BMW F 650 GS Motorcycles Reviews (28)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with BMW F 650 GS Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any BMW F 650 GS Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2012-02-26 2007 BMW F 650 GS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Since my last review I added 10,000 miles on this bike and my opinion has changed as now I like the bike even more. In the last couple of years I have ridden quite a bit more on the weekends but probably the most inspiring was the day I took off at 3 in the afternoon and did not stop until I reached Canada. The bike was fantastic as the luggage and gear that is readily available for it worked wonderfully and the bike was almost perfect. The only reason I say almost is that the seat is good for a couple hours of riding and then you are in pain. So I had a custom seat made that I wish I had for the trip to Canada but at least I will have it for the next trip. The positives are the great mileage, adequate power, ease and pleasure of riding the bike and reliability. The main negative is the BMW seat is not good for long trips and the headlight could be a bit brighter. If you can only have one bike I recommend an Enduro motorcycle as this class of bike will enable you to do the most varied kind of riding.
- George Doria-Medina, Los Angeles, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-08-15 2007 BMW F 650 GS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just got this 2007 F650GS a week ago. I've been riding every day and taken some short trips. I averaged 69.2 mpg the first tank. (WOW). I added a taller windshield, and a trunk for now. I also have a 2008 650 Suzuki Brugman, and have had many other bikes in the past. This BMW is way too much fun, with great mileage.
- RonBo, Arvada, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-08-08 2006 BMW F 650 GS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is excellent but single cylinder bikes are not as popular here as in Europe. If you buy one as many people have bought and traded in the past, give the bike a chance and put some miles on it before you decide. I hated mine at first but after a few thousand miles of getting to know it, it's awesome. It's a great all-around bike that can do it all. The only thing is that on this bike I didn't like was the headlight when there are not street lights. It also should have come with fork tube gaitors and a rear shock gaitor. Keep your chain lubed a lot.
- vin vee, detroit, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-06-14 2007 BMW F 650 GS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently bought an F800GS and love it. I had intended to sell my faithful thumper but every time I clean it up and take if for a ride I decide to keep it. It is a wonderful all around bike that will take you anywhere in the world on either tarmac or dirt roads. I especially love it on the roads of Baja. The 60 to 70 MPG it gets isn't bad either. Unless a really good friend comes along that will appreciate and love this bike like I do, I think I'll just keep it and use it for city runs in traffic.... I can't part with it!
- Ken Decroo, Running Springs, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-10-08 2002 BMW F 650 GS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The perfect all around bike. Nice looking, lightweight, low seat height, fuel injection, low center of gravity, and BMW's expandable side cases make this bike perfect within town and out on the highway. Enough power overall without getting yourself in trouble. The cons are: not be most fun to ride (lacks character), front end is not as balanced when coming to a stop, combination trip/odometer defaults at odometer at startup, and the rear seat rack is plastic. It is one bike that can easily do all.
- John Y., Los Angeles, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-08-16 2009 BMW F 650 GS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My first concerns with the use of the new F 650's for our expeditions was that they just didn't look robust enough for some of the terrain we cover out on the road, not that the rides are technical, it's just that there is rough gravel in places and countless miles between BMW servicing centres. My first encounter with the new look F 650 GS was at a motorcycle exhibition, I had a sit on the bike but was not able to ride it at the time. Once Compass Expeditions decided to go with the new twins for a number of reasons, I was there to pick up the first bike, so I thought I would take it through it's paces before shipping it off to South America. That is where the first of my surprises and quick change of mind begin. Riding it through the busy streets of Melbourne heading out of the city, the bike handled very well in the slow congested traffic and maneuvered lightly and accelerated rapidly when the chance arrived to scoot past a few cars, great! When I finally hit the highway and some more winding open country roads the bike really came into its own, responsive in the corners with easy handling, good smooth braking and excellent performance even with the added weight of my girlfriend on the back, I barely knew she was there. The bike passed the first test, however before sending them off to Chile we bought a number of accessories to beef the bikes up for the rigors of the expeditions to come. We purchased bark busters, radiator and headlight protectors and a sturdy bash plate to protect that exposed oil filter and cooler. The bikes now looked quite a bit more the robust touring type and I felt a little more at ease. The second test; Patagonia. On the first tour of the season, non of our passengers had ridden the new model before, but the first morning as they strolled out to the carpark their faces lit up as they saw the sparkling new machines lined up in the stunning summer sunshine. The passengers were certainly not disappointed as all of them rated the bikes highly, with 2 Ex-passengers actually purchasing new F 650 GS twins since returning to their home countries. One particular day on a Patagonian tour is one which I thought would be a good test for the 650's, that is the journey from Esquel in Argentina to Perito Moreno, a total distance of 590 kms. The first 460 kms are on reasonable bitumen with a few potholes and only one small section of about 10 kms of roadworks, this ride day heads into quite a remote region of the country. At the end of the bitumen we gathered our energy by having a coffee, snacks and a bit of a rest in the dry, windy town of Rio Mayo on the Patagonian Steppe. Once we left here it was about another 130 kms of quite challenging riding on gravel roads, and in my experience, it is always accompanied by strong winds. To make the ride a little more challenging they are currently doing a lot of roadworks on this section thus making the many rough detour tracks very draining. But the bikes handled this ride very well, given their responsiveness and relative lightness the riders are much less tired and more at ease on the challenging roads, seats are easier on the backside and the riding position is much more comfortable than riding the older, cramped single cylinder GS 650's. I recognize that the older models are good robust bikes, but in comparison to the new 650 twins they are slow and heavy and it seems to me as the changes are so huge that there has been 10 years between the 2 models instead of 1. I would liken the change from the old bike to the new, like going from driving a tractor to a car. So yes, once beefed up a little in the robust department two thumbs up from me for the new BMW F 650 GS twin, survived Patagonia should be adaptable to anywhere.
- compass expeditions, melbounre, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-08-16 2009 BMW F 650 GS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this baby in late April of '09 and haven't stopped riding it. I use it everyday for commuting into Manhattan from Brooklyn and the motorcycle handles like a dream. Potholes not a problem, tight squeezes thru traffic not a problem. It is very responsive and just right amount of power for my needs (de-tuned 798 cc). I have also tested it on the NJ Turnpike at high speeds and pulls like a demon, it is no race bike but it will make you smile and keep up with other bikes. It is very well designed machine. The gas tank is under the seat for a low C.o.G. I got the package with heated hand grips, center stand, on board computer with tire pressure monitor and alarm. They are all very very useful. In my honest opinion I think it is a much better engine that the single cylinder of the previous generation. Absolutely the best.
- Motoneta, Brooklyn, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-11-17 2007 BMW F 650 GS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Thank God and thank my wife. I've owned a Suzuki 750cc Intruder and a Suzuki SP500cc street/trail bike, but I've never owned a bike in this size range that could run so smoothly after reaching speeds of 60 and above as does this 2007 F650 GS that I now own. I am in love with this bike, or so my wife tells me. This bike is beautiful and big and streamlined, when a guy my size rides it the bike appears to others that it's large enough for me. I am so happy with it I just want to go buy another just in case BMW forgets to make a bike this nice again. You might think the heated handle bar grips are for sissies but trust me they will make a sissy out of most riders and they'll be thankful. One personal safety note, if you plan on doing any serious mud and trail riding I would invest in a set of true trail tires since the ones that come with the bike are better suited for the pavement. This bike has larger dark wind screen, ABS breaks that can be turned off and on for street and trail riding, tension control knob to increase tension when you let your wife on the back and a digital clock on the dash so you won't be late for work. Two very good books that come with bike explain how to do just about everything you need to know how to do to your new or used bike. The other book is an excellent maintenance schedule. I can't remember them all.
- xzoup, Little Rock , Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-16 2006 BMW F 650 GS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Being on foot for about two years and last 2 bikes being BMW RT1150's, I was somewhat concerned about a single cyl. bike. After my first day of 375 miles in eastern Colorado, concern is no longer on my mind. Every time I ride this bike I love it even more and more than any I've had in the past. I ride primarily on the road but more and more off and plan on more yet this summer. So far no problems, just pleasure. A more comfy seat may be in order, but I'll wait and see after I feel I have my M/C butt back in shape! If you're thinking of one for road and gravel and dirt roads and some light trail...go for it!!!
- John, Colorado Springs, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-11 2007 BMW F 650 GS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My riding is 90% on the highway to remote places where the road turns into twisting shale rock, most of which is up hills. The engine guard allows for log jumping on trails and the occasional rock mishap without any damage. The factory tires work well in most conditions, if you plan on doing much in the mud replace them though. This bike has plenty of power for on and offroad use. The only complaint I have had is on long trips ( 2+ hours )the seat becomes uncomfortable.
- Benjamin Bell, Litlle Rock , Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-09 2007 BMW F 650 GS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had been out of riding for about 12 years and decided New Years Eve to get back into it. I wanted a high mileage medium cc bike that I could ride anywhere I wanted to go, on road, off road, but I didn't want a bike that looked or rode like an Enduro. Then web surfing I saw it. The F650GS from BMW. It looks more road bike then dirt, it rides more road bike then dirt, and that works great for me since 95% of my riding is on the asphalt. I've taken it offroading and found it works just fine, not as well as it would if it had true off road tires, but well enough for the 5% of the time I drive it off road. The 4 gallon gas tank is great, and at 58 mpg it's got quite the range. The bike has no problem maintaining 80 mph and still has more power for passing trucks or other slow vehicles. I've taken it on several 400+ mile trips and found it very comfortable for solo riding. My wife on the other hand said it could use a back rest and she would be fine. I mostly use it for my daily commute to and from work. What used to cost me $6.50 a day in gas is now $8.00 a week. Am I happy? You bet. Half the cost of the bike is being offset by my savings in gas. And this bike makes doing your part to save energy a blast.
- LoneWolf, Las Vegas, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-16 2006 BMW F 650 GS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Finally got back on a motorcycle! Interstates are off my scope for bikes - crazy drivers and not all that much fun. After much research, I settled on a 10 month old 2006 F650GS. It is perfect for me and what I want from a mid-size bike. Looks fantanstic, plenty of power, great mileage. With both a side and center stand, it is easy to keep clean and maintain. The single point aircraft type fuel port makes refueling a breeze and never a drop spilled. I like the fact the tires have tubes - additional safety as far as I am concerned. The stock windcreen is low - more for off road applications so I will purchase a tall version. Add a top case and overnight trips will be all set. I love this machine.
- T. Boland, Prince William, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-21 2006 BMW F 650 GS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I really like this bike, but it does lack a bit of power on the low end when riding in the rough stuff. I would also recommend the taller seat as I'm 5'11. I have the regular seat and it's not as comfortable as it seems. I would also recommend a taller windshield. The stock tires are great on and off (better on). On the highway it has more than enough power to keep up and pass traffic. I was riding two up on the bike with the wife and we got to a long very steep hill. I gave it all she hade and the bike would not stop accelerating. I like it! Cheers.
- JL, Elliot Lake, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-18 2006 BMW F 650 GS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great bike for new riders and those returning to riding after many years like myself. This bike is great-looking, versatile, has a bullet-proof history, and is fun to ride on all kinds of roads. I would highly recommend this bike to any rider looking for something fun!
- Alex Bello, Canby, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-28 2006 BMW F 650 GS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I hadn't ridden since college and this has been an awesome bike to return to riding on. Very fun to ride and the bike handles very well. I would highly recommend it.
- Dr Allen Patterson, Salem, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-23 2006 BMW F 650 GS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm another one - a returning rider, that is. The last bikes I owned were a Honda CB 305 Superhawk and a Yamaha DT-1C Enduro. This was a LONG time ago. After 25 years of marriage, I got the spouse to agree to let me get a bike. I chose the 650 GS - it was a wise choice. This is a well made bike. It is well balanced and, while powerful enough, not too powerful to jeopardize those of us who have returned and need to re-learn. Yet, I've found I can be quick in the canyons and capable off road. While I am not trying to keep up with the "crotch rockets," I want a bike that can carry me from the home over the highway and to the dirt -- and the 650 GS does the job. It carries a lot of gear, handles predictably, and can be customized to be what you want. Would I like more power? Sure. Do I need it? Not really. Great bike for those, like me, who want to enjoy the spirit of the road, but seek skill in riding not speed (for its own sake).
- Rob Metzger, Topanga, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-21 2006 BMW F 650 GS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After riding 2 Suzuki 750s and a Honda Interceptor 800 with bag set, this nimble lil bike is a real blast. I am still able to keep up with the fast guys in the canyons (not on the straights) and can settle into 60-65 mph to see up to 68MPG, 2 up! AND I can now go off road.... What freedom... Loving this lil champ. Wish I could use Synthetic oil, and also wish there was a better windscreen available for this bike... Happy Trails..
- Rick Bertino, Bakersfield, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-07 2006 BMW F 650 GS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm enjoying my BMW very much as an entry bike back into road riding. My last experience on a road bike was with a 1972 Motto Guzzi Eldorado, not a very enjoyable bike. Most of my riding after that was on a dirt with a true dirt bike and thus one of my reasons for buying the BMW 650. However I now have discovered that I really enjoy road riding again and have only taken to the dirt roads twice so far. The one issue I can see riding dirt roads here in Colorado would be that the BMW doesn't have a low enough gear to comfortably ride on many of the rocky trails. If I had one wish it would be for a factory granny gear (6 speed) so I won't have to change sprockets and lose the highway speed of this bike. Other then that a very nice bike.
- Tom, Lakewood, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-19 2003 BMW F 650 GS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
In less than 3 months, I've put 5,225 miles on this bike, and tested it a little in the dirt. As my first "big" bike (my other is a DRZ-200), I love it. It handles and runs well, has good brakes and great mileage (65-70 MPG, depending on how fast I'm running). This bike has ruined me for all other makes. 532 miles was my longest ride - very comfy! Oh, and great service from my dealer. Thanks guys!
- Michelle, Scottsdale, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-25 2005 BMW F 650 GS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased a 2005 BMW F650 GS Dakar in late summer of 2004 after evaluating comparable Honda, Kawasaki, and Suzuki models. My intended use of the bike was 50% easy trail riding and 50% casual around town riding. My actual use since purchase has been 80% trail and 20% street. The 20% street part is riding from home to various off road trail networks. It's great to be able to trail ride without having to own a toy hauler or ramp your bike into and out of your pickup. What I like about the bike:<br /> <li>Comfort. A very comfortable bike both on and off road. Nice seat position. Good handlebar width and height. Heated grips. Virtually no vibration. <li>Street handling. A surprisingly agile bike on twisting asphalt roads. <li>Fuel economy. 61 miles per gallon off road. <li>Appearance. Looks cool. What I don't like about the bike:<br /> <li>Cost to purchase. At least 50% more than the others. <li>Cost to maintain. What? Over $200 for an oil change? <li>Weight. At about 425 lbs., it's a little unwieldy in some off road situations and for some off road riding styles. <li>Front forks. A bike this expensive and intended for partial off road use should come standard with a more sophisticated front suspension system. <li>ABS switch. A flashing red light from the instrument cluster whenever ABS is disabled. Annoying. To switch ABS back on, you must stop, shut the bike off, wait a few seconds, then start the bike back up again. Very annoying. In summary, I'm very pleased with the performance of this bike both on and off road. It's a pleasure to ride. For those whose off road riding style tends toward racing, jumping, and difficult single track hill climbs, the F650 is probably not the best bike. But for more moderate dual sport riding, it's hard to beat.
- Jeff Parker, Squaw Valley, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-01 2005 BMW F 650 GS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Love this bike, it's all it needs to be a trail bike. I actually have done some serious off road and love the momentum the bike has. The gears are great, and the bike would benefit from a 15 tooth front sprocket. On the highway I find it to have a great riding position and to be all you'll ever need to go touring or cross country. I know people that have ridden this bike way over the weight limits of the bike the world over. So, plenty of power to go anywhere, and a lot better than the bigger stablemates on the BMW line up. Great to work on, easy, it's all right there. Solid build quality and excellent very strong motor and chassis. I have toured the U.S. with mine and cannot say the bike had any issues that could not be solved on the road, ever. It's also a crowd pleaser! Everyone loves the bike.
- Mo, Plantation, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-20 2005 BMW F 650 GS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have experience on just about every type of bike including a gold wing, Harley, FZ-1, FJR, Honda ST 1300, Honda cruiser, Kawi cruiser, and on and on. This bike is as close to a do-it-all bike as I can come. It's great in the city, where the wing was a handful in tight traffic. It's great on the gravel dirt back roads where the FJR/ ST 1300 dare not tread. It can do highways, although I don't think it has the power for 2 up riding on the highway. Engine runs best at 5-6000 RPMS. Some vibration above that. I like the sit up straight riding position as opposed to the sport bike ride. I like the low seat height just like a cruiser that allows me to get both feet flat down. The heated hand grips and accessory plug for the heated vest extended my riding season down to 20 degrees. I last road 1-19-05 in Illinois winter weather. I recommend a Cee Baily higher windscreen as well. It really helps at highway speeds. The expandable boxes work great. The 1200GS was just a tad too tall for me. I've ridden this bike in rain, cold to 18 degrees, and wind and been comfortable. The only thing I don't think it could do is 2 up highway tour- I don't think it has the power for 2 up at highway speed, but back roads would be fine. Bike likes to be revved, doesn't have a whole lot of low end grunt, so there's more shifting in the city. My current two bikes are the Yamaha FJR and the BMW 650, but I felt more comfortable on the BMW in poor weather conditions. Front end gets a little light above 80 mph, even though there is a fork stabilizer. Keep the bike within its limits and it's the perfect all-arounder.
- shai nyi, pontiac , Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-30 2005 BMW F 650 GS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First street bike in 20 years. Handles, turns, brakes like a much smaller bike. Not quite as light as a true off road bike but handles light trail riding and gravel. As a light std bike it's fabulous on the lean and throttle through the winding roads. Can get buffetted in heavy winds but is comfortable on a 300-400 mile day tour.
- mbdeka, Rochester, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-24 2005 BMW F 650 GS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was looking for a dual sport bike. I needed something that I could use as a commuter vehicle as well as off road jeep trail use. I looked at the other models but they all seemed to look the same. There was no style and or class to them. The BMW was the last one I looked at because of the higher price. However I will say the the higher cost of the bike is well worth it. I was told by the salesman that it would climb anything. I was skeptical because of the weight of the bike. But the first hill I came to it climbed it like it was a flat road. I stopped at the top of the hill and looked back and I swear I heard the bike say to me "It's about time we had some fun!" The power this bike has is phenominal! It does not matter what gear you are in, just roll on the power and make sure you have a good grip on the handles because it will toss you back. The balance of this bike in braking and cornering handles like it was made for the road. Very smoothe!!!
- Ken Woodford, Redlands, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-06 2003 BMW F 650 GS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I first test rode an F 650 last fall and thought if I could just find a good buy I will get it. In the time it took me to find that good buy I considered a lot of other bikes but just could not get over what BMW offers. Mainly, the 3 year warranty, abs, and the most comfortable ride I have ever had for the cc size. I found my bike with the right price so I dove for it. I rode the bike over five hundred miles in the first two days I owned it. It was all highway miles and most of it 70-75 mph. The bike did great, smooth ride, and I got about 76 miles to the gallon. Now that I have a chance to take it out on the back roads and put around some real fun turns, I will see just how ballanced BMW makes their bikes. This is a great bike for the extra thousand over the Yahama FZ6. It was worth every bit.
- Scott, Appleton, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: