American Lifan Motorcycles Reviews (30)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with American Lifan Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any American Lifan Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2011-08-21 2006 American Lifan LF200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I brought the bike as a run around. I have been happy with the performance of the bike. It's well worth the money I paid for it.
- damon, taupo, New Zealand (Aotearoa)

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-01-18 2006 American Lifan LF200GY-5 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well, for a six-foot-three guy like myself, I would have to say I am impressed with the way the bike fits although I could have used a little bigger chassis. With that said, the rest of the bike has been nothing short of impressive and well worth the $1,800 I paid for it. The frame, engine and general mechanics have held up for the first year of abuse I have put it through. I must admit that I actually feel guilty for paying so little for such a fine machine. I am considering buying a second one for my 18-year-old son to use for back and forth travel to and from high school.
- John J, Pomona, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-05-10 2006 American Lifan LF200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I went with my brother in law and father in law who have an 1100 shadow and a suzuki sv650s on a 600 mile road trip for 2 days through the mountains, mostly all mountains, and it held up great. I cruise at 65 no problem @ about 7000 rpms and still have plenty of room to push. I've got the bike up to 90 mph and could probly push a hair more but I would be past red line. Some of the mountain hills that were 65 mph I had to go bout 50-55 cuz the bike couldn't quit keep up but it made it. It handles great through curves and you could lean into it pretty freakin far. If you plan on a road trip, tighten everything or you might have some stuff come loose. I am very pleasd on how this bike handled this trip.
- Jake, Florence, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-03-07 2006 American Lifan LF200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had this bike for 18 months, and I am the 2nd owner. I take care of regular maintenance and I had to replace the starter and get a new battery, but nothing else. It gets between 70 and 80 MPG, and is perfect for driving around campus and to work. Insurance is also ridiculously cheap for this bike. For anyone looking for a starter bike, this is the bike to get. This bike has paid for itself in fuel savings, cheaper insurance on my new bike (06 R6), and just learning experience. I could not have asked for a better starter bike.
- Mike, Columbus, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-12-17 2006 American Lifan LF200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this used to get around on and works great for the money. It had a broken fuel gauge but who needs it? The tires are not good for rain and you have to drive safely. If you don't crash it or overdrive it, this thing will last a long time. If I wanted to go fast, I would spend the money for a Ninja but this is a fun cruiser and I take it to the beach! People think it's an expensive cycle!!
- brian, largo, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-03 2006 American Lifan LF50QT-15 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The bike was worth what I paid. It runs great and finding local dealers with the same models to get parts from is easy if I ever need it. I've driven it for about a thousand miles and I actually get better than 100mpg on a 1 gallon tank. It looks cool and it starts every time.
- Drew, Appleton, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-04-15 2006 American Lifan LF200GY-5 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well I have had this bike for about 3 months. I bought it used and it had 600km on it when I got it. The only thing that I have done is change the oil and the speedo because it said I what doing 80 in before I shifted out of first but I got one for 25 bucks and all is good. I got it so that I could get back into riding as I haven't ridden since I was 12.
- Heath Conder, Ft Wainwright , Alaska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-03-22 2008 American Lifan LF110GY-3 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike back in Sept. of 08. Other than a snafu with my dealer giving me the wrong MSO, the bike has been great. I swapped out the 110cc Lifan engine to a 140cc Lifan after about 100 miles or so. This was only because I had access to the engine and a super cheap price. The 110 ran fine and was great with the E start. I changed the front sprocket out to a 17t and a 33 rear on the 110. The bike would easily cruise... cruise, not bang off the rev limiter at 50 with that gear setup. I kept the gears with the new engine. 60 MPH is easy to come by with this setup. I may even step to a 30 tooth rear to make better use of the power of the 140cc. It's a little loud with the pit bike exhaust, but I can quiet it down a bit. It has no problem at low speeds so don't worry about that. I ride it on the trail a lot and it's fine. Out of all my street legal bikes I own, I always swing a leg over this to run around town. I love it.
- Dennis, St Louis, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-09 2006 American Lifan LF200GY-5 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just recently bought this bike from an online dealer. It had to be assembled, including both wheels installed. This is at least a 2, maybe 3 person job, and does require some mechanical skills. I am a professional auto mechanic, and was able to assemble and set it up by myself, with the help of an engine crane. I only have 230 klms on it so far (the speedometer reads in MPH, the odometer reads in kph). I have found some cheesy parts on it, especially the plastics, but have had absolutely no problems with it at all so far. It runs fine, and does what it is supposed to do. I have the genuine American Lifan LF200GY-5 bike, with a rear drum brake, no anti-lock gadget on the front brake, and the OHV pushrod engine. A lot of places are selling copies of this bike, if you get one, be sure to get the real thing. I can't figure out what there is to complain about with this bike. I looked at a Suzuki DR200S, and it was a very nice bike, better fit and finish, and the materials had a better quality appearance to them, but the dealer wanted so much OTD for that bike. You could buy 3 Lifans for that, and have $$$$ left over. The Suzuki IS a better bike, but nowhere near 3 1/2 times better. Check out the LF200GY forum on Yahoo Groups. Apparently I am not the only one that's happy with my bike.
- Jerry, Chandler, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-08 2006 American Lifan LF250 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I wasn't expecting much when I bought this bike on ebay. I received it and was very impressed. Now have 800 miles on my first bike ever with zero problems. Can't believe what a deal these are!! Has to be the best deal out there for a great starter bike and when I upgrade, it'll be perfect for the girlfriend to ride!!!
- Denny Livingston, Durand, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-21 2006 American Lifan LF200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had this bike a month now, and I must say as an experienced rider that it is an amazing deal. I just picked it up for cheap transportation not expecting much, and have been pleasantly surprised with this bike's performance. I'm a big dude, and this bike takes me 60-65 easily and still has more. I haven't had it maxed out yet, but I'm assuming that it could carry me at about 70-75 with no problem. The only complaint I have is the cheesy decals that came on it. I took them off right away. My wife had a ninja 250 and this thing way out performs it. Especially over 60. Her ninja sounded like a maxed out blender ready to blow. This cruises very quietly considering. These are a very good deal for anyone. It's fun and inexpensive.
- Sam Meli, Canandaigua, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-24 2006 American Lifan LF250 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have ridden all kinds of bikes. This one has got to be one of the best bang for the buck. I originally bought it for my wife and daughters to learn to ride. They haven't got around to it. So I ride it to work. I have checked the mileage several times. The most recent the trip odometer read 113.5 mi, I put 1.12 gal of gas in it. Yup 101.33 mi per gallon. When I bought the bike it was already assembled. As with any new bike I went end to end checking bolts and connections. Found a few loose bolts and electrical connections, mostly grounds. I am very happy with this bike. It's perfect for a daily rider. A bit small but it works. I'll try to keep this updated as the mileage racks up.
- Dave, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-12 2006 American Lifan LF200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was going to buy a used bike then I found this one. If you remember it's just a 200cc bike, you will be happy. Runs great and does what it should. Speedo cable broke but is being sent to me. Good packing and fast delivery. If you are looking for a cheap, good low power bike, this is it.
- Fitz, Tacoma, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-25 2006 American Lifan LF200GY-5 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well, I've had my bike for almost 10 months now. I ride it every single day to scool and back which is about an 18-20 mile roundtrip. I take the bike trail riding close to where I live. I take it through mud, little water, sand, and all of that good stuff. So far the bike has held up pretty well. Minor issues I've had are: cheap stock tubes went flat, bolts coming loose and even breaking, (you have to locktight most everything on this bike), front sprocket cover broke off, speedo acts up every now and then, battery went dead, and the clutch cable broke (due to me not lubing it). This bike is definitely the type of bike for someone that can tool around with it. You have to be anal about checking it out all of the time. It is not for someone that just wants to ride it everyday and never give her a look and be aware of what's going on with the bike. Like I already said, I ride this thing EVERY SINGLE DAY, and it has been parked a couple of times for a week or so, waiting on parts (which I can get within less than a week). I say parts, but it was only for my clutch cable. Definitely well worth the amount that I paid for it. Yes, when I can afford it, I will probably upgrade to something bigger, and better (but I'll never let this bike go).
- Shea Douglas, Hattiesburg, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-25 2006 American Lifan LF200GY-5 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The reason I bought this bike was essentially the price... However, it has exceeded my expectations... I have had no issues with the bike (minus a flat tire, and that has nothing to do with the bike obviously). I took the bike out in a foot and a half of snow and had a lot of fun, it worked very well. I also use it on the road quite a bit and have no problems keeping up with traffic or getting around. It will do about 110km/h. There is a little vibration I guess, but not really very much. It is very useful with the rear rack it comes with, I have used it to carry all sorts of things. I haven't checked the mileage yet, but I have only been back to the pumps once since I bought it (I have about 500km on it). It actually has quite a few features, it has a remote starter (which I think is a stupid idea), alarm, helmet lock, steering lock, gear indicator, and the usual nuetral light and such. I would recommend anyone looking into getting one of these bikes to do it!
- Jim, Abbotsford, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-22 2006 American Lifan LF200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 2006 Lifan LF 200. I have put on about 1400 miles and it is running great. I get compliments on the looks of the bike everywhere I go. Keep in mind it is not a Japanese motorcycle. There are a lot of liitle things you will have to tinker with on the bike. don't believe some sellers top speed rating. 80 or 90 mph is out of the question. Lifans website specs. top speed at 60 mph, and that is fairly accurate although slightly conservative. With stock gearing mine hits about 70 at REDLINE !!! These machines cannot maintain this speed for a lengthy period. They are really smooth at around 50 mph. A smaller sprocket on the rear would help, but I have yet to make this mod. And, by the way the speeds I list are real, the stock speedo, at least on mine is not accurate. I installed a bicycle speedo, which is calibrated by wheel size and very accurate. My strongest warning is make sure you buy the bike from a seller who will give you a real MCO or certificate of origin. Most states will not think very much of the Chinese Mco that comes in the box. With that one you will have a worthless machine. Overall you get what you pay for, if you expect an O.K. bike that looks good, will buzz around town and get incredible gas mileage, buy one. If you are not mechanically sharp and think you are buying a real gem for low bucks stay away.
- B.K., United States

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-21 2006 American Lifan LF200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the bike off ebay brand new in a crate for a great price. I wasn't expecting much but I was pleasantly surprised. After a couple of hours of assembly, which went fairly smooth, except the battery tray seemed too small but it finally fit. After checking all the bolts and gassing it up, it fired right up. My initial thought Ok it sounds like an ATV, maybe I can gut the muffler. Nope, it's welded completely together, ok I'll just have to live with it. Very skinny rear tire, smaller than most fronts, this will have to go if I keep it very long. It vibrates pretty bad especially in the higher rpms, I'll have to look into the rubber bushings like a previous review. Not really suited for freeway driving but I have had it up 85mph for a short burst, can hold 75mph fairly well, but it's close to redline at 8000rpms. It's very light maybe 300lbs, I can pick the back up easily. Makes for some squirly riding at high speeds, especially if it's windy. Seems to handle and ride well otherwise, a new rear tire would help a lot. Amazing fuel economy almost 200 miles on a half a tank. VERY VERY annoying beeping that goes on with the flashers, I disconnected that immediatly. Overall I am satisfied with it. It is what it is, an inexpensive bike for someone with little or no experience or some one who doesn't want to spend a lot of money but wants a new bike.
- Mike, Eagan, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-14 2006 American Lifan LF200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
For the price, this is a great bike. don't compare this to the more expensive bikes as it is not a fair comparison. This bike is not the best quality nor is it the most powerful but for the price, it is well worth it. I like the fact that parts are very cheap. The engine is very solid and durable but a few more cc's would be nice. The only other thing that I would change would be fatter tires.
- Bob, Colorado Springs, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-07 2005 American Lifan C25 (LF250) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had the bike for 2 years and the only problem with it was the assembly. I did not check all the bolts and the chain ended up breaking. Have not had a problem since, runs great, always starts, and it has enough power for me. I am very happy with this bike. I just bought a second one (skygo/lifan 200cc sport) and it is also a very nice bike.
- PAT, tinley park, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-02 2005 American Lifan C25 (LF250) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased this two years ago on a whim, got warned that anything that cheap can't be any good. At first the transmission was terribly stiff, changed oil at 100 miles, still stiff at 300 miles change. Finally around 1000 miles it got normal. Adjusted valves at 600 miles, they were on the tight side! It has been dependable saved over $300. on gas, speedo cable broke used a universal one at auto parts store. Still on the original battery, broke a peg laying it down to avoid a car that cut me off. Some rubber starting to deteriate, but everything is working. For the money it's hard to beat with regular maintance and care this one's done just fine.
- Tom, Morris, Montana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-07 2006 American Lifan LF200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just received this bike yesterday and fell in love with it. Even though I am kinda tall, I fit the bike very well. The bike has a good weight and feel to it. It is just a little sluggish through first gear due to my weight, but does an excellent job in compensating. The speedometer cable broke about mile 2, but the company is sending me a free replacement. I have the blue bike and I have to agree with the previous review, it is quite the attention getter. I find many people coming up to me asking questions about it. Can't beat this beginner bike for the price.
- Kevin Lockemy, Greensboro, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-26 2006 American Lifan LF110GY-3 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I need to make an update on my Lf110GY-3. I have discovered a problem with one of my 2 bikes, it's minor, but if you buy one, check for this. The Swing Arm has side to side play of about 1/4 inch. The problem is where the arm attaches to the frame, bushing or something is loose, Lifan is happy to repair or replace whatever is wrong.
- GEORGE SMITH, AUSTIN, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-26 2006 American Lifan LF200GY-5 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am very impressed so far with this little dual purpose bike. It is light and easy to pilot. I have not had mine very long so I can only judge reliability as not having any problems thus far. I'll update later on if this changes... However, to date everything has worked fine right out of the crate. I assembled mine myself as I have been working on bikes for over 20 years. I did change the hard plastic grips out with some softer Renthals and I'm working on installing a gel pad in the seat for a more comfy underside. Inverted front fork is very beefy for this model; Many front forks on so-called dual purpose, look like the wheel could snap off if you just hit a bump too hard... don't care for the number 5 on the front deflector and what's with the little duckies on the crossbar pad!?!?!? It had to go. As with all new bikes shipped from the manufacturer, all nuts and bolts need to be checked over and a little tuning is usually required to get the engine happy. Mine just needed a little carb tweak on the idle screw and now idles nicely at about 1500 RPM. don't expect a supercross or motocross performer from this guy but if you are looking for something to jump on from the house, drive a few miles to the nearest off-beaten trails, this will do just fine.
- Wes Bishop, Cumming, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-29 2005 American Lifan C25 (LF250) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own two LF250's and I've had no problems. You do have to be good with a wrench to put one together if you buy it over the internet, but it's well worth the hour or so it takes. I have de-baffled the pipes, re-jetted the carb and now the bikes make tons of power. If you're looking to spend as little as possible to see if the motorcycle lifestyle is for you or if you have a lady that wants to ride, then this is your bike. Have fun and be safe.
- rndtrp, Bernville, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-29 2006 American Lifan LF200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Affordable, gas saver and it's a very cool bike. I have one in blue and I got a lot of attention too from other riders. It's not a fast bike but for a starter bike, you can't beat the price.
- rick, los angeles, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: