Aprilia Pegaso 650 Motorcycles Reviews (12)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Aprilia Pegaso 650 Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Aprilia Pegaso 650 Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2006-10-24 2000 Aprilia Pegaso 650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
To begin with, my peg (Vin #5) is all stock. It ran great from day one. There were some initial issues; the valve in the gas tank locked up, causing a vacuum and causing the engine to starve for gas. Little, weird things like that. I've done a mix of city commute and long rides. As a commuter bike it is unparalelled. It doesn't like breaking 100, which is a negative for CA highway driving (getting passed by Hyundais going 110 is nerve wracking), but with the damaged highways we have, and the awful city streets, the suspension and control are of great benefit. On long rides, it loves the twisties. On the straights, a liter-class bike will eat you alive (again, top end limits), but it is absolutely superior once you get off of the main roads, and is very forgiving. More than once I'd come to a stop with my riding partners who would complain about the last 10 miles (road damage, etc), and I could only comment that I hadn't even noticed.
- Rider, Santa Clara, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-25 2000 Aprilia Pegaso 650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Had an F650 for three years until it was stolen,a big issue in the UK. Now have a 2001 injection Pegaso and I love it. Handling is superb compared to the BMW, gearing is spot on and far slicker. Rotax engines are just about burst proof if maintained as any engine should be. It's Italian so get the plastics off occasionaly and check things over!Great ride-Get one now.
- russ evans, birmingham UK, Great Britain (UK)

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-07 2000 Aprilia Pegaso 650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Nice bike up date. I took my bike to the aprilia dealer and he took off the emission stuff that went to the carb. He also put in a larger idle jet which helped with the surging. I had a staintune exhaust put on which is well made but loud. I contacted staintune and they have a quieter baffle which they are sending me. I got my corbin seat and it looks great. Its a little firm but will soften with age. I bought a 14 tooth front sprocket which helps riding off road. The bike keeps getting better and better.
- Mike, Grantham, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-13 2000 Aprilia Pegaso 650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have the Pegaso 3 model for 5 years now. Bought it new and it has now 10.000 km on the clock. Never had any real serious problems with it. Just changed the reartyre at 10.000 km , the battery had to be replaced after 4 years and because of starting problems exchanged the plug myself. It runs smoothly up to approx 180 kmh on the clock (which exaggerates a lot I think). The only real complaint is the seat. After a while you really start feeling your butt. As options I have the top trunkcase which is really very handy (and stylish to) If you are not into topspeed this bike is the best to buy. Cheaper as the BMW and handles perfectly abd has great looks (allthought the new F650 isn't bad either)
- Rens Hooymayers, Drunen, Netherlands

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-11-07 2000 Aprilia Pegaso 650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Got about 6.5k on the bike now. Easy to work on and used mostly as a commuter. It handles the city street better than any sportbike, more flickable, and also gets great mileage. When new, the bike was a little cold blooded but a little adjustment with the idle mixture screw and some miles on the engine to break her in a little and she hasn't given me any problems. It's a clean and proven bike in Europe and really depends on how its been prepped by the dealer. Beaudry Motorsports up in Idaho did a great job. Surprisingly haven't vibrated any parts loose or off as reported by other owners. Four stars instead of five because of some vibration. Then again it is a single but has the advantage of being simple, easy to fix, and dependable with some style points to boot. Not all Italian bikes are like that.
- Cas, Atlanta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-11-04 2000 Aprilia Pegaso 650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Their are only 2 problems that I feel hinder this bike. One is the windshield, Givi makes an extended one that clears up that problem. And two, the idle problem. Mototek in Austin, has a cure, it involves some minor tweeking of the carb (call them and they will give you the settings). Once that is done, no more stalling and the bike runs great. Actually feels like a different bike. Bottom line, a fun bike that you can pick up used for cheap.
- Clizzi, Houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-06 2000 Aprilia Pegaso 650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the bike to use mostly for weekend pleasure rides. It was pre-owned with 6000km on the clock. The previous owner looked after it really well and it was (and still is ) spotless. I have had the same hassle with the bike cutting out at idle. It seems to run very cool, judging by the temp gauge. I'll try some suggestions from other riders. I'm only 5"10'but also feel that a higher screen would improve the ride. The bike revs a lot higher than most "thumpers" which takes a bit of getting used to, but after a while the higher revving engine grows on you and makes for great riding. The SA dealer network is VERY limited at the moment and although freely available, spares are expensive. Without doubt the best looking dual purpose machine on the market at the moment. Turns heads big time. I'm going to change the exhaust for something that gives a bit more of the traditional "thumper " sound. I'll let you know how that turns out.
- Warrick Dodge, Johannesburg, South Africa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-18 2000 Aprilia Pegaso 650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
A friend of mine bought a BMW F650, which was originally made by Aprilia till 2000. Since we do offroad camping and a lot of onroad/offroad touring, he talked me into purchasing a likeminded bike to keep up with the rest of them (cruisers hate dirt and gravel). He had some complaints with his BMW and encouraged me to look at the Aprilia. It was love at first site. I have 2,000 miles on it (only had less than 2 months before winter set it and I had to put it into storage), but I am dreaming of putting it back into the elements. During that time, there was no problems with starting, idling or riding. The enigine's unique twin carboration/single piston configuratin performs flawlessly through the entire range (low/mid/high). On the other hand, my buddies BMW with EFI is on the oposite end. He can't keep it running, cuts of at stops, and has already had the gas tanks replaced under recall. One point though...I did take the bike out of storage on a sunny, unseasonably warm day. The engine is very contankorous to start when very cold, but after you have driven it a few miles, it becomes normal. Otherwise, I'm really looking forward to spring.
- Red Jacket, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-11-15 2000 Aprilia Pegaso 650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I came from a Honda 1989 Transalp, which was a good motorcycle. The Pegaso is lighter, better brakes, bigger gas tank, centerstand and has the side bags and the top case as options. My spedo cable broke 2 miles from the dealership and the bike stalled 4 times at intersections while waiting for the traffic light to change. My local dealer called Aprilia Tech and found that two vent lines were reversed going from the carbs to the evap. tank (emissions crap). The bike is the ultimate urban assault vehicle and is a head turner whereever I go with it. The optional tank bag is well thought out. I am getting the rise in the seat taken out to yield more of a flat bench type of saddle. I use to ride sport bikes, use to tour but now I just ride to work 25 miles one way. This type of bike is perfect.
- mike parks, Comstock Park, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-11-02 2000 Aprilia Pegaso 650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
O.K. so it took me a while for my butt to get in shape. My last review was a little rough. I had a new bike and had no knowledge of it. I have since fixed the carb. (Idle mixture was too lean). The vibes have broken in and I no longer have a problem with it. I have put on another 2500 miles and can find nothing to bitch about. I am still trying to find a taller windshield. I have a piece of Lexan duc taped to the front extended 12" higher than stock. This allows me to stay in the saddle until gas up, also no neck pain. This is just the right sized bike for a 60-year-old. The price is ok. And I am looking forward to riding until the snow blocks my vision. I also put a throttle Rocker on and my hand never felt better. No cramps. Ride Well Stoney.
- Stoney Stonestreet, Rochester Hills, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-06-01 2000 Aprilia Pegaso 650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just took delivery of a black Pegaso. Aprilia has a great program where you can get a set of color-matched lateral bags plus a $250 accessory allowance. I've only put 1200 miles on my Pegaso but this is a fun bike to ride because it's light and easy to handle. Just like the other rider said -- go ride this bike, the magazines don't do this bike justice.
- Anonymous, Tallahassee, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-05-29 2000 Aprilia Pegaso 650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased a 2000 Pegaso in November of 99 and I'm very happy with the bike. Most tests that I have read say the bike is kinda wimpy. I disagree, the biggest H.P. thief is the KAT mufflers. I installed a set of Arrow mufflers and rejetted, feel like I discovered at least 10 more H.P. My only complaint at this point is the seat, however that's easy to fix with any number of after market seat Companies. I have over 3000 miles on the bike now and I swear it keep's getting faster. I have seen 112mph with me sitting upright.
- Jim Ruggles, Atlanta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: