Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

BMW F 800 ST reviews

5.0
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.7

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

14 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Brandon

Los Angeles, California

Reviewed on 2011-07-24

Motorcycle reviewed2007 BMW F 800 ST

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
It's excellent - all around just an excellent, reliable, comfortable bike. When looking to start riding I went to all the websites, read the articles about what cc engine to start on, what style of bike is better and this bike is it. This is a bike that you can learn to ride on then really grow into.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

John Carpino

Connecticut

Reviewed on 2020-06-24

Motorcycle reviewed2008 BMW F 800 ST

Shop this motorcycle

4.8
I have had 2 F800ST motorcycles a 2009 that I put 27k miles on, and a 2012 that I have put about the same miles on. These are great bikes. You can (and will) ride them all day long. Gas mileage is 60+ MPG on a trip as long as you don't go crazy with your right hand. The eat up the twisties, and do well on the highway too (with the right windscreen). Shifting up and down is smooth, throttle/power delivery is predictable and linear, Vibration isn't even noticeable with grip puppies on. Speaking of grips, the standard heated grips are a joy in the Northeast. I also love the low-maintenance belt drive. No chain lube or gear oil changes! And when I had to replace the new belt, I got one online and changed it myself, quick and easy. Mods: As an older rider, I didn't like the lean forward position, so I added bar risers and lowering kits on both bikes. The progressive springs front and back make a world of difference in handling.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Brett Sellers

Houston, Texas

Reviewed on 2011-02-05

Motorcycle reviewed2011 BMW F 800 ST

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The F800ST is a great mid-sized bike. It's light weight and powerful. It gets great fuel economy and has decent ergonomics. There are enough accessories on the market to customize this thing to one's desires. It's also great for semi-long range tours and great in the twisties as well. I could use a bigger gas tank and a somewhat stiffer suspension. The rear suspension is adjustable but not the front.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kuan

Escondido, California

Reviewed on 2010-10-14

Motorcycle reviewed2007 BMW F 800 ST

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Pros: It's a very reliable bike, very nimble with great torque. It's a great fit for all category riders from entry level to novice. Cons: The side view mirrors could be extended about another inch for better rear sight. The front windshield doesn't do a whole lot in deflecting wind. Bottom Line: It's a great buy. I highly recommend purchasing it. It handles great on twisties and straits. I've never had a problem. Just do routine services and you're good. I'm getting 12k on my tires before replacement.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

jrider

Turlock, California

Reviewed on 2009-12-28

Motorcycle reviewed2008 BMW F 800 ST

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought my '09 ST in late January of 2009 after starting to ride with an '01 F650GS about 7 months earlier (it was a great bike to start with). I've found it is a great bike to continue the learning process with. It has enough power, is light, quick and comfortable. I've put about 7500 miles on since I purchased it. I'm located near in an area where I can go to the Sierra foothills in about 20 minutes - and then to the coast in a couple of hours. The bike is the best for these great California roads.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Beth Johnston

Durham, North Carolina

Reviewed on 2009-08-12

Motorcycle reviewed2008 BMW F 800 ST

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
In the time I have owned this motorcycle, it has never ceased to stop me from giggling. that's it. Giggling. It is so easy to ride. Accelerates well, stops quickly, predictable...I have used it for everything from riding to work, to the supermarket to load it full of groceries and frosty beverages...to riding down the highway for hours at a time, or zooming up and down mountain roads. The twistier the better. While all my friends are busy trying to find their shifter pedal, I just roll off and on the throttle. I don't think a better bike exists out there for me. Just ask my feeler pegs...
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Eric

Keller, Texas

Reviewed on 2009-07-18

Motorcycle reviewed2008 BMW F 800 ST

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Over the last year of owning the F800st and test riding at least a dozen other motocycles (just for fun), I've come to realize that every motorcycle has its place. From the giant luxury cruisers to the 175 horsepower sport bikes, I've come to appreciate the special attributes that each of the bikes I have ridden brings to the table, the road I mean. As such, I now understand the value and purpose of my F800st. This bike is a great commuter. What I mean is that it is a versatile enough bike to handle 80mph stretches of highway with no problem, it's easy to maneuver in town and in the parking lot, the luggage options are spacious enough to carry lunch, a gym bag, an extra set of work clothes, and a bag of groceries all at the same time. This machine is simply a non-nonsense workhorse. Well, almost no-nonsense. When the work week is through, it does like to venture out onto the windy roads less traveled (And I do mean windy). On its days off it likes to be ridden fast through as many twisties as you can find. It handles fantastically, but that is not to say it rides like a sport bike. It is way more comfortable than a sport bike. The engine is competent and powerful enough to get you in plenty of trouble with the law, but it's no K1300s. Overall, this is a great bike that can handle a variety of duties. If you like to ride to and from work everyday and still like to put on a couple of hundred miles on the weekends over long stretches of highway or through as many twisties as you can find, then this bike could be the bike for you.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ron Coddington

Willow Spring, North Carolina

Reviewed on 2008-12-22

Motorcycle reviewed2007 BMW F 800 ST

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Could a 64 year old guy re-enter street riding after thirty years afoot? Perhaps with the right ride. It would have to provide smooth substantial power, be a nimble turner; feature powerful brakes; have a comfortable riding position and be techy enough to please the picky ex-engineer. Enter the F800ST. I found a fine a pre-owned '07 in April of '08 at a friendly NC BMW dealer. I loved it at my first somewhat awkward ride. I still do. This bike is a natural. A perfect re-entry machine. It does all things well. Power - It can seem oh-so-modest in the torque department with a gentle right hand but still blast off at stoplights with equal ease. Twisties - Face it, motorcycling is all about turning and this bike has it down; precise turn entry, ease of lean, stability over bumps with silky roll-on at turn exits. It loves transitions. This is confidence inspiring and even forgiving to the relative newbie. Stopping - Front brakes feel a bit squishy under the right hand even after bleeding, but are powerful with smooth progressiveness both on and off. Easy to modulate which is essential to avoid evil lockup or ABS operation on hard stops. Some nose dive, yes, but entirely manageable even for a retread rider like me. Rear brake twitters the ABS in hard stops occasionally but no grief in that regard. Comfort - For me just the right combo of upright seating position with forward lean to balance the wind lift at speed. By straightening my (long) arms a bit I can ride upright if I choose, but the forward lean feels natural. Windscreen could be a bit taller for wind protection and may face an aftermarket switcheroo. My knee positions pick up engine heat on cold days. Hot days in stop and go can warm the legs a bit but not uncomfortably so. Not much wiggle room on this seat but still for an hour or two between stops not a problem. Techy - yes! Light alloy abounds; the instruments charm; the belt drive is quiet; the engine is just smooth enough for comfort but sends the right vibes into the bike to let you know it's there; the fit and finish are precisely what one might expect from BMW, perfect. In sum, this bike fits my needs for around town and reasonable length fun rides perfectly. Sons (younger w/Ducati 1000S2R & older with BMW R1200ST) drooled over it, and that alone would surely make an old guy smile!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Steve G

Westlake Village, California

Reviewed on 2007-10-16

Motorcycle reviewed2007 BMW F 800 ST

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
First I must confess I am a newbie rider. Finished the MSF Basic course, received the certificate 2 weeks later, following day at the DMV for the written and that Saturday drove away with the F800ST. However during the 2 week wait period I went looking at bikes trying to decide what to buy. I didn't want something too small and grow out of quickly nor too large/heavy to handle as a new rider. The first place I visited was BMW by advice of my Brother-in-Law who owns 4 bikes, one of them being a BMW K1200R. The Blue F800ST grabbed my attention immediately. Great looking bike, period. The price vs. CC's forced me to look at other Mfrs. Visited Kawasaki, Yamaha, Suzuki, Honda and even HD. There is no argument one can get a lot of bike for the price going Japanese but can one get the performance, safety and service that BMW is known for? I bounced around my purchasing decision several times and ultimately came back to BMW as that was the bike I was glued to from the start. I decided the extra $ was not going to alter my life and I will get what I really desire. Aside from perhaps the Italians, few can beat German Engineering. Now for the review: OK, I'm new to riding so what do I really have to compare it to? The Yamaha 250 from the MSF Class? I can only honestly say it's the easiest bike one can imagine to ride through the twisties as well as on the freeway. It's lightweight and simple to turn at low speeds. It seems to make up it's own mind when executing a turn in a smooth fashion. It's spontaneous with the slightest push/pull on the grips. What a fun and exciting bike to ride! Seat is comfortable and although my longest ride non-stop had been approximately 120 miles, I had no discomfort except for my right wrist which has nothing to do with the bike, but as being new to riding perhaps gripping the throttle too tightly. Cruise Control would have been a good option for BMW to include on this model as they do emphasize this bike as the Touring version of the F800S. Pros: ABS Brakes may be controversial to some, but it can prevent a spill. Fortunately I have not had to use them in any emergency stop yet, but I feel good they are there when needed. Handling of this bike is nothing less of awesome. Computer is nice and already came up with one warning that the front tire pressure was low. It's those little things that make this bike seem safer to ride. Cons: 70 mph plus one gets you a head-full of wind. An aftermarket 4 inch taller windshield will take care of that. Also, as with most bikes, the stock exhaust is heavy and restrictive. I installed a Remus exhaust and not only it sounds sweet, but tests show an increase of 10 to 12 HP plus removing the lag/slight hesitation from starting out from 1st gear. Lastly, there is some heat coming into the left fairing and onto the leg although nothing major and actually would have been better if the hot air were to have been distributed to both legs for those cold days. Conclusion: When I decide to get a larger (touring) bike for long trips, I plan to keep this as the bike of choice for the enjoyable handling through the mountain and coastal roads!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tom

Prince William, Virginia

Reviewed on 2007-08-28

Motorcycle reviewed2007 BMW F 800 ST

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Recently traded my 2006 F650GS for a new F800ST. I liked the 650 very much but it was not well suited for longer trips. The 800 is a more all purpose bike for both short and long runs. The extra power, 6th gear, smoother gearbox and drive, more comfortable seating and riding are all well worth the small additional weight and price. Super easy to keep clean and looks fabulous. I added most options and love all the information available with the on-board computer. I'm not sure yet if this is even a flaw but the motor does generate quite a bit of heat, handled well by the radiator and fan but still runs up the left fairing. Not very noticeable when the bike is moving but in traffic or stop and go, it does get a bit warm on the left side. Too bad the heat could not have been distributed more evenly and you'd have a great leg warmer in winter or cooler weather. In any case, it's not much to complaint about - more an observation. All the other superb features and quality far outweigh this minor issue.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 14 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: