Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2009 Yamaha Raider S Cruiser reviews

5.0
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.9

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Cruisers

Reviews

10 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Chris Roberts

Seminole, Florida

Reviewed on 2010-04-02

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha Raider S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
When I decided to get back into riding I bought an 800cc cruiser to get back my motorcycle legs. Then went to every manufacture demo ride that I could find to see what the all the new bikes were like. When I went to the Yamaha demo I like the look of the Raider but thought that it would be too heavy and it would be hard to steer. I was so surprised with the Raider. All of the other bikes I rode from then on I compared to the Raider.. I rode the HD V-Rod and Rocker along with the Suzuki M109R and Victory Vegas but none of them matched up with the power, ride and handling of the Raider. It's got the looks with lots of muscle but it's agile too! It's The Power Cruiser to beat at this point!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tom

dayton, Ohio

Reviewed on 2011-08-08

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha Raider S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
My Raider is a 2008. I bought it in Feb., 2009. I ride when ever the weather lets me. It handles great. The bike speaks for itself. I was looking to buy the M109 and then I sat on the Raider. I told the salesman ring me up on this one. It handles well for all my needs. I have the red w/flames. I love the black power coated.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Curtis K

Jax , Florida

Reviewed on 2011-02-21

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha Raider S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I started out with a Roadliner but wanted the Raider; however, it didn't have enough leg room. Since the 5-inch extensions came out, I HAD TO HAVE THE RAIDER and haven't looked back since. This is one bad son of a gun. This bike begs for attention and the fella gets it! Yamaha hit the mark with the Raider.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Don O'Brien

Raymond, New Hampshire

Reviewed on 2010-04-23

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha Raider S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I first sat on a Raider last summer at an open house at a dealership. I wasn't looking for a bike at the time rather I rode my 1980 XS1100 Special there and thought I was happy with that bike. I took a Raider for a test ride and when I returned, my response was, "Where do I sign?" What an unbelievably comfortable ride. Low and well balanced, PLENTY of power, smooth as can be and a great looking bike that turns plenty of heads. The only negative thoughts were the exhaust pipes as I thought they were way too bulky. I immediately replaced them with the Vance & Hines pipes. No issues at all with attempting to get around large trucks on the highway. Just a slight turn on the throttle and you'll go from 60 mph to 80 mph with barely any effort. Riding with a passenger is effortless for the powerful 1854 cc engine. This bike is my absolute favorite. I wouldn't trade it for anything...except maybe the new 2010 Blue Raider. lol
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

russ johnson

modesto, California

Reviewed on 2009-12-08

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha Raider S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is my first cruiser. I've had 35 motorcycles since 1974. I have ridden many cruisers, but this has got to be the smoothest and most comfortable with the most power and agile handling for a long wheel-base! Thank you Yamaha for showing the rest how it should be done.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

ben fagan

lakeville, Indiana

Reviewed on 2009-07-14

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha Raider S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The Raider is the most impressive bike when it comes down to it. No other cruiser can compare to the bike in any aspect of the ride. It simply blows any cruiser out of the water especially Harleys. Smooth ride with the wide rear tire and amazing torque combines to make it the best. I traded my 2007 Honda vtx in for the Raider and that was the best decision I have made.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

geoff

Castle Rock, Colorado

Reviewed on 2009-06-26

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha Raider S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have 4 bikes in my garage that I can ride, BMW R1200RT, FZ1, SV1000S, and the Raider. The other bikes where made to handle well and they do. The Raider S with the racked out front, does not give the appearance of a bike that turns well. But after a couple of hours on the bike, dragging the foot pegs is no problem, and it is fun to do. The bike has one bad ass motor also. Put the V/H 2 into 1 pipe and WOW, it sounds better then any Harley that I have heard and does awesome burn outs.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Steve

Gainesville, Florida

Reviewed on 2009-06-07

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha Raider S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought this in Feb 09 as a demo with 600 mi. I have the Tommy Blue S. It's cool that the color has been discontinued as not many others on the road. Also, not many in Gainesville, so I get a lot of comments from other riders. The bike is very easy to ride and is well balanced. I think it's kind of easy to corner, but you do have to give it a little more throttle into the turn. Plenty of power. A sixth gear would be nice. Only add on so far is a sissy bar for my wife. I tried a windshield, but it seemed to add to the wind noise. Comfortable saddle too. Would get another one in a second.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dave

Belton, Texas

Reviewed on 2009-06-01

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha Raider S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought the Raider March of 09 and from the moment I saw it - I was in love with the looks. I describe the looks as intimidating. It has such a great balance and sits so nice underneath the rider that it is almost indescrible. You just have to experience the feel. On the road - ir rides just a little rough because of the low profile tire on the back but the wind goes right over the top of you without a windshield. Most cruisers need a windshield, not the Raider though. My first thought as I pulled out of the parking lot onto the road - Whoa baby! - absolutely amazing. Cap this feel with the outstanding relationship that the people at the dealership develop with their customers - you have a winning combination, something to be proud of, and something to ride and brag about. You don't have to brag too much though - the Raider and crew at the store rake in the compliments.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mickey

Conroe, Texas

Reviewed on 2009-01-25

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha Raider S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought this new in November of 2008. I had been considering another brand until I rented one. Even with a windshield, the other brand had a rough, windblown ride above 65 mph. The vibrations felt in sixth gear at the foot pegs were very uncomfortable for my passenger. The Raider, on the other hand, allows me to cruise at 80 mph without a windshield and it feels very comfortable and controllable. It has a smooth ride and tremendous power. I added a set of Cobra dragsters, power commander and a K&N air filter. The bike now has even more power and great throttle response. I have to watch my speed when getting on a freeway. It effortlessly will hit 85-90 and still be on the on ramp. Passing a car just requires a small twist of the throttle, just hold on tight. The bike gets a lot of compliments, both on looks and exhaust note, even from riders of other brands. Cornering on this bike does take some getting used to. It feels like you have to force it through the corner. With a little more throttle, it is not a problem. The only thing negative that I can say about this bike is the tank should be bigger. Four gallons doesn't get you very far down the road. I get about 35 mpg on average. I maybe could get higher mileage if I rode it more sedately, but that isn't why I bought it. You can't go wrong with this bike. Get one and ride it like you stole it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 1 - 10 of 10 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: