Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2009 Yamaha FJR1300A Sport Bike reviews

4.8
Write a review
Reliability
4.8
Overall quality
4.8
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.3

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Sport Bikes

Reviews

6 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Peter

Redlands, California

Reviewed on 2010-11-11

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha FJR1300A

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought it new in March '09. I put on 19K miles the first year. I live at the base of two mountain ranges (San Gregornio and San Jacinto). It keeps up with most of the sport bikes no problem. It handles extremely well in the twists and turns but is very stable on the interstates. I normally have to hop off every couple of hours to stretch the legs but it is very comfortable on long rides. 600+ miles a day is no problem (that's about 2 tank fulls). You will make no friends with the Harley crowd as you cruise past them in quiet comfort. The only problem is front fork bushings, covered under warranty. I talked to a motor cop who rides an '06 for fun (when he is not on a Honda) and he experienced the same issue. It might be coincidence but worth keeping an eye on the front tire for cupping. As previously mentioned, there is no helmet lock but the helmet fit easily in the side bags (which hold a lot and are very easy to operate/remove). I only wish I could ride it all the time.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bob Barry

Reston, Virginia

Reviewed on 2010-06-15

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha FJR1300A

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I just bought a brand new 2009 FJR in early May 2010. I just don't like silver (= 2010). I'm giving it 4 stars only because I don't have a lot of experience beyond cruisers. There must be some things that could be better that I don't know about. I can't believe how I have fallen in love with this bike so fast! Never would have expected it. It's FAST, nimble. Aside from just handling like it could out-maneuver a pending accident, its got ABS which I was wanting badly. It's fun, and as fast as I'll ever need a bike to be, and comfortable on long trips. I did a weekend tour in PA (800 miles or so all of which was before full break-in). I've also ridden to Manhattan and Westchester, NY (from VA). Comfort was not an issue. Oh - buy a big tank bag and you can lean your head on it under the adjustable windshield (at full height) for an almost silent ride (except for the soft hum of the engine). Downsides: On a hot day, sitting in traffic! You just want to get off of it at traffic lights it runs so freakin hot. Also - why no helmet lock? That said, I paid cash for the bike and don't miss the money (like I expected I would).
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

G Vail

Springdale, Arkansas

Reviewed on 2010-05-09

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha FJR1300A

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
A few years ago I owned an 07 AE and didn't like the automatic. I ended up trading it of for another bike. Last September, I was in a dealership and decided to test ride an 09 FJR1300A. Loved it. Rode to Minneapolis and back the second week I owned it. Great ride. Super smooth with nice power. The best of all touring bikes due to size, weight and balance. The only complaint I have is the seat. I ordered the gel seat from Yamaha but after three hours on the road it is just as brutal as the original seat. Ended up buying a Day Long seat.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

ElkGroveSam

Elk Grove, California

Reviewed on 2010-01-05

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha FJR1300A

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought my 09 FJR in June of 09 and have logged more than 4,400 miles on it. This is a comfortable bike as soon as you take a break every 2-3 hours. The performance of this bike is outatanding. It has very strong accelaration and braking. I pushed this thing up to 130 MPH on hwy 50 in Nevada one time and it remained extremely stable. My bike did have a minor problem with the front wheel bearing since new but the dealer fixed it with no charge 3 months ago. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who is looking for a touring bike at a very affordable and reasonable price.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jim Carroll

Seattle, Washington

Reviewed on 2009-09-16

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha FJR1300A

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I purchased an 08 FJR with 850 miles on it. Took it in for an inspection and it received a clean bill of health. That was in April of this year.(2009) I had not ridden a bike for more than 34 years. I joined a group and to date (09/09) I have more than 19K on the clock. With no problems at all, it has been a wonderful machine. The bike has performed as expected or better in every way. I did a great deal of research on-line before making the purchase and I am Very Very Happy with this great machine. My average ride is 550 to 650 miles per day with more than 700 miles per day on more than one occasion. Twelve to fourteen hours ridding time per day is not unusual. No issues at all.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Antone

Salt Lake City, Utah

Reviewed on 2009-05-29

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha FJR1300A

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I purchased my first fjr1300 used. It was a 2003 model. I did a lot of research and compared bikes like the Honda ST1300 and several BMW's to the FJR. The combination of power, features, handling, and looks along with luggage capacity and value easily made the FJR1300 the logical choice in a group of very fine bikes. As sport touring bikes go...the FJR has loads of power, sportbike like handling, and all day comfort. (Although an aftermarket seat will go a long way towards better comfort).
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 1 - 6 of 6 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: