kisser. Love my KLR.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bobby

Centennial, Colorado

Reviewed on 2010-01-23

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Kawasaki KLR650

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The KLR is great, I really don't have any problems with the bike at all. It seems just as much at home plugging down logging roads as it does going down the highway at 65 mph while getting 55 mpg. I love my bike and look forward to many more years with it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

s talley

reno, Nevada

Reviewed on 2009-10-04

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Kawasaki KLR650

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Have had my KLR for about one month now. Have nothing bad to say about it. Low cost and low maintanence cost compared to by previous bike. (BMW) Sit up high, see the world- be seen by the world. Slide back on the seat when the butt starts to hurt. Forget about switching to reserve, 6 gallon tank and 50+ mpg means you will give up before it does. Not a lot of wind protection, but if you want to stayout of the wind..buy a car. A GREAT bike for the money. Heck, buy two of em- they're cheap.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

John C KELLY

Toronto, Ontario

Reviewed on 2009-08-08

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Kawasaki KLR650

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
2nd motorcycle I have ever owned. This machine is an excellent ride, you get a sore butt after 600 KM, but nothing a more longer journey seat can fix. I have the KLR 2009 in black, and I can tell you, you really appreciate this cycle. I was tossing between this cycle and a cruser type, but because I enjoy the Ontario North, I came to know that I needed a bike that can handle the off road. This is an allrounded bike, it does what most other cycles cannot do and the cost of this bike makes it # 1. I am very proud to own this machine.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 16 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: