Big Dog Motorcycles Mastiff Motorcycles Reviews (16)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Big Dog Motorcycles Mastiff Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Big Dog Motorcycles Mastiff Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2012-04-09 2004 Big Dog Motorcycles Mastiff Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got the bike with 3,000 miles. I have been riding now for six months and it is a great bike. Nothing really added to it - just stock. Everyone looks at it and loves the styling and it has plenty of HP to spare. The only drawback now is parts availability. But for the S&S Engine 107, it's a brute but the seat needs more cushion for the longer ride. I had Gitz Chopper make my sissy bar for my T Bags. But I love the bike and the women love the ridged mount engine.- enough said.
- Mike, Slidell, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-08 2004 Big Dog Motorcycles Mastiff Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have put over 20,000 miles on this bike and have not had any major problems. The small ones I did have were taken care of by Big Dog in a professional and timely manner. The bike still runs great and I would ride it anywhere. I only gave it a three star rating for comfort due to the fact, I'm comparing it to the last bike I had which was a H-D dresser. This bike is a lot more fun though!
- Ron, Killen, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-03 2007 Big Dog Motorcycles Mastiff Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a new Mastiff this spring. So far it's been absolutely perfect. The ride is smooth, lots of power from the 117 S&S engine. It gets a LOT of looks driving down the road, people keep taking pictures with their cell phones as I pass them.
- TwistedG, Chicago, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-17 2007 Big Dog Motorcycles Mastiff Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 2007 BD Mastiff with tribal flames. I have ridden it 2500 miles so far. I think this is the best dog BDM has built. On a recent highway trip, riding 2 up, I couldn't believe how well this dog performed.
- Bob Onit, Ohio, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-13 2007 Big Dog Motorcycles Mastiff Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just a follow up on the 2007 Big Dog Mastiff. So far the bike has performed very well. The larger back tire does follow road angles and grooves a little more and it needs a little finese around slow turns. But the over all handling and performance has been great. Much better than my 2004 Mastiff.
- Bob Onit, Sky High, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-18 2007 Big Dog Motorcycles Mastiff Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Previously owned an 06 Mastiff and it was a nice bike, nine mo. out of year. The other 4 mo. out of year it was in the hospital. The sad part, it was good riding weather when it was broke. Severe vibration, 4 starters, 2 trans., plus many other reasons to be at the shop. When on the road, you couldn't beat it. It also looked very nice. Traded for an 07 Mastiff, and so far with only 900 miles, she's a good dog. Want to install pipes, but I am open for suggestions. Appreciate any and all feedback and input.
- brownie brown, blairsville, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-26 2004 Big Dog Motorcycles Mastiff Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've put a total of 7000 miles on my 2004 Big Dog Mastiff (as of 11-26-06). I have had several mechanical and electrical issues but, thank God, all were covered under the original 2 year factory warranty with no questions asked. Because they have honored their warranty program and have worked hard to make this bike right, I have purchased another Big Dog. I recently purchased the 2007 Mastiff and hope to have it by January 2007.
- SAS, Ohio, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-20 2003 Big Dog Motorcycles Mastiff Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding over 30 years and have owned a lot of Harleys, but the Bigdog Mastiff that I now own is one of the best, if not the best. When parked next to my Softail Deuce, my Deuce looks soooo inferior. Sad to say, but my Deuce looks like something Mattel would have built. The Bigdog quality is superior, the S&S motor is incredible and the ride is fantastic. And the look is off the charts. Just ask the many, many people who give a thumbs up or gawk at it like no other. Man, I love this ride.!
- JOE YENIK, CATASAUQUA, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-12 2005 Big Dog Motorcycles Mastiff Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well I have to say that overall my Big Dog experience has been far from issue free. But here is the most important part, C-U-S-T-O-M-E-R S-E-R-V-I-C-E!!! They fix things before they become a problem and if you do have a problem they are all about customer service! You know things go wrong no matter how great you build them. You start putting that much HP to the ground on a V-Twin and well there are a lot of unknowns EXCEPT when it comes to a big dog! I have had my Bike in for the recalls and I had some service that has had to be done but never an issue! My Mastiff has never left me on the side of the road, it always starts first kick and it looks like a million dollars and runs with or in front of anything on the road. I can cruise with the other V-Twins or run up and hang with the sport bikes if I want to! I have been riding since I was 6 years old and now I am in my late 30's. I have owned a lot of bikes. 2005 Big Dog Mastiff is by far the ultimate bike, head and shoulders above all others. I looked at Harley Davidson, Iron Horse, Rucker's, Suzuki, Kawasaki, Honda and many more before deciding. I am a Sales Engineer for a living so I know how to cut through the bs and that is why I bought a Big Dog Mastiff. Harley Davidson's are great cruiser bikes and crotch rockets are fun to ride (when you are young and limber) but Big Dog Mastiff is the best of both worlds! You get Pro-Street Performance, Cruiser comfort, style and it makes you look seriously cool! All that with a factory warranty and a company that is a real company, not a garage built one off bike. This is a real company owned by the Coleman family (Coleman camping equipment, which they sold and used the proceeds to start Big Dog) and they know what customer service & quality means! If you want a super high quality custom Bike with a factory warranty you can trust, along with the performance and comfort get a Big Dog you won't go wrong! The Mastiff is such an unbelievably comfortable ride and handles like a nimble minx; you would never guess you are riding on a super fat rear tire! My Wife loves riding on this bike because it is so comfortable on the rear suspension and it absorbs the bumps so nice. Like she says, if she can just keep me from giving all of her girlfriends rides, it would be the perfect bike! Big Dogs are not cheap, I mean that from the price stand point and the quality standpoint, but they are also not out of reach for the common man, if you can afford a Harley Davidson you can afford a Big Dog. Just remember, you get what you pay for. That means with Big Dog you get all the best High End Components right from the factory, to make a Harley Davidson perform like a Big Dog out of the crate you will spend another $10-$20K on top of the price of the bike. Buy a 2005 Mastiff you will not be sorry!
- Shiver8U, Medina, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-04-18 2006 Big Dog Motorcycles Mastiff Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had owned a 05 American Iron Horse Legend and traded it in for a 06 Big Dog Mastiff. I think this bike is awesome. Handles great, comfortable to ride, nice sound. This is one beafy bike. Although I just got it, I am thrilled enough with it to rate it...
- DP, New Berlin, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-17 2004 Big Dog Motorcycles Mastiff Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
If you've ever wondered what it's like to garner the attention of someone famous... buy this bike. Because every time you stop, strangers will want to talk to you. And as sweet as this bike looks, it rides and goes even better. The company is very responsive to dealing directly with consumer queries, plus it's very sound fiscally. So they should be around in another five or ten years if you have a problem. I ride two up frequently, and it handles just as well or better with a passenger. I think someone else mentioned that, too. Harley owners always laugh when I tell them how much I paid up-front. Then I start asking them how much they've added on since they bought their bike new. And usually in short order they realize who got the better deal, overall. Try to bring a Harley up to these specs of graphics and performance and you'll have $40K tied up in the project... with no warranty. Just adding a 240 rear tire kit to a Fat Boy is $10K. And you still have tons of room for personalization on a Big Dog. But the simplest thing to do is just order your custom graphics from the factory. In short, best riding and strongest value going in v-twin cruisers today... by far.
- Mountaineer, Iwakuni, Japan, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-09 2003 Big Dog Motorcycles Mastiff Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am very pleased with the bike with one exception. The electronic component controlling directionals, speedodometer and brake lights has gone out on me three times now. The dealer has repaired it each time, but it's starting to get a little annoying. Would like this issue resolved before warranty is up. Other than that it's fun, fast and noticed by others whenever it's out.
- anonymous, Austell, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-08 2004 Big Dog Motorcycles Mastiff Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
If you've never ridden a custom cruiser before your missing out on one of lifes little treats. The Mastiff can't help but get alot of looks. I now have 2000 miles on my Mastiff and it has run flawlessly. The two warranty problems I had were handled by the dealer promptly and correctly. The bike is a blast to ride, strong, reliable and sure footed and is pretty comfortable even on long rides. However, if you're just wanting a little attention, park a Big Dog at the local watering hole and be prepared to talk to a lot of people because everyone wants to ask about it. If you want to stand out from the sea of Harleys with extra chrome and aftermarket pipes and if you want to have the best looking bike in the parking lot, look at a Big Dog. For the money they can't be beat.
- Howard Hansen, Spring, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-22 2004 Big Dog Motorcycles Mastiff Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
As soon as I saw the Mastiff in person I traded in my brand new (2003) Fat Boy for one. The quality and components on this bike are awesome, not to mention the looks. I have only ridden the bike a couple of hundred miles and have had people stopping me in parking lots and at intersections to check the bike out. I will write more on the reliability once I get some miles under my belt. However, from someone who has ridden both the HD Fat Boy and Mastiff; the Mastiff is a MUST HAVE!
- JC, Getzville, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-15 2004 Big Dog Motorcycles Mastiff Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike beats the old American Iron Horse I had. The new Mastiff is comfortable, handles well, and has well thought out modern looking controls, coil cover, and air cleaner. All of which are outdated on AIH bikes. I completely loaded this bike for two-up riding from day one and have never missed a beat. I still get 43 to 45 miles to the gallon with my wife and a T-bag on back. And the five-gallon tank provides tons of range. I think this bike actually rides better with two people on it. It's obviously quicker with one, but it also bounces a bit more. On the highway this thing is a dream for a cruiser. I've been to four dealers on my travels (bought the bike out of state) and all have been fantastic. Great looks, great engine, great transmission all of which equals a great deal.
- Jarhead, Birmingham, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-09-25 2001 Big Dog Motorcycles Mastiff Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Have had some minor problems but Big Dog has taken care of all concerns I've had. Great bike with plenty of power and looks. Draws a crowd no matter where I go. Loads of fun to ride either in the montains or to Myrtle Beach.
- George , Monroe, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: