Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles Reviews (42)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2007-07-02 2006 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the most awesome bike ever. I'm not a very big woman, but the low profile, easy handling and perfect balance makes this bike a pleasure for a person of any size to handle. I've got to admit I had to get the push up seat in order to reach the forward controls. I love the handling the styling and yeah, the head turning too. I've put 13,000 on her and have only had one minor problem. The control buttons were recalled, but the dealer replaced them without delay. That is pretty minor considering the problem others have told me about their trailer happy rides.
- Kim Harris, Greenwood, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-16 2005 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I put 24,000 miles on an 03 BDM Mastiff then traded up to the 05 BDM Chopper for the Right Side Drive (RSD). I have almost 40,000 on it and love it. It's a real head turner, imagine cars going by taking pictures or video of you! Have had problems with the starter and speedo but BDM takes care of them quickly.
- Raymond Atwood, Bremerton, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-23 2005 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my Chopper for over a year now, I have put 10,000 miles on it in that time. I have had little trouble on the road. My longest trip was to the Grande Canyon North Rim a trip of 2500 miles only trouble was a flat tire two hours from home. The other long trip was a three week trip around the Northwest. My only problem on this trip was the headlight bolt broke. Three bucks later I was good as new. When I retruned home BD dealer fixed the problem with no problems. I've have the recalls that everyone who is negative on BigDog about but they were all done in a timely manner usually when I had the oil changed. Love the bike, love the attention I get when on the road.
- C Mefford, Payette, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-21 2005 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Love my bike so far. Have had a few minor problems which Big Dog took care of with no questions asked. They really stand behind their warranty but having a good dealer really helps because they are the first line of defense if anything goes wrong. Big Dog will step in if you have given your dealer a fair shot at repairing your bike but they have failed.
- Jack Martin, Downers Grove, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-19 2005 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had no problems with my bike, plenty of warranty work, but BD stands behind it and my dealer is great to work with. I have 2 bikes so I don't live on this one, but it's great for weekends and having FUN! Remember, it's a CHOPPER, not a cruiser. I would definitely buy another BIG DOG!
- Dan, Buffalo, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-27 2005 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have to say this in good conscience. Even though there's a lot of negative comments on here, the one thing everyone has to admit is they stand behind there warranty. That says a lot. No matter how many times they have to, they still do. When I first posted here, I couldn't get help. Now BigDog is jumping in and picking my bike up. They personally want to look at the bike. I'm going to give them a fair chance to make good and I'm going to post exactly what they did for the world to see. Like I said, you have to hand it to a company that will come pick up a bike and try to work things out. Let's see what they do.
- Randy, p-cola, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-02 2005 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've got the 2005 Chopper and I just love it. March of 2007 will be my two years having it. No problems with the bike other than the recalls. The recalls are minor stuff and Big Dog takes care of the problem right away and that's important. I can't keep the bike off of my mind! I love the ride and all the looks you get. Going to give this one to my son Chadd in a couple years and then I'm going to get the K-9. It has the power and the looks - what's left?
- Charlie Diehl, Anniston, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-21 2005 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
3500 miles - excellent ride. Never let me down. Dealer excellent to deal with. I am having all the updates and tsb done. When I buy another, it will be a bigdog.
- larry mccann, cheyenne, Wyoming

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-07 2006 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my 2006 Big Dog Chopper in May and it has been awesome!! I have approximately 1200 miles on it and no problems what so ever. Performance has been great the Baker drivetrain is unbelievably smooth. When most people think "Chopper" they think uncomfortable and poor handling. With this bike that is far from true in fact it is very comfortable and fun to ride. The furthest I have gone in one day is about a 200 mile ride. You feel as if you are part of the bike instead of just sitting on it. The first day I test drove one I was doing slow tight turns without putting a foot down. The balance of the bike with the balanced right side drive is great! Quality with fit and finish is top notch. I recently had the opportunity to look at some Thunder Mountain Cycle Customs (basically Harley Customs) and the Big Dog in my opinion is much nicer and about 10,000 cheaper. If you want something to jump on, have fun and turn heads hear you go!!
- J. H. , North Dakota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-03-20 2005 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm not sure where all these other guys bought their bikes but I haven't had any problems with my bike or the dealership... Every time I have taken it in for the service, I haven't had any problems. Oh, I take that back - the spring broke on the brake pads and they switched that and the pads with no questions... Treat me with respect also, I had a Titan a few years ago, which was a totally different story. GREAT BIKE
- rodney conn, terre haute, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-12-20 2006 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've ridden bikes all my life and raced motocross when my friends were playing football. I've owned several Harleys and enjoyed every one of them. My last was a Road King Custom that I put a Dragonfly fairing on and built the motor. I sold it so I could buy a Chopper and a Gold Wing. I bought the Chopper two weeks ago. I initially looked at pro street bikes then started sitting on choppers and really liking the way they felt. I looked hard at American Ironhorse and Big Dog; two established companies with nice bikes and warranties. I ended up test riding the Big Dog K9 and the Big Dog Chopper. The K9 was beautiful; however, it was difficult to ride and turn with the 300 tire. I rode it back to the dealership and was convinced a chopper wasn't for me. I then rode the most popular Big Dog, the chopper. It felt great and much easier to ride than the K9. I took it into a parking lot, did u-turns, and slow turns without a problem. I was sold at that point. I took it out on the freeway, kept it under 3000 for the break in, and shifted to sixth gear at 70 mph at 2200 RPMs. What a treat that sixth gear is; something every H-D should have. Mine is solid black with chrome and billet aluminum. So far, I am really impressed. I'm going to buy a Gold Wing for the long, long rides, but it's going to be hard to keep me off this thing. When I'm riding on the freeway, it nearly stops traffic it's such a good-looking bike. Big Dog has done a hell of a job with fit, finish, and components it uses. I'm extremely pleased with the bike so far. I can't wait until it's broken in because it feels like it wants to go and it's really fast now.
- Mark, Ventura County, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-11-06 2005 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Recently (10/2005) purchased a 2005 Big Dog Chopper. I have ridden a H-D Road King for 6 years, had over 60K trouble free miles and do a lot of long distance riding. I wanted something different, that being a chopper. I narrowed the field down to the Big Dog and the American Iron Horse. I must say, for looks and first impressions, the Iron Horse wins hands down. I was initially leaning that way. Reviews were positive for both bikes and manufacturers. I finally made my decision based on two items. One was handling. I teach the MSF course and I was an instructor for Police Motorcycle Operator course. So, to me, handling and manuverablility was an important issue. When it came to handling, the Big Dog won hands down. I rode the American Iron Horse and liked the straight line ride, but you had to really focus and set up your turns and corners. The AIH does not to lean for turns. The Big Dog has no problem and while it takes a little getting used to and you need to think about your curves, it handled more like a convential bike than any other chopper style I had ridden. I was even able to make the 20' box (one of the range exercises where a figure 8 is completed within a twenty foot wide rectangle), with the Big Dog Chopper. Nothing on the left side even touched and on the right side, the bottom of the lower pipe would contact when really leaned over. The box was not possible on the AIH. On the left side, the kick stand really dragged as soon as you leaned left and the frame contacted on the right side. The second consideration was the dealer. I had done my research and read as many reviews as I could find. I found a number of dealers who were offering the same bikes (both Big Dog and AIH) at considerably less pricing. The AIH dealer would not consider even coming close to other prices and even insinuated that purchasing a bike elsewhere would jeopardize service because there would be no dealer / customer loyalty. On the other hand, the Big Dog Dealer was more than willing to match other dealer prices. Not only that, but the dealership even went so far as to say that any Big Dog, regardless of place of purchase, would be welcomed for servicing and after market needs. The Big Dog dealer said to find the lowest price any dealer had to offer, bring it in and they would make every effort to meet it, which they did. They really went out of their way to make the customer feel like they were willing to work with them and provide the best service possible, before and after the sale. Another thing I liked about the Big Dog was the custom windshield. Because I do long distance riding (often 1,000 plus miles straight, stopping only for gas), I like having a windshield for those long trips. Big Dog offers several windshields maded specifically for the Chopper. It looks nice on the bike and comes off quickly. AIH doesn't offer a windshield and the only thing the dealer could recommend was to "rig" something up using a generic windshield. <br /> So, now with 500 miles on the bike it is ready for it's first service. Everything has worked smoothly, I have been impressed with the looks, feel, performance and handling. Now, only 95K miles left before I get another...
- BC Mathews, St. Paul, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-14 2004 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased a new 04 leftover three months ago and have put 1200 miles this bike. I have enjoyed this bike so much that I have ordered an 06 chopper. The style, the looks, the custom paint, the perforamce is all there. Is really nice when someone is drooling over it, but it's really cool when people in there 60's and 70's compliament you on the bike. The tampa big dog dealer is second to none. Service is fast and detailed. Everyone there tries to help you in every way they can. They would much rather see you on the road than in their shop.
- david ware, zephyrhills, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-05 2004 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I gave up on my Big Dog dealer and took my bike to the local Swift dealer. Well all the little proablems that the Big Dog dealer couldn't fix are now done and the bike is working great. The problem is that I spent about 500.00 fixing Big Dogs proablems. They said I had to go to a Big Dog dealer. But after two hours of drive time in each direction and tree trips with no results the 500.00 seems like a bargin.
- ah, SANTA ROSA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-01 2003 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my '03 Chopper used. I felt Big Dog and my dealer could have told me to go away when I had some minor problems. Instead I received the best warranty and service I have ever experienced. When you have a custom bike you have to expect there will be issues arising. Both the factory and the dealership earned themselves a life long customer. As far as the bike, it is totally bad-ass. Not only is it fast and comfortable, but attracts all the attention you would want.
- Johnny Grose, Renton, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-22 2004 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
So far, I have been very pleased with my '04 Chopper Dt. I have logged 500 miles with no problem. As of right now, I have a small leak coming from around the oil filter or the hoses that connect them. I feel this will be taken care of when I bring it in for the 500-mile check up. The bike has been a dream so far, and as far as vibration, it doesn't have near the vibration as my Harley Fat Boy did. I am Enjoying It.
- A.GLASPIE, LAKE CHARLES, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-08 2005 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just got my 2005 Big Dog Chopper a couple weeks ago, and I already have about 640 miles on it. Would have more if the weather cooperated. The bike handles very well, especially for being a Chopper. My previous bike was a 2001 Harley Dyna Wide Glide, and the only thing I miss about the Harley is the lack of vibration. The Chopper does pretty well as Big Dog has tighter specs on the engine than S&#038;S does, resulting in less vibration. With the 6 speed transmission you can usually get the RPM's down to a level that minimizes the vibration though. The only problem so far has been a broken exhaust shield clamp, which is not affecting the riding and is being fixed by the dealer. My only complaint is that I wish the mirrors were the convex type, as convex ones would probably make the vibration less noticeable, and the stock non-convex ones make it look as if I'm looking thru a magnifying glass at the car behind me.
- Jeff Szlauko, Danville, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-18 2004 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was impressed with the quality of this Chopper's components and paint. I rode 150 miles with ease and no fatigue. The bike ran well except for the oil filter vibrating loose and seeping a little oil. This was easily fixed by tightening it up. So far my only complaint is for myself being long legged, I will extend the foward controls for more comfort.
- mark, huntington beach, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-30 2004 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Crossing my fingers, as of now my Chopper DT performs well. My dealer on Oahu, Hawaii has addressed all concerns. The bike needed a little tweaking and getting used to the left lean was no problem after a few miles. The bike runs hot in Honolulu proper, but Aux oil cooler is the ticket. The only problem is that when I get up to a good speed, I have to back off, I AM ON A ISLAND!
- red knight, honolulu, Hawaii

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-18 2003 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is so great I may have to buy another one. No problems except for a leaking oil hose, which was replaced in an hour. Long trips are nice on the bike, except for a little stiffness in the suspension. I have no reason to upgrade anything, the bike is near perfect. I may even give this one to the wife and get me my own Chopper.
- mike, virginia beach, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-30 2004 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Before I start, preface it to say, I waited until I had over 5000 miles on this machine to even consider writing a review - given that, here it goes... Sure it corners a little wide - for goodness sake it is a chopper (in every sense of the word) not a Yamaha 125! And there is some vibration - Sort of like a Fatboy on Steroids. Rode it around, broke it in, cornering seems to have become less of a problem and I seem to have forgotten (or worked out) the majority of vibration. Once break in miles were complete, I decided to go to Ft. Bragg, NC to visit my brother. What a trip!! Left Tulsa, OK to Baton Rouge on first day 600+ miles, then to Atlanta, Myrtle Beach, Fort Bragg, Philadelphia, Louisville, KY, and back to Tulsa. 3917 total miles. I had to tighten a couple of bolts but besides that - no problems. I have only great things to report. Riding from 50 - 110 mph is as smooth as any bike I have ridden. Beyond 110, gets a little windy. If you get the chance to experience a humid afternoon drive along the gulf coast during love-bug season, with a hang-over - you need to do it. If you are looking for serious powerhouse, you can stop here. For style, speed, and only a modicum of posterior discomfort, look no further. The biggest problem I had was getting to my next destination within my allotted time. This was not due to the bike, well maybe, the problem was that no matter where I stopped, somebody was asking if they could check it out. People aged 5 to 87; extremely attractive women, burly truckers, and particularly other bikers, all seemed to want to see it. I even had to give rides to a few ladies. Yep, life sure does seem tough with a Big Dog Chopper on the road (and a Harley in the garage). Anybody know somebody looking for a good, low- mileage Heritage Springer?
- Larry Gerken, Tulsa, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-25 2003 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Been riding Harley's for 25 yrs. None of them compare to the '03 Big Dog Chopper I own now. Great ride, reliable, and what a head turner. Big Dog has also been great in backing their product.
- Gary S., Fredericksburg, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-08 2004 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It rides like a dream and handles very well for a chopper. You don't feel the left side weight much at all. In fact you don't even know it's there after a few miles. And with the sissy bar and wind screen you can cover big miles with comfort.
- N.A., Santa Rosa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-03 2003 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding for 20+ years and have owned many different bikes including a Honda Wing, Harley Fat Boy and many others. Without question this is the best looking bike I have ever owned and certainly the most fun to ride. No matter when or where I ride, I am guaranteed to have people pull up next to me with a BIG thumbs up or screaming NICE BIKE! I have not yet gone out without several comments. The bike is built better than any I've owned so far and has a GREAT ride. Big Dog has selected top components and does a GREAT job. I drove 5 hours to pick up this bike. The folks at Big Dog have been great too.
- Phil, Medford, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-19 2003 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am a crusty old retired engineer/waterski coach that has had many Harleys. Quality was number one with me, and even though I worried about things like fiberglass fenders, overall I have got to say I am pleased. It came with a Daytech frame. Every scooter I owned has had some little problems. My old 1988 puked oil after sitting for more than 2 weeks. Lived with that for 15yrs. Pans and Flatheads required constant attention. I plan to just get up close and personal with this ride, and enjoy the heck out of it. I have never experienced smooth power, and so much attention out on the road. After throwing my leg over every Chopper on the planet, reading reviews, talking to every one that would offer comparisons, it boiled down to finding a dealer that would treat me right and put down the money on my choice of color. (the trick sissy-bar mount for the old lady the three times a year, was huge)
- Coach, Orlando, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: