BMW K75 Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (13)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with BMW K75 Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Vapor Trails from Yucaipa, California says:

This review may help you if you are looking to buy a K75. The K75 was made from 1985 through 1995 and hardly changed at all through that time. The mot

Read More (13 reviews)

Have you owned a BMW K75 Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

Voted Most Helpful Review 1986 BMW K75T-C Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This review may help you if you are looking to buy a K75. The K75 was made from 1985 through 1995 and hardly changed at all through that time. The motor, frame and many components remained unchanged but there were some upgrades throughout its life. I have the Standard model but a previous owner added the "C-Model" fairing with the mid-rise bar. There was also a low-rise handlebar on the K75S (sporty version) and a high-bar on the K75LT (touring version). <br /> I recently bought a 1986 that had about 72,000 miles on it and I've put on another thousand or so. Career, kids, etc. I don't get to ride nearly as much as I'd like. But, here are my initial impressions: <br /> RIDE &#038; COMFORT: Very good! My brother pointed out that this bike feels similar to the 85-87 Honda Nighthawk 700s. And he's right; although I'd say there is just a bit more "sporting lean" to the riding position. After 20 years the seat foam was pretty shot, so I ordered a Corbin and life is great. Absolutely no pressure points that I've felt so far. Although my longest ride to date has only been about 200 miles in a day. There is a little wind buffeting from the fairing, but unless you're on a Gold Wing or other such touring barge there is no away around a little wind noise. The mid-bar asks for a little bit of a forward lean, but not enough to put any real pressure on your wrists. The suspension does the job and while you won't set any records on a twisty road, it is stable at speed and predictable through the turns. It's not awe-inspiring but it is confidence instilling. <br /> ENGINE: Smoooooth! This is by far the nicest engine I've ever met. It's almost electric. You know its running but it is never invasive. Quite pleasant. It is down on power, though. It's got plenty to move my large self around but a Japanese in-line four it's not. It builds its power quite slowly and doesn't really "come-on" (if you can call it that) until the mid-range and then it is satisfying, if not adrenaline rushing. I'm sure that twenty years and 73,000 miles has taken its toll, but the engine has held up well and I'm pleased with the way it runs. <br /> RUNNING GEAR: (Tranny, drive-shaft, brakes, etc.)This is an area I've come to find out requires a bit of regular maintenance to keep it from blowing up; specifically, the clutch and drive shaft. They must be lubricated at regular intervals or they can catastrophically fail. And I understand it's quite expensive when they do. The tranny seems pretty bullet proof. Like the engine, keep it full of fresh fluid and it'll last forever. The brakes on mine seem to be the original (except the pads, of course) and are in pretty good shape. They are soft by today's standards, but I think fresh fluid and pads would fix it right up. One common problem is with the gauge cluster. Apparently it isn't all that well made and you can count on one or more of the instruments failing. Replacement is nearly $700 with no guarantee it will not fail, too. Better to just live without a neutral light... <br /> ACCESSORIES &#038; AFTERMARKET: BMW still makes all the parts you'll need to make repairs or restorations. But, the aftermarket is almost nonexistent. <br /> FINAL THOUGHTS: I have come to really like this bike over the past couple of months. The fact that it's twenty years old adds to its charm. By today's standards it's not fast, won't stop on a dime, and won't carve like a scalpel. But, it is fun to ride, can be bought cheap and with proper care will run for decades without any major overhauls. I sold my Harley to pay for my wife to go back to school. And I bought the K75 just as a cheap interim bike until next year when my wife is done and I'll get something new. But honestly, I'm keeping my eyes open for a clean, low-mileage '94 or '95 K75 that I'd like to keep for the next few years. I've ridden and owned a lot bikes and I can't think of anything that "for the moneyI'd rather have (right now). <br /> BOTTOM LINE: Should you buy one? If you want a GSXR but can't afford one, NO! If you like chaps and do-rags, NO. But, if you think the Bandit or FZ1 is right up your alley, but don't really want a high-strung inline four, YES. If the SV650 Standard is cool, but physically too small, YES. Looking for something a little different? The K75 is for you. Happy Motoring!
- Vapor Trails, Yucaipa, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-06-16 1986 BMW K75T-C Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my K75T/C in April, 1986 and still own it. I have had five other motorcycles over the same time period and still keep the BMW. Performance: Fast enough but not in the Japanese race bike league. Comfort: Bars are 1" - 2" too low for me - I'm tall. To replace the bars require all new longer electric cables, clutch cable and brake lines - too expensive. The windshield causes helmet buffeting (reason for 4 stars). Complaints: If you park on the side stand expect 20 - 30 seconds of smoke on initial start up. (Fixed on newer models). The roll center (center of gravity) is too high making the bike feel tippy at low speeds. I am on my 3rd dash cluster (that is why I do not know my mileage) - moisture kills them. Kudos: Absolutely dead smooth at any speed. Very comfortable. Eats sweepers for breakfast and flies down highways (75 - 80 mph. is its "Happy Speed". 500-mile days are no problem. I'm always over 50 mpg. Footnote: The K series of bikes were modular construction so once you learn the assembly techniques, they are fairly easy to work on - until you need a special factory tool!!!
- Alex, Sault Sainte Marie, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-21 1986 BMW K75T-C Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my '86 K75T for 2 seasons now, and on the whole, I'd have to say it's a real appliance of a bike. Not to downplay how fun it is - it's just that when you start it up and listen to it purr, and when your on twisties going 60, it's just a magnificently reassuring feeling. I never imagine breaking down. It's just too well put together. With the mileage getting up there, I'm thinking the alternator brushes need replacing because the battery doesn't hold a charge as well as it should. But knowing I can easily get another 300K on this bike with nothing but regular maintenance (including the somewhat pricey spline lube every 20K or so - about $350), makes me pretty comfortable that I made a great investment. I've thought about other bikes. The Ducati ST4, the newer BMW K1200RS, even a Harley Road King, but it always comes down to this: I paid $2400 for a bike that will run forever and keeps a smile on my face every mile I put on it. Oh yeah, except for recently I've noticed the the Corbin seat has lost a lot of cushion, and that needs replacing. Overall...an absolutely amazing bike.
- Brian Field, Tucson, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-21 1991 BMW K75S ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm a 50 yr older and first time bike owner. Feel the K-75S has been a great bike for me. Loads of fun and great all purpose bike - run errands, zoom the TX Hill Country, fun in the curves (a bit long for tight turns - does better on sweepers),even commute on it. A bit top heavy but got used to it quickly. Has been reliable, and easy to do routine maintenance on it myself. Have to take it in for rear ABS problem at 24K miles. Lot's of guys see it and say they wish they had their K-75 back.
- Chuck D, Austin, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-03-16 1986 BMW K75T-C Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owened this bike going into 3rd season now.Only problem I've encountered is w/speedo-gauges.I've learned this is a common fault.Put a works rear shock and corbin convert.seat.Feels great!Tight&#038;responsive still @62k.miles
- William Garrett, Plymouth, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-25 1991 BMW K75S ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had been out of motorcycling for 20 years and got the bug back in 2000. I wanted a bike to commute to work on (25 miles) and for the possibility of trips. I looked at Honda ST100, Kawasaki Concours and BMW's. The first 2 seemed too heavy and bulky, especially for daily commuting. I came across a used K75 with a windshield and hard bags. This bike has been great. 4000 miles and just gas, oil and a front tire. I have ridden it 300 miles in a day with no problems. There may be better bikes out there, R1100RT?, but I'm not looking too hard.
- Steve, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-10 1991 BMW K75S ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my third BMW, the other two were Air Heads. I am a Motorcycle Cop and ride a Harley for a living, so my motorcycle experiences are varied. The K75S has loads of torque where you need it the most, and what a broad power band it has! Most of my recreational riding is in the mountains of East Tennessee, North Carolina, and Georgia. I cannot extol enough the handling virtues of the K75S--this machine is a rocket ship through the twisties. It is an attention-getter, also. I have been stopped by the local "Smokey Bears", three times in the last three days, which is kind of embarrassing, since I am also a Traffic Cop.
- Jerry Nye, Cleveland, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-24 1991 BMW K75S ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This 740 CC machine is German workmanship at its best! You glide down the road and wonder if the engine is running at times. When you need a quick power jump it is there! There is plenty of power for getting into traffic or just cruising. This is my first BMW. I am sold! You can see my baby at http://www.pub.nxs.net/djones/bmw.
- Dave, Knoxville, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-10 1991 BMW K75S ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I sold my 83 Guzzi lemans for a K75S, Its smooth, great lugage, handels Ok.Hot in the summer in traffic, when that fan kicks in Whoa!Not a great bike for the home wrench.Wish I had the Guzzi back.The BMW is the Girl your mother wanted you to marry. The Guzzi is that wild redhead down the str
- Steve, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-10-04 1993 BMW K75S ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a saying about this bike: "It's heavy, but at least it's slow." But all kidding aside, this is a great bike for someone who wants just one bike to do lots of different styles of riding. I commute 60 miles a day on it and it is very comfortable. I've been on 3000-mile trips, loaded up with two saddlebags, a tank bag and a tail bag and it performed extremely well. The ABS factor is nice from a safety standpoint and the heated grips help on those chilly California mornings. It's inexpensive to operate: I routinely get 45 mpg and I only pay $350 a year for full coverage insurance. Complaints? Sure, I guess it lacks a bit of power, especially compared to more modern sportbikes. But it's only a 750 and I feel the trade-off is reliability. Nothing has ever gone wrong with it mechanically. It is fairly heavy, weighing in over 500 lbs. But I still have fun in the twisties and until my skills improve it's plenty exciting. Wind noise at freeway speeds is another problem. The windshield seems to put turbulent air right into my helmet. I've looked into aftermarket shields, but the K75S styling is so unique it is hard to fit a bigger shield on the bike.
- Matthew Manuel, Santa Clarita, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-09-25 1991 BMW K75S ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I chose a '94 K75S with ABS. I won't be doing any wheelies or stoppies on it, but I do find it suits me for my sport-touring and long-haul needs, and it is heavy enough for the highways. It is smooth and strong, and still turns heads. Mechanically, it has been completely reliable. The ABS even helped me once in a downhill wet pavement panic stop. Many K75S's came up on the after-market and were snapped up at bargain prices as newer models were introduced. I have two small beefs, one is the soft 3-spoke rims on my model year which I have bent and replaced twice already (I now monitor tire pressure RELIGIOUSLY!) The other is that it is somewhat top heavy, which keeps me ever vigilant to not pull it up on centerstand unless I am on dead level. I think it is a fine, cost effective, versatile model, and if BMW still made them, I would buy another in the future, although I plan to get 250,000 out of mine first.
- Absinthe, Maine

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-08-02 1986 BMW K75T-C Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is one of the sweetest bikes I have ever ridden. It is as smooth as glass all the way thru the powerband. It has enough torque to speed away from stoplights and there's still enough power up top to pass at 80mph. I rode it from South Orange County to the Oakland area and it was just fine. For the trip, I averaged about 58mpg/hwy and about 41mpg/city. Huge 5.5 gallon tank and fuel injected gives you plenty of range. The reason I give it four stars is because routine maintenance is anything but routine. And if you leave it on its kickstand instead of its centerstand, it WILL blow blue smoke out of the tailpipe for a few minutes. Other than those things, it is a bike well worth the money if you can find one.
- Brian Reed, Mission Viejo, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-06-06 1991 BMW K75S ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Had a K75s with ABS for nine years. Far smoother than it's big brother K bikes (until the K1200), the K75s is dependable, comfortable, somewhat sporty for its time, and an all around wonderful bike. Like others who once owned them, I'd love to have mine back again.
- Steve Hendricks, Seattle, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: