Yamaha V Star 950 Tourer Cruisers Reviews (7)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha V Star 950 Tourer Cruisers Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha V Star 950 Tourer Cruisers? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2013-07-19 2012 Yamaha V Star 950 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased a 2012 V-Star 950 from a dealer with 450 miles on the odometer. The previous owner bought it for his wife, but she didn't like it. Good for me. I previously owned a Honda 750 in the '70s. I put over 30k miles on it before it was stolen. This V-Star 950 is the right size for me because I'm so long. I used to making low turns at a high speed, and the V-Star scrapes foot-pads when making turns. I had to get used to the speed and lean needed to not scrape foot-pads. Gas mileage is suffering for some reason. I'm only getting 16 mpg., however it's still under warranty. The ride is smooth and comfortable on the highway. It will easily do 90+ mph. with ease. I ride alone, and find that adding peripherals is easy if you get inventive.
- KEN ROBINSON, OXNARD, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-10-02 2012 Yamaha V Star 950 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my V-Star 950 Tourer in April and love it. I traded in a Honda 750 Shadow and there is no comparison. This bike handles great with either one or two people. My wife even loves this bike which is a great plus. The only drawback are the floorboards, if you lean too far they drag - a little scary at first. The seat could be a little more comfortable but not bad. This will be the only upgrade that I will make. I did put on Star passenger floorboards for my wife. It gets great gas mileage with lots of power. Overall, it's great bike and a keeper for me. I have gotten many compliments and turned a lot of heads with this bike, even Harley riders complimented on this bike.
- John Eigo, Connelly, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-08-04 2012 Yamaha V Star 950 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I absolutely love this bike! I traded in a Sportster and have absolutely no regrets. The ride is smooth. I have enough power to keep up with all the big boys. The lines of the bike are sweet...she is absolutely beautiful. I'm always getting compliments! I have made a few changes but only to customize her for me...as she was excellent straight off the floor!
- Gypsy Rose, Jacksonville, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-07-24 2012 Yamaha V Star 950 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own a Kawasaki 900 LT and just bought the Yamaha 950 Tourer for my wife. This is a FANTASTIC motorcycle! I love it and these are my comparisons between the two: The Yamaha has great bags that lock, which is a huge plus, and they are larger! The mag wheels are a great plus! The Yamaha doesn't shift quite a smoothly as the Kawasaki, and the Kawasaki is a little more quick through the gears. They both have belt drives. The Yamaha feels lighter, and is very easy to drive, especially in tight spots and harder curves. I like the way it handles, because my Kawasaki is heavy! The Kawasaki rides smoother, but in all fairness the Yamaha is brand new and may need to be tweaked on the suspension a little. Overall, if these two bikes were side by side and I had to choose only one, I'd grab the Yamaha because it's so easy and fun to drive!
- Charlie Golmon, Denham springs, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-07-03 2012 Yamaha V Star 950 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I went from a V Star 650 to the V Star 950 Tourer and love my new ride. I did have to buy the wind deflector for the forks as the wind came up around the tank and hit me in the chest. Once those were installed all is great. I can't wait to get on the road.
- Carol, Meridian, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-04-18 2012 Yamaha V Star 950 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had the bike for about six months and will have 4,000 miles on it after this weekend. Construction/fit/finish are excellent, as expected from a Yamaha. The ride is comfortable; power ample for two-up on the freeway and fabulous for solos; exhaust note is quiet but still throaty. The saddle is comfy up to about six hours, and I'm not sure anything is comfy beyond then. Bags and windshield are wonderful, although full-size helmets won't fit and the helmet hook is so inconvenient as to be worthless. The looks are macho, but not quite "Sons of Anarchy." She sits low, so I've got solid foot placement even on slanted roads and parking lots. I'm an old street biker (also Yamahas) who loves the twisties, and the 950 Tourer scrapes her floorboards when I get excited and toss her side-to-side. It was scary at first but is now just a little annoying. My riding partner says it gives off sparks at night -- so maybe that's cool. The ignition key placement is poor: keychain rattles against plastic trim, and there's little room for mounting GPS, iPod, etc. Overall, this bike is great for almost anyone with a few month's experience: easy to ride, well-balanced, nice power. I highly recommend it.
- Taylor S, Atlanta burbs, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-01-30 2012 Yamaha V Star 950 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Hello All, I am writing a review on the 2012 V-Star 950 Tourer. I just purchased this on 01/07/12. I traded in my 2004 V-Star 650 Classic which was a great bike, though I felt after 3 years and 10,000 miles I needed something with a touch more go. It is usually hard to get out and ride this time of year in the Pocono Mountains of Pennsylvania with the extremely cold temps and wintery conditions but this winter is one for the record books, one of the most mildest winters I can remember here. Anyhow, I have had a chance to get out and ride this bike a few days and have put about 250 miles on it. Every mile has brought a grin to my face. The belt drive is virtually maintenance free, the oil level is now checked via a dipstick on the oil fill cap, (no more getting down on one knee, balancing the bike with hand, and having to look through the sight glass) and my most favorite feature has to be the Mikini Electronic Fuel Injection. The bike is usually garaged all season but since we have had a few nice days I decided to keep it out. The bike sat outside for three days (covered of course) with the temps in the mid 20's. I went out Sunday, turned the key on, the fuel pump in the tank ran for about two seconds, hit the start button and bike fired up instantly, it barely even cranked. Where as with the ol' 650, you have to pull the choke out on full, get a sputter, try again, get it running, but then have to wait about three to five minutes for it to warm up before you could drive off without it acting cold blooded. The other thing I like about the 950 is that it seems like the 5th gear is very tall, meaning when you are cruising at 70 on the highway the bike is just purring along without sounding overworked (cough, cough ol' 650...). The bike really looks sharp, with its 18-inch front wheel, cast rim, and impact blue color, and lots of chrome. I am sure that within about four weeks I will be in heaven since we will then be in March and old man winter will have hopefully moved on and I will be able to hopefully ride quite often. It also looks like Yamaha extended the valve adjustment intervals too, the old 650 was every 4,000 miles according to the book. The new 950 is every 16,000 miles which is nice. It handles terrific, too. The ride is very smooth, although I have read when doing some tight cornering, the floor boards will get scraped up pretty good. But I say that this bike is a cruiser and is designed to do just that...cruise. If you drive it as intended and not like a sportbike, you will have no problems making it through the turns without scraping. I too had a very nice 1990 Kawasaki ZX750R Ninja sportbike, but sold it after only one month because I found myself in the triple digit speeds too often. No need to go that fast or act that crazy. When you are traveling that fast you can only concentrate on thing and that is where you are going, you can't enjoy the views which kind of takes away from the sport. Well all, as I get a chance to put more miles on this bike. I will update you along the way. Be safe, ride smart, peace out...
- Joe, Allentown, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: