Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Aprilia RST 1000 Futura reviews

4.8
Write a review
Reliability
4.8
Overall quality
4.8
Performance
4.8
Comfort
4.8

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

12 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

xwing

Coast, Oregon

Reviewed on 2012-05-26

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Aprilia RST 1000 Futura

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
It has a few electrical gremlins to contend with, and a smallish fuel tank, but it is a small price to pay for such an otherwise flawless sport tourer. It is comfortable 1,000 mile days, hangs with or beats up on the supersport crowd even when heavily loaded, and has sexy good looks in flame red with an exhaust note to match.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Paul Forch

Phoenix, Arizona

Reviewed on 2007-03-26

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Aprilia RST 1000 Futura

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I went looking for a new ST3 and found my 02 Flame Red Futura. Best move I ever made. I will be keeping this bike. Of all the bikes I have owned over the last 28 years this is the one that puts the biggest smile on my face. No bike has the combination of power, handling, comfort, styling, reliability, and looks. Until something better comes along I won't consider selling it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

bigdog1000

laguna niguel, California

Reviewed on 2006-11-17

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Aprilia RST 1000 Futura

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is a great bike. The press said it is ugly, but EVERY person who has commented on it tells me what a stunningly beautiful bike it is! I put full pipes and chip on her and she flies, stiffen up the suspension and she flat cooks in the canyons. I chased and blew by a 999 with full bags, camping gear and pillon. The guy couldn't believe it! Jack up the rear preload and the stand doesn't drag. All day comfort, realibility, and PHENOMENAL handling! I have a K5 gixxer 1000 and my RST is just as good in the canyons. A fantastic bike!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ken Carn

Sydney, Australia

Reviewed on 2006-05-17

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Aprilia RST 1000 Futura

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Man, What a bike! I saw it in the shop while buying a new clutch lever for my Triumph Sprint, sat on it and bought it before I even started it up. I kept the Triumph just in case I found it wasn't what I wanted - fat chance! I put Avon Viper Sport tires on it (with Nitro)and that made so much difference in the handling - incredible difference! I took that funny looking plastic number plate thing of the back and screwed the plate into the bottom of the mufflers (has twin Staintunes). Speaking of mufflers, the Staintunes look awseome, but were still quiet, so I had new header pipes made and took the catalytic converter off. I could not believe the difference in power (feels like another 15-20 horsepower), dropped the weight by 12 kilos, sounds magnificent (very loud). I have done 22,000 kilometres in 6 months. The centre stand is a hinderence in corners - I have got an angle grinder onto it but it still hits way too easily on both sides. I LOVE IT!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Sport Tourer-Cincy

Cincinnati, Ohio

Reviewed on 2005-02-17

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Aprilia RST 1000 Futura

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
So far I have owned a CBR1000, Harley FatBoy (good looking but terrible bike), an ST4 and the Futura. So, I've had a wide assortment to help tune my opinions. I got rid of a red ST4 for my ash black Aprilia and would have to give the nod to the Aprilia over the ST4 for a few reasons: comfort (as measured by hands and butt), body styling (much better looking than the ST4), fit/finish (the Duc constantly rattled and squeaked), and reliability (still no problems). The only drawbacks are <ol> <li>engine sound (its okay, but not NEAR like the Duc, and aftermarket pipes are only available from a few less than impressive designs). <li>the dealer network isn't as good in my area (Cincinnati) as Ducati--so thank goodness the reliability is at least higher. If you want the raw feel of a motor with the potential for a long trip requiring hard bags, get the Duc. If you place higher value on reliability and comfort in the event you might take longer trips more frequently - you'd probably be happier with the Aprilia.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Antonio Cavaluzzo

Randolph , New Jersey

Reviewed on 2004-06-24

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Aprilia RST 1000 Futura

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Its been 30 years since I've ridden and on a whim I purchased a Futura. First I sat on them all and when it came to the Futura I knew it was the one. Talk about comfort... WOW! Like a hand and glove. Then it was time to get going. This bike is a real sleeper, I rode my son's RSV Mille and now its official, this is a track bike wrapped in great ammenities. Talk about go power, it keeps up with the best of them. After-market stuff to tweek it is a plus as well. A real looker to.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Timothy Holmes

Raleigh , North Carolina

Reviewed on 2004-05-17

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Aprilia RST 1000 Futura

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Hello I just had to chime in on my '01 Aprilia Futura. This bike not only does everything I need it to, but it does it well. This is a sport/cruiser with the emphasis on "sport" with the ability to cruise. I found the riding position to be agressive yet comfortable with almost no arm or shoulder fatigue that you feel on pure sport bikes on long rides whether I'm flying solo or two-up. The hard bags literally take seconds to remove or install and the bike looks and handles great with or without them. Power is just a wrist flick away in any gear throughout the rev range ( be sure and hold on tight ). Steering is light, controlled and rock solid in corners once you dial the bike into your own personal liking, which is a snap due to the user friendly adjuster on the rear shock. The design ques and the sweet exhaust note make you the topic around other bikers. I'm still in shock that I found a bike this good for a price like this. Keep up the good work Aprilia you have a fan for life. Sincerely, Tim Holmes Durham NC
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

D. Barnard

HOUSTON, Texas

Reviewed on 2004-03-13

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Aprilia RST 1000 Futura

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
A little hesitant to buy the bike because its...Italian. Living in Texas I was worried about reliability on long trips. Once I road the bike I was hooked. Great Rotax V twin. Flat torque curve. Power everywhere. Easy to ride. Fast and smooth. Rock solid. Most comfortable seat I've experienced on a bike. Excellent riding position. Bags work great. Have traveled all over Texas and New Mexico.Reliability has been excellent. Only complaint is that some parts are in short supply right now. Great user group at http://www.apriliaforum.com. Did I mention this bike is CHEAP? What a great deal on this sleeper. Deserves to be a best seller. (I have a 2001 but the bike is essentially the same)
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bill B

Plantation, Florida

Reviewed on 2002-04-28

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Aprilia RST 1000 Futura

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Although I loved my Ducati ST2, I couldn't resist the chance to upgrade to this futuristic beauty (illusion red) that I have had my eye on since its introduction. I wasn't disappointed, quite the contrary. All of the high-tech features like four-valve head, single swing arm, digital information center, spot-on electronic ignition, etc. etc. place this bike well ahead of the others in it's class. I also own a VROD which can't be beat for pure pizazz, but I'd choose the Futura for touring. The ergos are perfect for me (5ft 10") including the comfy seat and the great windshield that gives just the right amount of wind protection without taking the fun out of the ride. The avant-guard, stealth styling and the bright red paint get almost as many stares as the VROD. The versitality of the 6-speed gearbox allows precise control in all riding venues. Fourth and fifth around town and sixth on the highway. I've owned many Harleys and all kinds of Japanese bikes and, I must say, I loved them all. I just love this one a little more than the rest. Aprilia is here to stay.I give it a 10.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

DanM.

Western part of:, New York

Reviewed on 2002-01-23

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Aprilia RST 1000 Futura

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I love this bike... and so does my favorite passenger for the excellent seating ergonomics, the INCLUDED hard bags, the 8,000 miles with NO problems, the great wind protection, the way it attracts all sorts of favorable comments from a wide range of riders AND non-riders (it's a people magnet and a great way to meet new people), it's daring but not weird styling, excellent suspension for the pothole riddled roads I often have to ride, it's great fit and finish.... and more reasons. I don't want to bore you, just go buy one.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 12 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: