Kawasaki Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (174)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Sam from Sanford, North Carolina says:

First I would like to say if you're looking for a great bike for the price, look no further than a 900 LT. I've rode a bunch of bikes including my Vul

Read More (174 reviews)

Have you owned a Kawasaki Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

Voted Most Helpful Review 2009 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic LT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First I would like to say if you're looking for a great bike for the price, look no further than a 900 LT. I've rode a bunch of bikes including my Vulcan 1600 Nomad, and I'll sell it way before I will consider selling my 900 LT. Pros: 1. 42 to 45 mpg. at 70 to 75 mph. 2 up riding. 2. Great value for the money $$$$$$$. 3. Handling, handling, oh did I mention handling. 4. Belt drive, floorboards, comfortable setting position for driver and passenger. I'm not saying seating position, but referring to posture. 5. Great warranty Cons: 1. Seat - It could really use a better seat. 2. Gearing - at highway speed it could use an overdrive gear as it seems to turn harder than what I would prefer, Keep in mind I like to run 75 on the highway. 3. Temperature - This bike does appear to run warm in the city. In stop-and-go traffic the fan is on more than what I would like to see, but it's keeping the engine cool so I won't complain further. Recommended Additions: 1. Different seat 2. Passenger floorboards 3. Highway bars and pegs Overall this is the best bike I have ever owned. I know what a lot of people might think at a comment like that. Go ride one and see for yourself.
- Sam, Sanford, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2018-03-12 2009 kawasaki Ninja 500R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this motorcycle new in 2010. Riding bikes for more than 40 years, and I'v ridden quite a few, this bike is really awesome. I bought it just for fun rides, but I can't believe the power it has and the superb handling, upright riding position, sport bike style. I go on some serious riding trips now with my buddies who have 600s and 1000cc bikes, and I keep up with them most of the time. As I'm getting older now, I'm looking to trade this in for a more upright, relaxed riding position bike.
- Harry T, Wesley Chapel, FL

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2016-06-23 2009 Kawasaki Concours 14 ABS Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Replacing a 2002 Aprillia Futura. It was my favorite bike. Tha Kawi is a good ride and I am learning to love it. When the bike is moving, I am liking the bike very much. Only comment is that when cornering, the bike requires a bit of pressure to stay in the curve. When handling at slow speed, weight is taking some getting used to. Handling on slopes is a challenge. Stock seat not too comfortable and I will replace it.
- Thomas Travis, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2015-01-14 2009 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The purchase of this bike was my first motorcycle and I still own and drive it everyday. I drove the bike from Connecticut to South Carolina and the bike performed very good on the highway and still runs very good with regular maintenance done according to the chart. I just had my third set of tires put on the bike so I'm ready for many more miles. I purchased my bike in Groton, CT and the staff was very friendly and helpful to a first time rider, very good on the price and would recommend them to anyone. My bike is stock from the factory and have not put on any accessories yet, but I'm getting saddlebags soon.
- Rick Haney, Summerville, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2014-10-29 2009 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the bike I traded in, just because I wanted something a bit larger. The 900 was reliable and awesome. It is a great midsize or starter bike. I hope it finds a great home!
- M Farkas , Berlin, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2013-10-10 2009 Kawasaki Versys Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's somewhat cramped for the taller rider, not the most comfortable, It vibrates, not much bottom end and no top end above 8000 and yet it is some of the best fun that I have had on a street bike. It's very nimble with big inch punch in the midrange from 4 to 8,000. If I had endless twisties on my doorstep, the Versys would be hard to beat given that my outsize self is not going to fit on a sportbike and my neck couldn't take it even if I could. My V-Strom is a better bike, but the Versys is way more fun. Of course a Triumph 800 XC is a better bike, better handling and way more fun than both, but it's also way more money. For the money; it's hard to have more fun than on a Versys.
- Phipsd, Surrey, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2013-06-04 2009 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was looking for a project bike for urban use. I picked up a used VN900 Classic with low miles, Cobra exhaust, ECU and air intake. I knew immediately I was going to make it into a bobber. Riding it home in stock form, the stock seat is rough. Only after about 30 - 45 minutes my butt was sore. It's similar to a VStar 650's seat. It's not a big deal as this was going to change. It's down on power, which I expected. I have a Roadstar 1700 and sold a Triumph Speed triple 1050 to get this Vulcan. Again, not a big deal for around town. On the freeway, 60 is the sweet spot, 70 is where the engine revs are getting high. On the plus side, the gas needle doesn't budge which is awesome. The Cobra dragster exhaust doesn't sound that great. It's loud with no character. I put some different baffles in which helped some. There's lots of plastic which surprised me. Fenders, side covers, engine covers, all plastic! As a bobber, this is a great, fun bike. I haven't touch my Roadstar in months, preferring the Vulcan. It's a lot lighter, more nimble and a kick in the pants to ride. I put on tracker bars and Avon grips which totally changes the ride character to something you want to ride aggressive.
- Lanu, Seattle, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2013-05-17 2009 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First I love this bike and would buy it again. The only problem I've had is the kick stand wore out at 15,000 miles. It had to be welded and re-drilled. Apparently this is a common problem. The seat needs to be softer. I get a sore butt after 30 minutes. A smaller person may not have a problem. You will need a windshield if you go faster than 50-55. If you don't have a windshield, better hang on tight! At 65+ mph., it has a vibration that will hurt after a few minutes. This is a common problem of this model. I get 42 mpg. with or without a passenger. It has plenty of power, the balance is great and it is really fun to ride.
- Lou, Kathleen, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2013-04-04 2009 Kawasaki Versys Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am very happy with this bike. For the money it is a good value.
- Russell, Dallas, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-06-25 2009 Kawasaki ER-6n Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's a great starter sportbike. I bought it new with cash a year and a half ago and this bike has yet to dissapoint me. I get a lot of looks and respect at the local bike nights including clubs like Full Tilt and the Ruff Ryderz. Exhaust is almost a mandatory upgrade though a piped parallel twin sounds like a 450 dirtbike. After the PC 5 and auto tune w/wideband 02 sensor, I should be done with upgrades. All in all, it's the best bang for your buck with reliability that comes from owning a Kawasaki.
- Steve, Spokane, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-06-21 2009 Kawasaki Versys Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Touring the Rockies, carving canyons, two up or solo, this bike dishes out the fun factor in spades! It's one of the most underrated bikes - a must ride.
- Mike, Hotchkiss, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-06-20 2009 Kawasaki ER-6n Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my second street bike and third overall and it's definately a good bike. It has great power especially for my trips up to New Hampshire. It's a very comfortable bike especially on long trips. The handlebars can be a little buzzy, but it's a 650 parallel twin so that's expected. Anybody who complains about the comfort on this bike has never ridden a supermoto up to New Hampshire on the highway. My only complaints about the bike is it's weight. I come from dirt bikes and my last street bike was a Supermoto, but that's not a huge deal. I also am having to warranty the gas cap. The way the cap is made all the water just pools into the lock and it freezes up so I would recommend getting a keyless cap to remedy that.
- Chelsea, Cumberland, Rhode Island

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-05-28 2009 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This was my second street bike and I love it. I even got some friends and my dad to get the same bike. It gets a ton of attention everywhere I go and in my opinion I couldn't have got a better bike. The speed and power it has is amazing along with the braking. It was also voted the fastest 600 on track in 2009!
- Ryan Hunt, Martinsburg, West Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-05-21 2009 Kawasaki Vulcan 1700 Voyager ABS Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Still loving this bike. I did have one breakdown which is very rare. We lost a rear wheel bearing on this bike on the Blueridge Parkway. This happened in an area where we had 0 cell reception. Lucky for us a park ranger drove past after 30 minutes that we were able to get to help us. We also met some very nice people in Bedford, VA. who were lifesavers. Kawasaki fixed the problem but would not cover the rear tire that wore out totally on one side due to the alignment issue. Overall, I'm still happy with this bike.
- Mike Shepherd, sweetser, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-05-13 2009 Kawasaki KLX250S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It all depends on what you want out of a bike. I live in the country, gravel roads (which sometimes means mud, ice, snow). When I do get to a paved road it's a highway. I have access to a lot of back country roads, paved and unpaved, straight and twisties, good conditions and terrible. I'm 58 and I haven't had this much fun on a bike, ever. I've dropped it so many times I can't count, crossing streams, getting hung up on logs, negotiating rocks, crossing low water bridges covered with slick moss, parking on a hillside and watching the kickstand sink in the mud, so I need something I can pick up. I can pick this up. And, it seems to be bullet proof, but if something does break (carry pliers to pull the shifter away from the engine after you drop it). It isn't going to cost an arm and leg to fix. As for comfort, it's upright, which is great. The seat is narrow, which is great for standing up, and I stand up a lot. It is fairly hard, though not bad. I bought a Corbin, which I didn't like. It passed on vibration, and it was too wide to comfortably stand. This isn't a highway bike. It will do it, but it's tiring. Having said that, that sixth gear is fantastic when you do get up to speed. And this bike is no slouch. I have made no mods except hand guards, which I recommend. Lots of folks want to do the slip-on exhaust and carb kit, which I may do, but if you're going three miles an hour on a steep, rocky hill, or 50 on gravel, you don't really need more power. The gearing is about right. Brakes and suspension work for me. I fill the tank at about 100 miles, and haven't run out yet, not even close. It sips fuel, generally. It's almost embarrassing to pull up the pump and put in a gallon or two of fuel, which is usually the case. I've used the reserve once, after spending most of the day going up and down trails, then hitting the highway to get home. It's a great weekend bike, commuter bike, on/off road bike. The only kind of riding I wouldn't want to do is long haul on a highway. It's light and simply isn't designed for it. But I would take it across the country on back roads.
- jim, Edwards, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-04-24 2009 Kawasaki KLR650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Now at 11,500 miles and love my KLR. Bar end weights are the best biggest improvement on the old model. At ~7k miles it left me stranded. The fix for no spark was to tighten the sparkplug cap onto the lead wire a 1/4 turn. Earlier at 500 miles the vacuum on the fuel cock came off and I learned that lesson. It uses more oil when I am consistently running 75-80 on the freeway. It's a great bike for the money. Never off road, but I know it will do great on fire roads.
- Steven Pierce, San Diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-04-16 2009 Kawasaki Ninja 650R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding nothing but bigger cruisers my whole life. I had an opportunity to get a Ninja 650R with 8 miles on it for 1,000 bucks. How do I pass that up? Riding this bike is a pleasure. Since I bought the bike I haven't been in my car since. I take it to work every day. If I had to say one bad thing about the bike. There is a slight vibration right between 58-60 miles per hour on the handle bars. But you can ride right through it. Overall, it's a great commuter and new rider bike. But if your looking for a speed demon, this is not the one for you.
- Nico, bayport, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-02-19 2009 Kawasaki Ninja 250R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike. Believe me when I say I had been "stuck" between going right for a 600 or getting a Ninja 250. I had heard there is no need to start with a 600, and that the Ninja 250 is all you need - that is 100% right. This bike is VERY cheap on insurance ($420/yr. full coverage) and packs the punch you need. It has the ability to top out around 105-110 and gets up to 60 mph. in about 5-6 seconds. For a 249cc motor, I am VERY impressed with this bike and don't see myself trading it in for a few years.
- Matt, Madison, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-12-24 2009 Kawasaki Vulcan 2000 Classic LT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
These guys at the dealership where I bought my bike are great. Not like most shops not knowing anything about their bikes, these guys can answer any question you throw at them. Trust me, I throw a lot of questions before buying. If you want a bike a big bike go there and their salesman will set you up. I'm more than satisfied with my bike. They went out on the limb for me. I will always buy my next bike from them. I had a Vulcan 1600 and thought it was great. I traded for this 2009 Vulcan 2000 Classic LT and I'm speechless. This machine is more than perfect. I had never ridden a bike so well designed. I did change a few things on her but not much like the exhaust and intake. But I didn't do it for power. I did it to give it more of a bang for looks. This bike is more than Kawasaki gives it credit for. To my dealer and Kawasaki - thank you for a great bike.
- Kip Stacy, Shelton, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-08-23 2009 Kawasaki KLR650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned the KLR for about a month now, and so far it's been a positive experience. Being tall and well built I've had trouble finding a motorcycle to fit me; sport bikes I cannot sit on, and cruisers do not appeal to me. I want a simple machine that is not big and cumbersome nor one that is over-powered. To me the KLR feels like sitting tall on a mountain bike, albeit a heavy one. The riding position is very natural and well suited for the longer-legged (32" inseam here). Any negatives are, I'm sure, mostly due to my inexperience. The suspension is quite soft and the nose will dive when braking. Also at higher speeds (80 kph.+) a stiff crosswind will make it dance about nervously. For me there is more than enough power. First gear gets you off the line. If you are in a hurry you can roll on plenty of throttle in second and jump right up into fourth and be at 60 kph. Throttle response is predictable and in no way twitchy or sensitive. Brakes are good, plus I do a lot of engine braking. I do not notice a whole lot of vibration - the mirrors remain useable at all speeds. It's a thumper, though, so there is always some. All in all if you're tall and want a bike that will serve you as a trainer and beyond, depending on your desires, the KLR is hard to beat. Go and test ride one
- Trouble, Winnipeg, Manitoba

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-08-21 2009 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-14 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike in Feb 2011, it was a 2010 leftover. I got it for a very good price. The whole staff was very good throughout the whole purchase. I just love the 14. I have been up to 120 mph. and it's like the bike just wants more. I ride it to work, about a one-hour drive. and it's very comfortable. I don't think I will ever change this bike.
- kevin h, middletown, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-07-17 2009 Kawasaki KLX250SF Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike as a second bike since most of my primary bikes have been larger and heavier. While the seat height took some getting used to, I can still flat foot it at a stop. The KLX250SF is an absolute hoot to ride so long as you stay on the street! The engine has surprisingly good torque and, for a single, is exceptionally smooth and quiet at all speeds. The 6-speed transmission shifts up-and-down easily with well-spaced gears. It is as agile in the corners as a bicycle, yet so much more stable. If I ever have to go back to one bike instead of two, the surprise (even to myself) is that I'll be keeping the KLX250SF!
- Anonymous, Aurora, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-06-20 2009 Kawasaki KLX140L Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My dad traded in my old TTR90 for the KLX140L and I just love it, I already got the hang of shifting and have not stalled the bike yet. We are going to go find trails in the next few weeks. My dad is going to teach me how to jump and pop wheelies. I recommend this bike to anyone. My dad found a CR150F before this one. He took me to try it but I did not like the weight. The KLX feels lighter and the seat is more confortable, at least for me. I love my bike.
- Elizabeth, Saint Cloud, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-05-28 2009 Kawasaki Eliminator 125 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my new Eliminator on April, 2011 for fuel economy and as a starter bike (my first time ever riding). At first I was intimidated due to being new but now I absolutely love this motorcycle. It has a great look and feel and the fuel economy is a whopping 86 mpg. and I no small fellow. I only have one negative about the bike and that is its lack of power up steep hills (due to my size and the engine size). Outside of this I have had it up to 65 mph. I plan on keeping this bike for another year and then will upgrade to a 600cc engine size motorcycle. This bike has 5 stars and I don't regret buying it.
- Jim Martin, Lexington, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-05-13 2009 Kawasaki Versys Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is value packed. Whether you are looking for a commuter or a touring machine, it will fit the bill! A seat modification is a must, and a larger windshield is nice for the long hall. It's very user friendly. I have had several bikes before this one, and this is my favorite. I plan on keeping it for many years and many tours.
- joe, kewanee, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: