BMW F 800 ST Motorcycles Reviews (13)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with BMW F 800 ST Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any BMW F 800 ST Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2011-07-24 2007 BMW F 800 ST Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's excellent - all around just an excellent, reliable, comfortable bike. When looking to start riding I went to all the websites, read the articles about what cc engine to start on, what style of bike is better and this bike is it. This is a bike that you can learn to ride on then really grow into.
- Brandon, Los Angeles, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-02-05 2011 BMW F 800 ST Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The F800ST is a great mid-sized bike. It's light weight and powerful. It gets great fuel economy and has decent ergonomics. There are enough accessories on the market to customize this thing to one's desires. It's also great for semi-long range tours and great in the twisties as well. I could use a bigger gas tank and a somewhat stiffer suspension. The rear suspension is adjustable but not the front.
- Brett Sellers, Houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-10-14 2007 BMW F 800 ST Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Pros: It's a very reliable bike, very nimble with great torque. It's a great fit for all category riders from entry level to novice. Cons: The side view mirrors could be extended about another inch for better rear sight. The front windshield doesn't do a whole lot in deflecting wind. Bottom Line: It's a great buy. I highly recommend purchasing it. It handles great on twisties and straits. I've never had a problem. Just do routine services and you're good. I'm getting 12k on my tires before replacement.
- Kuan, Escondido, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-12-28 2008 BMW F 800 ST Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my '09 ST in late January of 2009 after starting to ride with an '01 F650GS about 7 months earlier (it was a great bike to start with). I've found it is a great bike to continue the learning process with. It has enough power, is light, quick and comfortable. I've put about 7500 miles on since I purchased it. I'm located near in an area where I can go to the Sierra foothills in about 20 minutes - and then to the coast in a couple of hours. The bike is the best for these great California roads.
- jrider, Turlock, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-08-12 2008 BMW F 800 ST Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
In the time I have owned this motorcycle, it has never ceased to stop me from giggling. that's it. Giggling. It is so easy to ride. Accelerates well, stops quickly, predictable...I have used it for everything from riding to work, to the supermarket to load it full of groceries and frosty beverages...to riding down the highway for hours at a time, or zooming up and down mountain roads. The twistier the better. While all my friends are busy trying to find their shifter pedal, I just roll off and on the throttle. I don't think a better bike exists out there for me. Just ask my feeler pegs...
- Beth Johnston, Durham, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-18 2008 BMW F 800 ST Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Over the last year of owning the F800st and test riding at least a dozen other motocycles (just for fun), I've come to realize that every motorcycle has its place. From the giant luxury cruisers to the 175 horsepower sport bikes, I've come to appreciate the special attributes that each of the bikes I have ridden brings to the table, the road I mean. As such, I now understand the value and purpose of my F800st. This bike is a great commuter. What I mean is that it is a versatile enough bike to handle 80mph stretches of highway with no problem, it's easy to maneuver in town and in the parking lot, the luggage options are spacious enough to carry lunch, a gym bag, an extra set of work clothes, and a bag of groceries all at the same time. This machine is simply a non-nonsense workhorse. Well, almost no-nonsense. When the work week is through, it does like to venture out onto the windy roads less traveled (And I do mean windy). On its days off it likes to be ridden fast through as many twisties as you can find. It handles fantastically, but that is not to say it rides like a sport bike. It is way more comfortable than a sport bike. The engine is competent and powerful enough to get you in plenty of trouble with the law, but it's no K1300s. Overall, this is a great bike that can handle a variety of duties. If you like to ride to and from work everyday and still like to put on a couple of hundred miles on the weekends over long stretches of highway or through as many twisties as you can find, then this bike could be the bike for you.
- Eric, Keller, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-12-22 2007 BMW F 800 ST Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Could a 64 year old guy re-enter street riding after thirty years afoot? Perhaps with the right ride. It would have to provide smooth substantial power, be a nimble turner; feature powerful brakes; have a comfortable riding position and be techy enough to please the picky ex-engineer. Enter the F800ST. I found a fine a pre-owned '07 in April of '08 at a friendly NC BMW dealer. I loved it at my first somewhat awkward ride. I still do. This bike is a natural. A perfect re-entry machine. It does all things well. Power - It can seem oh-so-modest in the torque department with a gentle right hand but still blast off at stoplights with equal ease. Twisties - Face it, motorcycling is all about turning and this bike has it down; precise turn entry, ease of lean, stability over bumps with silky roll-on at turn exits. It loves transitions. This is confidence inspiring and even forgiving to the relative newbie. Stopping - Front brakes feel a bit squishy under the right hand even after bleeding, but are powerful with smooth progressiveness both on and off. Easy to modulate which is essential to avoid evil lockup or ABS operation on hard stops. Some nose dive, yes, but entirely manageable even for a retread rider like me. Rear brake twitters the ABS in hard stops occasionally but no grief in that regard. Comfort - For me just the right combo of upright seating position with forward lean to balance the wind lift at speed. By straightening my (long) arms a bit I can ride upright if I choose, but the forward lean feels natural. Windscreen could be a bit taller for wind protection and may face an aftermarket switcheroo. My knee positions pick up engine heat on cold days. Hot days in stop and go can warm the legs a bit but not uncomfortably so. Not much wiggle room on this seat but still for an hour or two between stops not a problem. Techy - yes! Light alloy abounds; the instruments charm; the belt drive is quiet; the engine is just smooth enough for comfort but sends the right vibes into the bike to let you know it's there; the fit and finish are precisely what one might expect from BMW, perfect. In sum, this bike fits my needs for around town and reasonable length fun rides perfectly. Sons (younger w/Ducati 1000S2R & older with BMW R1200ST) drooled over it, and that alone would surely make an old guy smile!
- Ron Coddington, Willow Spring, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-10-16 2007 BMW F 800 ST Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First I must confess I am a newbie rider. Finished the MSF Basic course, received the certificate 2 weeks later, following day at the DMV for the written and that Saturday drove away with the F800ST. However during the 2 week wait period I went looking at bikes trying to decide what to buy. I didn't want something too small and grow out of quickly nor too large/heavy to handle as a new rider. The first place I visited was BMW by advice of my Brother-in-Law who owns 4 bikes, one of them being a BMW K1200R. The Blue F800ST grabbed my attention immediately. Great looking bike, period. The price vs. CC's forced me to look at other Mfrs. Visited Kawasaki, Yamaha, Suzuki, Honda and even HD. There is no argument one can get a lot of bike for the price going Japanese but can one get the performance, safety and service that BMW is known for? I bounced around my purchasing decision several times and ultimately came back to BMW as that was the bike I was glued to from the start. I decided the extra $ was not going to alter my life and I will get what I really desire. Aside from perhaps the Italians, few can beat German Engineering. Now for the review: OK, I'm new to riding so what do I really have to compare it to? The Yamaha 250 from the MSF Class? I can only honestly say it's the easiest bike one can imagine to ride through the twisties as well as on the freeway. It's lightweight and simple to turn at low speeds. It seems to make up it's own mind when executing a turn in a smooth fashion. It's spontaneous with the slightest push/pull on the grips. What a fun and exciting bike to ride! Seat is comfortable and although my longest ride non-stop had been approximately 120 miles, I had no discomfort except for my right wrist which has nothing to do with the bike, but as being new to riding perhaps gripping the throttle too tightly. Cruise Control would have been a good option for BMW to include on this model as they do emphasize this bike as the Touring version of the F800S. Pros: ABS Brakes may be controversial to some, but it can prevent a spill. Fortunately I have not had to use them in any emergency stop yet, but I feel good they are there when needed. Handling of this bike is nothing less of awesome. Computer is nice and already came up with one warning that the front tire pressure was low. It's those little things that make this bike seem safer to ride. Cons: 70 mph plus one gets you a head-full of wind. An aftermarket 4 inch taller windshield will take care of that. Also, as with most bikes, the stock exhaust is heavy and restrictive. I installed a Remus exhaust and not only it sounds sweet, but tests show an increase of 10 to 12 HP plus removing the lag/slight hesitation from starting out from 1st gear. Lastly, there is some heat coming into the left fairing and onto the leg although nothing major and actually would have been better if the hot air were to have been distributed to both legs for those cold days. Conclusion: When I decide to get a larger (touring) bike for long trips, I plan to keep this as the bike of choice for the enjoyable handling through the mountain and coastal roads!
- Steve G, Westlake Village, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-28 2007 BMW F 800 ST Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Recently traded my 2006 F650GS for a new F800ST. I liked the 650 very much but it was not well suited for longer trips. The 800 is a more all purpose bike for both short and long runs. The extra power, 6th gear, smoother gearbox and drive, more comfortable seating and riding are all well worth the small additional weight and price. Super easy to keep clean and looks fabulous. I added most options and love all the information available with the on-board computer. I'm not sure yet if this is even a flaw but the motor does generate quite a bit of heat, handled well by the radiator and fan but still runs up the left fairing. Not very noticeable when the bike is moving but in traffic or stop and go, it does get a bit warm on the left side. Too bad the heat could not have been distributed more evenly and you'd have a great leg warmer in winter or cooler weather. In any case, it's not much to complaint about - more an observation. All the other superb features and quality far outweigh this minor issue.
- Tom, Prince William, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-05 2007 BMW F 800 ST Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
For as short and skinny as I am, this bike is fairly easy to handle. It has all the power for my needs in the city or the highway; the upright seating is much more comfortable for me than the 800s model. It would be awesome if the bike were an inch or so lower, but there are ways to get around that with a little planning. Smooth ride, good power, and lots of fun.
- jason, lansing, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-12 2007 BMW F 800 ST Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I eagerly anticipated this bike when it was unveiled in 2006 and my anticipation was well rewarded. I purchased my F800ST for my girlfriend as a lighter, more agile replacement to the 2001 R1100S she was riding. She insisted that I rack up the first 600 miles before she'd get on it, and during that time I discovered the F800ST can be ridden significantly faster, and with more control and comfort, than the R1100S. I'm talking about the real world, on real roads, not potential 10/10ths performance on the racetrack. This bike is amazing. The torque curve isn't a curve -- it's flat and substantial across the rev range and allows the rider to pull away at almost any RPM without shudder or complaint. The handling is extremely nimble, the brakes are perfect and thanks to the smooth running engine, the bike is super comforable for hours on end. Plus I dig the belt drive -- clean, quiet, compliant, no fuss, no muss. My personal reference point is my K1200RS with over 100K miles on it, which I've always felt was one of the most comfortable, smooth and controllable bikes out there. In many ways, the F800ST has superior real-world performance, and it's definitely more fun to ride than the K1200RS (and the R1100S). Believe it.
- Eric Levy, Evergreen, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-09 2007 BMW F 800 ST Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is one sweet handling motorcycle. It replaces my 95 BMW R1100RS so many of my comments are comparisons to that bike (Which by the way served me faithfully for nearly 70K miles). The F800ST is lighter and more nimble with about the same amount of power. Up to 80 mph at least, plus it has a 6th gear. I still have the stock windshield which provides little wind protection so speeds in excess of 70 I don't consider pleasant whereas the RS was just getting into its zone about then. Riding comfort also doesn't quite match the RS but an after market seat undoubtedly will improve that (I had a Corbin on the RS). Also there is enough heat flowing thru the fairing unto ones shins and feet, especially on the left side, to make riding in temps above 90F a little more unpleasant. Overall however, I expect the bike to be a blast for shorter rides (200 miles) on curvy mountain roads and California Hwy #1 when ever I can get to it.
- Duane S, Valley Center, , California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-09 2007 BMW F 800 ST Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently test drove and purchased my first BMW, the F800ST. I hopped on up on the excellent looking graphite grey colored F800ST and first thing I noticed was how great the bike looks from behind and how awesome the weight distribution was on this bike. Keep in mind, that this is my highest compliment I can most humbly offer as I am a huge Italian bike fan and the Italians absolutely own Sexy. The temp was in the upper 30s F and I had just had a pretty cold 18 mile into town. Now is the time to see what these Beemers are made of and try to understand how these guys put 30,40 and even 50+ thousand miles a year on these machines. Will I be comfy? Will I be warm? What will the wind resistance be like at speed? Off we go. First thing I notice is that although the HP rating of my Ducati S2R1K and the F800ST are similar and p/w ratios are in the same area, the F800ST does not have anywhere near the snap of the Monster, not even close. It is more confident and mature in it's manners. I am not sure how to process that as it hits me and then I take my first city corner...wow that was smooth...lets get on the superslab and head to the tightest technical corners I know my Duc can eat that provides a big jolt. Will I get a jolt? The bike does everything I ask. As I lean it though the clover of the onramp, I quickly notice that the bike is one of the smoothest and most stable cornering I have ever felt. Period. On the Highway, the ride is totally sublime, I wind it smoothly up through the gears and look at the speedo and I am at 80-85 MPH. Is that right? This is the smoothest and most comfortable 80+ I have ever had on any bike..Period. A Few miles up the road and off the ramp onto my intended highway. A local favorite of mine (and my Duc friends) it starts off with some nice wide sweepers,50-60 MPH. A few Rail road tracks and wow those are some nice smooooth...brakes. I am familiar with the likes of Brembos, but the chasis does not dive like an Italian. I think to myself those hot grips are real nice and toasty as the dash tells me it is 38.6F. I am feeling great, it is chilly, but I am ready to ride for hours. Can this really be? It is on up to the tight stuff and I gently nudge her over and she falls perfectly in...and I mean perfectly into my chosen line. As I hit the corner apex. I am powering it through and rolling on strong, the bike sticks like GLUE. Me thinks, Glorious. This German beauty is stunning! One word comes to mind...S-O-L-D. Let me run that set of corners again. Was it really pulling through there that freakin smoothly?!! On back through in reverse and yes..it is for real. S-O-L-D. I drove her home last night and I must say that this bike is nothing short of fantastic. I took a spin on a K1200GT before I closed the deal on the F800ST and came back after about 15 minutes, for me and my riding desires..the F800ST is the Beemer for me. The bike is beautiful and in 24 hours it has charmed the pants off of me. This Beemer is a real world CLASS middleweight! Wind Resistance 9 Ride feel 10 Ride Performance 10 Power 10 (Fast feels slower than it is, which for a sport tourer is a sign of perfection) Ergos/Comfort 10 Build Quality 10 Dealer Experience 10
- LCH, Louisville, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: