Aprilia SL 1000 Falco Motorcycles Reviews (12)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Aprilia SL 1000 Falco Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Aprilia SL 1000 Falco Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2006-09-24 2000 Aprilia SL 1000 Falco Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike new five years ago. I very nearly bought a Honda Firstorm as I wanted a softer sports bike with a little more comfort. I'm not sorry I bought the Aprilia Falco, it's been absolutely reliable. A minor problem being a replacement side stand switch which was under warranty. The original clutch was a little weak so I fitted a Barnett race clutch - not necessary, but it's much better. I also upgraded the rear shock for more comfort. Apart from this, the bike has been almost perfect. I have ridden this bike in all weather and it still looks good after a wash. Many riders have been amazed by the way this bike goes and often beats more expensive super bikes, I just don't understand why Aprilia didn't clean up with this beautiful designed V-twin, could it have been better? Maybe, but not at this price. I'm a very satisfied owner and I can't bare to part with it. Faults: only one bad really, that's the nasty cheap bendy side stand.
- Paul, Berkshire, Indiana, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-01 2000 Aprilia SL 1000 Falco Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my 2001 Falco last year and am very pleased I did. The first thing I noticed after sitting on it was that the riding position was not as extreme as the average supersport and rightly so as this is tauted as a "light tourer." don't let the word tourer fool you, though because this bike has power. A quick twist of the throttle will have your front wheel in the air before you can blink and the sound from this bike makes everyone take notice. These things are nice, but these aren't it's only qualities. This is an excellent road bike with good city manners and rail-tight handling. It performs just as well in the tight twisties as it does during the morning commute. I use mine for the daily commute to work and also to visit family in the Shennendoah Valley. After that 5 hour ride, I'm not overly fatigued although I'll admit, I'm ready for a break. My biggest complaint with the Falco is the stock seat which is a bit thin for longer rides and in traffic jams, it seems to transfer heat from the engine directly to your bum. Otherwise, I have no problems with it. Everytime I think about buying a new bike, I just can't bring myself to do it, because mine can do it all.
- A.J., Odenton, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-17 2000 Aprilia SL 1000 Falco Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had this model for two years. The power is not quite what the japs are but then agian it's only a sport touring bike that out handels anything out on the road. No one can keep up with me in the turns unless they race on the track. I'm not that great of a rider.
- jeremy, chicago, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-12-21 2000 Aprilia SL 1000 Falco Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've (like most of you out there) have had many types of bikes. Started riding when I was 16 which was...well many years ago. This is my favorite bike. Handling is very stable, the turn in is a little slow but if you hang off a bit it responds nicely. The engine has been very good, fast but without the high pitch and tension that goes with a motor that needs high rpm. The trans is smooth....after the motor warms up to 150+ degrees. Below that neutral is hard to find. Brakes = plenty. I enjoy it on the backroads and have been to 3 track schools (Reg Pridmores CLASS) at Grattan and Mid Ohio. Performance = you should see my smile! Reliability has been good too. The looks get attention from riders, bikers and the general public too, this is a fine looking machine. The only bad thing is the winter in Michigan makes the break too long. I'll be ready for pipes, a chip and air filter in the spring. Any suggestions from other Falco surfers? Ride quick & safe.
- Rick Clendenen, Milford, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-08-16 2000 Aprilia SL 1000 Falco Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I can't say enough about this bike. My friend has a GSX-R 1000 (who doesn't). I have ridden his bike. Has a lot more power higher in the rev range, but I am not a rev kind of guy. I love the rich pure pounding in your face raw torque of a good sport twin. Oh, it's like an orgasm on a bike. This bike has sport and sensibility all together. I have had a problem though. The kickstand light switch has broken. Dealer is ordering parts. Other than that the bike is perfect. I have 8200 miles of fun and planning on putting tons more. See yall
- Chad, Dallas, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-26 2000 Aprilia SL 1000 Falco Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned 4 bikes in the last 8 years of riding. I have owned a Honda Interceptor, Ducati 900 SS, Suzuki Hayabusa, and Yamaha R1. This bike beats them all. I couldn't believe it when I had my R1. I thought that bike was untouchable. Fact is, the Falco stomps the R1. Of course the R1 will whip around a track a little bit easier, but not out on the street. The V-twin is perfect. Honda and Suzuki couldn't get it right and my Ducati I had, used to stall and have constant maintenance needs. This motor is a lot more powerful than the Duck. This bike handles beautifully. It is almost like all the bikes I have owned in the past have come together to form this perfect machine. That is really why I bought it because I expected that and it is everything I expected. The power has a perfect powerband a lot more exciting than any of my Japanese bikes. The handling is spot on, the brakes are beyond all of my previous bikes (brembo Baby!) even though the Duck had them, these feel better. I gotta tell ya, I have 14,558 miles as of this past weekend. Not a single problem. I had the kickstand part replaced already. No biggie. This bike gets better and better every time I ride it. Last year I toured over to California and back up through Arizona. Very comfortable! I am planning to go East this year. haven't quite decided. Good luck out there picking a bike, I know how time consuming it all can be to say well this bike does that well and that one is great in that area. Just get a Falco. I guarantee you won't be disappointed. Oh yeah, one more thing. I have had more chicks interested in this bike than any of my others (the Italians know how to make em) and ya know I'm 28, not a bad looking guy, but have a girlfriend. Too bad. Just have to go surf some Asphalt. Later!
- Mike, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-05 2000 Aprilia SL 1000 Falco Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Anonymous from Kentucky....sounds like you do a lot of business with Transport in Lexington. I am seriously considering the Falco, but having never owned a sportbike, I was wondering if this would be the correct move. I dig the looks of the bike and the sound of the VTwin (The red demo with the high-rise pipes) and I don't want a "common" bike. Is the Falco worth the extra $2-3,000 over a comparable Japanese I-4? What about the Ducati 900SS? I know this isn't a chat, but I thought I would ask a few questions anyway.
- Chris, Lexington, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-09 2000 Aprilia SL 1000 Falco Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love my Falco. I have nothing bad to say about it. The idiot that wrote about it and stayed anonymous is a loser. We do not care how many bikes you own or how much experience you have. I am so sick and tired of all the losers who but their bikes for everyone else except for themselves. I am embarresed to own a motorcycle sometimes with all the idiots who own them. The southern california squids who ride in shorts and flip flops. The poser "want a be"people who have no idea what a bike is for. Get a real hobby that the rednecks and you can sit around and ruin. Hey, I know, ruin Nascar. I hate Nascar.Stopped ruining ours you ignorant fool. Thanks
- Mark Pascuzzo, Mesa, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-02 2000 Aprilia SL 1000 Falco Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
As I own and ride a wide variety of bikes I couldn't help but try out the new Falco, since I already own a Black/gray/silver Mille. I was immediately impressed at how well the stock suspension set-up felt on the road along with the comfort of this bike. I thoroughly enjoyed a demo bike that had not yet been derestricted and the enjoyment was even better afterwards. I define enjoyment as excellent handling on the variety of twisty backroads Kentucky is famous for. The torque from the engine and the excellent Metzlers was just perfect. I saw the colors that the Falco was going to come in 2001 (yellow,blue and silver) and decided to take a current 2000 red one home. No buyer's remorse only a great bike added to my garage. I've ordered a set of hi-mount Leo Vinci pipes for a little more V twin music. I just couldn't help but lift the front wheel on the way home. Yes, I love my Mille, RC 51, 98/R1, 955i 00/VFR and 96/CBR900, but this bike makes the most torque where you use it most and is even more comfortable than my Mille. I only mention the bikes I have for comparison reasons and I'm a lifelong motorcyclist therefore the list of bikes I use to own is longer still. I'm 6'1" and 180lbs and probably older than you. This bike is the best road bike with the exception of carrying a passager(why I have a VFR). I personally like the styling of this bike and see it as the best road sport bike you can get. I am impressed with the build quality and reliability of Aprilias and the Falco is just brilliant. The funny thing is the Mille is a pure sport bike that's even great on the road and the Falco is a great road bike that I'm planning to see how good it is on the track come this spring. Today we are fortunate that there are so many great bikes, but the Falco is bringing us quality, style and reliable V twin performance than seen before.
- Bill Voss, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-11-17 2000 Aprilia SL 1000 Falco Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The bike is an excellent compromise in that it's not unforgiving like a Ducati and not boring like most Hondas. It's fast and handles but it's also comfortable as I've done 500-mile days. Reliability in 12,000 miles has been excellent. Servicing is reasonably straightforward even though they don't show you in the manual how to get to the front spark plugs. All it needs is slip-ons, and maybe a Corbin seat. You won't be disappointed the first time you whack open the t
- duck hunter, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-06-01 2000 Aprilia SL 1000 Falco Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First of all I'm not sorry I bought this bike at all, but I will say I'm a little disappointed in the finish quality of the bike. Rides, runs and may just be the best looking half-fairing machine on the market. It's when you start to get into details like decals on crooked and tail section parts not lining up correctly. It's the little things that leave a bad taste. Keep people from putting it under a magnifying glass and you have the coolest machine on the road. Just don't let them get too close....
- Mike St. Germain, Providence, Rhode Island

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-05-16 2000 Aprilia SL 1000 Falco Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I thought that $400+ for the first service (@ 600 miles) was a bit pricey, but it does involve checking the valves, and therefore dis-assembling the bike a bit. In retrospect, I would push for including this in the purchase price of the bike during negotiations with the dealer. Also, I was a bit upset when I got it back; the bike was rough-shifting, stuttered, and tended to stall, even when simply putting it in first with the clutch held all the way open! It came alive again after I adjusted the idle up a quarter turn and set it to about 1200 RPM, where the owner's manual says it should be. The adjuster knob is on the right side of the engine, near your knee. It's still a bit rough off the bottom for the first few miles after starting it hot, but otherwise runs beautifully. Insurance is/was a major pain. Neither Rider, nor Progressive carry coverage for the Falco yet. My Allstate agent kindly told me that "While I would be very happy to add your new bike to your car policy, I'm equally sure you wouldn't be happy paying for it." I didn't bother to ask him what it would have been. I ended up getting coverage from a Florida-based company called Fernet. Despite my efforts to convince them otherwise, the Falco is classified a Sport bike, and a 34-year old man living in New Jersey with a perfectly clean (no accidents/tickets) driving record, 10+ year experience, and MSF course completion (Me!) will pay over $2,000/year for full coverage (around $700 for liability only). OUCH!!! By way of contrast - I am leasing a loaded 2000 Acura 3.2 TL and my $11,300 motorcycle costs 10% more to insure than my $30,000 car. Needless to say, I continue to look for an offering based in reality. Alternatively, I may just partake in whatever it is the insurance folks have been smoking. Looks-wise it is simply gorgeous - riders and non-riders alike have commented on it. And unlike my old (fridge-white) VFR, I can sit in the garage and stare at it. My full-on sport bike friends have yet to demonstrate any supposed backroad 'superiority,' and I arrive fresher and look better doing it. Do you get the feeling I love my bike??? Scott
- M. Scott Edell, Dunellen, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: