Aprilia RST 1000 Futura Motorcycles Reviews (12)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Aprilia RST 1000 Futura Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Aprilia RST 1000 Futura Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2012-05-26 2004 Aprilia RST 1000 Futura Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It has a few electrical gremlins to contend with, and a smallish fuel tank, but it is a small price to pay for such an otherwise flawless sport tourer. It is comfortable 1,000 mile days, hangs with or beats up on the supersport crowd even when heavily loaded, and has sexy good looks in flame red with an exhaust note to match.
- xwing, Coast, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-26 2004 Aprilia RST 1000 Futura Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I went looking for a new ST3 and found my 02 Flame Red Futura. Best move I ever made. I will be keeping this bike. Of all the bikes I have owned over the last 28 years this is the one that puts the biggest smile on my face. No bike has the combination of power, handling, comfort, styling, reliability, and looks. Until something better comes along I won't consider selling it.
- Paul Forch, Phoenix, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-17 2004 Aprilia RST 1000 Futura Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a great bike. The press said it is ugly, but EVERY person who has commented on it tells me what a stunningly beautiful bike it is! I put full pipes and chip on her and she flies, stiffen up the suspension and she flat cooks in the canyons. I chased and blew by a 999 with full bags, camping gear and pillon. The guy couldn't believe it! Jack up the rear preload and the stand doesn't drag. All day comfort, realibility, and PHENOMENAL handling! I have a K5 gixxer 1000 and my RST is just as good in the canyons. A fantastic bike!
- bigdog1000, laguna niguel, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-17 2004 Aprilia RST 1000 Futura Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Man, What a bike! I saw it in the shop while buying a new clutch lever for my Triumph Sprint, sat on it and bought it before I even started it up. I kept the Triumph just in case I found it wasn't what I wanted - fat chance! I put Avon Viper Sport tires on it (with Nitro)and that made so much difference in the handling - incredible difference! I took that funny looking plastic number plate thing of the back and screwed the plate into the bottom of the mufflers (has twin Staintunes). Speaking of mufflers, the Staintunes look awseome, but were still quiet, so I had new header pipes made and took the catalytic converter off. I could not believe the difference in power (feels like another 15-20 horsepower), dropped the weight by 12 kilos, sounds magnificent (very loud). I have done 22,000 kilometres in 6 months. The centre stand is a hinderence in corners - I have got an angle grinder onto it but it still hits way too easily on both sides. I LOVE IT!
- Ken Carn, Sydney, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-02-17 2002 Aprilia RST 1000 Futura Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
So far I have owned a CBR1000, Harley FatBoy (good looking but terrible bike), an ST4 and the Futura. So, I've had a wide assortment to help tune my opinions. I got rid of a red ST4 for my ash black Aprilia and would have to give the nod to the Aprilia over the ST4 for a few reasons: comfort (as measured by hands and butt), body styling (much better looking than the ST4), fit/finish (the Duc constantly rattled and squeaked), and reliability (still no problems). The only drawbacks are <ol> <li>engine sound (its okay, but not NEAR like the Duc, and aftermarket pipes are only available from a few less than impressive designs). <li>the dealer network isn't as good in my area (Cincinnati) as Ducati--so thank goodness the reliability is at least higher. If you want the raw feel of a motor with the potential for a long trip requiring hard bags, get the Duc. If you place higher value on reliability and comfort in the event you might take longer trips more frequently - you'd probably be happier with the Aprilia.
- Sport Tourer-Cincy, Cincinnati, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-24 2004 Aprilia RST 1000 Futura Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Its been 30 years since I've ridden and on a whim I purchased a Futura. First I sat on them all and when it came to the Futura I knew it was the one. Talk about comfort... WOW! Like a hand and glove. Then it was time to get going. This bike is a real sleeper, I rode my son's RSV Mille and now its official, this is a track bike wrapped in great ammenities. Talk about go power, it keeps up with the best of them. After-market stuff to tweek it is a plus as well. A real looker to.
- Antonio Cavaluzzo, Randolph , New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-17 2001 Aprilia RST 1000 Futura Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Hello I just had to chime in on my '01 Aprilia Futura. This bike not only does everything I need it to, but it does it well. This is a sport/cruiser with the emphasis on "sport" with the ability to cruise. I found the riding position to be agressive yet comfortable with almost no arm or shoulder fatigue that you feel on pure sport bikes on long rides whether I'm flying solo or two-up. The hard bags literally take seconds to remove or install and the bike looks and handles great with or without them. Power is just a wrist flick away in any gear throughout the rev range ( be sure and hold on tight ). Steering is light, controlled and rock solid in corners once you dial the bike into your own personal liking, which is a snap due to the user friendly adjuster on the rear shock. The design ques and the sweet exhaust note make you the topic around other bikers. I'm still in shock that I found a bike this good for a price like this. Keep up the good work Aprilia you have a fan for life. Sincerely, Tim Holmes Durham NC
- Timothy Holmes, Raleigh , North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-13 2004 Aprilia RST 1000 Futura Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
A little hesitant to buy the bike because its...Italian. Living in Texas I was worried about reliability on long trips. Once I road the bike I was hooked. Great Rotax V twin. Flat torque curve. Power everywhere. Easy to ride. Fast and smooth. Rock solid. Most comfortable seat I've experienced on a bike. Excellent riding position. Bags work great. Have traveled all over Texas and New Mexico.Reliability has been excellent. Only complaint is that some parts are in short supply right now. Great user group at http://www.apriliaforum.com. Did I mention this bike is CHEAP? What a great deal on this sleeper. Deserves to be a best seller. (I have a 2001 but the bike is essentially the same)
- D. Barnard, HOUSTON, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-04-28 2002 Aprilia RST 1000 Futura Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Although I loved my Ducati ST2, I couldn't resist the chance to upgrade to this futuristic beauty (illusion red) that I have had my eye on since its introduction. I wasn't disappointed, quite the contrary. All of the high-tech features like four-valve head, single swing arm, digital information center, spot-on electronic ignition, etc. etc. place this bike well ahead of the others in it's class. I also own a VROD which can't be beat for pure pizazz, but I'd choose the Futura for touring. The ergos are perfect for me (5ft 10") including the comfy seat and the great windshield that gives just the right amount of wind protection without taking the fun out of the ride. The avant-guard, stealth styling and the bright red paint get almost as many stares as the VROD. The versitality of the 6-speed gearbox allows precise control in all riding venues. Fourth and fifth around town and sixth on the highway. I've owned many Harleys and all kinds of Japanese bikes and, I must say, I loved them all. I just love this one a little more than the rest. Aprilia is here to stay.I give it a 10.
- Bill B, Plantation, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-23 2002 Aprilia RST 1000 Futura Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love this bike... and so does my favorite passenger for the excellent seating ergonomics, the INCLUDED hard bags, the 8,000 miles with NO problems, the great wind protection, the way it attracts all sorts of favorable comments from a wide range of riders AND non-riders (it's a people magnet and a great way to meet new people), it's daring but not weird styling, excellent suspension for the pothole riddled roads I often have to ride, it's great fit and finish.... and more reasons. I don't want to bore you, just go buy one.
- DanM., Western part of:, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-23 2002 Aprilia RST 1000 Futura Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Excellent wind protection and luggage capacity. Very smooth powerful engine. Questionable workmanship (paint, assembly work, etc.) Dealer network few and far between. Tires wear out quickly.
- Matt Sheffield, Windsor, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-22 2001 Aprilia RST 1000 Futura Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike in early December 2001 and it is now 01/22/02 and I have 1,300 miles on it. I have to say that it is an awesome bike all the way around. This is my second street bike. My first, which I still own, is a 2001 Bandit 1200S with 12,000 miles on it and although I do/did like the Bandit, it served it's purpose for me. I realized that the type of riding I like is Sport Touring. The Futura is so unique, full of character, and I think it looks great with or without the standard hard luggage. Speaking of looks, I get the all the time on this bike. I bought it in silver (stream gray). This bike might cost twice as much as the Bandit, but I'm learning why that is. It has much better brakes and suspension, which is very apparent. There is little dive or squat when braking or accelerating. The suspension is stiffer for hard cornering at my skill level yet soft for the straight road. The engine is unique for me as I was coming from an inline four. I really like how the V-Twin feels and sounds. The fuel injection is really perfect for sport touring. I'm finding this out riding in the Texas Hill Country up and down hills and around twistys. The fuel injection is constant and smooth for really precise control. The handling is great too. The bike feels really planted and has increased my cornering confidence at low or high speeds. My Futura came equipped with Metzelers and so far I have no complaints. The torque from the engine is great too and there is plenty of it in all RPM ranges. Wheelies are easy on this bike. The bike feels so well balanced and with the torque, lifting the front end off the ground doesn't feel out of control. Wind protection is even better than a 2000 VFR as I have ridden and compared the two. Gas mileage is good as well. I can ride pretty hard and go about 180 to 200miles. The fuel injection really helps in that area. The display looks good and is easy to read, especially at night with the blue backlit illumination. I really like the ambient temperature gauge as well. It helps in judging the temperature you are riding in and what to wear to stay comfortable. The seat and headlights are probably the best out there. The seat is so comfortable that it became apparent to me the other day that I haven't even noticed it on long rides. The headlight and high beams are really well designed. They show so much of the road without blinding oncoming traffic. The bike also has a PARKING position on the ignition which leaves the rear tail light lit and a dim front bulb lit for rear or oncoming traffic to see at night if you are parked or stranded on the side of the road. The bike is nothing short of awesome for a sport tourer in my opinion and it seems to be changing for the better the more I ride it. It has good reviews in all of the ones I've read with only a few justifiable negatives. The only competitors are BMW, the ST4, and the new VFR. Scratch BMW off since they cost so much, they are heavy, and have engine surging problems. The problem I see with the ST4 is with the ergonomics, the initial price, and price of maintenance. Long rides on that seat and seating position doesn't look comfortable and it costs more than the Futura all the way around. The 2000 VFR is a great bike that I have had a chance to ride but I think the Futura edges it out in a few areas. The new 2002 VFR is cheaper and offers ABS and hard luggage that will probably be under or match the Futura in price. The VFR is a Honda, which was a consideration of mine for reliability and manufacturer support, but I just wouldn't be happy with a RED bike that Honda always offers the VFR in. Even if Honda offered it in another color I wouldn't have any regrets. The Futura's uniqueness fits me better and it performs so well. Aprilia really seems to be focusing on the U.S. market and coming up with really great bikes. It also helps to have a good dealer. My dealer is Mototek in Round Rock, Tx. and they have been good to work with and they only sell Aprilia. I feel like I have a good place to go when a problem or concern arises. I'm convinced that Aprilia will have good support for my bike with the way they have been coming out with consumer bikes. I have a feeling that I'll be keeping this bike for a long time. I'll add another review after my next big ride.
- Mike Goodman, Austin, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: