yamaha v star 950 tourer Cruisers Reviews (23)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with yamaha v star 950 tourer Cruisers Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any yamaha v star 950 tourer Cruisers? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2017-05-02 2009 Yamaha v star 950 tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
been riding the bike about 3 weeks. Only negative thing I can say is that I feel some vibration at speeds above 70 mph. Also, the stand footrests tend to scrape the pavement if you lean to much on turns.
- sal, Fontana, Calif

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-12-03 2009 Yamaha v star 950 tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Overall, it's a great bike. The only reason for the 2 star on comfort was the passenger seat. The passenger seat was very uncomfortable for the passenger. But after replacing the seat with a Mustang seat, she no longer complains. Other than that, it has been a dependable bike.
- Houdini, metropolis, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-05-01 2009 Yamaha v star 950 tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Updating my 9/2010 review - I just upgraded my Star 950 with a Cobra 2215 slip-on muffler, Cobra Fi2000R O2 fuel managment system and a K&N air filter. What a difference! This thing runs with big dogs, sounds like the big dogs and still gets 46 mpg! Also, regarding the valve train noise - it's still there but greatly diminished by changing to Mobil 1 Racing 4T full synthetic motorcycle oil. Do it ASAP - no need to wait.
- KLo, Lawrenceville, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-11-24 2009 Yamaha v star 950 tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just purchased the V-Star 950 Tourer on 11-22-10 and it's my first bike. After taking my motorcycle class on a Suzuki 250cc piece of junk, the V-Star was a dream. I'm still getting used to the handling but the suspension, acceleration, breaking and shifting are all perfect. I am 6'0" tall and 167 lbs. and I have no problem with ergonomic comfort. For me, this is the perfect first bike. I looked at quite a few before I chose the V-Star: Suzuki M50 and C50T Boulevard, Kawasaki Vulcan 900 classic LT and even a few Honda's. The Yamaha V-Star 950 beat them all hands down; in looks and style, power and reliability. This bike will be with me for quite a while.
- Shakik Swiggett, Odenton, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-11-03 2009 Yamaha v star 950 tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my bike just over a year ago and before that I had not been on one in three years. I started off of on a CB750K, then had to sell it when I moved down here. This bike is great for someone who is not a beginner but also not advanced rider. This bike rides great and is fun to ride. The saddle bags are just big enough to hold stuff when making stops at a store. This bike is great for in town rides and to ride to some neighborhood towns around the area. I have had it up to 70 mph and it handles just great. I am very pleased with it and believe that I paid a fair price for it. The staff at the local dealership was very professional to me when I purchased the bike and I would send anyone there to purchase a bike.
- Bryan, Belleville, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-10-19 2009 Yamaha v star 950 tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's one of the best all-around bikes I have had. I did a two-up 5-day ride for almost 3,000 miles and got 43 mpg. Sometimes it rode faster than the speed limit. It's smooth and fun. Check it out for yourself.
- Frank, Brownsville, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-04-10 2009 Yamaha v star 950 tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Picked up my 2009 Star Tourer today. This bike is awesome! Runs and handles great, the ride is so sweet I can't say enough about it. Love it, will be telling my friends to ride a Star motorcycle.
- Mark Hopkins, Poplar Bluff, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-01-26 2009 Yamaha v star 950 tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was wanting a bike that was great for zipping around town but was also able to take off for a road ride as well. The salesman had me look at the 1100 VStar which was discontinued after 2009 and then he had shown me the 950, the replacement for the 1100. Wow! This bike has fit the bill! I love this bike! It is a great balance of power and handling. I have only 650 miles so far and I am simply waiting for spring to ride a lot more. I can't wait. This is a great bike for the beginner and for the seasoned rider that simply wants a great riding machine.
- Greg, Springfield, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-01-03 2009 Yamaha v star 950 tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
However, that doesn't even BEGIN to describe this bike. I had a V-Star 650 and traded it for the 950. I (almost) can't believe the maneuverability that this bike has. It has a low center of gravity and makes going around corners a dream. I can't recommend this bike enough for those riders that want something sporty and fun!
- Traci Todora, Fredericksburg, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-01-03 2009 Yamaha v star 950 tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is, for all intensive purposes, my first real bike, I couldn't have picked a better one. As a novice/fair-weather rider, I didn't waste any available ride time. This bike handles better than I could have expected. This is my daily commuter, and weekend getaway. I usually run speed limits and am getting on average 54mpg. Three improvements I'd like to see is a taller windshield, and handlebars that are pulled back just a little further(short arms here!) as standard equipment, and a 6th (OD)gear (of course, there are days when reverse would be nice too!). A tour trunk as an option would be great for long trips.
- Jeff Baviera, Columbus, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-09-08 2009 Yamaha v star 950 tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am a returning rider(25 years later)and chose the 950 touring edition because of my size, the saddle bags and its weight. I was torn between selecting a smaller bike to acquire long forgotten skills and larger frame for my size. I enjoy the 950 and in my opinion it provides excellent value for newer and returning riders. It performs and handles well in the city and on the highway and has excellent fit and finish...I have heard many compliments so far. Budget permitting, I intend to purchase a larger windscreen, padded seat and highway pegs to better fit my height.
- JBP, Calgary, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-08-03 2009 Yamaha v star 950 tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This motorcycle has been my 4th bike and by far the very best. I have done a few cosmetic upgrades that really make it stand out from the pack, I remove all stickers especially the ugly STAR one it had below the seat. I added The Live to Ride, Ride to Live Air cleaner cover, Big bar engine guards, Passing Laps These Greatly Improve Night time visibility by 100% they are a must have & the Touring Luggage Rack. This motorcycle is an attention getter, so far every place I go people gives me good complement like: Great Looking Ride you have there, Very Nice Bike, That is one Big Beautiful Bike, Shiny Bike, Awesome looking Bike, Sexy motorcycle, That is a nice ride what is it? Who make is? etc. Most people believe it is a HD and they are much more surprise to learn what it costs. Now performance wise I have not done any upgrades since it is just about perfect the way it is, crisp acceleration, torque engine, very good brakes. This is my daily commuter I ride it every day, Hot, Cold, Rainy days except when it is very stormy very bad weather. This bike is very stable and manageable at all speeds from parking lot maneuvers at 1 mph to Hwy speeds of 80mph to 115mph, this bikes stability doesn't change. It is just rock solid. On the Hwy, at 115mph you just notice the wind blowing your legs and head out a bit, but this is easily managed by simply reducing your speed. I always ride at the speed limit 70mph to 75mph unless I have to pass a 18 wheeler or another vehicle that is just to close to me for my riding comfort. don't let other bikes with bigger engines fool you. This 950cc engine has more than enough power for your every day needs unless you are a speed junky that always ride 160mph +. This motorcycle will get you about 200 miles per tank of gas before needing to fill up. Note that the fuel light come on early when you still have 1.4 Gallons of fuel left and have ridden aprox 150 miles. This is a real story at one time I even push it to the limit and drove a whapping 235 miles on a tank before finally stopping for gas. That time I put 4.3 gallons of gas on my tank that was about 54 mpg. Not bad for a very affordable bike with a very responsive engine. I am very sure that I will not be upgrading this great bike for anything bigger any time soon. I may add in the future some performance stuff like Cobra pipes and Power Commander but I currently don't see the need for that at this time. All in all this is a Great 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th or simply your last motorcycle since I am sure you won't out grow it any time soon. Well take care, Ride to Live, Live to Ride, be safe & God Bless you.
- Jose, Fort Hood, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-19 2009 Yamaha v star 950 tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a great bike, I use this bike to commute to work 88 miles rt all freeway. The bike has just the right amount of power versus fuel consumption 'about 50-55mpg @ 65 -70 mph'. It tops out @ 110 mph with a very smooth ride, the only 3 upgrades I would do is a drivers back rest, a little taller wind shield and a trunk. This bike is beautiful and handles like a dream. I highly recommend this bike.
- Kevin Roberts, Kelso, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-08 2009 Yamaha v star 950 tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great bike. Purchased for my wife (5 foot,4 inches/125lbs) as a first bike, and for us to tour on. We have already taken it on a 450 mile round trip, averged 51-53 mpg, with 55 to 75 mph speeds. While it has the power to go over 75 mph and cruise there as long as you like, the wind and buffeting is a bit much on long rides. The sweet spot is between 55 - 70 mph, cruise range before reserve is 180 miles plus at these speeds, with about a 30-35 mile reserve range. She has tipped it over once (to the left side) while learning to ride it and practicing slow walking manuveres, no damage, floor boards saved it. The bike has great acceleration and handles like a dream. I expect my wife will not need any more coaching after another week of practicing with the bike. She has already taken the MSF course and received her license. We are very pleased that we did not buy a smaller bike (650), as we have had time to see that this bike is just the right size for her and will not have the mess with tradding one in for a bigger bike at a later date.
- Derick Trammell, Bonham, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-20 2009 Yamaha v star 950 tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Boy, Yamaha/Star got this one very nearly perfect! Light effortless handling lies about it's 660lb wet weight. The ride is smooth and secure with a big bike feel. The motor provides ample and smooth power delivery at all speeds for all but thrill junkies. Clean, low and sweeping lines and nice attention to detail provide for eye grabbing classy looks. This will be a perfect first or last bike for a very wide range of riders. We got it for my 5'4 inch wife's second bike and she is just crazy about it for all the right reasons. If you want me to nit pick, the stock tourer windshield is somewhat low for some riders but provides amazingly good, turbulent free protection for it's size to over 70 mph and offers a beautifully unobstructed view of the world going by. The seat is a little firm for very long rides compared to the best with the shape feeling a little hard in the tail bone for taller riders and on the sides of the thighs for shorter ones. And, the handle bars are too low and far forward for my wife for maximum comfort on long rides. Major plusses are flawless fuel injection that delivers 50 - 60 mpg for most rides, clean unobtrusive and nearly maintenance free belt drive, and great motorcycle 'feel' that just makes you want to ride all the time. This bike will put a smile on almost anyone from beginners, to relative newbies like my wife, to veterans who just want a fun, comfortable, easy, and economical all around cruiser. Try it, you'll like it - a lot!
- Skier Bob, St. Albans, Vermont

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-06 2009 Yamaha v star 950 tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
If you are looking for a quality bike at a GREAT price, then the 950 Tourer is the bike! Everyone who sees this bike loves it! Great riding bike also. Smooth shifting and handling. I had not ridden in years and the sales person, turned me on to this bike. I'm glad he did!
- Will, Dothan, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-11 2009 Yamaha v star 950 tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am a new rider and this is my second bike. I chose this bike because I did not want a huge bike to finish sharpening my riding skills. I was worried about 950cc displacement relative to my size, however, I feel I chose the right bike. I have 2200 miles on my bike, with most of those miles as weekend trips from south eastern Michigan to north western Indiana. I have found the bike to be enjoyable to ride on the highway and a real pleasure on the country roads. The bike has a great power band and has the torque ready when you feel you need it. I can cruise at 70-80 with the occasional sprint to 95 with little trouble. Cruising at 55-65 is where this bike really shines, feels good, sounds good, and is ready to run with a flick of the wrist. My only complaint is the seat/legroom. If I had highway pegs or a different seat I could ride for longer than two hours at a time. I average about 45mpg and greater on my two hour trips. Other than that, I love the bike. I would recommend to any new rider or a rider looking for a larger bike. Oh and I smoked a Harley 883 on the highway; he tried, but couldn't keep up with me. :)
- Michigan Rider, Northvill, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-04-26 2009 Yamaha v star 950 tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I wanted to wait a few miles (1400) before putting in this review. I looked at lot of other new bikes and finally decided on the Star950. I'm sure I made the right decision. The bike is exactly what I needed. The 950 is is exactly the right size. It cruises on the highway at a comfortable 70mph yet is easy to ride around town. It gets comments on it's good looks all over town. The seat is a tad uncomfortable after a long ride and needs to be replaced or a pad added (see upgrades).
- Phil Hughes, Jacksonville, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-04-17 2009 Yamaha v star 950 tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
For the last 8 years I rode a Vstar 1100 classic which I LOVED, then I attended an event and saw the Vstar 950 tourer, WOW!! The styling as well as the comfort of ride are amazing on this bike. I'm still braking it in so I really haven't gotten on it yet. The acceleration is smooth and responsive and it handles like a sport bike. It is well balanced and easy to move around on the road. I'm so glad I bought this bike and am looking forward to this riding season! Thanks Yamaha for making a beautiful and affordable bike!
- Ron Goforth, Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-04-13 2009 Yamaha v star 950 tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My VStar 650 was in the shop for about a month so the Yamaha dealer let me take their demo 950 Tourer on a roadtrip to Fredericksburg in March. At first I was a little hesitant but I hopped on and didn't look back. I put over 700 miles on the demo. This bike is so smooth and the handling on the curvy back roads is awesome. This bike is a good size for any lady rider!!! You sit low and comfy in the seat. Long story short-I finally got my 650 outta the shop and traded it in the next day on a Black Cherry Tourer!!! I have a little over 100 mi on it. Go get ya one-you won't regret it!!!!
- Traci, North Richland Hills, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-04-12 2009 Yamaha v star 950 tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The choices: V Star 950, Kawi 900, or Suzuki M50-Read every review out there on each and chose the 950 Silver Tourer...So happy I did!!! Bought the 950 as an upgrade from the 650, which I rode for 4 years. The 650 was great, but not enough power for the highway and a bit small for my longer legs (32 inch inseam). The 950 is perfect! Seat is more comfortable than the 650, power is awesome; never looking for a 6th gear which seems to be a common complaint with the other bikes that were on my list and keeps up with a VTX 1300 on the highway. Shifts smoothly, fuel injection makes for reliable and quick roll-on power, handlebar position is right on and it is extremely well balanced and agile for such a long wheelbase. I dragged my pegs regularly on the 650 and, though every review indicates the 950 touches down too easily, I'm not dragging the floorboards as readily as I did the pegs on the 650. Windshield is short, and causes a lot of wind buffeting against the helmet, but not unbearable at all. Overall a great ride for anyone with some experience and women looking for an upgrade! (sorry guys, had to give the props to the other women riders out there) Go buy one!
- Me, Hebron, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-03-30 2009 Yamaha v star 950 tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After riding a V Star 650 for over 3 years, I was ready for a bigger bike. With my short legs, I needed something I could flat foot when I was stopped. I had read reviews on some of the women riders' sites and liked what I saw. My husband and I went down to the Yamaha dealer and sat on the 950 V Star. It was love at first sight. This bike is stylish and smooth. I just had to ride it. It was a cold Feb. day, but it was worth getting chilled for the thrill of being back in the saddle. We got back to the dealership and made a deal for the silver touring model. It only took a month to get over 600 miles on it. I am ready for the first service. We have a trip to California scheduled for the end of April. I can't wait to show my bike off on the road. Thanks Yamaha for an easy ride.
- Carol, Meridian, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-02-24 2009 Yamaha v star 950 tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This motorcycle doesn't need any mechanical or cosmetic upgrades. It is just amazing the way it comes out of the box. It has looks, performance, comfort, it's quality built and the fuel injection is awesome. I had been looking for a nice bike to replace my beloved previous bike for a few weeks. I went to many dealers around the central TX area. I took test drives on all kinds of bikes. They were all great bikes but all had something in common - the seat was painful in the groin area after about 30 minutes. This Yamaha was the very last bike I test drove and when I finished my 45 minute test drive I was just amazed on how nicely it handled and how strong and powerful this fuel injected 950 is. Wow, I was sold on this new Yamaha. This bike handles amazingly well on all speeds; from 15 mph to 100 mph you really don't feel any difference. This machine is super stable and you don't have to evade the bumps or potholes on the streets since you would not even feel them. The stock seat is super comfy. I only have about 145 miles on it but I have only been with the bike one day. I am sure that before the end of this month I am going to be doing my first service since I really enjoy this bike very much. I am sure that if you are looking for a nice bike and do what I did - go for as many test drives as you can with all manufactures and leave the Yamaha 950 for last - you will really appreciate the difference like I did. You are going to settle on this one.
- Jose, Fort Hood, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: