Big Dog Motorcycles Motorcycles Reviews (119)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Big Dog Motorcycles Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Big Dog Motorcycles Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2014-08-17 2003 Big Dog Motorcycles Bulldog Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have several Harleys. That being said, I have a 2003 Big Dog Bulldog that is red - solid red. It's just red and chrome and let me tell you this sucker will thrill you. I don't care who you are. I have never been passed on Interstate 80 and I take all challengers. I've had it to 145 fast. It's enough to scare me and it was still going. This bike is awesome. My friends hate it because it gets all the attention
- Richard means, Auburn, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-04-09 2004 Big Dog Motorcycles Mastiff Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got the bike with 3,000 miles. I have been riding now for six months and it is a great bike. Nothing really added to it - just stock. Everyone looks at it and loves the styling and it has plenty of HP to spare. The only drawback now is parts availability. But for the S&S Engine 107, it's a brute but the seat needs more cushion for the longer ride. I had Gitz Chopper make my sissy bar for my T Bags. But I love the bike and the women love the ridged mount engine.- enough said.
- Mike, Slidell, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-10-15 2008 Big Dog Motorcycles Mutt Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my Mutt new in St. Louis from a salesman, Tim. First, I can't say enough about Tim and his team there. They take care of my bike extremely well. It's a great group of guys. This Mutt has performed Flawlessly since I purchased it. I now have 15,000 miles on it and haven't had an ounce of trouble. I put Vance and Hines pipes on it and Paul Yaffe mirrors and a Furnace Flame paint job on the Candy Red. They did a marvelous job on the paint. I get nothing but compliments on it. I can't get gas without half a dozen people coming over to ask about the bike. I've won two first place trophies with it in two bike contests. I am extremely happy and proud of this motorcycle and recommend Big Dog to everyone that asks. I hope to God they get the company back in busines to start selling bikes again. When I win the lottery, I'm buying one of every model....(probably two of every model).
- Mike Zinna, Maryland Heights, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-01-13 2008 Big Dog Motorcycles Pitbull Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The pitbull is a great bike. Plenty of power, people always wanting to take pictures of it. When you crack the throttle and the bike just wants to jump, it's a great feeling. The only issue is that; it like most bike is really EPA restricted. But I fixed that right away with the new cam and other mods.
- J Newell, Pierre , South Dakota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-01-11 2003 Big Dog Motorcycles Pitbull Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Although I purchased this bike only 7 months ago, It has been GREAT! Only had to replace the throtle cables, and the headlight plug. That can happen to any 7 year old bike. The Big DOG has POWER-GREAT LOOKS-and as far as I am conserned it is very DEPENDABLE. Hell, I want to buy another!
- Jersey James, Port Richey, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-10-26 2004 Big Dog Motorcycles Pitbull Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 2004 pit myself and put a huge rake on it more than the k-9 and ridgebacks come with and what a difference. It rides much more stable and not nearly as bumpy. The looks I get are nuts! Everybody goes nuts when they see it. Also if your battery terminal is melting then your connections are not tightened down enough. It causes an arch and gets hot. I went through three batteries until I figured it out.
- Justin Londoff , st louis , Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-03 2007 Big Dog Motorcycles K-9 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned many bikes over the years, metrics, HD's and one Victory. The BD K9 I purchased is nothing short of awesome. The most comfortable bike I have ever owned and handles very well even with a 300 tire and long forks. don't think I will ever own anything else. I wish BD would make a full dresser. Thank's Big Dog MC's.
- Chad, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-09 2006 Big Dog Motorcycles Ridgeback Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my 2nd Ridgeback. My first was an 04 107ci, left side drive. My 06 is 117ci right side; much better with more power. From miles you see this bike is ridden, it has never been in a shop except for routine service. No it's not a Harley. A HD (a great bike too) is no match. I can say that cause I have an 06 StreetGlide and an 07 Nightster. If I have to ever go to one bike...BDM is it!
- frank Jackson, oakland, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-08 2004 Big Dog Motorcycles Mastiff Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have put over 20,000 miles on this bike and have not had any major problems. The small ones I did have were taken care of by Big Dog in a professional and timely manner. The bike still runs great and I would ride it anywhere. I only gave it a three star rating for comfort due to the fact, I'm comparing it to the last bike I had which was a H-D dresser. This bike is a lot more fun though!
- Ron, Killen, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-03 2007 Big Dog Motorcycles Mastiff Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a new Mastiff this spring. So far it's been absolutely perfect. The ride is smooth, lots of power from the 117 S&S engine. It gets a LOT of looks driving down the road, people keep taking pictures with their cell phones as I pass them.
- TwistedG, Chicago, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-02 2006 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the most awesome bike ever. I'm not a very big woman, but the low profile, easy handling and perfect balance makes this bike a pleasure for a person of any size to handle. I've got to admit I had to get the push up seat in order to reach the forward controls. I love the handling the styling and yeah, the head turning too. I've put 13,000 on her and have only had one minor problem. The control buttons were recalled, but the dealer replaced them without delay. That is pretty minor considering the problem others have told me about their trailer happy rides.
- Kim Harris, Greenwood, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-18 2004 Big Dog Motorcycles Bulldog Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The bike is fun. Had electrical problems, but fixed now. Get lots of looks. Good power and sounds great.
- brad, seal beach, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-17 2005 Big Dog Motorcycles Ridgeback Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have left a review for my 2 Big Dog Motorcycles that I have owned and love them. I have put a total of over 10,000 miles on between the two bikes and wanted to post another review about the warranty. Everyone that does a review about all the problems that their BDM bikes have fail to say that if Big Dog sees a problem they create a recall and ask everyone to bring their bikes in to have the problem fixed for free. I have friends with American Ironhorse bikes and AIH does not do recalls, and his bike is always having problems and the dealer fights not to cover it under warranty. Guys say that their P-Pad wears through the paint, but if they didn't carry their 300 pound heffer around with out a bench seat, then they would not have that problem. My wife has rode on the back of both my bikes and no scratches at all. BDM's warranty is second to none, and if you are looking to buy a BDM, you will have nothing to worry about. If you take it in for the recalls, if any, and get the things taken care of, by the time your warranty runs out all the bugs will be worked out and you can enjoy the bike for many years. Most of the guys complaining about the bike breaking after warranty runs out, only rode their bike about 10 miles a week if that and only put about 1500-2000 miles on it in the 2 year warranty period, never broke it in. No wonder!
- Jake, Cape Coral, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-17 2007 Big Dog Motorcycles Mastiff Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 2007 BD Mastiff with tribal flames. I have ridden it 2500 miles so far. I think this is the best dog BDM has built. On a recent highway trip, riding 2 up, I couldn't believe how well this dog performed.
- Bob Onit, Ohio, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-13 2006 Big Dog Motorcycles K-9 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love this bike. Can not say how happy I am with Big Dog, only wish is I could have a Mastiff along side the K-9 in the garage. Front tire was going soft but a tube fixed that (dealership no problem).
- Pistol Pete, Sanford, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-13 2005 Big Dog Motorcycles Ridgeback Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My buddy bought an '02' Iron Horse Slammer. I liked the bike but thought the overall appearance wasn't as BAD as the bike could be. The clutch was stiff and the ride, for a soft tail wasn't all that great. When I saw the '05' Ridgeback, there was the answer for me! The Rigid rides like no bike I have been on. The attention it gets was unexpected. People point at us as we go down the road. Aw-yea! Big Dog has done it with this one!
- Jeff, Cleveland, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-27 2005 Big Dog Motorcycles Bulldog Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Coming from riding Harleys exclusively, hearing stories about other bike companies rides, I was a bit cautious. My dealings with the dealership were so positive I figured why not. Pulled the trigger on a 07 Bulldog, all I can say is this bike kicks ass. Well built, rides beautifully -way better than I expected. The tech said it would probaly take me 20 or so miles to get the feel of it, he was right. I can handle it as well as any of my Harley's I've had and built over the years. If you're thinking about buying a Bulldog, take it from me...do it.
- hrlymk, georgetown, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-27 2006 Big Dog Motorcycles K-9 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have almost 1600 miles on the K-9 and it is a sweet ride! I love riding it and it is a very comfortable bike. It took a few hundred miles to get use to it but now I am real comfortable with it. I love the looks you get and everyone that stops to see the bike always compliments it big time!
- Chopper Dave, Kimball, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-16 2005 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I put 24,000 miles on an 03 BDM Mastiff then traded up to the 05 BDM Chopper for the Right Side Drive (RSD). I have almost 40,000 on it and love it. It's a real head turner, imagine cars going by taking pictures or video of you! Have had problems with the starter and speedo but BDM takes care of them quickly.
- Raymond Atwood, Bremerton, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-01 2001 Big Dog Motorcycles Vintage Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am the proud owner of the 2001 brochure silver and white Vintage Sport. This bike handles well, has unbelievable power and is as comfortable to ride all day as my Fatboy. Just wish Big Dog would have offered more accessories. Since I have owned this bike I have owned three other bikes, including one later model Big Dog, and let them go. This bike is a keeper.
- Joel adams, Springfield, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-23 2005 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my Chopper for over a year now, I have put 10,000 miles on it in that time. I have had little trouble on the road. My longest trip was to the Grande Canyon North Rim a trip of 2500 miles only trouble was a flat tire two hours from home. The other long trip was a three week trip around the Northwest. My only problem on this trip was the headlight bolt broke. Three bucks later I was good as new. When I retruned home BD dealer fixed the problem with no problems. I've have the recalls that everyone who is negative on BigDog about but they were all done in a timely manner usually when I had the oil changed. Love the bike, love the attention I get when on the road.
- C Mefford, Payette, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-13 2007 Big Dog Motorcycles Mastiff Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just a follow up on the 2007 Big Dog Mastiff. So far the bike has performed very well. The larger back tire does follow road angles and grooves a little more and it needs a little finese around slow turns. But the over all handling and performance has been great. Much better than my 2004 Mastiff.
- Bob Onit, Sky High, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-10 2006 Big Dog Motorcycles Ridgeback Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is one of the hottest motorcycles to own. From day one the compliments and on lookers have yet to stop. Where ever you go someone is complimenting you about the bike wonderful job with looks and craftmanship. The best part is that it rides as good or better than it looks.
- TV DR, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-18 2006 Big Dog Motorcycles Ridgeback Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have only had this bike for a few months and have nothing but great things to say about it. Handles great and looks awesome. Certainly gets a lot of attention on the road. Have had no mechanical problems, but one of the reasons I went with Big Dog is their reputation and the years of experience in the business. They are not a new start up company that may not be there through your warranty.
- Tony, Cumming, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-08 2003 Big Dog Motorcycles Bulldog Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had several big twins and this BULLDOG is by far thee BEST ride. The right side trans makes for a well balanced machine. The bike handles fantastic. Need a break from the machine about every 2 hours on long rides but I'm getting old. Had I known about this bike before, I would've purchased long ago. Thanks to the guys at the dealership. Half a mile down & I was in heaven... had to have it. If you're looking for an awesome ride with great balance & literally no requirements for updgrade...the BULL DOG is the way to go. I sat on the new ones and they're nice but I'm sticking with my '03. She's a beaut.
- EJC, Orange Park, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: