American Ironhorse Motorcycles Reviews (38)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with American Ironhorse Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any American Ironhorse Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2011-02-19 2006 American Ironhorse Texas Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
They do have a defective spedometer and the alum pulleys aren't good after a lot of miles. It's great once you learn to ride it. I put about 25,000 miles on it and you will love it.
- brian williams, asheville, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-01-22 2005 American Ironhorse Texas Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
You will love this bike or hate it. This bike will give you problems, but fix the problem or move on. This bike is for men who want a powerful, beautiful bike and are willing to take on a challenge. If that's not you, go buy a bike with all great reviews.
- Will, Honolulu, Hawaii

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-11-05 2007 American Ironhorse Classic Chop Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The fit & finish on the bike is great. Make sure you change the tranny fluid from the factory. My bike wouldn't shift right until I filled it with Amsoil 85-140 mixed 50% with Lucas. I have no problems other than leaning on turns. Forget about any snaked curves. I have the 200mm tire which outperforms the 240 or 280, also I don't like the fat tire look; it is out of style anyway. Yeah my battery was were bad but they all are. Ironhorse's engineering and reliability are fairly good - as good as Harley. I have three of those that just sit in my garage on a battery trickle charger. Everyone says the bike looks really good. I would rather have the Classic Chopper than the Texas Chopper because of the 200mm tire. (They use Metzler which are great tires.) The S&S 100 motor is easy to start in the cold but doesn't have near the pull of an S&S 111. When I hear about other Chopper owners' problems, I feel very fortunate as mine were very minimal.
- Fred Firsching, Weirton, West Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-04-03 2006 American Ironhorse Texas Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own four bikes - a Harley Fat Boy and Wide Glide and an American Ironhorse LSC and Texas Chopper. I don't have as much time to ride as I would like. When I do open the garage, it seems I always pick the Texas Chopper. Mine has the 117 with the Peacemaker paint job. I find it very comfortable for a chopper. It handles well and it always looks great. It is a real head turner. I also have a 2005 LSC. I love the bike, but it's a hardtail and our roads in PA are not the greatest. Neither bike has given me a bit of trouble. I followed the break in schedule and have it serviced by the book and I don't ride like an idiot. If you're only going to have one bike, go with the Texas Chopper. I can't wait until Sunday!
- JOHN MILLER, EASTON, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-10-20 2007 American Ironhorse Slammer Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I owned a 2003 Slammer and I loved it. This past spring I traded in the '03 model for the new '07 model and I never knew a softail style bike could ride so well! It rides as well as, if not better than, my Roadglide. It's smooth, reliable, fun and eye-catching to say the least. I would recommend this bike to anyone in the market for a high performance V-twin that is comfortable enough to take on a long ride.
- TB, Myrtle Beach, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-15 2005 American Ironhorse LSC Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Purchased bike used with 2000 miles on it. Bike has been nothing but awesome. Just the other day I started having minor problems with the instrument cluster. Overall I love it. Strap a 111 cu s&s to your back and see if some nuts rattle loose. The question with custom bikes is not will you have minor problems but how many. Personally I have had very few. What few I have had, I fixed myself instead of whining to my dealer. If you can't fix it, don't ride it...
- joe youmans, blackshear, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-11 2005 American Ironhorse Slammer Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
WHEN I BOUGHT MY IRONHORSE, I FEEL IN LOVE WITH IT. THE POWER, THE HANDLING, AND THE APPEARANCE- NO ONE ELSE HAS GOT THAT RIGHT NOW. BUT REMEMBER ALL CUSTOM BUILT OR MASS PRODUCED MOTORCYCLES/VEHICLES HAVE PARTS THAT ARE ALL MAN MADE AND ARE SUBJECT TO DEFECTS AND HUMAN ERROR. I HAVE RODE MY SLAMMER 1300 MILES SO FAR- ONLY HAD 1 NO START (BAD CONNECTOR AT STARTER) AND THE CRANKSHAFT DRIVE SPROCKET NUT BACKED OFF ENOUGH THAT IT HAD A LOUD RATTLING NOISE, BUT DID NO DAMAGE. I HAVE HAD HARLEYS THAT HAS WENT DOWN WITH PROBLEMS. MY ONLY PROBLEM IS FINDING A GOOD DEALER WITH TECHICIANS THAT KNOW HOW TO FIX THEM, AND THERE IS NOT ENOUGH DEALERS AROUND. I HAVE TO GO 100 MILES EACH TIME I WANT SERVICE ON MY HORSE. MY COUSIN HAS A 2004 TEXAS CHOPPER AND ONLY BROKE DOWN TWICE SINCE HE HAS HAD IT- BATTERY AND VOLTAGE REGULATOR.
- JIM WINTERS, ALVIN, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-22 2006 American Ironhorse Outlaw Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I received my new 2006 Outlaw from my new wife as a wedding present (aren't you guys jealous) it should be a requirement. My wife and I have put over twenty five hundred miles on the bike in the few months we've owned it, what a blast. We live in Southern California and ride up and down the beautiful coast practically every weekend. The bike runs and looks flawless and we have never been able to ride anywhere without people asking about the bike and commenting the bikes beauty (also my wife's, she looks great riding on the back). The fun factor is off the charts, I recommend the American Ironhorse product line to any one that needs to put the excitement back into their lives. I can't thank my wife enough, Oh! And thank you American Ironhorse for building such a quality product.
- Allan Martia, Woodland Hills, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-01 2005 American Ironhorse Outlaw Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'V HAD A FEW MINOR PROBLEMS. I REPLACED THE VOLTAGE REGULATOR AND HAVE RESEALED BOTH CYCLINDERS FOR BASE GASKET PROBLEM. I LOVE AMERICAN IRONHORSE MOTORCYCLES AND THE DEALER WAS GREAT. I READ A LOT OF THE COMPLAINTS FROM OTHER OWNERS AND I THINK THEY SHOULD RIDE THEIR BIKES MORE OFTEN. ALMOST ALL THE MILES WERE BELOW 2000 MILES. THEY ARE NOT BIKERS WITH THAT KIND OF MILEAGE. I've ONLY HAD MINE A YEAR AND I RUN IT ALL THE TIME. I've OWNED A LOT OF BIKES, THEY ALL BREAK DOWN. SOME MORE THAN OTHERS.
- ME, ST.JOSEPH, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-06 2004 American Ironhorse Legend Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Got this sweet bike in 04 - it's been that long already! Well, from the minute that I drove off the showroom floor everyone told me that the bike was made for me and it was. I have been to many bike shows and I am always winning trophies. I ride this bike back and forth from Tampa to Daytona and to Myrtle Beach all the time. What a great ride and it's comfortable too.
- JOHN GUDEMAN, ST PETERSBURG , Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-13 2006 American Ironhorse Outlaw Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my 06 Outlway in April of 06. It is everything I had hoped it would be. Performance is excellent and the handling is better than you would expect with the increased rake and wider rear tire. A review on the bike in American Iron magazine called it the perfect entry level exotic custom. I could't agree more. I haven't ever left the house without getting a thumbs up. I would recomend this bike to anyone.
- jim, belleville , Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-24 2004 American Ironhorse Texas Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I ride my Texas Chopper long distances like 500 miles from home to Precott, Arizona and that is a one day ride. I have lots of canyon roads around my house and it evens carves the road up. I know this because Harley riders who are following me sometimes comment they can't believe how fast I take corners. Texas chopper is a comfortable ride too, I know because I have had both hips replaced and I feel great riding - no aches or pains.
- Dave Grigsby, Lake Hughes, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-02 2005 American Ironhorse Texas Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned a lot of bikes, from cruisers to full race and this Texas Ironhorse beats them all hands down! It's looks, its power, its ride, and overall quality blow the others away. There is no other bike like it on the road! Thank you American Ironhorse!
- Jeff, Edmonton, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-05 2004 American Ironhorse LSC Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My 2005 American Ironhorse LSC is the hottest chopper on the planet!! I call it The Dragon! I've owned my LSC for a year now and I still love it as much as I did the day I got it! In the last year, I've entered 3 bike shows and The Dragon won first place in it's class in all 3 shows. The Dragon also took all the Best in Show awards and the only Best Paint award offered. Everytime I ride my LSC I get compliments. The bike has made me almost famous. There is nothing like riding an American Ironhorse Chopper! -DC
- Dave Clark, Mandeville, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-20 2004 American Ironhorse Legend Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought her at Sturgis this year (06). Have been in the market for a custom for about a year, and couldn't find the buy for the $$$$$$$ until I rolled up on this little honey. Got a great price with only 3000 miles on her, and she rides out perfect. Very pleased and satisfied. Thank you Ironhorse for producing a fine machine.
- Rico Suave, Spanaway, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-26 2006 American Ironhorse Outlaw Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Best bike made. It is what Harleys become after several years of aftermarket parts, save some time and money and you don't have to change anything, maybe the mirrors. Rides great, no problems, awesome service center. There is a suction cup in the tailbone area of the solo seat, take it out and cut 1/4 inch off of the threaded end and screw it back in, the numbness goes away. The digital information center is hard to see in the sunlight. The paint job looks like one off of a custom.
- Barry, Clemmons, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-02-23 2005 American Ironhorse Tejas Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got the Tejas a year ago and it rocks. I never had any trouble with it at all. American Ironhorse has been the best; I e-mail them and within 24 hrs, I had a reply to my e-mail. They were very nice and made sure that I was happy and all their bikes are very cool. I have many friend here who own their bike and they're very happy with them. All I can say is, "American Ironhorse, keep up the good work!"
- mark hall, moose lake , Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-11-30 2003 American Ironhorse Tejas Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my '03 Tejas for 2.5 years and over 8,000 miles and it still runs well. The only problems I have had is a faulty coil and a blown compression release valve that was replaced under warranty in a timely manner.
- Ralph, Langhorne, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-25 2006 American Ironhorse Slammer Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was about to purchase the Big Dog Bulldog. I had a chance to see the Slammer in person and fell in love with the big back tire. This is my first V-twin and I happy with the performance. It has the 111. I am used to the power of my last bike, a 1999 Yamaha R1 with 147 hp at the rear tire. This is a different machine but I love it. It is easy to handle and rides nice 2 up. The air ride is very nice. I still can't stop looking at some items that were addressed to really make the bike look finished and custom. You have to spend time around it to see everything they do and do right. You do give a little bit in comfort with forward controls but it does look really clean that way. I even like the stock 2 into 1 pipe. It has just enough sound for me. The Big Dog is very quiet because of the EPA.
- Jeff Stubbs, Salem, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-19 2005 American Ironhorse Tejas Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
OK well, I hope this review finds everyone well - I went on here so many times, and the rest of the internet for that matter, just trying to find out reviews for an '05 AIH Tejas that I was about to purchase. I saw the bike online, across the country, and honestly I never do this but I loved the look so much I bought the bike sight unseen and had it delivered to the east coast. I've had the bike for 7 months now, and I've ridden it 3000 miles. My longest ride was 400 miles one day, and then 400 miles back home. Bottom line, I LOVE my bike, it runs great, and I have had no major problems (knock on wood) thus far. Here were the only issues I've had: 1) delivered with a bum battery that was replaced under warranty 2)kickstand mount somehow got bent and was replaced under warranty 3) rear turn signals needed to be tightened 4) headlight lens got cloudy. As you can see, yes, I won't lie to you it is not 100% perfect. But I consider these very small issues that were all covered under warranty. Other than these small problems, the bike is 100% reliable, starts right every time, pulls super strong, and looks better than anything else out there, in my humble opinion! My bike turns heads wherever I go, and I think it is extremely comfortable despite it being a rigid. I am 5'8", and I rode on the stock seat 800 miles over a weekend and I felt NO PAIN at all, honestly. So to sum it up: PROS - looks, comfort (for a rigid), good warranty, roadside assistance, good customer support, fair price for what you get. CONS - speedo is hard to reset trip meter and hard to read in direct sunlight, would prefer chrome wheels/pegs/controls/struts/forks/calipers vs. polish, horn kind of weak. So that's about it. I tried to be as honest as possible and hope this helps folks out!!
- 05Tejas, New York, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-07 2004 American Ironhorse LSC Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had this mother for 4 months now, I couldn't be happier with it. It is Rigid so the comfort can only be so good, but you should know this before buying a hardtail. That is my only complaint, I love this bike. The 111 is powerful and hauls my 230 lbs butt around in a hurry. No regrets whatsoever! The gents at the dealership are top notch individuals and not enough can be said of their caliber of professionalism.
- Aaron Holden, San Diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-01 2004 American Ironhorse Texas Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike has first class fit and finish, lots of power and handles very well for a long bike. Warranty covered some minor problems and the dealer has been great. If you are thinking of buying a T.C. be prepared for lots of questions, comments and attention wherever you go.
- Ron Giuliano, Los Angeles, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-08 2004 American Ironhorse Texas Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm enjoying the Texas Chopper quite a bit. No complaints. It's fast, sleek and runs great. Sure, there were some minor warrenty items, but Ironhorse and my dealer fixed and paid for them. The Chopper is truly a work of art and I will enjoy it for quite some time.
- Luis Munoz, Manassas, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-14 2004 American Ironhorse Texas Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my bike about 3 weeks ago after searching for a bike to fit me. I am a little over 6'7" and used to ride a Big Dog Mastiff which I swallowed up. The Texas Chopper is the perfect size for tall guy like me. With the air ride option and the easy-pull clutch options, the bike rides like my Screamin' eagle Electra glide, fantastic. Even though I am still in break-in, I can feel the power of this bike and it's impressive with the 111 show polished S&#038;S and 6 speed baker RT side drive combo. Throttle response is smooth and linear. With the right side drive, the bike is very well balanced and even with the 280 rear tire it tracks nicely down the road. The paint on this bike is from the AIH XLR+ set and is red with skulls/bones and looks really sick! Bottom line is that this bike looks and rides absolutely great. I would only make three suggestions to AIH:<br /> <ol> <li>Hide the cables guys!!! There are visible cables coming from the front turn signals and a large bundle running from the triple tree back up under the tank. This could have been cleaned up fairly easily and would look much better. <li>Consider using combined brake and pulley combo unit to clean up the left side of the rear wheel like Big Dog does. <li>Use LED turn signals and clear/smoked lenses to clean up the looks a little more. The filament bulbs and colored lenses are too old fashioned for this cool of a bike. Still early in my time with this bike, but so far I am lovin' it!
- Steve Belt, Austin, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-23 2004 American Ironhorse LSC Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike rocks. I just need a 124" but the 111" is pretty strong. Rides smoother than I thought it would, but the seat is hard as a rock. I've only had it for a couple weeks but it started fine even when it was 30 degrees outside. Other than hitting my knuckles on the mirror when I shift and the hard seat, it is a BAD TO THE BONE BIKE.
- Adam Eavers, Greenville, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: