Aprilia Scarabeo 500 Motorcycles Reviews (7)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Aprilia Scarabeo 500 Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Aprilia Scarabeo 500 Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2008-04-18 2004 Aprilia Scarabeo 500 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike new in April of '05. As you can see, it doesn't rest too much. This bike gets very regular, very thorough maintenance. It has never let me down. Only 1 minor issue; the water pump developed a small leak. I even continued to ride it while the parts came in. I once rode it 230 miles just for lunch and then back home. That particular day it was between 105 degrees and 114 degrees. The big 'Beo never broke a sweat. It fared much better than I did. This bike needs nothing right out of the box to take you anywhere you want to go. Lots of storage with the optional panniers. This bike is comfortable and stable at speeds of 75-80 mph for as long as you want to ride it.
- Don Hall, Lawrence, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-25 2005 Aprilia Scarabeo 500 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Scarabeo 500 about 9 months ago. It was my first 2 wheeled vehicle in about 30 years. I had used it mostly for local trips. I guess I should explain that my home is in the US, but I also live in the mountains in northern Italy. My wife and I decided to take a vacation in Tuscany on the Scarabeo. I planed a 1600 kilometer trip that was going to take between 6 or 7 days. It was my first ever tour that included my first autostrada, My first rain storm, not to mention my first two up.I only mention these details so I can explain my level of experience as it pertains to my review. First of all storage: I had purchased the lateral bags as well as the soft bag that goes between your legs. My wife carried two pairs of shoes including running shoes. I carried my running shoes. we carried enough clothes for a week including swim suits, sweat shirts, rain gear video camera plus all the electric gear for charging that plus cell phone gps+ cables two ipods, toiletries and a medicine kit not to mention a jump rope, beach towel and oh yea paper back books. We also bought another bigger beach towel, my wife bought a dress and we bought a bottle of olive oil.The storage is unbelievable we checked into a hotel popped off the lateral bags and unconnected the soft bag and away we went. The Ride: The Scarabeo was incredible it handled the mountain curves, the superhighway at 130-140 k an hour, the rain and a 500 meter off road downhill experience that I hope to never repeat. Every stop we made including the auto-grills people came up to admire the bike. Tunnels and tunnels with curves are unnerving, but the Scarabeo handled them well. You have never lived until you are passed by a big bus in a dark tunnel. In closing this was one of the best vacations ever. I know that big scooters have not really caught on in the US as they have in Europe, but I have to tell you that I am blown away about how my Sacrbeo performed. I bought it because it is beautiful, but I have learned that the beauty is far more than skin deep Next summer we are going to do a moto vacation again.
- Jeff Rose, Westport, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-26 2005 Aprilia Scarabeo 500 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had this bike about 2 months, like it very much, it has good power and handling, and the Scarabeo has great balance and the layout of the controls work great for me. I took it up to over 90 mph and it still had more to go in the power department. On the road, riding at 68 mph I have gotten 65 mpg so far and some of that was two up, but going slower. Have made two upgrades including a taller windscreen and modified the seat for a little more room. I had a Burgman 400 before the Scarabeo 500 and I like the bike a lot better because it weighs a little more and it handles better for my needs and it is a little faster than the Burgman. I also like the 4 1/2 gallon fuel tank that is a real plus!
- Walt Bryant, Sun City, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-06 2004 Aprilia Scarabeo 500 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have now had this automatic bike for 6 months, and I like it even more each time that I ride it. I have discovered the following: BRAKES - They are good, especially when you need to come to a very quick stop. Where I use the front brake 95% of the time on my 2001 SV650, I use the combined front and rear left break the most. LEAN - the 500 will lean as far as you want to take it. Country roads or tight turns at lights are a piece of cake. The tires grip well. SEAT - My legs and toe tips have become adjusted to the tall, wide seat. When riding I realize that I can see really far because I'm about the same height as an SUV driver. STEERING - I have tightened the steering damper almost to the maximum (yes, there is one, but it takes some practice to reach it under the front fender) for better connection with the road. I now also have the Borso tunnel bag that, when tight against the inner part of the fairing and the seat, acts beautifully as an additional steering damper, especially in strong winds. SPEED - When I take off at a red light, I don't feel like I'm going fast, but cars are always in my mirrors. MIRRORS - They work really well. This is the first bike that I can actually see easily what's behind me on both sides. CENTERSTAND - If you know how to use a centerstand properly, you'll find the 500 raises easily. This helps when you frequently clean the brake dust off the rims, check the tires etc. I have to rock a couple of times to get the bike down, due to the height. Be careful in gas stations if a car moves too close to you when filling up. You'll need some room as you come down off the stand. COLD WEATHER - I ride throughout the winter and the hand guards so far (December 6th) on the fairing have been great. Cold fingertips and body parts on my SV have been comfortable on the 500. EASE OF OPERATION - I can see/enjoy more of my surroundings while riding because the management of the bike is so much easier. No shifting. No adjustment of the feet for braking. A full upright, comfortable position with the wind 85% off of you and loads of room for adjustment of your feet. MILEAGE - When I tell people that I'm getting 55-60 mpg, no matter how hard I ride, they ask where they can find an Aprilia Scarabeo 500.
- Jim, Drexel Hill , Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-21 2004 Aprilia Scarabeo 500 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a well built large wheeled maxi scoot built around the Piaggio Master 460cc single cylinder engine used in other Piaggio scooters. I know this scooter very well and can honestly say there are few faults to be found. The rear shocks pre-load require a wrench for adjusting. The windscreen could be just a tad taller but that is easily remedied with lips or a Givi. And it is a big single mounted on a swing arm so frost heaves in intersections make for a rough ride at speed. That is honestly about all that could be criticized. The plus side is clearly stronger. The big Scarabeo offers a great saddle with a great 50 litre trunk capable of holding plenty, or two full face helmets side by side. The bike accellerates well and can cruise comfortably at better than 75mph. The ride can push to approaching 90mph but depending upon wind and road conditions it won't be as relaxed of a ride. The style and lines of the bike are second to none. The fit and finish and manner in which panels fit are first class. The wheels are sweet! Add the 50 litre Aprilia tunnel bag and you have >100 litres of space and you haven't even added the side bags yet! Side bags take some mileage off so I prefer the tunnel bag, a duffle behind me on the passenger saddle and the trunk. That gets me ample room for change of clothes, helmet, lunch and whatever else I require for a weekend trip. The dash computer is a nice to have for monitoring trip mileage, voltage, external temp, miles to next service, average speed, top speed etc. MPG is calculating wrong, likely related to arithmetic on litres. By hand I consistently get better than 50mpg. I can easily get greater than 200 miles before exhausting my reserve. As I recall the tank is 4.2 U.S. gallons. The brakes are linked with dual disks up front and a single at rear. The bike stops well for its size. This scooter really does cross over into the motorcycle touring region. This scooter has raised the bar. Honda and Suzuki have greater displacement with their Silverwing and Burgman's wrapped around small twin cylinders but they lose in every other category. Not to mention they cost more. Piaggio has recently signed a deal to purchase Aprilia and most feel that can only strengthen the marketing and presence around the world for Aprilia. Critics point out concern with obtaining parts. Truth is you won't need much other than oil filters and tires.
- Stuart White, Lake Quivira, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-24 2004 Aprilia Scarabeo 500 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My wife told me the other day that she wanted to get a scooter to ride back and forth to work, of course I told her I did not think it was a very good idea, that motorcycles are dangerous, I didn't want her to get hurt. All the same things she told me a year ago when I told her that I wanted to buy another motorcycle, except I didn't have to sleep on the couch for three days this time. So she has been looking at the Internet, reading all about the Maxi-scooters and finally settles on this little Italian job called a Scarabeo 500 made by Aprilia. Of course they don't sell them in town, so against my better judgement, off we go to LA to look at this super scooter. I have looked at a lot of bikes over the years and I have to say, this thing was nicely finished. So she buys this little two-wheeler but because she doesn't have her permit yet I have to ride it back from the dealer on the freeway! Having ridden it up and down the ally behind the dealership I started getting a feel for the little beast before heading to the on ramp just a block or two down the road. Sitting at the light on this little scooter waiting to turn onto the on ramp to the 405 had me wondering what is this thing going to be like out there on the tarmac. It didn't take long to find out. This thing is for real. I was up to freeway speed in no time, no clutch, no shifting, no choke, no petals, and no foot pegs, just ride the thing and twist the wick. I have never ridden anything this easy before, handles great, stops even better, good wind protection, good seat. When you role off the gas to cruise it feels like its on a glide and sounds about like a sewing machine. By the time we got home I was impressed with it, except for one thing, an hour after getting home the wife comes in and tells me that I was going 86mph on the way home, turns out the bike has an onboard computer and I had been ratted out. Honest I never saw the tachometer pass 6K. I'm not ready to trade in my Cade and become a two-scooter family yet; it's cool but not macho enough for me. I will say that that automatic transmission would be great in a touring bike. Maybe someday when I can't handle the weight of the Cade, and it's about 1/2 that of the Cavalcade. We have been planning to go to the 9th annual Downer Officer Support Ride Starting in Valencia CA August 22, 2004. The Wife told me today that she wants to just ride on the back of the Cade this time. that's okay with me. Maybe she is starting to miss me already.
- Mark Piper, Santa Clarita, Delaware

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-05 2004 Aprilia Scarabeo 500 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After riding passenger on my husband's Harley Davidson Dyna Wide Glide on the twisty mountain roads in NC, I decided I wouldn't mind having a motorcycle of my own. I wasn't interested in clutching and shifting though. When I saw the Scarabeo 500 I thought it looked like a motorcycle. It's bigger than my husband's bike. Since buying it, I'd have to say I love it. It's VERY quick and very comfortable. His friends with Harley's laughed at first because they assumed it would be slow. After I left them in the dust while they were busy shifting, they wanted to know where my nitrous tank was. I've been joking with them that I would rather have a top of the line "moped" than a bottom of the line Harley.
- Amy Grecco, St. Petersburg, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: