BMW F 650 CS Motorcycles Reviews (19)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with BMW F 650 CS Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any BMW F 650 CS Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2005-06-16 2005 BMW F 650 CS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am new to motorcycling and recently purchased a certified pre-owned 2005 F650CS with 662 miles. This is my first bike and so far I'm very satisfied with it. I mostly use it to commute back and forth to work, but also find time to get out and roam the back roads. Starting the bike when it is cold takes a couple tries, when warmed up it starts flawlessly. The height of the seat is a good fit for me. At 5'10" I have a 32" inseam, so my feet are planted on the ground when stopped. I have a custom lowered seat, which the previous owner had purchased, that lowers my CG, but not real comfortable for a longer trip. Being on the light side, 140lbs. soaking wet, acceleration is very good. Getting up to desired speed is no problem. Good stuff!
- Dave D., Kernersville, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-27 2005 BMW F 650 CS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Usually my arms and rear hurt after long rides. With this new F650CS, I've been able to tour the country in comfort. I'm an overweight guy, so I need a bike I can feel safe on...and this is definitely the one for me. I've owned many other brands of motorcycles before, but BMW will have my business from now on. I'm very happy with my new purchase!
- Tom "the Terrible" German, Avondale, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-04 2005 BMW F 650 CS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have read the reviews here and would just like to post a little feedback. I currently ride a Aprilia Futura and its a flawless machine.My wife is now new to riding so we took a strech and bought an 05 650Cs. This bike is a hoot as someone commented. A single cylinder belt drive and its got plenty of zip trust me. Corners like a dream,looks great heated hand grips, I wish I had them on my bike. Many call it a starter bike but its far from it. When it comes to wind everythings equal, my bike weights in at 500+ and the Beemers 380. I don't feel any worse off for it because many bikes with large fairings only act like a cross sail where the 650 has gaps for the air to just run through. I love my bike but this bike is a real joy to ride and I've riden a few. Good luck!!
- antonio cavaluzzo, randolph, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-30 2005 BMW F 650 CS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Outstanding Restarter bike! Balanced, Smooth and nice zip. Wonderful tight space handling. 25 years without a cycle has created a huge window for improvement. The F650 is smooth and a delight to lean into corners. It's a bike you don't mind running on the gravel or two track and you can ride for 6 plus hours without huge fatigue. Wind is a challenge due to bike weight and limited wind screen, but is managable. It's clearly not a dirt bike, but on the more open off road when you want to let it run 40-60mph it's far more comfortable and managable than an offroad two/four stroke 250/450.
- M Dekutoski, Rochester, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-21 2003 BMW F 650 CS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I went into the bike shop with NO intentions of buying a bike, especially anything other than a cruiser. Low and behold, just like women, all it took was a wink and a whisper in my ear and I fell in love. :) There she was, ready for me to ride her home. What a beautifully sculpted body! I completely freaked out when I saw the odometer with only 600 miles on it! The girl that had it before was too short to ride it, I heard. So, I took her to BMW, had the service done, put a couple hundred miles on her this month and now I'm waiting for the rain to stop! I have experienced nothing but joy with this CS. I dream about her and have even woken up talking about her, leaving the person laying next to me wondering who the hell I'm talking about! An amazing ride, to wrap it up. I completely recommend it. The CS comes factory equipped with the touring tires, but they can put on an off-road set that's specifically for the CS. Mine has the touring suspension as well, so as far as I can tell, it's a touring bike! Albeit, a small touring bike, but it's SO comfortable, who cares?!
- Sharon Vrla, Houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-27 2005 BMW F 650 CS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
per industry definition. Great fun and a good value.'
- nic , dallas, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-26 2003 BMW F 650 CS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is a lot of fun, and very reliable. It does have some personalities you might find different than other bikes, but I believe they all do. I rode the crap out of the '03 CS, and it came back for more, to be exact it got better as the miles rode on. As you can see the reliabilty is a five The performance on the top end could be better (110mph), but I am a speedy guy ;)Otherwise it accelerates better than some older 600cc sport bikes. The comfort is good on the rump and comfortable all round, but I like the ergonomics better on the higher end BMW's. The quality was good, but I did have a few gripes, but as always the warranty covered it all, so not to worry. I hope this helps you make your decision.
- RJM, Old Bridge, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-25 2003 BMW F 650 CS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After riding cruisers, I have no regrets about changing to this type of bike, I believe it is referred to as a "Standard" bike. Whatever, its still a wonderful ride. The fit is perfect for me and I would assume anyone from 5'3" to 6' however I am aware of riders over 6' loving this bike. The CS is simply outstanding in the twisties commuting and in city traffic. Long trips? My longest so far on this bike is 680 miles. Performed flawless no problems never saddle sore was sorry for the ride to end. I know this bike is not advertised as a touring bike but I would argue that point. Would I buy this bike again if I had a second chance? Yes I would and I say that without hesitation. However I would also consider its older brother the F650GS. I don't really want a bike with a chain but I love the look of the GS so much that I might would consider it and the GS can be ridden off road. This is not a put down on the CS but the all black GS is something to behold.
- T. Wilson, Leesburg, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-27 2005 BMW F 650 CS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just bought mine a few days ago. I'm a new rider and I think this bike is a hoot! Easy to ride, shift, brake, and handle. Very solid and confidence inspiring for a new rider like myself. The seating position is just right for short riders. Most bikes I looked at had me on my tiptoes, which I'm not comfortable with. I absolutely recommend this bike. BMW build quality same as their cars. Switches and gadgets have a solid look and feel, unlike some other bikes I checked out in the same class. It's different looking, and definitely drew a lot of "looks" and questions. Most questions were of the "I didn't know BMW made bikes!" variety. Every comment so far has been positive. You definitely won't get lost in the Japanese bike crowd. It won't keep up with some of them either, but that's not the reason you buy this bike. The bike is pricey; for the same money I could have had something with twice the displacement. The Bavarian styling and fit clicked with me though. I am not in the least disappointed. BMW service was excellent and I will probably continue to buy BMW's for many years to come.
- Sharkman415, SoCal, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-23 2003 BMW F 650 CS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My F650 is very good for biking but is only way to do it is in the city. On trip to Koln, the legs became cramped up and hands were warm but vibrated badly. Traveling is not recommended if your purpose of biking is a travel goal. This bike is city perfect for my taste due to petrol cost and light weight and close to ground ride. Bike tends to be pushed lateral by wind gusts.
- Hans Freiterburg, Dusseldorf

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-18 2003 BMW F 650 CS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my 650CS in March of 2003 and have since put just over 14,000 miles on it. The bike has exceeded every expectation I had, and I find myself happier with every ride. I commute on the bike daily (30 miles each way), and am so thankful I have it. NYC traffic is a real pain, but the slender CS has no problem scooting down the FDR or West Side Hwy during rush hour ;-). The bike has plenty of "get up and go" power from 3,000 RPM's and up (it is a single cylinder). The belt is a joy, and apart from getting a bike with a drive shaft, I don't know I would ever want to own a chain again. Quiet, absolutely NO maintenence, and most guys I have talked to with more miles than me are still on their first belt (one guy is at 45,000 miles). Weekends I am always up in the twisties, and this bike really surprised me. The CS lays WAAYYYY OVER, and happily tucks into the corner; no fighting, no force, just drop it right in and stay on the throttle! Pure enjoyment. I have embarrassed a few Super Sport riders who thought they were hot dogs in the corners. Took the bike to NH this past Nov. and had a blast as well. The wind protection isn't great, but it's a 650 and I don't mind the wind, so it is a non-issue for me. The bike has gotten considerably more powerful since hitting the 7,000-mile mark, and the only maintenance I have done is my scheduled services, oil every 3000 mi, and one new rear tire. Great bike!
- Anthony, New York, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-01-01 2003 BMW F 650 CS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my 03 CS for a little more than a year now. Ride it daily. Handles awesome. Would buy all over again.
- Jim, Camarillo, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-31 2003 BMW F 650 CS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Last rode a Lambretta at varsity 30 yrs ago. I took the plunge and with the recommendation of BMW dealer, bought a bike last week. I was scared at first but I am now pretty comfortable with the bike which handles easily. The only thing I don't like is the heat generated around my thighs from radiator which makes driving with shorts not great. The bike is a great looker and I still have to master clutch and gear changes.
- Solly Zas, Johannesburg, South Africa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-22 2003 BMW F 650 CS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Its a very good handling bike with plenty of power. Its easy to scrape the pegs. Theres all kinds of after market add ons too. Not having a chain is great. I can't wait till spring!
- Mike, Grantham, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-13 2002 BMW F 650 CS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have gone through them all, well a few anyway. From Aprilia Leo 125, to Aprilia Leo 250, a brief spell on the gorgeous Yamaha TMAX (whole other story there!), onwards to a Hornet, via Suzuki SV650s and finally to the superb, wonderful, go-out-and-get-one BMW F650 CS Scarver. Woof! What a bike. I needed something geared, fun, quick (but not a crotch rocket), a bit of storage, everyday use comfort and nothing that was going to do my back in (goodbye Mr. Sv650s!). From the moment I sat on this bike I knew it was going to be special. It felt light, assured, gritty and comfortable. I travel about 10 miles to and from work per day in hellish London traffic and the Scarver is just the tool for the job. It's punchy, agile and a has a great sound to boot. It's also very economical taking about $8 ($13 US?) per week to fill up. I love this bike. It's not the fastest thing on the planet and it's looks may not be everyone's cup of tea, but it handles great, sounds great, runs great, cuts through the traffic great and guarentees head turning-a-plenty. Get one.
- Eugene, London, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-12 2003 BMW F 650 CS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike and man do I love it!! This bike is nimble,responsive and quick. Only complaint after 90 mph its working real hard
- peterson, stanford, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-22 2003 BMW F 650 CS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've only been riding a few months. have ridden in that time this bike and a kawasaki vulcan 500 and 750. this bike is quite versatile and flickable. very maneuverable and handles potholes and bumps very gracefully. nice punch above 3000 rpm. only caveat is on the highway: it can do the job as a tourer, i think, but i have nowhere near the feeling of confidence and stability and ease at 70 mph on this bike as i do on the vulcan 750. even the aftermarket windscreen from cee baileys which I've installed confers relatively little buffeting protection. as a commuter in and around town, however, this bike is superb.
- matt, phoenix, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-02 2002 BMW F 650 CS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned two previous bikes - ironically 650s. The first a low-end model Parrallel twin (30 miles and you were down for the count) Second vstar - great bike for the money. Then this, Everybody says it's a great beginner's bike. that's too bad. I just rode this bike 450 miles in one day - 90+ percent on the Interstate. I purchased the bike on ebay and was concerned that it would take 2 days and force me to take all of the side rodes - WRONG. This thing cruised all day at 67 mph and shot to 80 in no time. I'll be honest -- I had to stop a number of times -- but I was stunned at this bike's ability to keep up in traffic. In fact, it's the safest I have ever felt - especially in traffic or dodging chuckholes. don't get me wrong, the semis buffeted me - what don't they. Also, this is not the purpose this bike was designed for. In fact, it's designed for commutes. The 10% of the ride I went on country roads. ABSOLUTELY AWESOME. By far the best handling bike I have ever ridden. I am absolutely I could keep up easily with all bikes no matter how large (excluding death bikes)cruisers out there. I know, I've ridden them - and remember backing off of them -- not this bike. I was stunned when I glanced down on an exit ramp and saw I was going 55 on a 30 mph exit easily. Okay, if the road gets straight - you won't be able to keep up. To think I was thinking about an 1800 cc touring bike. Hey, they are the right choice for people who plan on cruising. I compare this to an SUV vs. a van with one big exception. Everyone wants the suv, until you have a long trip and 5 or more people. The difference is that this bike is actual cool looking. At every rest stop, bikers and truckers looked this bike over. Let's face it, most riders buy a big cruiser and don't ride it very much or very far. One reason is that they are so big or unwieldy, they sit in the garage. If this describes you, buy this bike. One final point. It is not cheap. One more point. The features on this bike blow away any 650 street bike period. The workmanship is awesome. Every button is where it should be. The belt drive is great. Shifting is easy. The headlights on this thing are better than any car I have had. Storage - you wont believe it - storage where the gas tank goes - a removeable compartment that lets you take valuables with you in seconds. Plenty of places to attach backpack. That little cute windshield is more than cute. It blocks out virtually all air up to the chin. This bike is quality vs quantity of power. 10 percent of the population actually needs bigger bikes. I am not one. This bike feels so light (in a good way). You can move it quickly at speed and it corners better than anything I have ridden. On the way out to get this bike, I was upset because I knew I should have gotten a bigger bike. To be honest, for the nearly 500 mile ride home, I wish I had a bigger bike. But now it's home. I have the bike I want and will use. I am so glad I bought it. For those of you that care, this is the coolest looking 650. You sit upright (a little weird at first). It is truly a piece of art. Now I know what German workmanship is. BMW I apologize for any negative comments made -- a job done as well as can be done. I can't think of one complaint. It exceeded every expectation of doing what it does worst - cruise a long way. It exceeded my expectations on country roads. If your trips are 25-50 miles, I believe this is the best bike out there.
- Mike, Dayton, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-06-24 2002 BMW F 650 CS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my F650 CS 4 days after finishing the Motorcycle Safety Course. From the very beginning I have found the bike perfect for my needs. Being a new rider a bike that would not exceed my experience was necessary. This bike is a joy to ride in the city and has plenty of range to get to the 65 or 75 highway speeds I sometimes get into. It climbs hills and makes corners just fine and I'm sure much better than I do right now. The stuff bay is very handy and the ABS brakes are truly an asset to have when cruising the city streets and backroads. There is no bike in this class that has the technology or the features this bike has. I recommend it to anyone who wants a good commuter bike or is just starting out. Yes, I know many people will say don't buy a new bike for your first one. Well, I did and I do not regret it at all. In fact buying the best equipment makes the experience that more enjoyable and will keep into motorcycling a lot longer than otherwise. Thanks to BMW for a great machine.
- Dean Salvadore, Portland, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: