Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

BMW F 650 reviews

4.3
Write a review
Reliability
4.4
Overall quality
4.4
Performance
4.4
Comfort
4.2

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

14 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Mtncruzr

Fort Collins, Colorado

Reviewed on 2006-08-08

Motorcycle reviewed1999 BMW F 650

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought this bike instead of a KLR or DR because it had racks and hard bags and it is also a BMW. No problems so far. It rides great on the superslab and also in the dirt. I have taken it on many hard 4x4 roads and dropped it numerous times. The pannier racks absorb most of the falls with only a broken mirror and blinkers to speak of. I am in good shape so it is no problem to pick the bike up. Sure it could use more suspension travel, but for commuting to work and 4x4 on the weekends, it has been the perfect bike for me. Go ahead and ride it offroad, it can handle it!!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Carrie

Seattle, Washington

Reviewed on 2004-07-19

Motorcycle reviewed1999 BMW F 650

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I bought this as my first bike. For a single-cylinder bike, this one is very smooth, with even-power delivery. Its weight makes it a solid ride at freeway speeds. What little maintenance I have done has been straightforward. However, its weight also limits its offroading capabilities to decently level dirt roads - and it's not exactly low COG weight, either. I had to custom-make a seat in order to ride it, and my feet still barely touched the ground. I'm trading it in on a shorter and lighter bike, but I am saving my pennies to buy the lighter and shorter-seat-option current generation F650GS, new. This is a solid bike that I can ride all day without discomfort (I did a 6-hour trip with quick refueling stops). I bought it with 12K and it has given me no problems. If you can handle the weight, it's an excellent bike - although I'd call it more sport touring than dualsport.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Andy

Rock Hill, South Carolina

Reviewed on 2004-03-16

Motorcycle reviewed1999 BMW F 650

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
This bike is a real fun ride and is a snap to drive! Bought it to replace a KLR650 but in reality, this bike is a bit too heavy to much other than ride dirt roads - taking it off road is not a real option unless you have a lot of strength to horse it around. Not taking anything away from the bike but when you get a 400-pound bike and a 200-pound rider in some rough ground, you can see where that goes. The only other negative is the buffeting you get driving on-road at higher speeds. Others have recommended changing the windshield or mirrors but I have not gone that route yet. Overall, a fun bike to ride!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

sas

Lillehammer, Norway

Reviewed on 2002-09-03

Motorcycle reviewed2000 BMW F 650

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I love my BMW F650 It's funny to drive this bike. She's a king on bad gravelled roads (I call my bike Dolly), still it's a good bike on the highway. Maybe not the hottest babe for speeding, but not the worst eighter :o) And when it comes to and end...she's not half as expencive to own as my wife...hehe... ;o)
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

dwr461

Baton Rouge, Louisiana

Reviewed on 2002-07-30

Motorcycle reviewed2000 BMW F 650

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have a 1999 F650 with 30,000 miles on the odometer. This is the same bike as the 2000 model year. It broke down once when the aftermarket carb jets died. I also threw one chain while going 80mph but that was my fault. I tried to save money with a cheap chain. I have the Ron Woods timing advance and the staintune exhaust on my bike. This does a very good job of making the bike quicker. Despite the single cylinder, it is smooth enough on the highway to make out a police car in it's mirrors. But, the handlebars get a little buzzey over 70mph. This bike has no problems keeping up on the highway. It accelerates strongly right up it's max and cruising all day at 80mph is no problem if your butt can take it. Some dealers do not do a good job after the sale. This being said I have only praise for Hebert Cycles in Baton Rouge and have had no problems with dealer support. The model bike needs it's valve clearance checked every 6,000 miles. This is the expensive part. BMW allows for four hours plus about $40 in parts for a servicing. This is of course assuming that none of the valves need shimmed. Those people with a moderate amount of shop skills can download most of the information to do this service work from www.f650.com. My bike has also had the dust guard come loose in the ignition system. But I got lucky and was able to fish it out with a tweezer. This occurred after 2.5 years and with 24,000 miles on the odometer. It was covered by the warranty. The part does have to come from Germany though, as BMW does not allow anyone but the factory to put together ignition cylinders as a security precaution. I hope this might help someone in the future with their decision. Dave
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

frank shelbourne

liverpool,uk., United Kingdom

Reviewed on 2002-03-31

Motorcycle reviewed1999 BMW F 650

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
had my bmw f650st for 14 months,best bike i have bought.i am 57 years old,been riding bikes since 1962.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

proerj

Union City, California

Reviewed on 2002-01-17

Motorcycle reviewed1999 BMW F 650

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
For a good all-around bike, especially for a beginner, this is the way to go. With a nice stance, great handlebar height, and plenty of torque, it's a great way to learn what cycling is all about. Shooting off the line between cars at the green light is no problem. The one drawback to the vertical stance and the cross-breed tires is that is doesn't take curves like a sport bike, but the advantages show thru during 2+ hour rides...No fatigue. It's also great for your occasional trail ride at around 400 lbs with plenty of power to get thru most obstacles.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Patrick

Fort Worth, Texas

Reviewed on 2002-01-14

Motorcycle reviewed2000 BMW F 650

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have owned my 2001 F650GS for one year now and it has been great. The bike has 6000 miles now and hasn't needed anything but the normal maintinence. The folks here at my local dealer have been super. I ride the bike everyday. It has never let me down. I did a lot of research before buying this bike. I'm very happy with my decision.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Rider / Owner

St. Louis, Missouri

Reviewed on 2001-08-17

Motorcycle reviewed2000 BMW F 650

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I bought my my F650 5 months ago. And I must say it is great for the all around towner. It also can hold its own on the highway. I took a 450 mile trip and it held nice and smooth at 75. Although my rear end was a little sore after 200 miles so I suggest a pad or maybe a Corbin seat. The only other down side is since it is a BMW (Bring Money With) it can get a little more expensive at major mile check ups. But BMW does have a rep for longevity.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Anonymous

Dayton, Ohio

Reviewed on 2001-07-14

Motorcycle reviewed2000 BMW F 650

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
When I was looking for just the right first bike, I thought I found it with the 99' F650. Not a cruiser, not a crotch rocket, just a good fun bike. It was at first, until I took my first passenger for a ride. We stopped for gas, and upon removing the key from the ignition, the plastic dust guard popped out. The bike would not start and we were left stranded. First of all, why a plastic dust guard. If the bike would have been fixed within a week, it wouldn't have been so bad. That was June 15, 2001. It is now July 14, 2001 and I am sitting here writing this instead of riding on a pretty day. Getting parts for this bike is a pain in the neck. The supplier in Germany said it would be another 2 to 4 weeks before the part comes in. I may have a lemon, but this has left a bitter taste in my mouth and my next bike will not be a "Beemer."
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 14 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: