Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2009 Suzuki DR650SE Sport Bike reviews

5.0
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
4.7
Comfort
4.1

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Sport Bikes

Reviews

14 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

r. keel

ridgeley, West Virginia

Reviewed on 2014-03-13

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Suzuki DR650SE

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
It's a very nice bike for local trips or back and forth to work, if not to far. It has plenty of power on the interstate to keep up with traffic with out tacking it out to run 65 mph. and it's perfect on groomed trails and secondary roads. I like to keep trips to less than 125 miles. It does have a fair amount of vibration, padded gloves help. And do go over it time to time. Yes, screws will back out from the vibration. It is tall and a little heavy. All in all I would recommend it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (6)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

T J Robinson

West Union, West Virginia

Reviewed on 2011-06-09

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Suzuki DR650SE

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I grew up riding the hills of West Virginia on dirt bikes. The hills here are not for the weak of heart. I've had a few street bikes but my dirt roots seemed to always resurface; especially when riding past all of those dirt roads in West Virginia. So I traded in my Yamaha Tour Deluxe for this DR650. I felt like the DR650 was the best all-around bike for me when comparing it to the KLR650 and the XR650. I absolutely love it. It reminds of the old thumpers we used to use for hill climbing back in the days of the Yamaha TT500. It probably doesn't have as much low end torgue, but after some modifications, it still has plenty. For road use, it doesn't have too much vibration which makes it uncomfortable for those longer rides. I can pretty much stay in the saddle for a couple of hours at a time, even with the stock seat. I may upgrade to a more comfortable seat one of these days. However, I still love riding in the dirt and doing a little hill climbing from time to time, and I like the narrowness of the stock seat for this purpose.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Brian

Cambridge, Ohio

Reviewed on 2010-10-06

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Suzuki DR650SE

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The bike has great torque and is easy to get away from you if you are used to docile machines. I would suggest practicing on a DR350 or another machine before tackling the crazy power this thing has. After a few miles though, you realize, it's easy to tame this Beast! I expect nothing less than a great bike for many years to come! The seat is a bit hard, but I sit on rocks when fishing, so this feels like memory foam! I may go to a local shop and have some memory foam inserted and lower the bike at Suzuki. It sits a little high and feels bouncy on shifting and stopping. I don't plan on jumping over buses or cars, so I don't need the play in the shocks. Overall, it's a must see if you are in the market for a bike. A skid plate is a must! The tires bring up a lot of rocks to the underneath of the bike on gravel or chip and seal. If you are new, trust me, go with a scooter or lower-powered bike first, this is a mid-level.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Pianoman

Agoura Hills, California

Reviewed on 2010-08-28

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Suzuki DR650SE

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
After much research I finally settled on the Suzuki DR650SE. I was concerned that a 250cc wouldn't have enough power to satisfy me. But even with a lower gear, the DR could use a little uncorking, though it's got plenty of grunt and cruises at highway speeds with ease in stock form. I've owned and ridden many different bikes, from dirt bikes to Harleys, and I wanted something to run around town on and ride on trails. Thus far I've only ridden in the canyons and local roads, and it's a blast. My DR is on the lower ride setting, with fork tubes pushed up, and it's very stable. The seat is hard and I'll probably swap it out for a gel seat. Otherwise, no complaints other than the push-the-button-to-stop turn signals.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

david

refugio, Texas

Reviewed on 2010-08-16

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Suzuki DR650SE

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have 2500 plus miles and the only complaint is the rear tire is about toasted, not much miles left. I only ride on road, except for single track roads. It has been very reliable. No real complaints, except the seat is hard as a brick, and not as comfortable. However with miles you become used to it. Good power, 60 plus miles, unless you get crazy.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

SGT Chaplin, US Army

Killeen, Texas

Reviewed on 2010-08-08

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Suzuki DR650SE

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought the bike new just to ride to work and back. I took it offroad one time and the tires are not for that. I managed but was squirlly! On street they are OK, though. It's a great bike but tires: depending on if your riding road or dirt, get the right tires!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tim

Saugus, California

Reviewed on 2009-12-25

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Suzuki DR650SE

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I did a lot of research before I bought this bike. I ride mostly canyon roads, around town, fire roads and very little freeway. In my opinion the big DR is not a great off-roader, I used to ride Dirt Bikes and at 324 pounds it is not a flickable bike. Yet on the road or even trailing it is very easy to maneuver. I have owned DT's, YZ's, CB's, XR's, GPZ's and a VFR and have enjoyed them all. At this stage of my life I needed ONE bike that is easy to work on, cheap to insure, dependable and most of all would satisfy my urge to get on a bike and go for a ride. I can do that on this bike. The torque is not mind blowing, but it is impressive. It's great being able to jump a curb or hop a medium (if necessary) then onto the freeway and later a nice fire road...enough said, it's a do it all bike, a little trailie. And if that's what you're into this is a great choice. In stock form the bike is pretty darn good, but with upgrades it's a blast. I did the GSX-R exhaust modification and could not be happier. It sounds great, never needs repacking and with the jet kit and airbox mod it rips. I also went down a tooth on the counter sprocket. 1st is way too high with the stock 15 tooth. The MRA Street Shield looks nice and does a good job of keeping wind off the torso. Also added a Sargent seat as the stock seat is not so good. I put lowered pegs on to open up the peg to bar relationship. My next area to tinker with is the suspension, and probably will add Fat Bars and risers. A bigger tank might be on my list as well. I have a lot of fun working on this bike and even more riding it. Some people call it a pig, NOT ME. It's a simple fun bike that puts a grin on my face. Mission Accomplished.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

John Willard

Butte, Montana

Reviewed on 2009-11-20

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Suzuki DR650SE

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
It was great to read the other reviews and see that I am not alone in the sore butt category, I upgraded to the gel and found only slight improvment and don't know why the skid plate was not standard. I also added a back rack. This thumper is a real blast to ride. The dealer has been great to deal with. I just put on a pair of Shimko tires that provide a smoother ride...I am sure Montana spring mud won't be as easy as it was with the Bridgestone trials tires ..but ya can't have it all. I feel like I made a great choice...love my bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Carl

Bonney lake , Washington

Reviewed on 2009-11-18

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Suzuki DR650SE

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have an 09 DR650se this is my first street legal bike and I love it. It was very easy to learn to ride both on dirt and street. It has plenty of power to keep me interested and the fuel mileage is great. I average about 55mpg. I quickly learned that this bike is not meant to be a tight trail bike but it does wonders on old logging roads and forest service roads where you are required to be street legal. I will now and forever own a dual sport and as long as Suzuki keeps building this bike it will be a DR650.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

neil shelor

richmond, Virginia

Reviewed on 2009-09-29

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Suzuki DR650SE

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've had all kinds of bikes from in line 4cyl crotch rockets to big v twins to motocross bikes and if I had to pick one bike to have (which I do) it's the DR650. It's just a great all around bike. A great commuter, cuises effortlessly down the highway at 70 mph and it's torque monster 650 cylinder seems to be just above idle at 55mph in top gear. In town you can pull away from just about anything short of a half million dollar sports car at a stop light, and it can handle any bump or pot hole on any street. And with good rubber on it you can even drag a knee in the twisties. I know the seat isn't the best but a 100 mile stretrch on back country roads isn't too much to ask from it. Just did a cruise to my brother in laws' lake house last weekend which consisted of about 120 miles of 50 to 60mph cruising with a few 75 mph blast to pass cars, averaged 60mpg! My othe vehicals get roughly 1/6th of that. A 1965 ford galaxie with a big block in it and a 95 full size bronco....oh and my girlfriends broom!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 14 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: