‚Äč
Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2012 Yamaha reviews

4.8
Write a review
Reliability
4.9
Overall quality
4.8
Performance
4.7
Comfort
4.6

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

See all

Top 10 Motorcycles

Reviews

Stars Refinement

18 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Matt

Reviewed on 2022-11-17

Motorcycle reviewed 2012 Yamaha Super Tenere view listing

4.3
I have owned this motorcycle since it was on the showroom floor. After a lot of research on dual sport bikes - talking to many owners of different brands (BMW, KTM, Suzuki, etc) I was able to confidently purchase this bike as my one bike to do everything - backroads, touring, commuting and not be left wanting. Very little required maintenance, oil changes and tire changes - provided a bike that was always ready to go. The only quibble is that it was built before LED's were standard, requiring some aftermarket additions. I wouldn't hesitate to get on this bike to go anywhere on the continent.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

MILAN JADE

SB, California

Reviewed on 2014-07-29

Motorcycle reviewed 2012 Yamaha WR250R view listing

5.0
It's the most advanced 250 Enduro four stroke of all time. It's light weight, has great off road prowess, good manners on road and is OK on the freeway. I hit 98 mph. top speed. It has a great fit and finish and is a well thought out bike. However, it does have a huge price tag compared to the inferior competition. It's OK to pay more when you get more.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

KEN ROBINSON

OXNARD, California

Reviewed on 2013-07-19

Motorcycle reviewed 2012 Yamaha V Star 950 Tourer view listing

4.0
I purchased a 2012 V-Star 950 from a dealer with 450 miles on the odometer. The previous owner bought it for his wife, but she didn't like it. Good for me. I previously owned a Honda 750 in the '70s. I put over 30k miles on it before it was stolen. This V-Star 950 is the right size for me because I'm so long. I used to making low turns at a high speed, and the V-Star scrapes foot-pads when making turns. I had to get used to the speed and lean needed to not scrape foot-pads. Gas mileage is suffering for some reason. I'm only getting 16 mpg., however it's still under warranty. The ride is smooth and comfortable on the highway. It will easily do 90+ mph. with ease. I ride alone, and find that adding peripherals is easy if you get inventive.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
3.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Rob S.

Dunkirk, New York

Reviewed on 2013-01-02

Motorcycle reviewed 2012 Yamaha YZF-R6 view listing

5.0
I love this bike! It's the best purchase I ever made. It's a fun bike, reliable, fuel efficient, has a sleek look and great sound, too. It's the best bike by far.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

John Eigo

Connelly, New York

Reviewed on 2012-10-02

Motorcycle reviewed 2012 Yamaha V Star 950 Tourer view listing

5.0
I purchased my V-Star 950 Tourer in April and love it. I traded in a Honda 750 Shadow and there is no comparison. This bike handles great with either one or two people. My wife even loves this bike which is a great plus. The only drawback are the floorboards, if you lean too far they drag - a little scary at first. The seat could be a little more comfortable but not bad. This will be the only upgrade that I will make. I did put on Star passenger floorboards for my wife. It gets great gas mileage with lots of power. Overall, it's great bike and a keeper for me. I have gotten many compliments and turned a lot of heads with this bike, even Harley riders complimented on this bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Joeybots2615

New York, New York

Reviewed on 2012-09-14

Motorcycle reviewed 2012 Yamaha YZF-R6 view listing

5.0
I've been riding for five years and this is my 4th bike. I started on a Gixxer 600, went to a 1000 then to a Harley which I hated and now I just picked up a 2012 YZF-R6. I switched to a Yamaha because of a few reasons. I think it's the best looking bike out of the 600 class. I know it has tons of power for a 600 and it's a little cheaper than a Gixxer 600. I am definitely going to look into an aftermarket seat because like all the other bikes, it feels like you are sitting on a piece of cardboard. I only have about 50 highway miles on it. Break in period is up to 600 miles. I'm dying to open it up around the turns but I'm going to be good until I hit the 600 mile mark. If you are considering a 600cc sport bike, take a look at the R6, you wont be disappointed!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Michael Browning

Rock Cave, West Virginia

Reviewed on 2012-08-24

Motorcycle reviewed 2012 Yamaha V Star 950 view listing

5.0
I really like how this bike handles and looks plus this bike gets great fuel mileage. I am averaging 55 mpg. I replaced the factory seat with a saddleman seat. What a difference.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Gypsy Rose

Jacksonville, Florida

Reviewed on 2012-08-04

Motorcycle reviewed 2012 Yamaha V Star 950 Tourer view listing

5.0
I absolutely love this bike! I traded in a Sportster and have absolutely no regrets. The ride is smooth. I have enough power to keep up with all the big boys. The lines of the bike are sweet...she is absolutely beautiful. I'm always getting compliments! I have made a few changes but only to customize her for me...as she was excellent straight off the floor!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Charlie Golmon

Denham springs, Louisiana

Reviewed on 2012-07-24

Motorcycle reviewed 2012 Yamaha V Star 950 Tourer view listing

5.0
I own a Kawasaki 900 LT and just bought the Yamaha 950 Tourer for my wife. This is a FANTASTIC motorcycle! I love it and these are my comparisons between the two: The Yamaha has great bags that lock, which is a huge plus, and they are larger! The mag wheels are a great plus! The Yamaha doesn't shift quite a smoothly as the Kawasaki, and the Kawasaki is a little more quick through the gears. They both have belt drives. The Yamaha feels lighter, and is very easy to drive, especially in tight spots and harder curves. I like the way it handles, because my Kawasaki is heavy! The Kawasaki rides smoother, but in all fairness the Yamaha is brand new and may need to be tweaked on the suspension a little. Overall, if these two bikes were side by side and I had to choose only one, I'd grab the Yamaha because it's so easy and fun to drive!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 18 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: