Suzuki Dual Sport Reviews on Cycle Insider (43)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Suzuki Dual Sport Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Kevin from Sarasota, Florida says:

I just purchased a Suzuki TU250 and find it to be an enormously fun ride. I'm a new rider and started on a Kawasaki Vulcan 500, something which m

Read More (43 reviews)

Have you owned a Suzuki Dual Sport? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

Voted Most Helpful Review 2009 Suzuki TU250X Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just purchased a Suzuki TU250 and find it to be an enormously fun ride. I'm a new rider and started on a Kawasaki Vulcan 500, something which many websites tout as perfect for beginners. We'll, for me it ain't so. The Vulcan is heavy (470 lbs. compared to 320-ish for MSF bikes and 380 or so for a Suzuki S40), ponderous, slow handling, rough, has an uneven delivery of power over the revs, and has a less than communicative clutch. A great bike, I'm sure, but not fun at all for a beginner. Rather than looking forward to riding, I'd look at it and think, 'Aw, nuts...' The Suzuki TU250 has a 'standard' riding position which I find far more natural than the 'cruiser' position; having the pegs directly under you gives a better, more natural balance. The clutch is sweet, the seat comfortable, the power delivery even across the revs, the shifter is crisp, the ride smooth, and the handling responsive and easy to control. Since I'm in the break in period I can not comment on ultimate speed or use on the interstate, but I suspect I'll be able to keep up with my friends on their Boulevard C50's and H-D's well enough as long as we're staying within the legal speed limits. I can not recommend the Suzuki highly enough. This is one fun little bike and a joy to ride. Thank you, Suzuki, for making it!
- Kevin, Sarasota, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2013-05-28 2009 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Like many others have said, I wish I had this bike years ago. It is a better commuter than my cruisers were, and better off road, even though it is not a dirt bike, than any pure street bikes. Excellent at nothing, but good at most. What more can I say?
- Maxwell, Atlanta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-11-14 2009 Suzuki TU250X Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got my bike after taking the MSF Basic Rider's course. I started slowly as a beginner (62 years old) but soon gained confidence and now the more I ride, the more I love it. I am getting over 70 miles per gsllon. It is just plain fun!
- Mike Moulton, Gainesville, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-12-09 2009 Suzuki GSX-R600 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike two years ago and it's great. These are the upgrades I have done: Vortex rear sets, CRG levers, Bazzaz Tre, RK XSO 520 chain, Vortex rear sprocket, JT front sprocket, Puig double bubble, black wind screen spikes, Gixxer boys fender eliminator and K&N race filter. I also did Vortex spools, Driven skull grips, race rails, Lethal Threat tank pad, Suzuki carbon triple tree cover, Suzuki carbon cluster cover, Hotbodies MGP slip on, exhaust wrap, HyperPro steering damper and set valve removed. I also did a Suzuki gel seat, R1 throttle tube, BikeMaster bar ends, OMR performance mid pipe, Bazzaz ZFI, Ballistic battery 0.85 lbs., Hotbodies block off mirrors, carbon fiber chainguard, carbon fiber fairing stay bracket, Yoshimura chain adjusters, Pingal oil cap, Competition Werkes rear pegs, Vortex gas cap and Roland Sands Ronin real wheel.
- KEVIN, MASTIC, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-08-16 2009 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After my teenager days on a Vespa three years ago I decided to go back into the motorcycle fun. I got myself a Honda Shadow Aero. It was a great bike for two years, but the sitting position was not ideal for me. Someone suggested me to switch to the on/off-road style, because it supports the natural curve of the spine. I looked around, BMW and Moto Guzzi were my first choices but they were expensive. A BMW rider suggested to me the V-Strom. I loved the style and look right away, did some online research, chatted with a few eurodudes who use the V-Strom for commute and long rides. I opted for it. Since May, 2010 I have a gorgeous orange V-Strom 650, new for $6,450.00. After almost 18k miles in one year and three months here is my opinion. Keep in mind I'm not the most experienced biker, I know the Vespa and Honda Aero. I'm fully satisfied with the V-Strom and the 650 engine. My sitting position is great, no lower back issues at all, throttle and torque responds good in town and on highways . Actually this can be a very reactive bike, plenty of torque and 6-speed gear, so use good judgment. Personally I never squeeze the gears or allow the rpm. to high. The CG is high, so I needed to get used to a tall bike. Fuel consumption on the highway riding around 60-65 mph. is around 57 mpg. I've been riding on I-44 between Oklahoma City and Lawton. The V-Strom holds the 75 mph. limit easy, with 5800 rpm and around 48 mpg. The rear tire lasted 14k miles, the front tire 17k. I do occasionally have a passenger. We made a trip from Lawton, OK to Palo Duro Canyon in Texas with no problems at all, including baggage. Our average speed on Texas farm roads and highways was 50 mph. The passenger seat is very comfortable. I lube the chain every 200-300 miles. The original windshield is useless. I added GIVI crash bars, MRA vario wind screen (this is a +++), Motech center stand (a must to ease your lube job), handle bar covers and the Air Hawk 2 cushion seat (this is a +++) and a KAOKO throttle lock. I may add some additional lights from PIAA. Again, I'm very happy with the V-Strom. I don't see a personal need to have the 1000cc engine. I bring it in for maintenance every 3,500-4,000 miles, religiously check my tires for proper pressure and use a bright green vest most of the time. On July 9, I was involved in an accident against a Chevy truck, riding 25 mph. The crash bars did an excellent job and my Nolan 42 helmet did an excellent job.
- giuseppe, norman, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-08-03 2009 Suzuki TU250X Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First: Kudos to the dealership on the preparation of the bike. There was absolutely nothing that was not assembled correctly. This bike has worked perfectly, every time all the time. Reports are, and my experience indicates, that the TU has an extended break-in period. At 2,000 miles I can tell the bike is still getting better and better. It will run an indicated 70 to 75 mph. all day, if you ask it. This is closer to a real 68-72. This is the perfect bike for a road like the Blue Ridge Parkway. The bike is really well mannered and predictable. It is a light bike, but I do not feel I am being blown around when passing or being passed by trucks on the 65 mph. by-pass. The torque curve is so flat that it is hard to find yourself in a gear that does not work. This is a very forgiving bike, very easy to ride. While this is a great first bike for anyone, I have been riding for 25 years, and think this bike is great fun. You can push this bike to the limits and not get a ticket. The fuel injection is great!! No choke, no turning gas on and off. There is really no warm-up. So far, from 55F to 100F it is just start and go. 2,000 foot change in elevation? No difference in performance. This bike is a keeper. I will want something else if I want to travel on the Interstate. The TU can just barely do Interstate speed and there is not much reserve. But anything else in the USA that is paved, the TU can handle. I might go to different tires if I decide to ride much more on gravel roads. (I've done maybe 25 miles on gravel just to see how it would be). This is not an off road bike. But, it can do anything that qualifies as a road. To date, my longest day was 200 miles. At the end of the day I was glad to get off the bike, but I was not sore then, or the next day. I really believe I will get accustomed to this bike and will be able to do long days on it. The stock seat is really pretty good. If I were going to ride across the country I would not hesitate to use the TU to do it, so long as I stay off the Interstates. The other night at a gas stop a fellow asked me what year the TU was. He thought I had just restored a classic. People are surprised when I tell them it's a 250. If I pulled the stickers off I could tell them it was a 500 - that's what some people guess that it is. The head light is great, and far, far better than anything stock on my old bikes. I've only done one short ride 2 up. But, other than a slight lag on acceleration, and some more effort on the brakes, the TU did fine. After five months I only have 2,000 miles on the bike. But that is because I am tied to the office, away on business, etc. I look for excuses to go someplace on the TU.
- R. Longmire, Appomattox, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-07-21 2009 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my Wee-Strom for three weeks now, and have put about 300 miles on it. I have had several bikes over the years, and can honestly say that this is the bike I should have bought a long time ago. It has plenty of power (more than enough to get me in real trouble), good ergonomics (even for my troublesome knee), handles very well, is light (much lighter than any of the cruisers I have had in the past) and makes me smile whenever I ride it. My only complaint is that the seat is kind of marginal, but that should be an easy fix. All in all, this is the best bike I have ever had and plan on keeping it for a long, long time.
- Bob, Stafford, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-05-30 2009 Suzuki GSX-R1000 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Although it's down on power next to the BMW and the ZX10, she will turn with the best of them. Get rid of the bulky exhaust and it's one of the best looking bikes around.
- A_BOOGIE, jacksonville, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-05-01 2009 Suzuki DR-Z400SM Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the first bike I have ever owned that was not a Yamaha. I was a Yamaha dealer in Connecticut for several years, many years ago. I still own a 2008 Yamaha XT 250. I traded a 2007 Yamaha V-Star 650 custom for the 2009 DR-Z400SM. It's 200-plus pounds lighter and all around, a great bike to ride. It's not as comfortable at 80 mph. as the V-Star, but all other factors considered, more fun to ride. There are lots of "goodies" to buy to make the bike your own. The "gel" seat from Suzuki is worth every penny. The water cooled engine a huge plus, inverted shocks much better ride, Excel wheels are a great upgrade. All in all, it's a great bike in every way. The dealership is also a super place to buy a bike. This was the third in three years. Thanks for the great customer service at both locations.
- capt gary , wesley chapel, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-04-08 2009 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I read all the forums on this bike. I came from a Vulcan 750 cruiser. This bike rode smooth like an electric bike. I couldn't tell if it was running at freeway speed! It's smooth, fuel injected, nimble, and has perfect power for touring/city. It gets 50 plus miles a gallon. It's a higher than average bike but it allows me to see through traffic and be seen better. It has an excellent headlight! It is a chain drive so maintenance is pretty frequent for me since I put about 2,000 a month easy. So what, I learn how to clean and lube chains....bought the warranty plan so that all I really need to do now is ride baby ride! The representative at the dealership was really helpful and all about customer service (which is my big pet peeve). He advocates for the customer and doesn't seem like he is out to hustle you. It's an excellent bike for the money. Buy one now that the interest rate is low!
- Kimmerling, FORT WORTH, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-03-08 2009 Suzuki GSX-R600 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike will do what ever you need it to do. The bike is fast and has a quick response time.
- Joey, Salisbury, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-12-03 2009 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 09 V-Strom 650/ABS because I broke my right wrist and elbow (slipped on some ice) and can no longer lean forward on my wrist on a sportbike or stretch my elbow out on a big cruiser. I went to the local motorcycle show and sat on everything, looking for a comfortable fit for my bad arm. The V-Strom was a perfect fit, and the 650 seemed lightweight enough so I bought it. I assumed it would not be like my Ducati or my Honda 1300 cruiser...what I never expected is it would be better than both, and better than every bike I have owned over the last 25 years. Obviously, no bike is perfect, and if you need a long distance touring bike for two-up with lots of luggage, or you need a pure dedicated sportbike so you can weave in and out of 55 mph. traffic at 100 mph., of course look elsewhere. But if you want a supremely comfortable bike you can easily tour on, that gets 300 miles between fill ups, commutes effortlessly with great visibility and handling, or attacks twisties with its smooth sportbike motor that easily revs to 10k, all with outstanding reliability, then look no further. This is your bike - and for all it does, it is a bargain. It truly is an incredible, all-rounder. The only problem - it is a tall bike so shorter riders may have some problems. I would have never even considered this bike if I had not hurt my arm - now I look at all my buddies on their crusiers and wonder if there aren't V-Stroms on every corner instead of 700 lb. Harleys. But it is a bit like a cult bike - just check out Stromtrooper.com to see how the rest of the world love these things. I wish I would have bought a bike like this a lot sooner - don't make the mistake I made, don't wait, just do it now. And no, you don't have to thank me.
- Craig, Baltimore, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-11-26 2009 Suzuki GS500F Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got this bike after 23 years of not riding. It is so much fun, I can't get enough. I have put 800 miles on her in two months. See you on the road.
- Matthew Stewart, Glendale, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-10-22 2009 Suzuki GSX-R750 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
So here's the deal. I purchased this little rocket in March of 2010. It's bike number 25 (I think) in a long line of mostly sport bikes, including (but not limited to Kaw Ninjas, Ducati, Yamaha R6, CBRs, etc., etc.) I've wanted one for a long time. They hold a unique and legendary place in the constellation of high performance repli-racers for good reason. It's really hard to beat the all-around goodness of nice grunt, superlative handling and light weight. Just like it's talked about in the story of the Three Bears - "This one's just right!." Being that it's my third Suzuki, reliability was never in question. You gotta take a sledge hammer to this bike (when it's not looking) before anything will go wrong with it. I love the white and silver paint scheme on this bike, but the others are good, too. I did have to adjust my riding style a little bit to get used to differences like how quickly it turns into a corner, similar to my R6, but sufficiently different. Overall the suspension is really excellent and infinitely adjustable, so important in a performance bike. There is a lot more grunt when powering out of corners than my R6 had, too. But all bikes are different enough that you have to re-learn to become one with the machine. One last thing that really makes me love it when compared to other sport bikes. I ride just about everyday. There's much more commuting than real pleasure carving, and it just about has to have the most comfortable ergonomics of any of the super sport machines out there. I went on a four-day tour from Virginia Beach to Deals Gap NC (rode the Dragon finally, lot's of fun), then came back up the entire length of the Blue Ridge parkway and back to Chesapeake. I was pretty darn comfortable the whole trip. Yeah, I can honestly endorse the goodness of the GSX-R 750.
- Bob, Chesapeake, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-10-16 2009 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought it new in April, 2010. I primarily use it for my daily commute and I get 57 mpg. on average with my best mileage being 62+mpg. on one tank. It has plenty of power for me and handles well. I like the upright seating position. It's just an all-around fun bike to ride and economical!
- Sverre Aune, Mount Vernon, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-10-15 2009 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I ride in an area that has highways, lots of winding county roads, really narrow beat-up paved roads and unpaved back roads. My two previous bikes were better on highway and paved county roads, but were geared too tall and were too heavy for technical, narrow, paved and unpaved back roads. This bike is tall, not too heavy, geared well, and is capable of touring on the slab, running on twisty county roads and great on technical, narrow paved and unpaved low-speed back roads. It does them all very well. I had a BMW and a Ducati previously and while they were great bikes, the maintenance was a killer if you put on higher than average miles in a season like I do, particularly if you don't wrench yourself and have to take it to the dealer. The Suzuki oil change was $39 bucks!!! Nothing has gone wrong. It's as fast as I want to go, and it is bright orange!!! But I love the bike and it's jack of all roads ability.
- JOHN N, YARDLEY, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-09-09 2009 Suzuki GSX-R600 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought an all-black one with chromed-out rims and fender eliminator. The steering damper which no other bike has is a great add on. I get a ton of compliments wherever I go. It is very fast, especially with the upgrades that I put on. I don't recomend this bike for beginners.
- Jarett Pokorny, Pittsburgh (STEEL CITY!!), Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-08-29 2009 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm 6'1, 235 pounds and 66 years old. My last bike was a Victory Vegas. When I transitioned from the Vegas to the 'Strom' I really felt cramped. I have to get off the bike about every hour and walk around. I get a 'charlie horse' at my leg/thigh area and have a hard time straightening out my legs. Other than that, the 'Wee Strom' is a great bike with surprising power and very good handling. A Harley 88ci puts out 64hp. The 650 Strom is 67hp and weighs 200 pounds less. That should give you an idea of its performance.
- Ken Halstad, Temecula, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-07-29 2009 Suzuki GSX-R1000 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
WOW....its all that and a bag of chips. It has good power, handles well and has great looks. I just needed some bolt-on accessories.
- Eric Viars, Waldorf, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-07-23 2009 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After 4000 miles, I have no complaints, especially after I replaced the factory seat with a Corbin/Holeshot seat. There's a remarkable difference - no time/mileage limit to the seat. I must caution, if you are contemplating this seat, the seat height is lower. But due to the increased width of the seat, your legs are splayed apart far more than stock, thus decreasing your reach to the ground. I have a 32" inseam and now can barely have both feet touch the ground.
- tim, manteno, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-06-14 2009 Suzuki RM-Z250 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my RM-Z250 in 2009 i have enjoyed riding it so much. It's a very reliable bike. It still fires on the first kick after this much riding. I suggest it to everyone.
- corey miller, baltimore ohio, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-05-20 2009 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I decided I wanted something that would be more suited to long rides. Looked at a few others but decided on the Weestrom. Bought it at the Vancouver bike show so had to fly over to Burnaby to pick it up. 660km ride back. So far I am loving it. Much better ride than a cruiser, better handling, and comfy! I find it very easy to ride in slow traffic in town but has more than enough power to get up to speed and stay there on the hwy. Considered the 1000 but happy that I went with the 650. The ride home had everything from rain to slushy snow to deer on the road. Would have taken longer on a cruiser, but then this is a motorcycle and not a fashion accessory :) Try one out. You will be assimilated ;)
- Chich, castlegar, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-05-19 2009 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Recently turned over 8,000 miles on my WeeStrom and can't say enough good things about it. Just completed a 900 mile trip this past weekend riding in Ozark Mountains in Arkansas and attending the BMW Ralley at the Sequoya Park on the Arkansas River. The VStroms have been adopted by the BMW crowd as sibling to the GS Bmw's. This was my longest trip to date since buying my bike in August 2009. The bike handles great through twisty's and switchbacks especially when climbing Mount Nebo. I covered just over 350 miles in one day with no back or posterior issues. The bike also handled well in the rain while riding the Pig Trail. I had the bike loaded with camping gear and no issues. I love the riding position and the low end torque. You can cruise at 80mph all day long. I will be taking the Wee out west to Montrose, CO in June. This bike does everything well without unloading the wallet. Tons of aftermarket accessories available.
- Bart Patten, Bossier City, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-05-15 2009 Suzuki GS500F Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After getting side swiped on the Hollywood Freeway, everyone told me no bikes. Then a friend let me sit on his new bike. Butt to brain: "Must have one of these" so I got a new GS500f (white & blue) the next day. After 25 years, it all came back as soon as I put this bike into gear. This bike was so easy to ride, stable and fun. Great around the city or cruising Alki Beach Drive on a nice day. Still enough power and stability for the freeway. Tough choice between the GS500 and a Ninja 500, but I think the GS500 in white looks so hot compared to the Ninja. It looks bigger than it is. The only negative is the inconvenient helmet lock (have to lift the seat) so bought one that fastens to the license plate. Perfect in that this bike rides like a standard bike but as a bit of the crotch rocket look. Love it! Get one for yourself!
- Patrick Lajko, Seattle, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-05-04 2009 Suzuki GS500F Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After logging 8200 miles on a 2009 SYM 300i scooter, I went to the darkside and bought the GS500F. As a daily commuter on the interstate, the 81 mph WOT on the scooter was just not safe. The 500 is perfect. Good mileage, reserve power, and a very comfortable riding position. The lower profile is also better in the crosswinds. I am 58, have been riding since 08/01/2009, and have completed the basic and advanced MSF courses. I am very pleased with this ride.
- Paul R. Jones, Sandston, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: