Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Aprilia SL 1000 Falco reviews

4.6
Write a review
Reliability
4.5
Overall quality
4.6
Performance
4.6
Comfort
4.5

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

13 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Chris

Massachusetts

Reviewed on 2020-11-09

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Aprilia SL 1000 Falco

Shop this motorcycle

1.0
It was horrible. The gas was bad. The gas broke. I was shredding too hard. Im too good.
Reliability
1.0
Quality
1.0
Performance
1.0
Comfort
1.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Paul

Berkshire, Indiana, United Kingdom

Reviewed on 2006-09-24

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Aprilia SL 1000 Falco

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought this bike new five years ago. I very nearly bought a Honda Firstorm as I wanted a softer sports bike with a little more comfort. I'm not sorry I bought the Aprilia Falco, it's been absolutely reliable. A minor problem being a replacement side stand switch which was under warranty. The original clutch was a little weak so I fitted a Barnett race clutch - not necessary, but it's much better. I also upgraded the rear shock for more comfort. Apart from this, the bike has been almost perfect. I have ridden this bike in all weather and it still looks good after a wash. Many riders have been amazed by the way this bike goes and often beats more expensive super bikes, I just don't understand why Aprilia didn't clean up with this beautiful designed V-twin, could it have been better? Maybe, but not at this price. I'm a very satisfied owner and I can't bare to part with it. Faults: only one bad really, that's the nasty cheap bendy side stand.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

A.J.

Odenton, Maryland

Reviewed on 2004-06-01

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Aprilia SL 1000 Falco

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I purchased my 2001 Falco last year and am very pleased I did. The first thing I noticed after sitting on it was that the riding position was not as extreme as the average supersport and rightly so as this is tauted as a "light tourer." don't let the word tourer fool you, though because this bike has power. A quick twist of the throttle will have your front wheel in the air before you can blink and the sound from this bike makes everyone take notice. These things are nice, but these aren't it's only qualities. This is an excellent road bike with good city manners and rail-tight handling. It performs just as well in the tight twisties as it does during the morning commute. I use mine for the daily commute to work and also to visit family in the Shennendoah Valley. After that 5 hour ride, I'm not overly fatigued although I'll admit, I'm ready for a break. My biggest complaint with the Falco is the stock seat which is a bit thin for longer rides and in traffic jams, it seems to transfer heat from the engine directly to your bum. Otherwise, I have no problems with it. Everytime I think about buying a new bike, I just can't bring myself to do it, because mine can do it all.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

jeremy

chicago, Illinois

Reviewed on 2003-08-17

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Aprilia SL 1000 Falco

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have had this model for two years. The power is not quite what the japs are but then agian it's only a sport touring bike that out handels anything out on the road. No one can keep up with me in the turns unless they race on the track. I'm not that great of a rider.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Rick Clendenen

Milford, Michigan

Reviewed on 2001-12-21

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Aprilia SL 1000 Falco

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've (like most of you out there) have had many types of bikes. Started riding when I was 16 which was...well many years ago. This is my favorite bike. Handling is very stable, the turn in is a little slow but if you hang off a bit it responds nicely. The engine has been very good, fast but without the high pitch and tension that goes with a motor that needs high rpm. The trans is smooth....after the motor warms up to 150+ degrees. Below that neutral is hard to find. Brakes = plenty. I enjoy it on the backroads and have been to 3 track schools (Reg Pridmores CLASS) at Grattan and Mid Ohio. Performance = you should see my smile! Reliability has been good too. The looks get attention from riders, bikers and the general public too, this is a fine looking machine. The only bad thing is the winter in Michigan makes the break too long. I'll be ready for pipes, a chip and air filter in the spring. Any suggestions from other Falco surfers? Ride quick & safe.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Chad

Dallas, Texas

Reviewed on 2001-08-16

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Aprilia SL 1000 Falco

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I can't say enough about this bike. My friend has a GSX-R 1000 (who doesn't). I have ridden his bike. Has a lot more power higher in the rev range, but I am not a rev kind of guy. I love the rich pure pounding in your face raw torque of a good sport twin. Oh, it's like an orgasm on a bike. This bike has sport and sensibility all together. I have had a problem though. The kickstand light switch has broken. Dealer is ordering parts. Other than that the bike is perfect. I have 8200 miles of fun and planning on putting tons more. See yall
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mike

Utah

Reviewed on 2001-06-26

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Aprilia SL 1000 Falco

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have owned 4 bikes in the last 8 years of riding. I have owned a Honda Interceptor, Ducati 900 SS, Suzuki Hayabusa, and Yamaha R1. This bike beats them all. I couldn't believe it when I had my R1. I thought that bike was untouchable. Fact is, the Falco stomps the R1. Of course the R1 will whip around a track a little bit easier, but not out on the street. The V-twin is perfect. Honda and Suzuki couldn't get it right and my Ducati I had, used to stall and have constant maintenance needs. This motor is a lot more powerful than the Duck. This bike handles beautifully. It is almost like all the bikes I have owned in the past have come together to form this perfect machine. That is really why I bought it because I expected that and it is everything I expected. The power has a perfect powerband a lot more exciting than any of my Japanese bikes. The handling is spot on, the brakes are beyond all of my previous bikes (brembo Baby!) even though the Duck had them, these feel better. I gotta tell ya, I have 14,558 miles as of this past weekend. Not a single problem. I had the kickstand part replaced already. No biggie. This bike gets better and better every time I ride it. Last year I toured over to California and back up through Arizona. Very comfortable! I am planning to go East this year. haven't quite decided. Good luck out there picking a bike, I know how time consuming it all can be to say well this bike does that well and that one is great in that area. Just get a Falco. I guarantee you won't be disappointed. Oh yeah, one more thing. I have had more chicks interested in this bike than any of my others (the Italians know how to make em) and ya know I'm 28, not a bad looking guy, but have a girlfriend. Too bad. Just have to go surf some Asphalt. Later!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Chris

Lexington, Kentucky

Reviewed on 2001-02-05

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Aprilia SL 1000 Falco

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Anonymous from Kentucky....sounds like you do a lot of business with Transport in Lexington. I am seriously considering the Falco, but having never owned a sportbike, I was wondering if this would be the correct move. I dig the looks of the bike and the sound of the VTwin (The red demo with the high-rise pipes) and I don't want a "common" bike. Is the Falco worth the extra $2-3,000 over a comparable Japanese I-4? What about the Ducati 900SS? I know this isn't a chat, but I thought I would ask a few questions anyway.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mark Pascuzzo

Mesa, Arizona

Reviewed on 2001-01-09

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Aprilia SL 1000 Falco

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I love my Falco. I have nothing bad to say about it. The idiot that wrote about it and stayed anonymous is a loser. We do not care how many bikes you own or how much experience you have. I am so sick and tired of all the losers who but their bikes for everyone else except for themselves. I am embarresed to own a motorcycle sometimes with all the idiots who own them. The southern california squids who ride in shorts and flip flops. The poser "want a be"people who have no idea what a bike is for. Get a real hobby that the rednecks and you can sit around and ruin. Hey, I know, ruin Nascar. I hate Nascar.Stopped ruining ours you ignorant fool. Thanks
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bill Voss

Kentucky

Reviewed on 2001-01-02

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Aprilia SL 1000 Falco

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
As I own and ride a wide variety of bikes I couldn't help but try out the new Falco, since I already own a Black/gray/silver Mille. I was immediately impressed at how well the stock suspension set-up felt on the road along with the comfort of this bike. I thoroughly enjoyed a demo bike that had not yet been derestricted and the enjoyment was even better afterwards. I define enjoyment as excellent handling on the variety of twisty backroads Kentucky is famous for. The torque from the engine and the excellent Metzlers was just perfect. I saw the colors that the Falco was going to come in 2001 (yellow,blue and silver) and decided to take a current 2000 red one home. No buyer's remorse only a great bike added to my garage. I've ordered a set of hi-mount Leo Vinci pipes for a little more V twin music. I just couldn't help but lift the front wheel on the way home. Yes, I love my Mille, RC 51, 98/R1, 955i 00/VFR and 96/CBR900, but this bike makes the most torque where you use it most and is even more comfortable than my Mille. I only mention the bikes I have for comparison reasons and I'm a lifelong motorcyclist therefore the list of bikes I use to own is longer still. I'm 6'1" and 180lbs and probably older than you. This bike is the best road bike with the exception of carrying a passager(why I have a VFR). I personally like the styling of this bike and see it as the best road sport bike you can get. I am impressed with the build quality and reliability of Aprilias and the Falco is just brilliant. The funny thing is the Mille is a pure sport bike that's even great on the road and the Falco is a great road bike that I'm planning to see how good it is on the track come this spring. Today we are fortunate that there are so many great bikes, but the Falco is bringing us quality, style and reliable V twin performance than seen before.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 13 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: