Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2009 Yamaha V Star 950 Cruiser reviews

5.0
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.2

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Cruisers

Reviews

17 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

thomas poelking

Ohio

Reviewed on 2021-08-02

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha V Star 950

Shop this motorcycle

4.3
Had this bike for a dozen years. nice and low. nice and wide. well balanced. 50 mpg. easy to handle. Said to be a great first bike or a ladies'ride. For me it was a re-entry to the motorcycle world. Hadn't had a bike for thirty years. see this link: https://www.popularmechanics.com/cars/a12889/4289328/
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dean Herring

Nampa, Idaho

Reviewed on 2011-12-08

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha V Star 950

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have been riding bikes since I was 11 years old, and (at 56 now) that means I have spent a lot of time on two wheels. My 950 is the best bike I have ever ridden - by far! It has plenty of power, and the balance is second to none. The throaty sound of the stock pipes as you take to the road is music to my ears. You will not regret buying this bike. It is in a class by itself.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

G

New Brunswick, New Jersey

Reviewed on 2011-02-25

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha V Star 950

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought my 2009 V Star 950 in April of 2010 and by November 2010 I had 14,000 miles on it (I took it 12,000 miles around America for the summer). The bike really is great, especially for the price. It handles great while being a big solid bike. It also has enough speed where it will do anything I need it to, without ever getting out of control. It has plenty of power for 2-up riding. I have had absolutely no mechanical problems and have only changed the oil myself (very easy to do). I will take it in for the full 16,000 mile service, though. The only problems were with the stock seat and that it vibrates a bit over 75 mph. I put the Mustang seat on it and can now easily ride for 600 miles a day without a break. Kuryakan grips help with the vibrations, which really aren't bad to begin with. I get around 55 mpg. around town and about 47 mpg. on the highway. The bike is a real looker, a very sleek and sporty cruiser. Although people do ask me "What's a Star?" every once in a while, they tend to be people who only know about Harley's. There might be better bikes out there, but you will have to pay a lot more for a small increase in quality and performance.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tony D Tiger

Dawsvonville, Georgia

Reviewed on 2010-09-18

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha V Star 950

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
After owning this bike for 6 months and 5600 miles, there have been no problems with this bike. Even after riding other bikes at demo days, nothing compares with the maneuverability, power and speed of this bike. I just wish the seat was comfortable enough to allow riding until the tank is empty before a need to get off and walk.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dot

Southaven, Mississippi

Reviewed on 2010-09-10

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha V Star 950

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I was at the dealer the morning they pulled the Candy Red 950 onto the showroom floor...it was love at first site. It rides good, handles good, has more than enough power and the seat height is good for my short legs. The stock seat is a little uncomfortable so I will probably get a gel seat for it. I can't believe I waited so long to trade in my 650 Custom. My husband and I have been looking at the 950's for a long time so he decided to trade up to the 950 the same week (his is black). We do a lot of long distance traveling so we can't wait to take our first trip.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Debbie

Vancouver, British Columbia

Reviewed on 2010-08-08

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha V Star 950

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I fell in love with this bike at the Greater Vancouver motorcyles show and had to have it..I was right. It is so easy to ride and feels great. I don't have many choices at my height so this bike is great. I have to agree with one of the other reviews about the seat. I have installed a Mustang Daytripper and it's a huge difference. Thanks Yamaha!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bobbie

Kerrville, Texas

Reviewed on 2010-03-29

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha V Star 950

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Lovin it!!! Low seat height and lots of power. Added Risers to bring the handle bars back and much more comfortable, stock seat kinda hard, added a gel pad and no more hot spots. No regrets great ride!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Rusty Baker

Gumboro, Delaware

Reviewed on 2010-03-22

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha V Star 950

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I recently bought the 950 V Star the later part of 09. I looked at a lot of cruisers after my sport bike days and found this one to just what the doctor ordered. The low center of gravity makes it a well balanced bike, the style makes it a beautiful bike to look at going down the road. Compared to other bikes I looked at, this gave me my monies worth and more. I can say with all honesty that I'm proud of my 950 V Star and would highly recommend it to any one.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Andy F.

West Bountiful, Utah

Reviewed on 2010-03-16

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha V Star 950

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is an AWESOME bike. Previously I had a reliable 1982 Virago that made me stay with the Yamaha product line. The salesperson said that Yamaha was now marketing their bikes as Star bikes to keep in step with USA made products. I think that the YAMAHA brand name needs to be clearly labeled as it is a well-made product. We Yamaha owners should be proud of our bikes an be able to show the name off to all who admire our machines. The only fault I find with this bike is the noise the engine/exhaust makes as you downshift prior to stopping. I was told that this is normal for the Vstar.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

MikeK

Niantic, Illinois

Reviewed on 2010-03-06

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha V Star 950

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
WOW! What a bike. Bought in December and finally had a chance to ride for first time today. What a thrill. I was worried this would be too much bike for me, but how quickly I was proved wrong. Low seat height, well balanced and excellent handling. I had no issues handling the bike and it leans well (no footboard scraping yet). I gave comfort a 4 Star only because of the whimpy stock seat/pillion. I bought an after market Mustang seat and would recommend highly that you purchase an aftermarket seat. Riding position is excellent and first time I used footboards and they're great. Accelerates to highway speed very quickly. The gear ratios are a tad on the high side, but are easily learned.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 17 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: