Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2009 Yamaha reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.7

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

195 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

MT

Houston, Texas

Reviewed on 2011-05-30

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha V Star 250

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
OK, this is a "kick butt little cruser." I just got a 2009, that was new at the dealer. I went from commuting in my X-Terra which was costing me $15 a day to riding my V-Star at a cost of about $8 per week. I could have bought a bigger bike and I probably will in the future; however, I'm keeping this 250 V-Star until it falls off the wheels. I watched all sorts of U-Tube clips by owners of this bike and there is no shortage of fans all over the net. For my money, $3,695 new from the dealer, the thing looks nice too. I'm hearing all sorts of people saying they ride it 60-75 mph. on the freeway; however, I don't have to get it on the freeway in my daily routine. This bike feels good between 50 to 60 mph to me. I did notice the first week that 50 mph. seemed to feel right on the bike; however after the first 300 miles, it seems to like running between 55 to 60. To be quite honest, I'm not sure I want to take it much over 60 mph. I don't think the stock front tire is made for speeds much beyond that. That is one thing I plan on changing soon. I like the rear stock tire just fine. This bike is great around the suburbs where I live ranging from feeder speeds to posted 55 mph. There's no real problem moving around traffic and it's not a dog at all in traffic at reasonable speeds. I had a windshield put on it and that really improved the bike's stability. Full coverage insurance is only $30 a month where I live. This thing is costing me well under $200 a month to drive and I'm having a blast doing it. A guy with a Yamaha 1300 came up to me and asked if it was a 500? Thanks Yamaha for not putting 250 on the tank or side covers, I won't tell if you don't. I'm short and I get both feet flat on the ground no problem. The stock seat feels great on my fat backside and it's a very comfortable ride for me. A year ago I owned a Honda XL 250 and a 550/4 for a couple of years after that. This Yamaha 250 is not underpowered for what it is. If you want more or expect more, buy a bigger one. I have the urge to do some highway driving in the future and when I do I'll probably buy something bigger on eBay. I really like that new Yamaha Striker. Sadly, my wife says she won't get on a bike so whereever I go, I'm going solo. In my humble opinion, if you buy one of these V-Star 250's to cruise around town on, you won't be disappointed or broke. What don't I like about the bike...? Not much but, whay didn't they put the ignition key start on the handle bars? The great thing about the cost of this bike is that I can do some cosmetic things - luggage rack and sissy bar first. I have a feeling that saddle bags may cost some miles per gallon. I'll probably add some additional lighting and a better horn. Lots of folks change the sprockets for more top end. For my use, the factory sprockets seem to work just fine. This bike sounds great when you start it, however it runs quiet once you get moving. I'm not drilling holes in my pipes, however I will ask the dealer about some drag pipes if it won't kill my warranty. I hope this helps anyone considering this bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (20)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Victor Vinson

Mississippi

Reviewed on 2021-12-05

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha Zuma 125

Shop this motorcycle

1.5
I had a Yamaha Zuma 50 and absolutely loved it. If I needed to service it, there is a ton of information online to help with this. This Yamaha Zuma 125, however, is junk AND you cannot find ANY information on how to fix these things online. Major fail Yamaha!
Reliability
1.0
Quality
1.0
Performance
1.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dave Pretty

British Columbia

Reviewed on 2021-11-10

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha XV650 Custom V-Star

Shop this motorcycle

4.8
This was the perfect upgrade as my second bike after getting my license. The bike is big but not overwhelming. Owned it now for almost two years and found it very satisfying. Bike handles well. Have had no major issues other than regular maintenance. Gas mileage is quite good and tank is huge so you can go a long time between fuelling. Did add a windshield for less turbulence on the highway. Does wind out a bit RPM wise on the highway but not unmanageable. Power is good most of the times. Sometimes looking for a non existent 6 th gear. Comfortable on longer trips. Lots of Chrome so if you want it to look good you’ll have to maintain it. I.e. requires lots of polishing and detailing for optimum aesthetics. Overall good value and reliability for the money.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Randy Riehl

Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2021-08-11

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha Raider

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've had 3 Raiders, and was absolutely impressed with how well they worked, handling, performance and reliability. Never had an issue with them. The only thing that could have been better is the dual oil location. My current Raider is a 2009 with Vance and Hines 2 into 1 exhaust and power commander tuner. IT FLAT OUT FLIES. but still is very sedate when your just cruising around. Love the Raider.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

thomas poelking

Ohio

Reviewed on 2021-08-02

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha V Star 950

Shop this motorcycle

4.3
Had this bike for a dozen years. nice and low. nice and wide. well balanced. 50 mpg. easy to handle. Said to be a great first bike or a ladies'ride. For me it was a re-entry to the motorcycle world. Hadn't had a bike for thirty years. see this link: https://www.popularmechanics.com/cars/a12889/4289328/
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Doug Carr

Texas

Reviewed on 2021-08-02

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha Stratoliner

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I tried a Harley Road King prior to buying my Stratoliner. Absolutely no regrets. These bikes are beasts. Never a breakdown, incredible torque, nimble, a smooth pleasure to ride. You will not be disappointed. From my FaceBook post on Yamaha Stratoliner/Roadliner Owners: "Great bike, great price! People that have never ridden one, don’t have a clue!!!!!" "Strats are 1854 cc and referred to as 1900 cc. Tremendous torque, plenty of power when riding double with luggage. Solo it’s a monster." "Great deal!" "... ok, my brother lives in Dallas I'm forwarding this ad for him to look at if not sold by next week." "...good luck if I were in the market it would be gone."
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

stephen hiter

New York

Reviewed on 2020-12-06

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha stratoliner

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The 2009 Stratoliner S that I have is very powerful, quick, comfortable, stylish, with agility. I have ridden motorcycles for 50 years and am 61 years old. The Stratoliner is the travel version of the roadliner. The only thing that I can think of that I would change about the Stratoliner is for the motorcycle to have increased breathing for the cooling system. It has an 1854 CC / 113.1 Ci engine that requires optimum cooling.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

swhiter1959

New York

Reviewed on 2020-09-25

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha Stratoliner S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have ridden my 2009 Stratoliner S for nearly 10,000 miles of highway/city/country roads... The bike runs and performs very well. The finish, performance, and reliability are tops. The only problem I have had is that 1854 CC can get very hot especially in warm weather temperatures. I feel that the design did not take that into account. Other than that, the motorcycle is very attractive, runs extremely well, and has not given me one bit of trouble. The odometer currently is just past the 20,000 mark.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (12)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

rod.ruger

Indiana

Reviewed on 2020-07-27

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha V-Star 950

Shop this motorcycle

4.8
I just purchased this 2009 MC used for $3800. 2960 miles in seemingly perfect condition w/windshield (after-market), roll bars, padded passenger/sissy bar, everything else is factory. I've owned 3 previous 1100 cruisers. The 950 seems spunkier, easy to handle, smooth, and comfortable. Several reviews on YouTube, all of which laud this bike. Now, it's too dam hot to ride!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

bob v

north east

Reviewed on 2017-06-12

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha fjr1300

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
This is my second one and love it. Agile when you want it to be and an all day tourer on the next. Very dependable, fast, smooth and comfortable.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (11)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 20
  • 1 - 10 of 195 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: