Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2009 Victory Hammer S Cruiser reviews

5.0
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.5

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Cruisers

Reviews

8 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Chuck Young

Rockford, Illinois

Reviewed on 2012-01-01

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Victory Hammer S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I kicked a lot of tires before this bike. I went to the dealer with my wife. They had it running and waiting for me. This was early April, 2007. My wife sat on the bike and in 30 seconds she was like this is the one. Of course it had the optional seat on it. Then we took it for a ride. In a 1-mile trip I knew I had to have this bike so we bought it. I love this bike and would never hesitate to buy another. My Harley buddies tell me I either have to slow down or get another bike cause they can't catch me. One of the best thing is I can ride this bike for a couple of hours, get off it and walk just fine - no numbness like when I rode brand X.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

scotiagoodwin

Lloydminster

Reviewed on 2011-11-18

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Victory Hammer S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
It's a great bike. I love most everything about it. I must say though, the stock seat and exhaust need to be changed. It was well worth the money.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mike M.

Richmond, California

Reviewed on 2011-10-25

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Victory Hammer S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
My first cruiser after riding sport bikes, sport tourers, dual sports and naked bikes; I finally found a bike that satisfies me. Sure I can't push it in the twisties like a sport bike, but the comfort, power, and looks are a fair trade. The one complaint that I have is that a few of the components were pretty cheap looking considering the price. I'm primarily referring to the turn signals. Also, the stock exhaust is a little too tame. It would be nice if it had just a little more bite to it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kyle

Chandler, Arizona

Reviewed on 2011-08-14

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Victory Hammer S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've been riding a 1000cc crotch rocket for over a decade and decided I was sick of the speeding tickets and wanted to step into the cruiser world. I spent a great deal of time researching before choosing Victory, and I haven't looked back since. The bike stock (purchased mine with the swept exhaust) sounds incredible! There is a nice crackling rumble when idling and really becomes throaty once you open up the throttle, but you can still cruise in and out of your neighborhood without upsetting all your neighbors (provided you stay out of the throttle). Whoever wrote the review saying they were getting 20-something miles to the gallon is crazy. I bought this bike to commute into work and back. It's exactly 26 miles from my driveway to the parking garage at my work. I make this trip eight times on a tank (four days of work/52 miles round trip). So I get over 200 miles to a 4.5 gallon tank. Do the math, that's averaging 46 miles to the gallon. I'm probably getting 50 on the freeway. So having a huge motor and getting that kind of fuel efficiency is awesome. I really didn't expect that. The bike definitely doesn't lack torque and I get more comments on and off the bike than I ever did with my tricked out Gixxer 1000. Thanks Victory, I LOVE the bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jackie Childers JR

Black River, New York

Reviewed on 2011-07-09

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Victory Hammer S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
There are a lot of people who try to find things wrong with Victory. It is beyond reasoning (Maybe they are just trying to justify paying more for the somewhat comparable Harley). I have noticed that what some are calling cam noise is actually the transmission. Nothing wrong with it, it is just synchronized. I have a 2007 Hammer S and the new bikes have an improved transmission now (less noise). My bike does have upgrades - exhaust, power commander and intake. I haven't found a Harley that can beat me yet, not even an improved VROD Muscle that a local owns. Here is something to chew on. Some believe that if the bike doesn't shake your teeth it lacks power. The truth is the Victory is balanced. Keep on rattling your teeth as I pass you. Oops, you can't see me as your eyeballs are shaking as well. Power, try 97 HP stock right out the dealer door with 113-ft. lbs. of torque. Aftermarket upgrades can boost that considerably. The only problem I have is finding the after market accessories and that is getting better as companies strive to fill the demand.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bob

Temecula, California

Reviewed on 2010-06-18

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Victory Hammer S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I love the bike. It is gutsy, and takes no prisoners. I think a taller rider works well with this bike as the wide rear tire has a tendency to make the bike want to stand straight up on slow curves... but being tall, the higher center of gravity makes the bike ride like liquid lightning. I have had no mechanical problems. One backfire at around 500 miles...after the shop maintained it at 600, no problem. Premium fuel only. Complaint? Yes. The factory seat is not very comfortable on long rides. I am replacing the seat with a Corbin custom seat. Gas mileage? about 35 mpg...hey, what do you expect? This beast has about 1700 cc. I ride the bike about 300 miles a week. It likes to drink fuel.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

D. Jiles

Sunrise, Florida

Reviewed on 2009-12-26

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Victory Hammer S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought my 2009 Hammer S in April this year and have not looked back. I have put 9700 plus miles since buying it and plan on putting even more. This bike has great power and styling. I get looks from everyone. If you are looking for a cruiser with power and style this is the bike I would buy. Thanks Victory!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dale DeMay

Tamarac, Florida

Reviewed on 2008-12-22

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Victory Hammer S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I wanted a fun bike to ride so I looked at everything. I saw the new 2009 Victory Hammer S surfing the web. I purchased the 2009 Hammer S and have not looked back since. It has a lot of torque and power all the way to red line. It has a very good ride and the build quality (great paint) is great. In sixth gear at 2000 RPM you are loping along at 65 mph. 45 MPG on the open road. I definitely would highly recommend if you are looking for a good looking power cruiser.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 1 - 8 of 8 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: