Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

BMW F 650 GS reviews

5.0
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Performance
4.7
Comfort
4.8

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

28 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

George Doria-Medina

Los Angeles, California

Reviewed on 2012-02-26

Motorcycle reviewed2007 BMW F 650 GS

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Since my last review I added 10,000 miles on this bike and my opinion has changed as now I like the bike even more. In the last couple of years I have ridden quite a bit more on the weekends but probably the most inspiring was the day I took off at 3 in the afternoon and did not stop until I reached Canada. The bike was fantastic as the luggage and gear that is readily available for it worked wonderfully and the bike was almost perfect. The only reason I say almost is that the seat is good for a couple hours of riding and then you are in pain. So I had a custom seat made that I wish I had for the trip to Canada but at least I will have it for the next trip. The positives are the great mileage, adequate power, ease and pleasure of riding the bike and reliability. The main negative is the BMW seat is not good for long trips and the headlight could be a bit brighter. If you can only have one bike I recommend an Enduro motorcycle as this class of bike will enable you to do the most varied kind of riding.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

RonBo

Arvada, Colorado

Reviewed on 2010-08-15

Motorcycle reviewed2007 BMW F 650 GS

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just got this 2007 F650GS a week ago. I've been riding every day and taken some short trips. I averaged 69.2 mpg the first tank. (WOW). I added a taller windshield, and a trunk for now. I also have a 2008 650 Suzuki Brugman, and have had many other bikes in the past. This BMW is way too much fun, with great mileage.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

vin vee

detroit, Michigan

Reviewed on 2010-08-08

Motorcycle reviewed2006 BMW F 650 GS

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike is excellent but single cylinder bikes are not as popular here as in Europe. If you buy one as many people have bought and traded in the past, give the bike a chance and put some miles on it before you decide. I hated mine at first but after a few thousand miles of getting to know it, it's awesome. It's a great all-around bike that can do it all. The only thing is that on this bike I didn't like was the headlight when there are not street lights. It also should have come with fork tube gaitors and a rear shock gaitor. Keep your chain lubed a lot.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ken Decroo

Running Springs, California

Reviewed on 2010-06-14

Motorcycle reviewed2007 BMW F 650 GS

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I recently bought an F800GS and love it. I had intended to sell my faithful thumper but every time I clean it up and take if for a ride I decide to keep it. It is a wonderful all around bike that will take you anywhere in the world on either tarmac or dirt roads. I especially love it on the roads of Baja. The 60 to 70 MPG it gets isn't bad either. Unless a really good friend comes along that will appreciate and love this bike like I do, I think I'll just keep it and use it for city runs in traffic.... I can't part with it!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

John Y.

Los Angeles, California

Reviewed on 2009-10-08

Motorcycle reviewed2002 BMW F 650 GS

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The perfect all around bike. Nice looking, lightweight, low seat height, fuel injection, low center of gravity, and BMW's expandable side cases make this bike perfect within town and out on the highway. Enough power overall without getting yourself in trouble. The cons are: not be most fun to ride (lacks character), front end is not as balanced when coming to a stop, combination trip/odometer defaults at odometer at startup, and the rear seat rack is plastic. It is one bike that can easily do all.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

compass expeditions

melbounre, Australia

Reviewed on 2009-08-16

Motorcycle reviewed2009 BMW F 650 GS

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
My first concerns with the use of the new F 650's for our expeditions was that they just didn't look robust enough for some of the terrain we cover out on the road, not that the rides are technical, it's just that there is rough gravel in places and countless miles between BMW servicing centres. My first encounter with the new look F 650 GS was at a motorcycle exhibition, I had a sit on the bike but was not able to ride it at the time. Once Compass Expeditions decided to go with the new twins for a number of reasons, I was there to pick up the first bike, so I thought I would take it through it's paces before shipping it off to South America. That is where the first of my surprises and quick change of mind begin. Riding it through the busy streets of Melbourne heading out of the city, the bike handled very well in the slow congested traffic and maneuvered lightly and accelerated rapidly when the chance arrived to scoot past a few cars, great! When I finally hit the highway and some more winding open country roads the bike really came into its own, responsive in the corners with easy handling, good smooth braking and excellent performance even with the added weight of my girlfriend on the back, I barely knew she was there. The bike passed the first test, however before sending them off to Chile we bought a number of accessories to beef the bikes up for the rigors of the expeditions to come. We purchased bark busters, radiator and headlight protectors and a sturdy bash plate to protect that exposed oil filter and cooler. The bikes now looked quite a bit more the robust touring type and I felt a little more at ease. The second test; Patagonia. On the first tour of the season, non of our passengers had ridden the new model before, but the first morning as they strolled out to the carpark their faces lit up as they saw the sparkling new machines lined up in the stunning summer sunshine. The passengers were certainly not disappointed as all of them rated the bikes highly, with 2 Ex-passengers actually purchasing new F 650 GS twins since returning to their home countries. One particular day on a Patagonian tour is one which I thought would be a good test for the 650's, that is the journey from Esquel in Argentina to Perito Moreno, a total distance of 590 kms. The first 460 kms are on reasonable bitumen with a few potholes and only one small section of about 10 kms of roadworks, this ride day heads into quite a remote region of the country. At the end of the bitumen we gathered our energy by having a coffee, snacks and a bit of a rest in the dry, windy town of Rio Mayo on the Patagonian Steppe. Once we left here it was about another 130 kms of quite challenging riding on gravel roads, and in my experience, it is always accompanied by strong winds. To make the ride a little more challenging they are currently doing a lot of roadworks on this section thus making the many rough detour tracks very draining. But the bikes handled this ride very well, given their responsiveness and relative lightness the riders are much less tired and more at ease on the challenging roads, seats are easier on the backside and the riding position is much more comfortable than riding the older, cramped single cylinder GS 650's. I recognize that the older models are good robust bikes, but in comparison to the new 650 twins they are slow and heavy and it seems to me as the changes are so huge that there has been 10 years between the 2 models instead of 1. I would liken the change from the old bike to the new, like going from driving a tractor to a car. So yes, once beefed up a little in the robust department two thumbs up from me for the new BMW F 650 GS twin, survived Patagonia should be adaptable to anywhere.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Motoneta

Brooklyn, New York

Reviewed on 2009-08-16

Motorcycle reviewed2009 BMW F 650 GS

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought this baby in late April of '09 and haven't stopped riding it. I use it everyday for commuting into Manhattan from Brooklyn and the motorcycle handles like a dream. Potholes not a problem, tight squeezes thru traffic not a problem. It is very responsive and just right amount of power for my needs (de-tuned 798 cc). I have also tested it on the NJ Turnpike at high speeds and pulls like a demon, it is no race bike but it will make you smile and keep up with other bikes. It is very well designed machine. The gas tank is under the seat for a low C.o.G. I got the package with heated hand grips, center stand, on board computer with tire pressure monitor and alarm. They are all very very useful. In my honest opinion I think it is a much better engine that the single cylinder of the previous generation. Absolutely the best.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

xzoup

Little Rock , Arkansas

Reviewed on 2007-11-17

Motorcycle reviewed2007 BMW F 650 GS

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Thank God and thank my wife. I've owned a Suzuki 750cc Intruder and a Suzuki SP500cc street/trail bike, but I've never owned a bike in this size range that could run so smoothly after reaching speeds of 60 and above as does this 2007 F650 GS that I now own. I am in love with this bike, or so my wife tells me. This bike is beautiful and big and streamlined, when a guy my size rides it the bike appears to others that it's large enough for me. I am so happy with it I just want to go buy another just in case BMW forgets to make a bike this nice again. You might think the heated handle bar grips are for sissies but trust me they will make a sissy out of most riders and they'll be thankful. One personal safety note, if you plan on doing any serious mud and trail riding I would invest in a set of true trail tires since the ones that come with the bike are better suited for the pavement. This bike has larger dark wind screen, ABS breaks that can be turned off and on for street and trail riding, tension control knob to increase tension when you let your wife on the back and a digital clock on the dash so you won't be late for work. Two very good books that come with bike explain how to do just about everything you need to know how to do to your new or used bike. The other book is an excellent maintenance schedule. I can't remember them all.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

John

Colorado Springs, Colorado

Reviewed on 2007-07-16

Motorcycle reviewed2006 BMW F 650 GS

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Being on foot for about two years and last 2 bikes being BMW RT1150's, I was somewhat concerned about a single cyl. bike. After my first day of 375 miles in eastern Colorado, concern is no longer on my mind. Every time I ride this bike I love it even more and more than any I've had in the past. I ride primarily on the road but more and more off and plan on more yet this summer. So far no problems, just pleasure. A more comfy seat may be in order, but I'll wait and see after I feel I have my M/C butt back in shape! If you're thinking of one for road and gravel and dirt roads and some light trail...go for it!!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Benjamin Bell

Litlle Rock , Arkansas

Reviewed on 2007-04-11

Motorcycle reviewed2007 BMW F 650 GS

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
My riding is 90% on the highway to remote places where the road turns into twisting shale rock, most of which is up hills. The engine guard allows for log jumping on trails and the occasional rock mishap without any damage. The factory tires work well in most conditions, if you plan on doing much in the mud replace them though. This bike has plenty of power for on and offroad use. The only complaint I have had is on long trips ( 2+ hours )the seat becomes uncomfortable.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1 - 10 of 28 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: