Yamaha Cruiser Reviews on Cycle Insider (111)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha Cruiser Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Mike from Findlay, Ohio says:

It's more power than I ever expected from a bike. You can ride for hours without getting sore or worn out like some other bikes I have had. There's

Read More (111 reviews)

Have you owned a Yamaha Cruiser? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

Voted Most Helpful Review 2009 Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's more power than I ever expected from a bike. You can ride for hours without getting sore or worn out like some other bikes I have had. There's power on demand, good looks and it handles more like a sport bike than a cruiser. It gets between 36 and 43 mpg. I couldn`t ask for a better bike or one that is more fun to ride.
- Mike, Findlay, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-12-06 2009 Yamaha stratoliner Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The 2009 Stratoliner S that I have is very powerful, quick, comfortable, stylish, with agility. I have ridden motorcycles for 50 years and am 61 years old. The Stratoliner is the travel version of the roadliner. The only thing that I can think of that I would change about the Stratoliner is for the motorcycle to have increased breathing for the cooling system. It has an 1854 CC / 113.1 Ci engine that requires optimum cooling.
- stephen hiter, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-09-25 2009 Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have ridden my 2009 Stratoliner S for nearly 10,000 miles of highway/city/country roads... The bike runs and performs very well. The finish, performance, and reliability are tops. The only problem I have had is that 1854 CC can get very hot especially in warm weather temperatures. I feel that the design did not take that into account. Other than that, the motorcycle is very attractive, runs extremely well, and has not given me one bit of trouble. The odometer currently is just past the 20,000 mark.
- swhiter1959, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-07-27 2009 Yamaha V-Star 950 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just purchased this 2009 MC used for $3800. 2960 miles in seemingly perfect condition w/windshield (after-market), roll bars, padded passenger/sissy bar, everything else is factory. I've owned 3 previous 1100 cruisers. The 950 seems spunkier, easy to handle, smooth, and comfortable. Several reviews on YouTube, all of which laud this bike. Now, it's too dam hot to ride!
- rod.ruger, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2017-06-12 2009 Yamaha fjr1300 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my second one and love it. Agile when you want it to be and an all day tourer on the next. Very dependable, fast, smooth and comfortable.
- bob v, north east

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2017-05-02 2009 Yamaha v star 950 tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
been riding the bike about 3 weeks. Only negative thing I can say is that I feel some vibration at speeds above 70 mph. Also, the stand footrests tend to scrape the pavement if you lean to much on turns.
- sal, Fontana, Calif

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-06-26 2009 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I stepped up from an '06 Shadow Spirit and this bike truly lives up to the hype. V Star consistently beats out HD year after year in quality and price. This bike is the perfect example. I didn't want a ride that would shake me like a rag doll (HD) nor did I want a weekender (BMW/Goldwing) that costs as much as a luxury cage. I simply wanted a bike that performed nicely, sipped fuel and handled well. This purchase was the best money I ever spent. Unlike HD owners, I don't have buyer's remorse and my wife liked it so much that she went out and bought herself a '10 Star 950 Tourer. Oh, and I didn't have to pay $5k extra for a tank badge...if you know what I mean.
- Matt J, Bellevue, Nebraska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-05-10 2009 Yamaha V-Star 650 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
you're crazy if you can't see the bang for the buck in this bike. If you have any choice, use this dealership. Top notch service.
- Mike, Perth Amboy, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-04-24 2009 Yamaha V Star 250 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Being an experienced rider that took a few years off, I decided to get a small inexpensive bike. I was really surprised how well this bike performs for a 250, plenty of power. I would almost go as far as to say that it rivals the Intruder 800 I used to have. I had it up to 80 mph. with a little more throttle still left. The V twin gives it big cruiser looks and has a little rumble to it as well. It blows the Honda Rebel clear out of the water.
- Iverr6, Houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-04-14 2009 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased this V Star on Friday, March 30, 2012. I was looking at a new C50T but the cost was a little high. This bike only had 1,300 miles and the waranty extended until August 2014. I bought the bike without my temps. The service manager drove it home for me and I started it up everyday until I got my temps. I've been riding in my neighborhood everyday. I'm going to take the state motorcycle training course soon. Us older guys need to be careful. Can't wait to get on the open road.
- Firefighter Neal, Columbus, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-04-04 2009 Yamaha V Star 1300 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my new 2009 model in March, 2012 and can't believe someone had not taken it yet. It's a wonderful machine, has plenty of power and is great for 2 up riding. I've owned many bikes over the last 40 years, but this is one of the best. The fuel injection is great and the handling is very good. It averages around 50 mpg. so far. I'm looking forward to many miles and smiles with this one.
- Scotty Windham, Jena, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-03-04 2009 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This my first brand new bike, and I love it! It has the perfect engine size for me, providing plenty of power and low end torque for cruising. I do keep looking for a higher gear when on the highway. But overall, this bike handles very smoothly, and has great balance, especially in low-speed manuevers. The build quality is definitely good, with plenty of chrome standard. Of course it is a neverending process to add more chrome -- it is hard to have too much. But really, it is the ride comfort, balance and feel, as well as looks that really make me love this bike. I definitely gets lots of looks and great comments on this bike.
- CByrd, Elizabethtown, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-12-08 2009 Yamaha V Star 950 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding bikes since I was 11 years old, and (at 56 now) that means I have spent a lot of time on two wheels. My 950 is the best bike I have ever ridden - by far! It has plenty of power, and the balance is second to none. The throaty sound of the stock pipes as you take to the road is music to my ears. You will not regret buying this bike. It is in a class by itself.
- Dean Herring, Nampa, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-12-03 2009 Yamaha v star 950 tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Overall, it's a great bike. The only reason for the 2 star on comfort was the passenger seat. The passenger seat was very uncomfortable for the passenger. But after replacing the seat with a Mustang seat, she no longer complains. Other than that, it has been a dependable bike.
- Houdini, metropolis, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-10-15 2009 Yamaha Road Star Silverado S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well I have been doing research on the "S" model for a few years now. I'm very impressed on what I read and saw on the showroom floor. i finally found a deal and a half on a "new in crate" model leftover. Since I purchased it in March, 2011 I have been very impressed. I took my time on break-in and did my own service at the 600-mile mark with no problems. It has plenty of power and a quality fit and finish. I love cruising around on this model both in the city or open highway.
- Joe, Gladys, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-08-08 2009 Yamaha Raider S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My Raider is a 2008. I bought it in Feb., 2009. I ride when ever the weather lets me. It handles great. The bike speaks for itself. I was looking to buy the M109 and then I sat on the Raider. I told the salesman ring me up on this one. It handles well for all my needs. I have the red w/flames. I love the black power coated.
- Tom, dayton, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-07-31 2009 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my fourth bike, and finally I have found what I need. It has enough power to keep up with the hubby and a comfortable bike for someone my height. I did a 6-hour ride the first weekend I had it, and no back or butt pain. Still, I added a Mustang seat and the Royal Star Tour Deluxe handlebars to bring me into the perfect riding position. I didn't even think that was possible!! Now, I have to convince myself it is time to go home.
- Jacqui, Newark, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-07-07 2009 Yamaha VMAX Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own a 2009 VMX17 (VMAX 1700) and I urge you to buy this motorcycle. With more years on more motorcycles then most men have been married, I can truly say this bike is the best motorcycle that I've ever ridden. The VMAX corners better than any other cruiser on the market today. This awesome bike is not intended to race on a race course, but handles like it could. The VMAX was intended to go down a 1/4-mile track (and fast, too). The wide aftermarket tire gives this beast the meat it needs to stick to the road/track. There is no problem with turning at slow speeds with the stock tire. There is no issue with the stock suspension but the transmission could use another gear to reach over the 200 mph. mark. I have never shifted four times before 35 mph. In fact, I usually shift into 2nd gear at 50 mph. after a twist of the grip. This will be the only bike I will ever ride. I can't wait until the Gen III VMAX comes out. It's hard to resist the twist, I love this bike.
- Anonymous, District of Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-06-29 2009 Yamaha V Star 1300 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been a Sportbike guy for 42 years. I traded in a 2003 Yamaha FZ-1 for this great cruiser. It feels almost like a sportbike and I am already grinding the floorboards!! Performance, well balanced, low weight and center of gravity, great disc brakes, liq. cooled, belt drive, fuel injection, what more can one ask for in a cruiser? This 1300cc is a great size and Yamaha Star rules Honda VTR 1300 is single carb., no belt and is a slug. Yamaha V-Star 1300 rules!!
- Len, Doylestown, Pa.

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-05-30 2009 Yamaha V Star 250 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
OK, this is a "kick butt little cruser." I just got a 2009, that was new at the dealer. I went from commuting in my X-Terra which was costing me $15 a day to riding my V-Star at a cost of about $8 per week. I could have bought a bigger bike and I probably will in the future; however, I'm keeping this 250 V-Star until it falls off the wheels. I watched all sorts of U-Tube clips by owners of this bike and there is no shortage of fans all over the net. For my money, $3,695 new from the dealer, the thing looks nice too. I'm hearing all sorts of people saying they ride it 60-75 mph. on the freeway; however, I don't have to get it on the freeway in my daily routine. This bike feels good between 50 to 60 mph to me. I did notice the first week that 50 mph. seemed to feel right on the bike; however after the first 300 miles, it seems to like running between 55 to 60. To be quite honest, I'm not sure I want to take it much over 60 mph. I don't think the stock front tire is made for speeds much beyond that. That is one thing I plan on changing soon. I like the rear stock tire just fine. This bike is great around the suburbs where I live ranging from feeder speeds to posted 55 mph. There's no real problem moving around traffic and it's not a dog at all in traffic at reasonable speeds. I had a windshield put on it and that really improved the bike's stability. Full coverage insurance is only $30 a month where I live. This thing is costing me well under $200 a month to drive and I'm having a blast doing it. A guy with a Yamaha 1300 came up to me and asked if it was a 500? Thanks Yamaha for not putting 250 on the tank or side covers, I won't tell if you don't. I'm short and I get both feet flat on the ground no problem. The stock seat feels great on my fat backside and it's a very comfortable ride for me. A year ago I owned a Honda XL 250 and a 550/4 for a couple of years after that. This Yamaha 250 is not underpowered for what it is. If you want more or expect more, buy a bigger one. I have the urge to do some highway driving in the future and when I do I'll probably buy something bigger on eBay. I really like that new Yamaha Striker. Sadly, my wife says she won't get on a bike so whereever I go, I'm going solo. In my humble opinion, if you buy one of these V-Star 250's to cruise around town on, you won't be disappointed or broke. What don't I like about the bike...? Not much but, whay didn't they put the ignition key start on the handle bars? The great thing about the cost of this bike is that I can do some cosmetic things - luggage rack and sissy bar first. I have a feeling that saddle bags may cost some miles per gallon. I'll probably add some additional lighting and a better horn. Lots of folks change the sprockets for more top end. For my use, the factory sprockets seem to work just fine. This bike sounds great when you start it, however it runs quiet once you get moving. I'm not drilling holes in my pipes, however I will ask the dealer about some drag pipes if it won't kill my warranty. I hope this helps anyone considering this bike.
- MT, Houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-05-25 2009 Yamaha Road Star Silverado S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my second Road Star. The first was a 2002 Road Star Midnight. I wanted the fuel injection so I just bought a 2009 model on sale new. I took my accessories off my old Road Star and put on the new bike so I saved some money there. It's a great bike. It has some engine noise on the upper end but that seems to be normal for the Road Star. I learned that Yamaha has the best chrome accessories.
- Maury, Rochester, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-05-23 2009 Yamaha Road Star Silverado S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Roadstar April, 2010 with less than 2,000 miles on it. It caught my eye more than any bike in the shop, especially when I took it for a test ride. The power is effortless, just barely crack the throttle and it moves out. After one year and 7,200 miles later, it runs even better. It is broken in well and after a K & N filter, it just wants to rock. On the highway it accelerates with no problems whatsoever. I have offered my buddies a test ride or trade bikes for a ride but they won't do it. They ride brand x you know. One person did take me up on my offer and couldn't believe the torque that it produced. What can I say, I'm impressed, and that's not easy to do.
- David J. Stiffler, BELLBROOK, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-05-01 2009 Yamaha v star 950 tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Updating my 9/2010 review - I just upgraded my Star 950 with a Cobra 2215 slip-on muffler, Cobra Fi2000R O2 fuel managment system and a K&N air filter. What a difference! This thing runs with big dogs, sounds like the big dogs and still gets 46 mpg! Also, regarding the valve train noise - it's still there but greatly diminished by changing to Mobil 1 Racing 4T full synthetic motorcycle oil. Do it ASAP - no need to wait.
- KLo, Lawrenceville, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-04-27 2009 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Having been riding for over 30 years now, I was looking for a bigger bike to take me on the long tour but still small enough to handle around town. The Royal Star Tour Deluxe fills this niche perfectly. With almost 10k miles on the bike now, it just seems to get better and better. The only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 for performance is because of the Carbs instead of EFI. Still that has not been an issue and hopefully Yamaha will bring the bike back with EFI and could we hope........6 speeds.
- Phil Hughes, Jacksonville, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-03-18 2009 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just purchased a 2009 V 1300, left over, (0) miles. After about 100 miles thus far, I give the Star high marks on finish, fit and power. It has tons of power!! It is very impressive. I had the handle bars raised a little and still find that they should be just a little closer to the rider for maximum comfort. Turning, handling is very precise. I had a mustang seat and VH pipes installed. VH pipes growl very nicely. I am looking forward to a long relationship with this star!,, nice work Yamaha. I had owned a Honda Shadow 1100 for eight years, this star blows that out of the water.
- Shoes, Montrose, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: