Harley-Davidson Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (35)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Harley-Davidson Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Art from Interlochen, Michigan says:

I sold my 2003 Superglide and bought a 2010 Softail. The classic nostalgic look really appealed to me. On my first ride I felt like I had went f

Read More (35 reviews)

Have you owned a Harley-Davidson Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

Voted Most Helpful Review 2010 Harley-Davidson Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I sold my 2003 Superglide and bought a 2010 Softail. The classic nostalgic look really appealed to me. On my first ride I felt like I had went from driving a Ford Escort to a Cadillac. It was so smooth and just as easy to manuever even though it was bigger all around. I downgraded the perfomance to four stars purely due to the fact the stock exhaust is too quiet. People around here hear you on the road before they see you. I have purchased some Vance and Hines Straight Shot Slip Ons and now I have the sound I want. I can't wait to take my first long distance ride on this beauty.
- Art, Interlochen, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-11-02 2010 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my 2010 Ultra Classic used in 2011. I have ridden about 13k miles since then. My previous bike was a 2008 Ultra Classic. Both are great bikes. The 2010 has the new frame and bigger back tire. You get a more stable ride on the newer bike, especially at higher speeds, but noticeably stiffer. I have upgraded my 2010 a lot. It is a blast to ride. It is dependable, and will take you to work or to another country. If you're thinking about either a Honda Gold Wing, or a Harley, let me say this: The Honda is faster, smoother, and quieter. But the Harley is more fun.
- Kevin, Tallahassee, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-04-20 2010 Harley-Davidson Dyna Fat Bob Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After drooling over this bike for three months, I finally got it in late February, 2011. This was the best purchase I have ever made. Every second I am on this bike I'm having a great time. I regularly drive on freeways, in the city, through the mountains or up the coast. It has handled great in all conditions. You do scrape the exhaust and pegs on the twisties. I only gave it a 4 star for comfort because my butt does get sore on long rides.
- William Thigpen, Santa Clara, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-03-22 2010 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my E Glide used with 25k miles on it. So far I have put an additional 8k on it with no more than regular service. Coming off a modern sportbike, the E Glide is heavy and feels a lot more basic. But this is a time tested V Twin and runs like a top. I have never had any "5th gear whine" from my bike or oil leaks. My only comment is the cat in the head pipe builds up a lot of heat. I decided to cut my cat out and it made a 20+ degree difference with no ill effects to the bike.
- Hobo99, kewanee, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-03-02 2010 Harley-Davidson Road Glide Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike in Febraury, 2011 with the intention of riding it to Strokers Dallas. I love this bike. My wife and I had no problem riding all the way to Texas with all our stuff. The power is plenty and storage was something I was not used to since I'm used to riding a Softail Standard. I had to get rid of the sorry excuse of a windshield and bought a Windvest, much better. I traded the seat for a Mustang. We had no problem putting 550 miles a day on it although the bars could use some elevation. But when I got home I took all of the after market stuff off and now the only thing after market on it is the windshield. It is a very comfortable bike in its stock configuration but by adding the seat, it raised me up two inches which made the bars too low. It's faster than the Softail I had so I have not felt the need to start doing performance upgrades to it. Plus I like being able to hear the radio and not getting everybody upset in every small town we rode through. We did 4,000 miles in two weeks. So I think I will just leave it alone for now. In closing I wish I would have started on this bike. It would have saved me a lot of money and aches and pain.
- Keelo, Simi Valley, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-01-31 2010 Harley-Davidson Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After deploying to Iraq, I was determined to reward myself by finally learning how to ride a motorcycle. (Not an easy thing for a guy over 40 years old.) I took the course (passing the second time) and went to a Harley Davidson dealer in Fairfax, Virginia. While I loved the style of the Road King, Fat Boy, and Softail, the massive size of those models to a first-time rider were daunting. I chose to purchase a Dyna Super Glide, which would serve as a nice commuting vehicle and give me a comfortable option to cross state lines while touring. The stock seat leaves a little to be desired for rides over two hours long. Otherwise, I am delighted with it. It has a managable weight, great acceleration and response and it's affordable enough that I could spend more money for custom parts and paint. Being a year-round rider, my first riding experience has been ongoing for a year and a half and I haven't looked back. (Just checked over the shoulders while changing lanes.) Thank you, HD!
- MajorSidekick, Herndon, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-08-27 2010 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I wasn't going to get a bagger but was talked into it by a co-worker. I admit, I couldn't be happier with my ultimate decision. I looked at the Victory Cross Country and absolutely couldn't get past the styling...too preppy, not enough attitude. I admit the only complaint is that it is not as powerful, but not by much. Harley did a great job with this bike and I love the single exhaust, not the norm and that's why it's cool in my opinion.
- Todd, Goffstown, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-08-08 2010 Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Ultra Limited Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is all that I was looking for when going from a 96 FXSTS to a touring bike. It was a bit intimidating at first but this handles as good as the Springer in the mountian curves. It has great power for a 900 lb. bike. There is also lots of comfort on those 600-mile days while riding 2 Up and great gas mileage. I laughed about the heated hand grips until I used them for the first time. They kept my hands warm to hot in the upper 30's while on the Interstate, I'm not laughing anymore. I just love this bike and hate to have to decide between this and FXSTS on sunny days.
- woody, Chas, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-01-12 2010 Harley-Davidson Road Glide Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my fifth bike, and as far as I'm concerned, it's the last bike I'll ever buy. What I mean by that is that it doesn't get any better than this; there's no bike out there that I'd rather have. Sure, the Electra Glides are supposedly nicer, but I have no desire for a full dresser bike. For what I'm looking for. this is as good as it gets. As far as reliability goes, I've never had a major issue with any of my Harleys, and this one is no exception. All of the issues that I have had (relatively few, and minor as they were), were all handled by the dealer quickly and professionally. I had all the upgrades listed below installed before I took delivery of the bike, so I can't compare it's current performance to stock, but if the dyno-sheet is any comparison, there is no comparison. I'm putting down 107 lb./ft. of torque to the rear wheel, and that is just nuts. For such a big, heavy bike, this thing is really really quick. My last bike was a V-rod, so I know quick, and while it obviously isn't V-rod quick, it's impressive nonetheless. It pulls hard from 2.5k, all the way to redline, and does it all over again when you hit the next gear. In the comfort department, this is easily the most comfortable bike I've ever owned. The stock seat wasn't great, but I think I was a bit tall for it; once I got the tallboy seat on there, it fit me like a glove. I took it out for a four-hour ride the day after I replaced the seat, and I was amazed at how long I was able to ride without stopping to rest or stretch. I've ridden between Des Moines and Minneapolis with only a single stop, and that was for gas. There's a bit of wind buffeting with the low windshield, but it's not bad, and a shorter rider might not even notice it. As far as quality goes, I'm a Quality Assurance Engineer by profession, and I'm not easy to please. I couldn't find a single fit or finish issue on the bike when I took delivery, and that's saying something. When I bought my new jeep last year, it wasn't five minutes before I had found several issues needing attention by the dealer. I don't care what anyone says, the quality of a modern Harley is second to none. Overall, I love this bike more than is probably healthy. My only regret was that I had to trade in my V-rod to get it. If I could have kept them both, I would have.
- Andy Weber, Urbandale, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-01-09 2010 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I agree in every way with a previous rater. I too have been a Goldwing owner for the last 20 yrs. Riding an Ultra Classic is what I call riding a motorcycle! It has awesome balance and a low center of gravity. I could go on and on. The only thing I could come up with that the Goldwing can challenge this bike is on throttle response and acceleration. For me the 96 is strong enough, besides I'm in a "geezer glide" stage of my life. If I was younger I might opt for a street glide with a stage kit. If you have never ridden an 09 or newer FLHTCU, give it a try. The improved frame design, larger front wheel and 6 speed (helicut 5th) gearing is great. I just completed a North Dakota-New York summer trip and back in 11 days. I had a great ride and no driver's discomfort.
- Chris, Dickinson, North Dakota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-11-22 2010 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I absolutely love this bike and have for a long time. However, now that Harley finally put a decent color (Flat Black) on a tour bike, I had to get one. The ride is that of a sport bike with the comfort of a lazy boy, well laid-out controls although the radio control on the right side is a bit difficult to use while keeping your hand on the throttle. My truly only complaint is the single side exhaust. Apparently Harley heard that from a lot of people as the immediately returned to the dual exhaust for 2011...figures! Otherwise, I truly couldn't be happier. 15,000 miles in a year, yup you could say I enjoy it !
- RatRodTony, Winter Garden, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-10-25 2010 Harley-Davidson Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
We had an 09 Electra Glide Classic, but being as though we don't ride long distances very often, the bike was almost too much. We went back to a Road King, and for the wife and I, it's the perfect machine. The comfort, performance, and handling are sensational. I did add a comfort stitch seat, rider & passenger backrests, and 14" ape hangers handle bars. The bars make all the difference in the world. It's a great all-purpose bike.
- JB, Rochester, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-10-01 2010 Harley-Davidson Dyna Fat Bob Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I moved up from an 883 Sportster. The larger engine and six-speed transmission make all the difference in the world. It has great torque and power, it's very smooth and has great suspension. I'm still getting used to the forward controls, but so far, so good.
- JohnM, Las Vegas, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-09-30 2010 Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Ultra Limited Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my seventh HD and by far it is the best ever. The 103 engine is superb; the six speed makes touring a real delight. Almost 5,000 miles of pure bliss on this one. The new frame and suspension are fabulous; the ABS has saved my life twice - a deer once and a cage the second. I'm getting 40-42 mpg. in all-around riding; high of 44 on one 600-mile trip. This bike gets a ton of compliments.
- anonymous, Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-08-18 2010 Harley-Davidson Dyna Street Bob Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I really like this bike. Yeah, I've owned faster, more powerful, even "softer" riding motorcyles, but this one is so much fun to ride. It sounds good for a stock bike, too. It's not my first Harley (my 4th). I had an '06 Goldwing but the 1000 lbs was getting to be too much. This bike is 400 lbs lighter. Heck...when I'm not riding it I even enjoy just looking at it.
- Steve Perdue, El Cajon, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-08-10 2010 Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Ultra Limited Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I traded in a 2008 Road King with 8,0000 miles. The ride, comfort and handling cannot be compared. Cornering is a dream and cannot wait to get to the next curve. This bike has made riding fun and comfortable again. I have ridden 2300 miles in 95-100 degree heat.
- Monty Bryant, Pelham, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-08-03 2010 Harley-Davidson Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased this bike over a year ago and 5500 miles later it is still running perfect. The performance on the bike is the only negative especially if you want to get on the freeway. It vibrates badly at speeds over 80 mph. I solved this problem by having a 103 engine installed and now it is perfect. The handling, comfort (with modifications), style, reliability and now performance are perfect. I have had three different Harleys and this one by far is the best. In my humble opinion the Road King Classic is the perfect blend of a classic and modern cruiser.
- thefloasyouknow, Auburn hills , Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-07-31 2010 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Only 20 miles on it, but I can give some first impressions. Handling: This is only my second motorcycle, my first being an 883 sporty. I was pleasantly surprised how easily this bike is to ride around parking lots, corners and down dirt roads. Once moving above 5 mph, it doesn't feel too much different than the Sporty. The only time you 'feel' the weight is when backing it into the garage. It is much easier backing it up pushing with your legs than trying to push it forward. It's a heavy bugger, but well-balanced, easy to keep up with one leg at a stop light. Drivetrain: As expected the engine is much more powerful than the Sportster but fits the bike well. The bike's very smooth, very little vibration felt in bars and footboards. It shifts well but neutral is hard to find. I suspect this will get better as my toe and transmission breaks in (again only 20 miles on this bike). The heel shifter is different, I find myself using the toe shifter for upshifts. The motor seems to run hot on the left (exhaust) side. The motor is so new, I expect it to run hot for the first couple thousand miles. Admittedly, I was only riding around town so not a lot of airflow to cool things down, also. The bike sounds wonderful. It's not louder than the Sporty, but it has a deeper tone. There is a whine in first gear, with the clutch pulled in. I have read it's normal and will lessen with time. Odds & Ends: Fit and Finish are superb. It's a beautiful bike. The bags are easy to use. The horn is a real horn, not the roadrunner (meep meep) found on the Sporty. The radio controls seemed confusing in the manual (seems 1/2 the manual is dedicated to the radio). But they are intuitive once in use. The radio display is hard to see. I have no idea how the radio sounds at speed. I am keeping it off until I am used to riding a new bike - the fewer distractions the better. The riding position is perfect, seat is great and floorboards very comfy. The bike has ABS - hope to never try that feature out. I gave the reliability a 5 star rating. I am most surprised by the handling of the bike, I was a little concerned that moving from HD's smallest bike to it's largest would be difficult. The concern was unfounded, it handles super easy once moving faster than a walking pace. If your considering this bike but afraid of the weight, don't be. I whole-heartedly recommend this bike. Handling is great. Handles 'lightly' for a large bike.
- L, linden, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-07-31 2010 Harley-Davidson Sportster 883 Low Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love this bike. It's very light, powerful and well-balanced. It's good on long rides or short with a lot of add-ons available.
- David, Seneca, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-07-17 2010 Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Ultra Limited Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
April 24th traded in an '08 EGC with 26k trouble-free miles. The FLHTK had a lot to live up to. I love the handling and low end torque. The Fit finish, Merlot/Cherry Red and chrome wheels bring on a lot of attention and compliments. I put 6900 miles on a x-country trip, 1026 mi. the first day and it was a pleasure. The ride is a little stiffer but still very comfortable. I'm heading up to Glacier Park and west to Seattle in a couple of weeks. Sadly, no more summer vacation after that.
- mikekc7sdm, Wyoming

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-07-17 2010 Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Ultra Limited Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just had the 1k service done and the mpg went from 36 to 43. I also changed out the stock windshield for the Harley Wind Splitter which I am very pleased with.
- Dave, Ogdensburg, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-07-06 2010 Harley-Davidson CVO Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Back again after having my first 1000 mile maintenance. I added Redline oil. I have noticed the mileage has jumped from 32 mpg to 35 mpg. It's still hardly broken in. It is very smooth with no hazzels. I love the GPS that came with the bike. The XM radio is great to listen to. The bike handles perfectly going into turns. I would never had thought that HD would GT a Touring bike to trail so well into turns like it does. So far the bike just gets better and better. I will check in again at 5000 miles.
- Wetlander, Lake Placid, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-06-14 2010 Harley-Davidson Road King Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
At 49 years of age, 6 feet tall and just over 300 pounds, I knew my first bike was not going to be a 250cc rice burner or current crop of Euro naked bikes. Nor was it going to be one of the smaller Harleys on the market either. So I went with the base model Road King and have not second guessed that decision yet. The bike is solid, sturdy, stable when it needs to be and responsive when you need it to be. Drawbacks? I have laid her on her side twice and at 850# she is a real bear to get back upright. Despite the advertising there is still a lot of vibration but that smoothes out the faster you go and even with after-market Rinehart pipes she still sounds like a riding lawnmower. I have no other motorcycle riding experience to base this on but for my dollar I do not think I could have bought a better first motorcycle. I commute with it regularly and have taken it up into the Colorado Rocky Mountains with ease. She is a real joy to ride. Worse thing: the vibration. Best thing: Setting off car alarms in parking garages.
- KevinM40, Littleton, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-06-04 2010 Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Ultra Limited Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have found this bike to have plenty of power, just OEM no upgrades. After I got it broke in at 1000 miles, it ran stronger. Now with 6,000 miles on it she really has some low end torque. Just the other day I stopped at one of the many red stop lamp intersections in Daytona but forgot to shift all the way down. I ended up taking off in third gear. It did fine but I could tell I was not in the right gear. I could only notice because I knew the bike well enough at this point otherwise probably would not have noticed it because that was how slight the difference was. I could have never of done that with my 07 Heritage 96 cube inch stage one bike I traded in on it. This is a heavy bike so it will never be a race bike but there is plenty of low end power to haul anything you need. Keep the shiny side up and rubber down.
- roadrumblers, Daytona, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-04-28 2010 Harley-Davidson Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Can't wipe the smile off of my face! I had a super glide and Yamaha Roadliner. This bike handles great, very smooth on the highway and sounds great. Just have to get used to finding nuetral. Best of all, I don't have to explain why I'm not on a Harley, it's good to be back!
- Paul, Peekskill, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: