Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport Reviews (16)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2013-05-28 2009 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Like many others have said, I wish I had this bike years ago. It is a better commuter than my cruisers were, and better off road, even though it is not a dirt bike, than any pure street bikes. Excellent at nothing, but good at most. What more can I say?
- Maxwell, Atlanta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-08-16 2009 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After my teenager days on a Vespa three years ago I decided to go back into the motorcycle fun. I got myself a Honda Shadow Aero. It was a great bike for two years, but the sitting position was not ideal for me. Someone suggested me to switch to the on/off-road style, because it supports the natural curve of the spine. I looked around, BMW and Moto Guzzi were my first choices but they were expensive. A BMW rider suggested to me the V-Strom. I loved the style and look right away, did some online research, chatted with a few eurodudes who use the V-Strom for commute and long rides. I opted for it. Since May, 2010 I have a gorgeous orange V-Strom 650, new for $6,450.00. After almost 18k miles in one year and three months here is my opinion. Keep in mind I'm not the most experienced biker, I know the Vespa and Honda Aero. I'm fully satisfied with the V-Strom and the 650 engine. My sitting position is great, no lower back issues at all, throttle and torque responds good in town and on highways . Actually this can be a very reactive bike, plenty of torque and 6-speed gear, so use good judgment. Personally I never squeeze the gears or allow the rpm. to high. The CG is high, so I needed to get used to a tall bike. Fuel consumption on the highway riding around 60-65 mph. is around 57 mpg. I've been riding on I-44 between Oklahoma City and Lawton. The V-Strom holds the 75 mph. limit easy, with 5800 rpm and around 48 mpg. The rear tire lasted 14k miles, the front tire 17k. I do occasionally have a passenger. We made a trip from Lawton, OK to Palo Duro Canyon in Texas with no problems at all, including baggage. Our average speed on Texas farm roads and highways was 50 mph. The passenger seat is very comfortable. I lube the chain every 200-300 miles. The original windshield is useless. I added GIVI crash bars, MRA vario wind screen (this is a +++), Motech center stand (a must to ease your lube job), handle bar covers and the Air Hawk 2 cushion seat (this is a +++) and a KAOKO throttle lock. I may add some additional lights from PIAA. Again, I'm very happy with the V-Strom. I don't see a personal need to have the 1000cc engine. I bring it in for maintenance every 3,500-4,000 miles, religiously check my tires for proper pressure and use a bright green vest most of the time. On July 9, I was involved in an accident against a Chevy truck, riding 25 mph. The crash bars did an excellent job and my Nolan 42 helmet did an excellent job.
- giuseppe, norman, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-07-21 2009 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my Wee-Strom for three weeks now, and have put about 300 miles on it. I have had several bikes over the years, and can honestly say that this is the bike I should have bought a long time ago. It has plenty of power (more than enough to get me in real trouble), good ergonomics (even for my troublesome knee), handles very well, is light (much lighter than any of the cruisers I have had in the past) and makes me smile whenever I ride it. My only complaint is that the seat is kind of marginal, but that should be an easy fix. All in all, this is the best bike I have ever had and plan on keeping it for a long, long time.
- Bob, Stafford, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-04-08 2009 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I read all the forums on this bike. I came from a Vulcan 750 cruiser. This bike rode smooth like an electric bike. I couldn't tell if it was running at freeway speed! It's smooth, fuel injected, nimble, and has perfect power for touring/city. It gets 50 plus miles a gallon. It's a higher than average bike but it allows me to see through traffic and be seen better. It has an excellent headlight! It is a chain drive so maintenance is pretty frequent for me since I put about 2,000 a month easy. So what, I learn how to clean and lube chains....bought the warranty plan so that all I really need to do now is ride baby ride! The representative at the dealership was really helpful and all about customer service (which is my big pet peeve). He advocates for the customer and doesn't seem like he is out to hustle you. It's an excellent bike for the money. Buy one now that the interest rate is low!
- Kimmerling, FORT WORTH, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-12-03 2009 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 09 V-Strom 650/ABS because I broke my right wrist and elbow (slipped on some ice) and can no longer lean forward on my wrist on a sportbike or stretch my elbow out on a big cruiser. I went to the local motorcycle show and sat on everything, looking for a comfortable fit for my bad arm. The V-Strom was a perfect fit, and the 650 seemed lightweight enough so I bought it. I assumed it would not be like my Ducati or my Honda 1300 cruiser...what I never expected is it would be better than both, and better than every bike I have owned over the last 25 years. Obviously, no bike is perfect, and if you need a long distance touring bike for two-up with lots of luggage, or you need a pure dedicated sportbike so you can weave in and out of 55 mph. traffic at 100 mph., of course look elsewhere. But if you want a supremely comfortable bike you can easily tour on, that gets 300 miles between fill ups, commutes effortlessly with great visibility and handling, or attacks twisties with its smooth sportbike motor that easily revs to 10k, all with outstanding reliability, then look no further. This is your bike - and for all it does, it is a bargain. It truly is an incredible, all-rounder. The only problem - it is a tall bike so shorter riders may have some problems. I would have never even considered this bike if I had not hurt my arm - now I look at all my buddies on their crusiers and wonder if there aren't V-Stroms on every corner instead of 700 lb. Harleys. But it is a bit like a cult bike - just check out Stromtrooper.com to see how the rest of the world love these things. I wish I would have bought a bike like this a lot sooner - don't make the mistake I made, don't wait, just do it now. And no, you don't have to thank me.
- Craig, Baltimore, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-10-16 2009 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought it new in April, 2010. I primarily use it for my daily commute and I get 57 mpg. on average with my best mileage being 62+mpg. on one tank. It has plenty of power for me and handles well. I like the upright seating position. It's just an all-around fun bike to ride and economical!
- Sverre Aune, Mount Vernon, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-10-15 2009 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I ride in an area that has highways, lots of winding county roads, really narrow beat-up paved roads and unpaved back roads. My two previous bikes were better on highway and paved county roads, but were geared too tall and were too heavy for technical, narrow, paved and unpaved back roads. This bike is tall, not too heavy, geared well, and is capable of touring on the slab, running on twisty county roads and great on technical, narrow paved and unpaved low-speed back roads. It does them all very well. I had a BMW and a Ducati previously and while they were great bikes, the maintenance was a killer if you put on higher than average miles in a season like I do, particularly if you don't wrench yourself and have to take it to the dealer. The Suzuki oil change was $39 bucks!!! Nothing has gone wrong. It's as fast as I want to go, and it is bright orange!!! But I love the bike and it's jack of all roads ability.
- JOHN N, YARDLEY, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-08-29 2009 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm 6'1, 235 pounds and 66 years old. My last bike was a Victory Vegas. When I transitioned from the Vegas to the 'Strom' I really felt cramped. I have to get off the bike about every hour and walk around. I get a 'charlie horse' at my leg/thigh area and have a hard time straightening out my legs. Other than that, the 'Wee Strom' is a great bike with surprising power and very good handling. A Harley 88ci puts out 64hp. The 650 Strom is 67hp and weighs 200 pounds less. That should give you an idea of its performance.
- Ken Halstad, Temecula, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-07-23 2009 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After 4000 miles, I have no complaints, especially after I replaced the factory seat with a Corbin/Holeshot seat. There's a remarkable difference - no time/mileage limit to the seat. I must caution, if you are contemplating this seat, the seat height is lower. But due to the increased width of the seat, your legs are splayed apart far more than stock, thus decreasing your reach to the ground. I have a 32" inseam and now can barely have both feet touch the ground.
- tim, manteno, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-05-20 2009 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I decided I wanted something that would be more suited to long rides. Looked at a few others but decided on the Weestrom. Bought it at the Vancouver bike show so had to fly over to Burnaby to pick it up. 660km ride back. So far I am loving it. Much better ride than a cruiser, better handling, and comfy! I find it very easy to ride in slow traffic in town but has more than enough power to get up to speed and stay there on the hwy. Considered the 1000 but happy that I went with the 650. The ride home had everything from rain to slushy snow to deer on the road. Would have taken longer on a cruiser, but then this is a motorcycle and not a fashion accessory :) Try one out. You will be assimilated ;)
- Chich, castlegar, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-05-19 2009 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Recently turned over 8,000 miles on my WeeStrom and can't say enough good things about it. Just completed a 900 mile trip this past weekend riding in Ozark Mountains in Arkansas and attending the BMW Ralley at the Sequoya Park on the Arkansas River. The VStroms have been adopted by the BMW crowd as sibling to the GS Bmw's. This was my longest trip to date since buying my bike in August 2009. The bike handles great through twisty's and switchbacks especially when climbing Mount Nebo. I covered just over 350 miles in one day with no back or posterior issues. The bike also handled well in the rain while riding the Pig Trail. I had the bike loaded with camping gear and no issues. I love the riding position and the low end torque. You can cruise at 80mph all day long. I will be taking the Wee out west to Montrose, CO in June. This bike does everything well without unloading the wallet. Tons of aftermarket accessories available.
- Bart Patten, Bossier City, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-03-24 2009 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After riding cruisers for the past ten years, I decided to downsize to metric. I have owned Yamaha, Kawi, and Harley over the years, and I find this bike to be the overall best. The V-Strom is the Swiss Army knife of motorcycles. It does everything well in one package. I struggled between the 650 and 1000 engines, but I honestly find the 650 to be the ideal power for one-up. The bike is relatively light (lots of plastic parts), so the horsepower is adequate for commuting, weekend cruises, including interstate speeds in heavy traffic. The engine makes a bit of whiney noise, but there is enough enjoyment to make it forgiveable. I had replaced the stock windscreen with California Scientific. Noticeable improvement in wind buffeting, highly recommend. 7/8 inch grips were replaced since I found my hands would quickly cramp around the narrow stock grips. Otherwise, everything is stock. I was hung up in the H-D world, and I grew tired of throwing money into sparkle farkels. Now, if it doesn't improve performance, I won't buy it. If you are undecided about the Wee Strom, I highly recommend it as a great all purpose ride. Seating is comfortable, ample power, reliable, and it LOVES to be ridden in the twisties. If you buy one, you won't regret it.
- Harry, Collegeville, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-19 2009 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
If you have been doing your homework on this style of bike, you have read a lot of reviews that say the DL650 is a great all around performer. I wanted the safety of ABS but couldn't even think about the BMWs because of the price and high maintenance costs. I got mine to commute to work during the week and to tour two-up on weekend day trips on the Blue Ridge Parkway. I went with the V-strom and, after riding Feburary through July in cold rain and 90+ heat, I can say the reviews are spot on. The bike has plenty of power and handles so well in town or on the highway. The v-strom also gets plenty of attention at stops because nothing else looks quite like it. There are plenty of accesories available to make it your own too. They are a little tall but the low speed handling (parking lots, etc.) is GREAT (just as good as my Burgman 400) but it is better suited to someone who can flat foot it for ease of walking it or for getting on and off. The engine and transmission have a long history of reliability. Most people put on an aftermarket windshields but they are around $140 or less for a good one. don't let wind noise stop you from buying a bike. It's a bike! Your supposed to be out in the wind! Make the plunge and enjoy!
- Eric R., Central, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-28 2009 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The DL650 fits my needs perfectly. Even after only a short time of riding it, just bought it yesterday, I know that this motorcycle is the one! I have been riding motorcycles for 38 years. Had all kinds over the years. Started with mini bikes at an early age, had dirtbikes, street bikes of all description, standards, cruisers, touring and sportbikes. I have owned Honda, Kawasaki, Suzuki, Yamaha, BMW and Harley motorcycles. So to say been there done that is an understatement. Five years ago I began a quest to find a pair of motorcycles, one for me and one for my son, for us to ride together and share some quality time. I ended up buying two Yamaha FZ6s. My son still has his I ended up trading mine for a Honda VFR about a year later. After another year I traded for this one and here's why. I enjoyed the VFR, it is a beautiful bike and fun to ride but I could only ride it for about an hour before needing a good break. My neck, shoulders and wrists got sore in short order even after adding higher bars. My back got tired and because of the high and slightly rearset footpegs my knees cramped. I had researched the DL650 before and started looking at it again. I found the reviews here helpful as well as internet forums. The opinions and reviews were consistently good, so I decided to buy one. I am so glad that I did! This motorcycle is one of the most comfortable that I have ever been on. While at the dealership I sat on a Kawasaki Versys and found that I could only touch the ground with the ball of my left foot whereas on the DL650 I could touch flat footed with my left foot. The seating position reminds me of days gone by when I was riding dirtbikes, it is called a dual sport after all, though I don't think I will doing any trail riding on it. You sit high and tall on this bike with a good view of the road and your surroundings. The comfort level on this motorcycle equals long time in the saddle. Speaking of which, I found the seat to be quite easy on the rear, soft and forgiving. After about an hour I did notice some butt burn but I have never ridden a motorcycle that did not cause that, moving about from time to time helps relieve the sensation. I found all of the controls to be well placed and easy to manipulate. The mirrors offer a good clear view of what is behind you. The fairing offers good protection. There is some wind buffeting but not an objectionable amount. I have the windshield at the low setting out of the three height adjustments. The fit and finish of all the parts is of high quality. The ride is smooth and firm, standard suspension settings seem to work well for me. The bike is easy to handle at any speed, low speed maneuvering is excellent and it tracks and corners very well at speed. The weight distribution seems evenly placed and you don't notice the bike's weight while riding. I found the engine power to be very linear in delivery with ample power available throughout the rpm range. The standard luggage rack is a godsend, now I have a place to carry things. I purchased a small tailbag to strap on the rack rather than getting a larger trunk case. There a two helmet holder hooks under the seat, they use extension cables that run through the helmet d-rings. There are also a couple of good size storage compartments under the seat along with the tool kit. Even after such a short time with this motorcycle I can tell that this one is a keeper. Read the all the reviews for yourself and then you decide. I was a skeptic before but now I am a convert. What everyone says about this bike is true. It is one great motorcycle!
- Mark, Winder, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-17 2009 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had been wanting to get back on a motorcycle for some time. I live in a country setting with plenty of gravel roads, and also spend a fair amount of time in Canada where there are a lot of logging and gravel roads, I had been looking at dual sports. Problem is, most enduro type dual sports are far better suited for mostly dirt and limited pavement, and I needed the opposite mix. After doing some research and following a V-Strom forum on-line, I decided to go with the DL650. Power is ample for 99% of the riding I would ever do. If I did a lot of highway commuting 2-up, I might consider the DL1000, but the 650 can keep up comfortably on the highway, and can cruise all afternoon at 90 without breaking a sweat. This bike leaves you looking forward to twisties, and eats up rough pavement without hesitation. I have taken it on gravel roads (some of which barely qualify as roads), and it has handled them well enough with stock tires. If I was going to do a lot of trail/dirt road riding, I might consider getting more suitable tires. But for a bike that has a 478 pound curb weight (closer to 500 with accessories I have installed), it is incredibly nimble and easy to manage. As a side note, I have added an aftermarket fork brace to help improve handling in strong cross-winds and on rough pavement, and it helps immensely. I have been averaging about 48 mpg so far, but I also haven't been doing a lot of straight highway riding, and it's way too fun to twist the throttle on this machine. If you are looking for a bike that you can ride to work during the week and then take on a camping expedition for the weekend, the V-Strom rocks!
- Earl, Benton Harbor, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-04-24 2009 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have an '08 650 V-Strom that I've had about a year and now have about 4K miles on. I had not ridden in several years and wanted a fairly traditional (upright) seating position. I looked at the BMWs and, although nice, were pretty pricey. I looked a some Honda and Kawasaki products but couldn't find the right feel. Most were a little aggressive in the seating position for me. I sat on this bike and it felt nice. I knew that the professional reviews had been excellent and that it shared its lineage with the SV-650. A pretty good heritage there. I have found it to be everything that it was advertised to be. I have not taken it off-road much but I'm told it will do that. It actually doesnt weigh much (450# +/-) but I'm not sure I really want to be doing any heavy duty off roading with it. It would probably handle fire roads and simple dirt roads easily. It sure cruises around San Diego with ease. The seating position is excellent, if upright is for you. The controls all make sense and the displays are very good. I do wish it had a gear position indicator, however. Once you pre-flight and start her up, the bike accelerates quickly and there is lots of low end. The engine will take you faster than you really want to go, and it will gladly do that quickly. You can literally go from 60-90 mph with a small flick of your wrist and just a moment of time. There is no lack of intestinal fortitude in this power plant. I initially found that the stock windscreen was a bit small for my liking and have added a larger GIVI model that manages the wind pretty well. I have also added the Suzuki OEM hand guards that spare your hands just a bit. I still get a good bit of wind around my arms and shoulders, but overall wind management is very good. It is very secure at highway speeds and can accelerate you around any problems quickly. I have also taken it many times out on the twisties and find that it is quite nimble on its feet. You can throw it from side to side quickly. that's a pretty good rush. The great handling was probably the most surprising thing to me, but all the reviews had said that it was strong there. I have added a throttle-lock cruise control, and a top case, and I'm now gearing up for a long-distance ride. I'm thinking that it will be pretty good there as well. It has been very reliable and it is a gas sipper at about 53 MPG. I agree with other reviewers and have a few questions about the seat on the longer hauls. Overall, a great bike for the $$$, and it was just the right choice for me. It can do lots of things, and its pretty good at all of them!
- Mark B., San Diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: