Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2009 Yamaha v star 950 tourer Cruiser reviews

5.0
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.5

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Cruisers

Reviews

24 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

sal

Fontana, Calif

Reviewed on 2017-05-02

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha v star 950 tourer

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
been riding the bike about 3 weeks. Only negative thing I can say is that I feel some vibration at speeds above 70 mph. Also, the stand footrests tend to scrape the pavement if you lean to much on turns.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (7)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Joe H

Massachusetts

Reviewed on 2022-08-05

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha v star 950 tourer

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Rode the VStar 950 tourer for 4 years and loved it. Great for newer riders and anyone looking for just the right amount of power for highway and backroads. Very good ergonomic design for longer rides. Plenty of storage in standard side bags. This is also an excellent value for a bike loaded with features at a price point well below some of the other big names.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Houdini

metropolis, Illinois

Reviewed on 2011-12-03

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha v star 950 tourer

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Overall, it's a great bike. The only reason for the 2 star on comfort was the passenger seat. The passenger seat was very uncomfortable for the passenger. But after replacing the seat with a Mustang seat, she no longer complains. Other than that, it has been a dependable bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
2.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

KLo

Lawrenceville, Georgia

Reviewed on 2011-05-01

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha v star 950 tourer

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Updating my 9/2010 review - I just upgraded my Star 950 with a Cobra 2215 slip-on muffler, Cobra Fi2000R O2 fuel managment system and a K&N air filter. What a difference! This thing runs with big dogs, sounds like the big dogs and still gets 46 mpg! Also, regarding the valve train noise - it's still there but greatly diminished by changing to Mobil 1 Racing 4T full synthetic motorcycle oil. Do it ASAP - no need to wait.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Shakik Swiggett

Odenton, Maryland

Reviewed on 2010-11-24

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha v star 950 tourer

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just purchased the V-Star 950 Tourer on 11-22-10 and it's my first bike. After taking my motorcycle class on a Suzuki 250cc piece of junk, the V-Star was a dream. I'm still getting used to the handling but the suspension, acceleration, breaking and shifting are all perfect. I am 6'0" tall and 167 lbs. and I have no problem with ergonomic comfort. For me, this is the perfect first bike. I looked at quite a few before I chose the V-Star: Suzuki M50 and C50T Boulevard, Kawasaki Vulcan 900 classic LT and even a few Honda's. The Yamaha V-Star 950 beat them all hands down; in looks and style, power and reliability. This bike will be with me for quite a while.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bryan

Belleville, Illinois

Reviewed on 2010-11-03

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha v star 950 tourer

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I purchased my bike just over a year ago and before that I had not been on one in three years. I started off of on a CB750K, then had to sell it when I moved down here. This bike is great for someone who is not a beginner but also not advanced rider. This bike rides great and is fun to ride. The saddle bags are just big enough to hold stuff when making stops at a store. This bike is great for in town rides and to ride to some neighborhood towns around the area. I have had it up to 70 mph and it handles just great. I am very pleased with it and believe that I paid a fair price for it. The staff at the local dealership was very professional to me when I purchased the bike and I would send anyone there to purchase a bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Frank

Brownsville, Texas

Reviewed on 2010-10-19

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha v star 950 tourer

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
It's one of the best all-around bikes I have had. I did a two-up 5-day ride for almost 3,000 miles and got 43 mpg. Sometimes it rode faster than the speed limit. It's smooth and fun. Check it out for yourself.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mark Hopkins

Poplar Bluff, Missouri

Reviewed on 2010-04-10

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha v star 950 tourer

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Picked up my 2009 Star Tourer today. This bike is awesome! Runs and handles great, the ride is so sweet I can't say enough about it. Love it, will be telling my friends to ride a Star motorcycle.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Greg

Springfield, Missouri

Reviewed on 2010-01-26

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha v star 950 tourer

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I was wanting a bike that was great for zipping around town but was also able to take off for a road ride as well. The salesman had me look at the 1100 VStar which was discontinued after 2009 and then he had shown me the 950, the replacement for the 1100. Wow! This bike has fit the bill! I love this bike! It is a great balance of power and handling. I have only 650 miles so far and I am simply waiting for spring to ride a lot more. I can't wait. This is a great bike for the beginner and for the seasoned rider that simply wants a great riding machine.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Traci Todora

Fredericksburg, Texas

Reviewed on 2010-01-03

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha v star 950 tourer

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
However, that doesn't even BEGIN to describe this bike. I had a V-Star 650 and traded it for the 950. I (almost) can't believe the maneuverability that this bike has. It has a low center of gravity and makes going around corners a dream. I can't recommend this bike enough for those riders that want something sporty and fun!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1 - 10 of 24 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: